Mr Clutch Reviews

4.81 Rating 2,541 Reviews
96% of reviewers recommend Mr Clutch

How would you rate Mr Clutch ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need a working email address to verify that your review is genuine.

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

2541 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Mr Clutch Acton Branch
In reply to Mr Ali complaint 2 months ago we have resolved the matter and it was agreed to replace clutch under warranty, to Mr Ali's satisfaction

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Mr Clutch in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
Mr Clutch Acton Branch
Unverified Reviewer
"In reply to Mr Ali complaint 2 months ago we have resolved the matter and it was agreed to replace clutch under warranty, to Mr Ali's satisfaction"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Michael Knighton
Unverified Reviewer
"Took car for mot it passed but told me they had to put 2 new bulbs in rear nearside got home and checked lighting and indicators not working went back next day and could not fix it.everything was working before had to have auto electrician out cost 72.00 it seems they had blown some fuses they didn't want to know"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Justin Palmer
Unverified Reviewer
"Absolutely awful, first up quoted me £97, then I didn’t hear anything for a week. Suddenly the bill went up to £600 and when I asked why i was given the response “just because that’s what it cost” have been ignored for days on end and have now been without my van for a month because of these rip off merchants. Avoid at all costs! Just an update to the above, I went to get access to my van to get some essential Tools and was not allowed access and given no reason by the half witted receptionist, after wasting 45 minutes of my time,, the manager (who is the only one who has any sense of customer service) spoke calmly and sensibly and attempted to sort the matter. When I left I thought they were going to carry out the work and the manager told me I would have my van by Monday and that my ECU unit would be sent off for appraisal. I also received an email from, the area manager who bribed me to take this review down (imagine how many people have opted for this and imagine how many reviews there should be for this shocking company) she offered no apology and was quite frankly rude. I replied that I would pay for the work if it was done and would keep the review on line only to be texted by the manager, saying that he had been told that he now couldn’t work on my van. My Van was sent to this “garage” on 2nd Nov, it is now 30th November and I have incurred massive costs and stress due to using these cowboys. Please do not make the mistake I did, the company are the worst I have ever dealt with! Just another update Mr Clutch have tried every trick in the book to get me to remove this review, they have said it contains personal information, accused me of lying and made an “information request” despite already knowing the information in order to suspend the review. They plainly know how to exploit this system and they would only do that by consistently getting less than favourable reviews taken down. Do not trust the overall rating as it is plainly manipulated by this company, it’s a shame they don’t put as much effort into fixing my van (which is still not sorted as of 5/12/17) as they plainly do on giving false representation on-line! An extra update, probably because I wouldn’t remove my review, these total idiots have removed my ECU unit with an ANGLE GRINDER!!!! The reputable garage that I did take the van to are absolutely gob smacked at the incompetence of this terrible terrible garage! Please please don’t make the mistake that I did they are not only incompetent but dangerous! Just for clarity this is the Chelmsford Branch in Rainsford Road, the company have now threatened me again in order to get this review taken down, I won’t be backing down but they have tried 4 times with different methods now so imagine how many people have backed down in the face of these bullying tactics! Also not one word of apology so this is plainly commonplace with this company, I reiterate AVOID AVOID AVOID"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"From arrival staff so helpfull and friendly explained everything highly recommended and would definitely use again."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"If you care about your car, this is not the place for you 100%!!!! The worst experience ever! Booked for general service, they couldn't start my car so they dropped it at Perry's with damages. Was without the car for 1 month instead of 3 h. They even broke the battery tray of the car and pretended that they don't know anything about it! It was very unpleasant to deal with Chris ( workshop manager), who is just simply running away from responsibilities. STAY WELL CLEAR from Mr. Clutch!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Had "new" front tyres fitted which were filthy and look older than the existing rear pair. Also did not clean my car after a service. Not a good experience."