“We found this company frustrating to deal with, helpful one minute, very difficult to deal with the next. Strong on the sales side, but difficult to get them to fit our £3K fireplace, which the fitter left unfinished and left our flat without explanation. When we disliked one pricey aspect of the fireplace, the company was very reluctant to take any steps to remedy the problem. When it came to the gas test, at the end of the installation (3rd visit) the first fitter of two found a leak and blamed our builder who installed a supply pipe. Second fitter found that it was the first fitter's incompetence, not our builder's fault at all. No hint of apology at any stage of this frustrating process, which reached it's climax when the company 'forgot' to refund our initial £130 survey fee in its final invoice. One thing that gets 5* rating is Enviro Flame's online billing system - it demands 95% payment up front before they'd actually fit the fireplace, so when we found the fireplace left unfinished over Christmas we had nothing left but endless phone calls to unhelpful customer services. In the end, we had to pay our builder to finish the installation to our satisfaction.”
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Mr Newman,
I am sorry to hear your review and would like to let you know that I have been able to discuss it with all concerned, as we take all customer service issues very seriously.
I understand that the fireplace you ordered was originally purchased in December 2015 which we stored for you for 1 year whilst you carried out work on your property. We then had the manufacturers carry out specialist colour matching for the wooden beam you ordered to match the flooring you ordered. When we installed the fireplace you did not want to keep the beam and changed your mind to a different style which I believe you said your builder would do as you would have had to purchase another surround from us. I think this is where the problem lay in that the custom made item was non refundable. This is explained in our terms and conditions and I believe you were sent a sample prior to manufacture to make sure it was correct.
Our payment terms are 50% deposit upon order, with 30% the day prior to delivery and then 20% after satisfactory completion of the contract. We do not stipulate a 95% payment procedure, although I know that most building companies now do hence perhaps the misunderstanding? The initial £130.00 you mention was for a chimney sweep and flue inspection in which we carry out the survey free of charge so this would not have been refundable.
I am satisfied that our customer service team and installation teams carried out the work and sales service to a reasonable standard, although we have now installed a procedure where if a customer has waited over 6 months before taking their order, we carry out another survey similar to when a new sale is made to refresh everyone's mind.
“Didn't turn up when agreed. Rang to ask where they were, told will be there in 10 mins. Rangeland hour later, told on their way. Finally arrived nearly 2 hours late. At no point did anyone on the phone, or the workmen, apologise or seek to explain the delay. Very dissapointing, especially as I live only 5 minutes walk away.”
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Mr Burns, Thank you for bringing this to our attention and please accept my sincerest apologies for the delay you suffered. Although we try our utmost to reduce the likely hood of delays, at this time of the year when our team are at full tilt, there are rare occasions where a delay may occur due to unforeseeable situations. If we are on a job where a situation is unsafe, our engineers will not leave until this is rectified or the appliance is made safe. Unfortunately this was the case with the job our engineer was on prior to yours. Our engineers work all over London and not directly from the office, so although we book them to work a general area, as I am sure you are fully aware, the traffic can make for considerable delays. I have taken your comments on board and we have retrained all relevant employees again on our customer service policy on communication, to ensure our high standards are maintained.
“Excellent start. Sent the chimney sweep who was prompt, efficient and identified issues clearly. Visit to the showroom went well, too: identified model required. Problem arose when estimate received for it was higher than expected. Issue was the price of the aspirator that was needed in addition to the new fire. Only explanation was the model recommended was the basic and it could have cost a lot more. Asked for website of manufacturer but was given a name that Google wont find. Promised 'material' by email. After Xmas will start looking elsewhere. (Everyone is very nice, polite and pleasant to deal with.)”
Posted 5 years ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our products and services. It means a lot to receive feedback on these things which we then use to either commend our colleagues or use to improve upon our service.
In your circumstances we do take on board that the service you received was ‘prompt, efficient and identified issues clearly’ when we carried out the chimney sweep for you. Also, that the visit to the showrooms went well too and we have passed these comments on to the Installation and Showroom Managers to deliver to the people who dealt with you.
The issue of price for the ‘Aspirator’ is understandable, what you had been quoted on was a ‘Power Flue Fan’ which is custom made for us and which is more than double the price of an aspirator. I hope this explains the price difference. The reason for the lack of instructions is simply because the fans we use require no servicing or maintenance, which reduces the annual servicing costs to the end user considerably. All the instructions needed are on the casing of the fan, our engineers are specifically trained to calibrate the fan and air pressure switches, which should not need adjusting again.
We would love your continued custom in the New Year should you not find a suitable company to replace your fire and fan, and rest assured we have taken on board your comments and we hope to receive 5 stars in the future!