DIY Doctor Ltd Reviews

4.68 Rating 357 Reviews
94 %
of reviewers recommend DIY Doctor Ltd
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 86%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 90%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Read DIY Doctor Ltd Reviews

About DIY Doctor Ltd:

DIY Doctor has been providing advice and information for free since 1998. Selling specially selected tools of trade quality at DIY prices, DIY Doctor aims to be the conduit between the Trade and the home owner. Our aim it to help you get your home improvement project completed with the right tools, first time.

Visit Website


0845 634 2179



Block 1 - Suite 2 Lakeside Park

Write Your review

Tell us how DIY Doctor Ltd made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Still waiting for the item ordered to arrive..
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Huge apologies for the delays with your products, due to the current situation we are advising 7-10 days delivery times I can confirm that your item is on it’s way to you and is with the courier Myhermes Again, huge apologies for the delays Kind regards
Posted 1 year ago
i left my child in your store and it turned back up at my house
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Susan, I am sorry to hear you're not satisfied, however we don't think you have the right company, as we do not have any physical stores. All the best, The DIY Doctor Team
Posted 2 years ago
Both items were broken/didn't work properly. Flyer perhaps should have a contact number on it. Rang......receptionist not really on the ball. There should be the capability to put me through to someone who can help. Still waiting for a return call.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Jerry, I am sorry that we have not responded as you would expect, and we have spoken to the people involved here. Further to our email over the weekend, and our conversation this morning, we will arrange to get the defective items back so that we can raise the issue with the manufacturers to try and ensure it doesn't happen again. In the meantime we have organised to get some replacement products out to you.
Posted 2 years ago
Declined to take a job the day after I called them. Couldn't even be bothered to call me.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Dominic, I am sorry that you have a bad experience, although I don't believe that it was with us, as we at DIY Doctor do not take on jobs and have no record of you contacting us at all. We only publish information and help online for you to read to learn how you can do your project yourself. We are aware that there is another company that call themselves DIY Doctors who do operate as handymen/jobbing builders who you might have contacted. They are in the North East or North West, while we are based in Somerset. Incidentally, despite own and developing the name "DIY Doctor" for nearly 20 years now, there is nothing we can do to stop them using the same name as they are deemed to be in a different sector (as we are considered publishers). It is frustrating and confusing and you're not the first to be caught out by this. We understand the frustration, All the best, Charles DIY Doctor Ltd
Posted 2 years ago
I asked the chat line for the correct type of replacement cutting wheels for my record pipe cutter (Record 102). What I have ordered and received is for a smaller cutter. I will be sending them back but it has delayed a job.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We are very sorry that you got the wrong product and appreciate your frustration. We do try to provide accurate information on our chat service and we believe that we have directed you to the correct item. The spares that wanted (and the cutter that you have) have been discontinued by Irwin, and this was suggested to us as the right replacement. I understand from our suppliers that there are no longer any spares available for your particular cutter. Apologies again. We we will refund you in full and thank you for your patience.
Posted 3 years ago
Goods did nothing like what was lead to believe they should do, damage done has cost me at least £250 to put right at least as well as the stress it has put me through In all phone calls they were trying to get out of any responsibility
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
We are really sorry that you have had a bad experience. We really tried to help you by discussing what you should have done and what needed to be done to rectify your worktop. Sadly, you did not follow our instructions (or the instructions of Rustins, the manufacturers, either). As such we do not feel we bear the responsibility for your predicament, but we would like to help, and tried our utmost with calls and emails over the weekend, which we believe is considerably more than any other retailer could or would do. We have explained to you what needs to be done to your worktop, but we do appreciate that you might not want or be able to do this. Sadly there is nothing else that we can realistically do, but we will be happy to advise further should you need it.
Posted 5 years ago
Would not remove the grout with 2 blades inserted never mind one! Did not work as stated on video. Hired an electric multi tool - worked perfectly.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
I am very sorry that this Grout Rake did not work for you. A multi-tool is a much more powerful tool but you will run the risk of damaging the tiles, so we wouldn't generally recommend it, certainly without a little more knowledge about the job in hand. A hand grout rake like this one will be much harder work - as it is you are doing the hard work! Generally using 2 blades is for removing thicker grout, where the gap between the tiles is wider than a single blade - but this does require even more 'elbow grease' as there is more friction across the two blades. In the vast majority of cases a grout rake will do the job; I am sorry that you seem to have come against the 1% of grouting that needs more, and no grout rake will have worked. There is generally no way of knowing this until you start the job. I know that it is no consolation now, but we are happy to help if you are unsure before your next tool purchase.
Posted 5 years ago
So disappointed but sorry to say it useless - didn't even get through the paint let alone the artex didn't even soften it. I am very familiar with paint strippers so followed all the rules to the letter -but had to revert back to hot water and scraper - complete waste of money.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
I am really sorry about the trouble you have been having. I know we spoke at the time, but I hope that you have now had more success with stripping your Artex. Old Artex, which has been covered by numerous layers of paint over the years can be very tricky; the Artex remover needs to get through all this before it can start to do it's job. X-Tex will actually get through these layers of paint, given time and with a few tricks that we discussed. As a result of my discussion with you, we have worked with the manufactures (Eco Solutions) to create a leaflet about how to deal with tricky Artex, which we will send to everyone that purchases X-Tex so that they don't find themselves in the same, frustrating situation as you did. We also will be able to provide a dedicated support line for people that are having trouble and would like to discuss how to get better results. This will be direct to the manufacturers who have had years of experience so have come across every Artex stripping situation imaginable. I appreciate that most of this is too late to help you, but hopefully it will reassure you that when you purchase products from us we will do what we can to help you get your project done and use your feedback to make sure other have a better experience. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, and sorry again for your experience.
Posted 5 years ago
DIY Doctor Ltd is rated 4.68 based on 357 reviews