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"The gearbox nearly dropped out Driving down the road, we had a clutch fitted and a duel mass flywheel which they said I needed at Mr Clutch in Manchester on the 15/03/2016 at a cost of £952.54 about 2 weeks ago the car started vibrating from stationary a mobile mechanic came round and looked at it on inspection he noticed that 2 out of 3 of the gearbox mountain bolts had sheared off the 3rd bolt was hanging by a couple of threads, if I had caried on Driving it the result could have been catastrophic,a used gearbox had to be purchased because the holes were to badly damaged to rethread The fault is due to the incompetent work carried out by a so called mechanic at Mr Clutch the car is still covered under the 2 year warranty or 20 thousand miles it’s done just over 10 thousand miles and the warranty runs out in March 2018, I strongly advise anyone looking for clutch work in particular not to use Mr Clutch their work is totally incompetent it always costs more than they quoted and to be quite frank one can not be sure that all the parts one have paid for has been fitted it’s disgusting that they continue to operate but quite frankly this is how they work. Keep well away from Mr Clutch their bad news. Mr v turner.."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"The gearbox nearly fell out Driving down the road"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Faulty parts, incompetent labour, damaged vehicle and dangerous advice. Read on for my details of my awful experience. I took my motorhome to Mr Clutch for “gold” service, replacement brake pads and brake fluid in preparation, I explained, for 7 month European tour. Upon collection engine bay and front panels awash with brake fluid. Brake fluid footprints throughout where fitters had no reason to go. Upon disembarking Calais “change engine oil” warning message. Before reaching Monaco “check brake pads” warning message appears. Phoned again to be told to bring it back and they would “talk about it” Emails with “customer service” who upon the advice of regional manager told me to ignore brake safety warnings, continue driving for 7 months until I could return vehicle to them. Fiat professional workshop just across Italian border replaced all faulty parts warning that to ignore the dashboard brake warning would be extremely dangerous with possible disastrous consequences, stressing that Fiat had incorporated these features in my vehicle for my safety. I feel disgusted by my experience of dealing with Mr Clutch from fitter to managing director. At no time did I consider my safety be a concern to any of the staff. At no time did I experience any empathy for the condition they had created in my vehicle."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Justin Palmer
Unverified Reviewer
"Absolutely awful, first up quoted me £97, then I didn’t hear anything for a week. Suddenly the bill went up to £600 and when I asked why i was given the response “just because that’s what it cost” have been ignored for days on end and have now been without my van for a month because of these rip off merchants. Avoid at all costs! Just an update to the above, I went to get access to my van to get some essential Tools and was not allowed access and given no reason by the half witted receptionist Peter, after wasting 45 minutes of my time, Graham, the manager (who is the only one who has any sense of customer service) spoke calmly and sensibly and attempted to sort the matter. When I left I thought they were going to carry out the work and Graham told me I would have my van by Monday and that my ECU unit would be sent off for appraisal. I also received an email from Sara-Jane Saunders, the area manager who bribed me to take this review down (imagine how many people have opted for this and imagine how many reviews there should be for this shocking company) she offered no apology and was quite frankly rude. I replied that I would pay for the work if it was done and would keep the review on line only to be texted by Graham saying that he had been told that he now couldn’t work on my van. My Van was sent to this “garage” on 2nd Nov, it is now 30th November and I have incurred massive costs and stress due to using these cowboys. Please do not make the mistake I did, the company are the worst I have ever dealt with!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Worse choice I've ever made in my life going to Mr Clutch. Should of gone to ford who will give me the right information and not mug me off my money. I spent over £900 and my clutch did not even last me 3months and when I went back they told me I have 12months warranty so give it few more time and see if that noise i came back for goes. I went back there after 8months as the noise got worse and worse and now they told me my warranty is no longer valid cause I've done over my mileage which Mr Andrew from Acton branch did not bother to mention and doesn't even say on my receipt. So I phoned the head office to take this further and they lady on the phone was no help as all she kept saying was u should have gone online to read t&c lol absolutely insane the things I was hearing from them. Andrew from Acton branch Mr Clutch said he didn't expect my clutch to go within 12months that's why maybe he forgot to mention the mileage. So his actually admitting that he didn't mention it but same time kept saying it says on the t&c Cannot believe any of this such unbelievable attitude."