Brooks Timber & Building Supplies Limited Reviews

4.42 Rating 236 Reviews
83 %
of reviewers recommend Brooks Timber & Building Supplies Limited
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Waiting for service, directed to yard, nobody around
Posted 1 week ago
What a waste of time prep ordering because it wasn't ready when I got there and when I arrived in the shop every one scattered rather than help, which I have heard since is normal. First and last time giving ye my business.
Posted 1 month ago
Very disappointed I put in my order 17th November and I haven't received it yet. Service is very bad
Posted 1 month ago
I've ordered Redwood decking from Brooks because they were the cheapest option out there. Lesson learned there. Delivery was fast. The decking I've ordered was 31 piece of the 4 meter redwood decking boards. The boards came really dirty, with leaves, mud and footprints. I told to myself, I'll clean them and make it work, sand them a bit it should be ok. There is always some bad boards in the bunch but while working on them the end result was abysmal. Some of the boards had wood worms, a few holes right in the middle of them. Some were damaged, physically, beyond salvaging, as the gash was too deep. All of them had water/rot damage, rotted black on the ends to the depth of 3-5 cm at least. I will make it a point to avoid Brooks from now on as they seem to offload rubbish to their clients.
Ordered some 100mm x 22mm x 4200mm boards as well. Measuring them, they are 94mm x 18mm x 4200mm. at least they were in good order.
Posted 2 months ago
I placed an order on Oct 20th with a delivery date of Friday 23rd it’s now Tuesday 27th and still waiting for the order. Carpenter was paid to do the job on Sat 24th he turned up and sat in his van, not his fault he was ready to work. No communication from Brooks I will never but from Brooks again !
Posted 2 months ago
Too expensive, 15-20 percent cheaper elsewhere
Posted 3 months ago
I want to lodge a complaint about the poor quality of the materials supplied to me for Order.

There was significant warping in the "44X100MM (2x4) WHITEWOOD ROUGH TREATED FSC®2 4.8M (16')" and particularly in the "22X100MM (1x4) WHITEWOOD PLANED 4.8M (16')".

The "22X100MM (1x4) WHITEWOOD PLANED 4.8M (16')" was roughly cut in half prior to delivery.

This represents a very poor service by Brooks, which is not acceptable.
Posted 7 months ago
Service very slow
Order changed without prior consent
When correct produce was available it took over 5 days to get it
Driver didn’t seem to want to any work.

Very poor all round
Posted 7 months ago
Bought 6 boxes of Junkers flooring delivered t Limerick. Was not advised that clips are not supplied with the boxes. Rang Brooks and advised clips are 40p each and I would need 150. Told someone would ring me back but no one did. Prior to making the purchase I was on a chat line checking availability and delivery time to Limerick. It was worse than useless as I was told I’d have to place an order before they could give me this info.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Mike,

Really sorry you had a bad experience.

I will amend our description to make it clear that clips are sold separate.

I have also sent you an email, if I can help you with anything let me know.

Regards

Lorraine
Posted 1 year ago
Terrible customer service. Paid for delivery and ended up having to drive to collect the product from their store as they would not be in my county for weeks. I was never refunded my delivery fee either. Would not recommend Brooks.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi,

Really sorry you had a bad experience. We do aim to deliver orders as quick as possible but due to distance from our branch some orders take a little longer.

A refund has been issued for your delivery charge.

Regards

Lorraine
Posted 1 year ago
items ordered and paid for online. Received e-mail saying that the materials were delivered to the store for collection. Phoned store, they were not there as had been 'left off the delivery truck' from Dublin. Ended up getting a refund in store and buying an alternative. Would not buy online with Brooks again. Service in the store was good, but online experience is very poor.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi David,

Thank you for your feedback.

Sorry you had a bad online experience, this is not the norm & we do try our best to get the product to the customer (or selected branch) as quick as possible.

Regards

Lorraine
Posted 1 year ago
After ordering online and believing that the timber was at the depot, it wasn't. Had to buy a saw to cut the timber do it would fit into the van.
Posted 1 year ago
Brooks Timber & Building Supplies Limited is rated 4.42 based on 236 reviews