Wayfairer Travel Reviews

4.96 Rating 90 Reviews
100% of reviewers recommend Wayfairer Travel

About Wayfairer Travel: Specialists in tailor-made luxury holidays to Africa & Asia

Visit Website

Phone:
0203 143 4293

Email:
enquiries@wayfairertravel.com

Location:
36 King Street, Bristol, BS1 4DZ

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email
communication channels

How would you rate Wayfairer Travel ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

5
Janine Jackson
"We were referred to Wayfairer Travel via Rosie's Responsible Travel when I enquired about agents who could help us plan a trip to South Africa for our family of four (including two teenagers). I contacted Tom at Wayfairer in addition to a couple of other recommended agents with our ideas for the trip and Tom came back with a good plan at a reasonable price, and when I contacted him regarding some amendments and the fact that we would need the price to come down a little he immediately came back with a revised plan. This response is why we chose Wayfairer and we were not disappointed. Tom arranged the flights, accommodation and car hire for our trip which was over a two week period beginning in Cape Town and self-driving down the garden route to finish at a game reserve near Port Elizabeth. The flight prices seemed competitive and we were blown away by the accommodation that Tom arranged for us. We stayed mostly in small boutique style hotels that were elegant and contemporary, although still warm and friendly, some of which had the most fantastic views (nothing like watching whales in the bay whilst eating your breakfast!). We also stayed on an ostrich farm which added a real element of interest and history and again, was incredibly welcoming with fantastic views over the terrain. Whilst our safari lodge was a very different style of accommodation, being an old 1900's lodge with rather temperamental plumbing and gaps around the windows, the rooms were a good size, the homely atmosphere wonderful and the food fantastic - we soon forgot about any minor irritations and felt very much at home. And the game reserve itself (and drives) was absolutely out of this world - the most memorable part of our trip. Whilst Tom did offer to source the various other activities we were interested in booking (whale watching, hiking up table mountain, Robben Island tour, etc) we did find it more competitive to book these ourselves and perhaps my only negative comment would be that on occasion Tom took a while to come back to us when tuning the finer details of our trip, but to be fair the company was moving offices during this time and he did apologise. The information that came with our final itinerary was very useful and relevant to our visit to South Africa with some great travel tips for that area. All in all I would definitely recommend Tom at Wayfairer Travel when booking a holiday to South Africa."
Report
Posted 5 days ago
5
Steve Lister
"I just wanted to say thanks for putting together a memorable trip for Lorna, Jack and me - we loved all of it and it was a perfect holiday for Lorna’s 50th birthday year. The lodges were really friendly places and very helpful to deal with a wheelchair user as a guest - Kitela was a lot of fun and the Four Seasons surpassed our very high expectations, it is just spectacular! Oh and they laid on a herd of elephants for us as we entered the lodge :) All the best with your business, hope to be in touch in the future to plan another trip,"
Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hayley Woodley
"Tom at Wayfairer planned our perfect honeymoon for us. He was quick at initially responding and understood exactly what we wanted for our honeymoon. His suggestions and plans were always sensible and helpful and he kept in touch with us from start to finish. We wanted to do a safari and he organised an unforgettable trip to the Masai Mara. Everything went smoothly without a single glitch thanks to all his hard work so we were able to completely switch off, relax and enjoy our honeymoon. We stayed for two nights at Saruni Wild, a luxury rented lodge in the heart of the Masai Mara. I’ll never forget falling asleep to the sound of lions hunting! Our luxury tent was incredible and we even had hot showers on demand, a rarity in the thick of it on the Mara! Our last two nights were spent at Saruni Mara with wonderful views of the Mara planes and it was hands down the best “hotel” I have ever stayed in. To top it off the staff were so kind and went above and beyond to make our trip special. Our three course lunches and dinner every day were delicious and it was no chore for them that my husband is gluten intolerant. The guides are extremely knowledgeable, we got up close and personal to dozens of wild animals and we felt very safe in their hands and appreciated their respect for the wildlife. One of our favourite things was sundowners with the lions and breakfast with the hippos. Tom also organised a hot air balloon ride over the Masai Mara and it completely blew us both away, it was phenomenal. I cried leaving Kenya because I was heart broken to be leaving such a wonderful place after the amazing time we had and it was all down to Toms hard work and planning. He really did create the perfect honeymoon for us in every aspect and we will be forever thankful!"
Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Our Wayfairer holiday to Northern Tanzania and Zanzibar was fabulous! We loved every part of it! The flights via Dubai were good and this will become easier when Emirates move the Fly Dubai flights into their terminal at the airport. We had a short delay on the way out which made our timings a bit tight. The way back was fine, plenty of time for our transfer at Dubai. Rivertrees Country Inn at Arusha was excellent for a recovery day, we regretted not taking an extra day in Arusha and would definitely do that another time. Food was great here, we rested up for the day and it was very comfortable. Esto from Asilia met us day 2, he was wonderful throughout. Our first day at Lake Manyara was a good entry point - we got very close to elephants, monkeys and baboons. The tree walkway was interesting, and good to get out of the car. Endoro Lodge was comfortable and the service was good. We left here late morning the next day for Ngorogoro - which was spectacular. The walk on the rim with the ranger was fabulous, he really was able to help us to understand the area and to see more of the flora. We got quite close to some zebra