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Experienced a long list of issues with Mr Clutch, after using them for many years. First they lost my booking, I then experienced almost non existent customer service and when it was present it was rude and obnoxious. My vehicle was then driven without due care out of the premises and again back into it and I expressed this to the head office at the time so just reassured me this was unacceptable and they would investigate this if I put it into writing. I then noticed that the side skirts on my vehicle had been damaged. I then raised this again to HO who asked for this in writing along with pictures. I complied and since then the head office have been rude, unapologetic and argumentative. They have denied all responsibility and cannot address any of my concerns raised. I am now taking this through trading standards but I would advise all to avoid this garage chain. Low prices for a reason. You got what you pay for, including damage to your vehicle!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Your profile picture Categories Log in Sign up For companies Your review counts! Upload Add photo Samantha Case 1 review Published 3 seconds ago I booked in my car for a new clutch to … I booked in my car for a new clutch to the Croydon branch on 30/9, I was quoted £263 and all seemed well. I was advised to go to them for as was cheaper than normal garages. As there isn't one local to my town, I used croydon as I'm there at weekends to be with my boyfriend. When booking the car in I was told there was an extra 25 which needed added on for the gearbox which I agreed to which for whatever reason not added on their website. Then when dropping off the car I went for a test drive so the engineer could test the clutch and gearbox. Before even getting out of my car I was then told another 100 for a cable which included part and labour. I find this hard to believe they would add on something without even lifting the bonnet or looking at the clutch itself. I was made to feel this was important and agreed. I was advised that it was possible to complete by the end of the day. 5/6 hours after dropping off I was then advised that I needed a new spring for my pedal as it was broken. Again I find hard to believe as my pedal was working fine. So whether this was broken when taking parts out I don't know. And was told the Kia dealer was not opened and will have to wait til Monday. Obviously as I'm not from croydon this effected me alot and put me in a very difficult position. I then decided to work around it in hope the car would be completed on the Monday. So i paid for the extra night in a hotel, and called in some favours for work so I had the Monday off. Monday came around and was then told the part would not be delivered until Tuesday. Not being funny but this is unacceptable, majority of garages nowadays has a same day delivery option for parts so I don't see how this couldn't of been delivered same day. Again I had to work my life around the poor service and lack of options i was given. So i paid my £18 Train fare and made my way home in order to work the following day. Tuesday came and got a call to say a wrong part had been ordered. And they had rung Kia and arranged a driver to deliver the part that day. This made me furious! Not only was the wrong part ordered. But somehow they managed to arrange a same day delivery! Why was this not an option on the Monday??? The part arrived in time and I was told my car would be done. So I asked as I was unable to call in anymore favours from my work please could I pay by card over the phone, and leave the car parked for me to collect later. And my boyfriend who lives in the area come and pick up the keys. I was then told it wasn't company policy to take card payments over the phone. Not being funny you quite happily bump up the amount I need to pay but then make it awkward for your customers to pay. I again had to go out of my way to make sure you received the money so I could get my car back. I then picked up my car, after another £18 train journey. Then on the drive home I noticed a very loud noise coming from my engine after every time I braked up to a junction. Why the hell my brakes caused a noise in my engine, when you worked on my clutch I'll never know?? I really wish I never went to their garage. I will NEVER use them again. And I will make sure I tell every person I know not to use you. Absolutely disgusted in the poor excuse of customer service. I was made to feel trapped with no option and no help from you what so ever. I'm 11 weeks pregnant and really didn't need the stress and making me go completely out of my way. Every time I spoke to the guy on the phone I felt he was trying to explain himself too much like he was making excuses. Never again will I let any of their garages touch my car."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Mr Clutch Aldershot. By far the best in the area. Good job gents . Competitive prices."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"""Failed first MOT, fixed the failures , failed second MOT within two weeks, (unable to do re-test as I went on holiday for two weeks), questioned why in the space of two weeks it had failed again, both the Manager and MOT inspector were very aggressive to me, and especially the MOT inspector threatened me with vialance, I reminded them that I am the customer, and that I will make a formal complaint to their employers. Appalling treatment, and very, very harsh MOT testing??????????????"