travellocal.com Reviews

4.90 Rating 430 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend travellocal.com
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Read travellocal.com Reviews

About travellocal.com:

TravelLocal is all about bespoke travel - with a difference.

We help you to create tailor-made holidays your way, with carefully selected local experts based in nearly 50 destinations worldwide. Since 2012 we have scoured the globe to find these expert companies - entrepreneurs and innovators from Argentina to Zanzibar and many countries in between.

They know your destination better than anyone. They use that knowledge to craft unforgettable trips, unique to you, that combine your ideas with their local knowledge and contacts, to bring the world to life.

You get a better, more authentic holiday experience and they get a fairer deal. And for peace of mind, we are members of ABTA and your booking is 100% financially protected.

These are reviews of the TravelLocal website and booking process. For reviews of the trips our customers have taken, please go to the TravelLocal website.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how travellocal.com made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
travellocal.com 5 star review on 25th June 2020
Marzenna Czubowicz
travellocal.com 5 star review on 25th June 2020
Marzenna Czubowicz
travellocal.com 5 star review on 24th March 2020
Thom And Chris
travellocal.com 5 star review on 10th February 2020
John And Sylvia Cook
travellocal.com 5 star review on 14th November 2016
Rachel
travellocal.com 4 star review on 9th February 2020
Esther Eyre
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Just wanted to say a big thank you to TravelLocal. We went to Costa Rica in March and the Coronavirus pandemic was declared whilst we were away. One amazing week of holiday before then. Excellent guides. Excellent travel arrangements. Superb support from TravelLocal in the second week when the FCO told us to return to the UK. Great communication and a real feeling of being looked out for by the company whilst away and after our return. Will definitely recommend them to friends and family.
Helpful Report
Hi Patrick, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We're really pleased you managed to enjoy at least the first week of your trip, and that we were able to help get you home once international borders started closing around us. It means a lot that you'll also recommend us to your friends and family. Take care and we'll look forward to hearing from you again in the future! All the best, the TravelLocal team
At this time, probably few people are thinking of travel, but I wanted to mention that Travellocal did a fine job of planning our 6-day trip to Ethiopia. Tania was very helpful and worked with me to plan the trip taking into account my time constraints. I would highly recommend them in the future.
Helpful Report
Hi Malcolm Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide this feedback and it is great to hear that Tania was able to help you with your plan to visit Ethiopia! Kind regards TravelLocal Team
Our two week trip in Bhutan was a dream come true. The preparation time and organisation was very smooth and I received all required information on time with full details. The program there was just perfect and exactly what we were looking for. We were extremely lucky to spend the time with Sangjay and Ram, our guide and driver. We had a great connection straight away and felt comfortable at all times. We called ourselves: 'the four friends', a famous Bhutanese Buddhist tale. Both were very caring, helpful, knowledgable as well as very funny. I truly thank them for making our trip unforgettable!!!! We will be back in 2 years, that'a a promise! MERCI BEAUCOUP from Marc & Brigitta from Paris
Helpful Report
Hi Marc and Brigitta Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review of your time in Bhutan. It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed the trip and that you created a bond with the local guide and driver. It is such a special country! We look forward to being able to help you with your next trip. Best wishes TravelLocal Team
Worked through Travellocal for a trip to Morocco. Could not have had a better experience. Connected me with their local representative and we worked out exactly the type of trip my wife and I were looking for. Once we arrived in Morocco everything went exactly as planned - until CoronaVirus interrupted our travels. Then is when both their local prime and Travellocal really stepped up and helped us. Could not have asked for better support than what we got from them. Being stuck in a foreign country is never a good thing but they worked together to ensure we were well taken care of. Plus they kept us updated on the overall situation in Morocco as it evolved. We eventually got out via a US Govt evacuation. Just cannot say enough the overall experience with the Travellocal team and the local Orian Travel group we were working directly with. If the Morocco experience is any indication of their overall quality of service will be using them for future travels to countries they cover. Thanks to Hamza and Emily for your great support!
Helpful Report
Hello P. Davis, Many thanks for taking some of the time to leave us such a beautiful review! We are very joyful we were supportive of you during these times and we thank you for your resilience and understanding. Here is to many other amazing future holidays together! All the best, The TravelLocal Team
Thank you so much to all the dedicated staff at TravelLocal, especially Hayley and Jose (Zaia Colombia), who moved huge obstacles to get us home from Colombia last week. They were unfailingly professional, communicative and attentive with each setback and kept us in regular contact until they finally got us home. This was our first experience with TravelLocal and we enjoyed such a great personal service throughout our time in Colombia. From the early days of planning our month in Colombia, way back in August, until now, we enjoyed great recommendations, lots of fantastic ideas and suggestions to tailor the trip to our needs. Despite having to head home early, we have no hesitation in recommendating this company and completing our journey next Spring. Thank you all!!