on our walk. Ang’Ata camp was very comfortable, the tent was great. The only thing is that it is cold - you are 2400m up, we were just about ok clothes wise, but would advise people to bring some gloves and a hat - at dinner guests were wrapped in blankets. It was fabulous to get back to the tent to find a hot water bottle in the bed for each of us. Food was great again. The crater was, as promised, breathtaking. We saw our first lions here and rhinos in the distance. The fourth of the ‘big 5’ came to see us in the camp later, a large male buffalo having a laze in the grass. The camp took our security and safety very seriously which was impressive. The drive to the Serengeti was full of changing landscapes. We stopped off for an hour or so at Oldupai/Olduvai, this was a change of focus away from game drives and allowed us to see a significant paleoanthropological site and museum; it would have been a real shame to miss this and it didn’t take time out of our game viewing day, as we did a game drive on the way to Kati Kati camp. The camp was very comfortable, hot showers offered morning and evening. It was much warmer down here, but still chilly in the morning and evening. Food was great here, they ran a good system for lunches where they had a lunch buffet and packed what you wanted (good to cut out waste). We saw the last of the ‘big 5’ - lucky enough to see leopards (two leopards in two trees a male and a female). Lots of elephants, lions, giraffes, a cheetah, antelopes, gazelles, water bucks, buffaloes. We saw a pride of lions with their kill from night before. We met a rhino ranger towards the south of the park, this was interesting and brings into focus the challenges of protecting these beasts. The flight from Seronera via Arusha to Zanzibar was uneventful. We had cut down on our luggage and only had the 15kg each - nobody weighed it!! We could have afforded a bit more stuff for Ngorogoro!! I guess the point here is not to take the mickey, nobody will mind if you’re a little over, but turn up with obviously too much they might get upset!! Stonetown was a shock to the system, but fabulous. Busy, crumbling, bustling. We walked around without any problems, we almost had to have a word with ourselves to remind ourselves not to treat this place like London!! There were people trying to get us to go into their shops, but no one really put any effort into pressuring us!! There are some fabulous places to eat and these are really good value. We wandered, visited the hammam, the slave market and the fort. The House of Wonders is closed for renovation and we ran out of time and energy for the museum. Kholle House hotel is beautiful and comfortable, breakfasts were good and it was very close to everything. To be fair, in Stonetown, everything is close to everything! On the drive to the beach we did a Spice tour - this was interesting. Pongwe Beach was wonderful! We did very little for the five days we had there. Staff were fabulous (could’nt do enough for you), the room was lovely, the beach was glorious, the meals excellent. Would definitely recommend a few days here at the end of a busy itinerary. I really enjoyed seeing the bush babies in the bar - they come to get fruit every evening. All in all a great holiday, we have loads of photos which we need to sort through, had great experiences and wonderful memories. Wayfairer, Tom specifically, have been fantastic and arranged an amazing itinerary for us, and while it wasn’t cheap it was, most certainly, excellent value for money. Everything worked seamlessly. Would recommend them as providing something personal to us which worked like clockwork. What a fabulous country Tanzania is, we would definitely go back."
Helpful Report
Posted 22 hours ago
Visit Website
"We were referred to Wayfairer Travel via Rosie's Responsible Travel when I enquired about agents who could help us plan a trip to South Africa for our family of four (including two teenagers). I contacted Tom at Wayfairer in addition to a couple of other recommended agents with our ideas for the trip and Tom came back with a good plan at a reasonable price, and when I contacted him regarding some amendments and the fact that we would need the price to come down a little he immediately came back with a revised plan. This response is why we chose Wayfairer and we were not disappointed. Tom arranged the flights, accommodation and car hire for our trip which was over a two week period beginning in Cape Town and self-driving down the garden route to finish at a game reserve near Port Elizabeth. The flight prices seemed competitive and we were blown away by the accommodation that Tom arranged for us. We stayed mostly in small boutique style hotels that were elegant and contemporary, although still warm and friendly, some of which had the most fantastic views (nothing like watching whales in the bay whilst eating your breakfast!). We also stayed on an ostrich farm which added a real element of interest and history and again, was incredibly welcoming with fantastic views over the terrain. Whilst our safari lodge was a very different style of accommodation, being an old 1900's lodge with rather temperamental plumbing and gaps around the windows, the rooms were a good size, the homely atmosphere wonderful and the food fantastic - we soon forgot about any minor irritations and felt very much at home. And the game reserve itself (and drives) was absolutely out of this world - the most memorable part of our trip. Whilst Tom did offer to source the various other activities we were interested in booking (whale watching, hiking up table mountain, Robben Island tour, etc) we did find it more competitive to book these ourselves and perhaps my only negative comment would be that on occasion Tom took a while to come back to us when tuning the finer details of our trip, but to be fair the company was moving offices during this time and he did apologise. The information that came with our final itinerary was very useful and relevant to our visit to South Africa with some great travel tips for that area. All in all I would definitely recommend Tom at Wayfairer Travel when booking a holiday to South Africa."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Thank you for this fantastic review Janine. We really appreciate the level of detail you've gone in to and it is great to hear that you had such a fantastic holiday in South Africa. Please don't hesitate to contact us again about any future travel plans and we will be delighted to help.