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"They are dishonest and treat motorists like we are completely ignorant. Once your car is on their ramp for a diagnostic, you are at their mercy. They exploit their upper-hand to the maximum by being completely dishonest with the diagnosis and quoting whatever they fancy (I am an "old-school" motorist with good mechanical understanding with over 35 years of driving and doing most of my car maintenance myself). Parts they use are inferior and break down very soon. Learn from my mistake and do not take your car to Mr Clutch. Terrible experience. Took ages to fix what the qualified recovery mechanic said was a simple repair. Of course it cost me an arm and a leg! The car broke down very soon again due to poor workmanship and/or parts used. They never told me exactly why. Very dishonest indeed. But repaired free of charge because the breakdown was within a few miles of repair, directly related to the work they did and the part they claimed to have replaced. Mr Clutch needs to take a long hard look at their business ethic and reform if they need to stay in business for much longer."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Mr Clutch - CRAWLEY Just took my car in for an MOT, went to pick it up and the rear view mirror and rain sensor was left dangling from the windscreen. The rude mechanic denied all knowledge, even though there was black fingerprints where they had tried to fix it and failed. I took it to a main dealer where it was fixed professionally they couldn't understand how it became detached. A bolt type locking nut is fixed to the windscreen and a locking bolt on the back off mirror locks into place. AVOID AT ALL COSTS"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"Mr Clutch refused to resolve issue introduced during their Clutch Replacement even though I had a warranty and attended inspections as per their schedule. Use Kwik Fit, Halfords or a local garage as you won't be making any savings with Mr Clutch - it is just not worth it. I had a clutch replaced in my Mazda and afterwards attended only a single inspection as the car was barely driven. After about 4 - 5 months since the repair I have noticed oil leaks on my driveway - it was impossible to see immediately after repair as the leak was slow but only became obvious after a period of time. I took the car to Mr Clutch on Saturday and was told that the oil seal is leaking but they won't be fixing it as it has been too long since the repair. They were to provide me with pricing on Monday. Noone called me on Monday and Tuesday so on Wednesday I took my car to an independent local garage. They have look at it and told me that the oil seal is damaged and the damage must have been introduced during clutch replacement. I called Mr Clutch and told them what the other garage told me. I have also argued that I have got their 2 year warranty and the car was barely driven as the mileage has shown. They have refused to fix it. In the end had it fixed in that local independent garage and it was confirmed to me on job completion that the damage was physical not wear and tear and that it must have been introduced during clutch replacement. I also was given the old oil seal. I have complained to Mr Clutch telling them that the part costed only 20 pounds and that they could have repaired it at no cost to themselves offerring variety of solutions. Unfortunately their regional manager refused to address the issue so please listen to my advise and avoid this company even if it costs you slightly more initially you will be better of fixing your car elsewhere. Also, have a look on variety of review sites as some of them have really bad reviews of this company and some really good ones. I believe this is due to negative posts beng removed as I saw this happening."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"Disgusting- avoid at all costs. Jason was rude & vile & sent us away as we were 10 minutes late for an mot appointment. We have 2 babies under 2 .... no sympathy for us at all - absolutely disgusted with the service. There used to be a very good friendly professional manager called Mel - the place has plummeted downhill since his departure. AVOID."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"Timing-belt replacement through Mr Clutch: Belt installed, car ran badly, independent mechanic found that the replacement had been put in backward (!) -- photographs taken -- Mr Clutch personnel 1) denied that an error had been committed, 2) accused the mechanic and me of colluding to defraud through PhotoShopping the pictures. No refund or compensation offered. Luckily the bank that issued the credit card found my account of events convincing. Mr Clutch could have put their right hand up and said, We made a mistake, we're sorry, here's your money. They'd have won points for honesty and forthrightness, the financial results would have been the same. But, by my experience, you should expect from Mr Clutch neither good work, nor forthrightness, nor honesty. Go elsewhere."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Mr Clutch is rated 4.81 based on 2,541 reviews