travellocal.com 5 star review on 24th March 2020
Helpful Report
Hi Thom and Chris, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write us such kind words. We really appreciate it! We are delighted that you are now back home safe and that you had a great experience overall. Here is to many other holiday together! All the best, The TravelLocal Team
I have just booked a trip to Indonesia for next year. The process was both personal and effortless. Travel Local's agent in the country listened to my brief and responded quickly and appropriately giving me the perfect itinerary for a good price. I would thoroughly recommend Travel Local
Helpful Report
Hi Sally, Thank you very much for your lovely words and for booking your holiday with us! We are very happy you enjoyed the process of planning the trip and we are sure our amazing Evy in Indonesia will make sure you have the best time there. We will be looking forward to hearing about it when you come back home. You will be able to leave us a review then on our website. All the best, The TravelLocal Team
So pleased with our itinerary that Sophie has drawn up for us in Georgia. We are looking forward to our second trip with Travellocal. Thank you for all the hard work!
Helpful Report
Hi Paul, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed planning your holiday with us and we know our great partner, Sophie, will ensure you have an amazing time in Georgia. We would be thrilled to read your review after the trip, on our website. Here is to many other holidays together! All the best, The TravelLocal Team
I do not know as yet if we got value for money - we go to Brazil in July. I must report that I found the whole process of itinerary searching and booking to be absolutely first class. We are pretty particular, but have nothing, nothing at all, but praise for the whole experience. The web site was very helpful. Nath, our Brazilian co-ordinator (etc.) was terrific: always available, full of ideas, patient and super courteous. we are all set thanks to her. We use other sites (VRBO/Airb/Expedia/homestogo) but feel we have now found a gem. Regards James and Trish
Helpful Report
Hi James and Trish, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. We are glad you enjoyed the experience so far and we are sure you will have an amazing time away! We will be looking forward to hearing all about it upon your return home when you may leave us a review on our website. All the best, The TravelLocal Team
Being the lead member of a group of five for a tour of Sri Lanka, I made the booking at a price which was great value for the tour. Yet, the personal service provided by Shernela through the online messaging service was first rate as she kept me updated on the arrangements of the tour throughout. Unfortunately, I had to drop out of the group because my brother suffered a massive heart attack and ended up in the ICU. As I telephoned to cancel my part of the tour, I was very humbled by the compassion and humanity of Hayley Lewis, the Customer Experience Executive at Bristol. Her emails were written with such care and consideration. In my view, she excelled her role many times over. She took immediate action to recuperate as much refund for me as possible in collaboration with Shernela from the suppliers in Sri Lanka. Due to the excellent care, compassion and support that I have received from these members of staff, I shall recommend Travel Local to everyone I know. I am grateful for the excellent service is a gross understatement of how I feel.
Helpful Report
Hi Jagtar, Thank you ever so much for your kind and honest words. We are glad that you enjoyed planning your holiday with us and we hope that the other companions have had the best time away. You have our dearest sympathy and we would like you to know that you and our family are in our prayers and we wish you strength through these times. May we have the opportunity of crossing paths again the future! All the best, The TravelLocal Team
Wonderful company, it’s great that the locals plan your holiday as you get to see the culture as it should be. David and Carmen in the Mexico office have been fantastic in sorting out our holiday.
Helpful Report
Hi Karen, Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed planning your trip with us. We believe in authentic experiences and we hope you will have an amazing time on your holiday where our great partners in Mexico will take care of you. You may tell us how it all went, on our website, upon your return home. We will be looking forward to hearing all about it! All the best, The TravelLocal Team
Excellent service, well pleased with result from Malek the man in Jordan. Thanks to all involved.
Helpful Report
Hi Shane, Thank you very much for your review! We are very happy to know that your holiday booking went smoothly and according to your desires. Malek is doing an amazing job for sure and we know you will enjoy Jordan! Nonetheless, we will be looking forward to hearing about your experience, our website, upon your return home. Have an amazing time in Jordan and stay in touch! All the best, The TravelLocal Team
This was our third trip booked through Travel Local and our second with Ecole Travel in Costa Rica. Soledad who dealt with all our requests and opinions on the various itineraries did a superb job. She happily amended our holiday with our requests or amendments and provided excellent advice on locations and practicalities. All communications were prompt and the whole tailor made booking procedure was extremely efficient. We cannot commend her highly enough and we are looking forward to another awesome Costa Rica adventure. Derek and Vivien Gruar
Helpful Report
Hi Derek and Vivien, Thank you very much for your lovely words and for organising your trip with TravelLocal one more time! Soledad is undoubtedly great and we are delighted to know that your holiday booking was efficient and truly personalised. We wish you a holiday with many beautiful memories and we will be looking forward to hearing all about it. You may leave us a review on our website, upon your return home. Here is to many other holidays together! All the best, The TravelLocal Team