Tom
Posted 1 day ago
"I just wanted to say thanks for putting together a memorable trip for Lorna, Jack and me - we loved all of it and it was a perfect holiday for Lorna’s 50th birthday year. The lodges were really friendly places and very helpful to deal with a wheelchair user as a guest - Kitela was a lot of fun and the Four Seasons surpassed our very high expectations, it is just spectacular! Oh and they laid on a herd of elephants for us as we entered the lodge :) All the best with your business, hope to be in touch in the future to plan another trip,"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you for your fantastic review Steve. I'm delighted that the holiday was such a success and we look forward to helping you with your future holiday plans.

Tom
Posted 1 week ago
"Tom at Wayfairer planned our perfect honeymoon for us. He was quick at initially responding and understood exactly what we wanted for our honeymoon. His suggestions and plans were always sensible and helpful and he kept in touch with us from start to finish. We wanted to do a safari and he organised an unforgettable trip to the Masai Mara. Everything went smoothly without a single glitch thanks to all his hard work so we were able to completely switch off, relax and enjoy our honeymoon. We stayed for two nights at Saruni Wild, a luxury rented lodge in the heart of the Masai Mara. I’ll never forget falling asleep to the sound of lions hunting! Our luxury tent was incredible and we even had hot showers on demand, a rarity in the thick of it on the Mara! Our last two nights were spent at Saruni Mara with wonderful views of the Mara planes and it was hands down the best “hotel” I have ever stayed in. To top it off the staff were so kind and went above and beyond to make our trip special. Our three course lunches and dinner every day were delicious and it was no chore for them that my husband is gluten intolerant. The guides are extremely knowledgeable, we got up close and personal to dozens of wild animals and we felt very safe in their hands and appreciated their respect for the wildlife. One of our favourite things was sundowners with the lions and breakfast with the hippos. Tom also organised a hot air balloon ride over the Masai Mara and it completely blew us both away, it was phenomenal. I cried leaving Kenya because I was heart broken to be leaving such a wonderful place after the amazing time we had and it was all down to Toms hard work and planning. He really did create the perfect honeymoon for us in every aspect and we will be forever thankful!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for this wonderful review Hayley. I'm absolutely delighted that you had such a magical experience in Kenya on your honeymoon. Wishing you all the very best in married life.

Tom
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Overall the quality of service, location and general organisation was outstanding. It was nice to meet and dine with other guests and Saruni personnel, which added to the experience. Everyone was very kind and welcoming. The trips between lodges were also seamless. Wayfairer organised all of this at extremely short notice (2 days)!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you so much for the great review and I am so pleased we managed to send you away on such an amazing holiday despite the last minute nature. Hopefully we can take you off on further Wayfairer holidays in the future.

Thea
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Wayfairer were given a huge challenge to arrange a 5 week holiday for us in South Africa with some very specific places we wanted to visit. They were prepared to listen to our demands and also to advise on many things that we were unsure about. We stayed in 14 different places all together and the accommodation arranged for us was perfect. The car hire was also arranged for us and our itinerary planned in detail with maps and detailed driving instructions given. Essentially, for a long complicated holiday we did not experience any problems and Wayfairer obviously played a key role in this with their prior arrangements. This allowed us to focus on enjoying the whole holiday, which is one of the best we have ever had! Thank you Wayfairer!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you so much for the brilliant review and I'm so happy we managed to create this wonderful itinerary for you! It was great to hear all about your different locations and the amazing experiences you had. I can't wait to help organise the next adventure.

Leonie
Posted 2 weeks ago
"They provided a first class experience, which was personalised, of the right quality and they were ready and accessible to support us from day one to the end of the holiday. During the planning of our holiday they proved to be knowledgeable, responsive, understanding and ultimately very competitive compared to other agencies. The information pack they provided was detailed, helpful and meant we were well prepared for our trip. Whilst we were away they were always on hand to respond to questions and to the minor hiccups that we encountered (which were not of their making). Bottom line, they took the stress out of the holiday and made it much more enjoyable for us. Their service is simply excellent; we are lucky to have travelled the world and this is the best support we have encountered."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and beautiful photo. It was a pleasure to design and assist with such a special trip and I hope that we can send you on further travels in the future.

