DIY Doctor Ltd Reviews

4.68 Rating 357 Reviews
94 %
of reviewers recommend DIY Doctor Ltd
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 86%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 90%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Read DIY Doctor Ltd Reviews

About DIY Doctor Ltd:

DIY Doctor has been providing advice and information for free since 1998. Selling specially selected tools of trade quality at DIY prices, DIY Doctor aims to be the conduit between the Trade and the home owner. Our aim it to help you get your home improvement project completed with the right tools, first time.

Visit Website

Phone:

0845 634 2179

Email:

charles@diydoctor.ltd.uk

Location:

Block 1 - Suite 2 Lakeside Park

Write Your review

Tell us how DIY Doctor Ltd made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Had to chase to find out when i would get my order, Was ordered on the 27th May delivered 8th June 2002. other than the slow delivery i was very pleased the the service and price. Will defiantly use again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi John, apologies for the delays, due to the current covid situation we have experienced some delays with both suppliers and couriers but glad you have now received your goods, again, apologies for the delays
Posted 1 year ago
Items didn't arrive till Friday 20th, 7 days after order was placed. Items worked as expected although the job was delayed it was completed.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Andrew, I am very sorry for the delay you experienced receiving your products. We always try to get products delivered within the stated delivery timescales, and in fact try to exceed these when ever possible. Many thanks for raising the delays with your delivery as we are reviewing our delivery options to see if we can improve the service without dramatically increasing the cost. Kind regards, The DIY Doctor Team
Posted 2 years ago
Delivery yesterday quite fast but have yet to use the item.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Thank you for the review, Terence and I am sorry that you did not we did a good job. We will try and improve our service in future.
Posted 4 years ago
Certainly softens up the Artex but found I had to scrape off like woodchip. Came off in very small scraps not strips. Then had to sand to smooth off which made a lot of mess, but it did do the job
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
I'm really sorry that the X-tex didn't work as you had expected. The textured coating possibly either had vinyl silk emulsion over the top which contains plastic polymers, or the artex was a bonded textured coating which contains adhesives making removal harder than normal artex which of course is water-based. Any type of coatings/paint remover would have exactly the same reaction, but with the added hazards of nasty chemicals. I'm glad that you got it off in the end. If you ever have a problem like this again, please get in touch and we can see if we can suggest some tips to make life easier.
Posted 5 years ago
Overall a normal purchase. But just like many items that I have recently purchased some items missing. Specifically short of screws. This seems to be the norm when buying from the internet at the moment. This is where the internet sales are letting themselves down. They should be in close touch with manufacturers and insist on attention to the finer points. I have recently purchased a storage shed. Same thing Screws were missing. It's attention to detail that sales sites need to pay more attention to. 'Would definitely not recommend to a friend'. Overall rating 4 out of ten.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
I am really sorry about this. The kit that you bought was packed by the manufacturer, so I will pass your feedback on to them to ask that they make extra checks to ensure that the kit is complete. We will send you another set of screws immediately so that you can complete your workbench; I appreciate exactly how frustrating that this must be for you.
Posted 6 years ago
I ordered a tub of X-Tex to soften the awful Artex that I has actually painted on the kitchen wall 30 years ago (what was I thinking?). It arrived on the allotted time and I set about covering the walls with this liquid, it was best left over night as per instructions and when I started to scrape off the Artex the next day I found it was extremely hard work, after a few sweaty experiments I discovered that you have to steam the area (with a wallpaper steamer), leave for approx. 20-30 mins and then start scraping, it's a lot easier (I wish they would have put that in the instructions). The thing to remember is that it is no easy work to get rid of the Artex covering, be prepared for a hard slog.....
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
This is one of the toughest stripping jobs there is; as the stripper lifts the top payer of paint from the Artex this lifts the stripper stopping it working. We work really closely with the manufacturers of X-Tex and they have been doing this for many years, so I will get them to help you with some ideas how to make these tougher job more effective.
Posted 6 years ago
Still waiting for goods
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
We are very sorry for the delay in getting your products to you. We had been informed by our courier (Fedex) that this order was delivered on Tuesday last week (22nd March). We will contact their customer service team tomorrow (Monday) as soon as they open to find out what has gone wrong. Thank you for your patience.
Posted 6 years ago
We hope that this issue has now been resolved - we have asked our couriers to ensure that the post a card through the door if they ever leave deliveries with neighbours in future.
Posted 6 years ago
DIY Doctor Ltd is rated 4.68 based on 357 reviews