Tutor Hunt Reviews

4.23 Rating 195 Reviews
79 %
of reviewers recommend Tutor Hunt
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Read Tutor Hunt Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0203 151 0012

Write Your review

Tell us how Tutor Hunt made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Tutor Hunt is easy to use and has a great range of tutors. They've been around for a long time and are also quite prompt in their communication.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Took money for lessons that were cancelled from credit card. Promised to repay money but did not do so, currently claiming refund from credit card company. They are uncaring money grabbing company, avoid !
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Complete rip-off merchants! Tutor gets paid hardly anything: 25% commission on top of every lesson charged to the tutor and then tutor has to pay a premium rate per month if they want to appear at the top of student searches!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Sara is a great and diligent tutor. My son has responded very well to her online lessons and feels much more confident with her Physics course.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Excellent site, we've now just booked our 3rd online tutor through them. Easily the best site out there.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
So easy to use and arrange tuition lessons. Online sessions work great as well. High impressed with the whole experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Tutor Hunt were excellent in helping us find a great 11+ tor for our daughter. I would recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Really bad customer service from Tutor hunt's owner/call handler. Some good tutors, but 'Tutorful' are far more and better choices of tutors and definitely excellent customer service skills on the phone.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Tutorhunt are just way too expensive. 25% on top of every lesson and the parent has to pay! In times of Covid or even at anytime this is very harsh. It might have been a good site in the past but their fees are exorbitant and exploitative. Yes, agree with other comments, use Tutorsdirect a growing site set up by professional teachers and only charging 0.5%-1.5% on top of every lesson which is about 20 pence. Consideration given to parents and tutors. Also other sites are First Tutors which charges a one-off fee and that is it. Searchtutors.co.uk is free as is The TutorWebsite. Also teachers/tutors put ads in shop windows/ads on facebook local groups: just type in tuition/private tuition/private tutors or the subject you are looking for. Stop these greedy agencies who do not do anything only just set up a platform which runs itself and "Directors" do not do any work just "steal" your money! Good luck in finding the best tutor for your child! Anonymous
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Charging commission on top of tuition lessons to parents, ugh! So expensive First tutors/Searchtutors.co.uk (free) The Tutor Website free and so much easier. Local Facebook group much better!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Not impressed with Tutor Hunt. They have now started adding between 20 - 25% commission on to every lesson a tutor teaches making it extremely expensive for parents and for tutors. Tutors were not informed and once they signed up to on-line tutoring could not go back to a one-off fee paying system. Parents and students do not know about this but are now being informed by tutors and teachers who used to use their site. I have as a parent researched this and just not impressed with what they have done. They used to be a good site and I have used them before but seem to have become too greedy. Also the sites are monitored. Now I have searched on other sites : First tutors/The Tutor Website or Searchtutors.co.uk for the one-off fee or The Tutor Website and Searchtutors.co.uk are absolutely free to parents/students and tutors or just use your local shop windows or local facebook group sites for tutors. Good luck Anonymous parent
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Tutor hunt is now charging commission and rising prices for parents. It’s a terrible situation! Parents need to take action- tutors cannot revert back to old system they signed up for.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
While the site does have plenty of choice, trying to communicate with a prospective tutor was so ridiculous I gave up. Every reply she sent took more than 14 hours to arrive (I could see the date stamps) meaning I didn’t receive them until the following day. After four days of one reply per day as we tried to discuss requirements and set a date/time, I gave up and used a different site where I was able to do this in just one day. I presume the high commission Tutor Hunt now charges has made them justifiably paranoid people will try to swap contact details and they are vetting emails more closely - not that any of those I sent or received had any context details at all. Tutor Hunt told me they had to look manually at some emails at weekends hence a “slight delay”. This was not a weekend and the delays were not “slight”. First Tutors far easier.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
We had a great experience using and finding a tutor. I think the site work very well and I have recommended to other parents
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Excellent service and a wide selection of qualified tutors. Highly recommended
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hannah is my Spanish tutor in Bristol. She prepares every lesson really well, listens to my needs and explains everything clearly. Her lessons always move me forward and I feel I’ve progressed enormously since our first lesson. She gives me so much encouragement and confidence in all aspects of the language and my conversational skills have really improved with her patience and knowledge of Spanish. I really enjoy learning with her and would thoroughly recommend her as a tutor.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I've been working for Tutorhunt for eight years and unfortunately I had to increase my fees because now they charge tutors a commission of 25% !! On top of this their service is aaawful! I've had some technical problems and when I emailed them they did not reply at all. In one occasion a student called them and requested to change the day of the lesson, they changed it automatically without asking me whether I was available or not!!! I was so, sooo angry as I found this extremely unprofessional. I called them and they could not give me a proper explanation not even an apology!!. Now I need to cancel a lesson with a student who told me is seriously ill, I've contacted them and they keep ignoring me. I can cancel it myself but if I do I get the message I've attached. A terrible company to work with...
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I do tutoring for the last 20 years on line and I have more that 600 hundred successfuI students. I don’t understand why tutor hunt owner insist that student should pay him first and then he paid the tutors it doesn’t make any senses, he is going to lose many tutors because of this, and they begin to charge extra money from tutors for online lesson, this is why I don’t recommend tutor hunt any more to any one. Dr. Alhussaini
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
decent online tuition, not amazing
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I have been a tutor with tutor hunt for a long time. Since they started taking commission from tutors for online tutoring the charging rates have dramatically increased and out of reach for many parents. Mist unfortunate.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Tutor Hunt is rated 4.23 based on 195 reviews