Bloody brilliant - you speak (and email) with a knowledgeable, friendly local travel expert. For years I’ve been wasting time and money talking to chinless Brits pretending to know what they are talking about when in fact they are generally just transmitting (generally quite badly) what local guys are telling them. And then charging you a lot more for that worse service. TravelLocal is the way to go. Julian
Helpful Report
Hi Julian, I trust you are well! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful feedback. We really appreciate any feedback but we are more than happy when the TravelLocal experience is lived to its potential. Let us know how everything will have been in Brazil. You may leave us a post-holiday review on our website, upon your return home. Here is to many more trips together! All the best, The TravelLocal Team
Travellocal.com has been very helpful in setting up the perfect itinerary for me. Muhammad especially has been a great help. I wanted to see certain places and he adjusted my itinerary to fit my needs as well as schedule. I'm thankful I contacted Travellocal and looking forward to my up coming trip. Thank you so much! Gene, Los Angeles, Calif. USA
Helpful Report
Hi Gene, Thank you ever so much for your kind words. Mohammad is for sure great at sharing amazing local knowledge and his passion can be seen when planning a holiday. We hope you will enjoy Jordan and you will go back to LA with many thrilling stories! We would be very happy to read about them, on our website, upon your return. All the best, The TravelLocal Team
My experience of planning and booking my trip to Costa Rica has been outstanding. Mariana, our local contact, could not have been more helpful and responsive. To get such service, at good value, and end up with a trip tailored exactly for us - it has exceeded my expectations. I just have to wait 10 months now to actually go!!
Helpful Report
Hi Julie, Many thanks for your wonderful feedback! We are so happy that our vision is perceived well and that you benefited from the efficiency of TravelLocal and from the ever so important local knowledge of local partner, Mariana. We wish you a brilliant time in Costa Rica and we hope we will hear all about it when you come back! You will be able to leave us a post-holiday feedback, on our website. All the best, The TravelLocal Team
I have just booked a two week trip to Costa Rica. Maria came up with a great itinerary for us and was very helpful. She took into account the fact that we said we like hiking and want to see lots of wildlife. She was also happy to tweak it a few times until we got it exactly right. Excellent service.
Helpful Report
Hi Julie, Thank you very much for your lovely words. We are delighted to know that your preferences have been carefully taken into consideration and that you managed to have the ideal holiday planned. Maria is surely offering exceptional expertise. We would be thrilled to know how everything went in Costa Rica. You will be able to leave us a post-holiday feedback on our website, upon your return. May you have a lovely holiday with many beautiful memories to bring home! All the best, The TravelLocal Team
Loved working with Nath...always in touch. I made a lot of minor changes which she made easily. She even suggested that we put off the trip until July since we wanted to see animals...and that would be the best time for animals. Would love to work with her again.
Helpful Report
Hi Rindy, Thank very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the process of booking the holiday and that it was faced with ease. Nathalia is great! We will be looking forward to reading all about your holiday when you come back. You will be able to leave as post-trip review on our website then. May you have an amazing time in Brazil, it is indeed an impressive destination with loads to offer! All the best, The TravelLocal Team
So far we have been most impressed and would recommend you to our friends. Sophie has been most helpful and prompt in replying.. David.
Helpful Report
Hi David, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the experience with us so far and we really appreciate each recommendations that is being shared. We are proud of all our hand-picked partners and Sophie is just amazing! We wish you a very lovely holiday and we cannot wait to hear all about it when you come back. You may then tell us your thoughts on our website. Here is to many TravelLocal stories! All the best, The TravelLocal Team
Keti who communicated with me about our trip to Georgia was exceptional and she certainly was a big part of choosing your company for our trip. The whole process was simple to understand and very efficient without feeling pressured to make snap decisions.
Helpful Report
Hi Claire, Thank you very much for your feedback! We are very glad to hear that the ideal process of planning a holiday has been met with the cherished ease and uniqueness. Keti is undoubtedly amazing at managing the expectations and more and we are sure you will have a brilliant time in Georgia. We wish you the best experience and many beautiful memories. We are looking forward to hearing all about your trip, on our website, upon your return home. All the best, The TravelLocal Team
Thanks Travel Local for an amazing 2 week tour of Costa Rica. Thanks to Mariana for understanding exactly the kind of holiday I wanted and putting together a superb itinerary. Costa Rica is truly a fantastic country and Mariana helped me experience a great variety of exotic animals, beautiful scenery and the right balance of adventure and relaxation. All of locations and the hotels Mariana recommended were every bit as good as I expected. Pura Vida Mariana. Muchas Gracias. Stuart
Helpful Report
Hi Stuart, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write such beautiful comments about your whole experience with us. We are delighted to hear that your expectations were met and not only, from the very beginning until the end. Mariana is awesome and she manages to share her amazing perspective of her country in a very unique way. Here is to many other holiday booked together! All the best, The TravelLocal Team
travellocal.com is rated 4.90 based on 430 reviews