Thea
Posted 2 weeks ago
"My family and I definitely wanted to go on a safari trip this year and did not know where to start as there were so many options. One thing I knew was that it would be in Botswana. Leonie was one of the first to contact me and planned an amazing itinerary. It was easy to communicate with her and she was very patient with all our questions. Fast forward, we just finished our almost 2 week African adventure and we had the time of our lives. The arrangements including pick up, bush plane and accommodations were all spot on. We met amazing people along the way. Thanks so much and we will definitely work with Leonie or any of the Wayfairer staff in the near future. Candice Ruby Corona, California"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you so much for you incredible review and I'm so happy you loved every bit of your amazing itinerary! I can't wait to help you book your next amazing adventure.

Leonie
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Tom (and Harry) went above and beyond to support us on our holiday. Unfortunately our flight was cancelled and then our luggage lost, but they were constantly on hand to help us try and sort it out."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thanks for the great review Purdey. Glad you got home safely without any more lost bags! Harry.
Posted 1 month ago
"What an amazing experience it was to have Wayfairer handle our travel needs to Africa! Being our honeymoon, this was a special trip for my wife and I and we couldn't be happier with their service. Our specialist Leonie is a rock star and was there for us the entire trip with anything we needed. My wife left her phone at the lodge where we were staying and Leonie had someone waiting for us at the airport with it. Words can't describe how happy we are with making the decision to use this company. I highly recommend using them for any travel needs you have. Thank you again for everything!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you so much for the amazing review, it was an absolute pleasure helping you create your incredible honeymoon itinerary! I can't wait to help you book any more exciting adventures in your future. Wishing you all the best in married life.

Leonie
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I went on a wonderful, custom tailored trip to Thailand in March 2018. I searched for a long while until I found Wayfairer, and I'm so glad I found them. My main contact was Thea, and she was really helpful. She herself had recently traveled to Thailand, so she had great recommendations to help customize my trip. She was really communicative- we used Whats app mostly, which was helpful given our 8 hour time difference (I live in Los Angeles). We built a wonderful trip that had a little bit of everything- adventure, pampering, cultural exchanges, history, beautiful nature, shopping, and of course night markets! My local tour guides- Pong Sin and Pranee- were really great as well, and made sure I had a good time. The pace of my 3 week trip was good too. My one suggestion would be to make sure you have the name, local phone number, and email address of the local Wayfairer representative, and communicate with them before you arrive. One of my drivers was not there to pick me up in the airport and I'm glad I had her contact info and a phone that could call her. I had a few other minor snafus but Wayfairer was really good in helping me resolve them. Overall, I would highly recommend using Wayfairer to custom tailor your unforgettable trip!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you much for the fantastic review Michele and the beautiful photo. It was a delight to plan such a unique and special trip for you and I am so pleased you had a memorable 3 weeks with us.

Thea
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Wayfairer were fantastic to work with for our holiday to Thailand. Harry was attentive an d very patient & I felt like he really listened to what we wanted from our holiday. We had a fantastic time & would highly recommend Wayfairer."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for this excellent review Rachael, it was a pleasure to work on a great Thailand holiday for you. Please don't hesitate to come back to us with your future holiday plans, as we would be delighted to help.

Harry
Posted 2 weeks ago
"My experience with Wayfairer was extremely positive. The professionalism and service exceeded my expectations. Thea was always there when i needed her or if i had any questions. I could count on her for a prompt reply, and she worked tirelesly to find solitions to my every need right down to the last minute when I had an unexpected personal circumstance that affexted my travel plans. Thanks to her it all worked out. I will gladly use Wayfairer for my next adventure."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and the fantastic photo! I am delighted we were able to get you out there despite the last minute complications. Hopefully we will be able to send you away again soon on a memorable holiday.
Thea
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Harry at wayfairer patiently created an amazing holiday for myself and my daughter 15 meeting up with my older daughter in Thailand. We only had a week but managed three locations without feeling like we had overdone things; two nights whizzing round Bangkok, followed by kao Sok National park in the south. We loved staying in simple rain forest bungalow accommodation and the day spent boating walking and swimming in and around kao Sok Lake with its dramatic jungle covered peaks jutting out of the water. We also enjoyed some very special time with two retired female elephants next morning who seemed to relish their feeding and washing routine with visitors. Finally we stayed at an indulgent resort hotel in Phuket for a couple of days of being pampered by the pool and beach. Everything was taken care of in terms of transport from one location to the next so all the worry was taken away. We had a really memorable time celebrating my and my daughters birthdays in the jungle. Thankyou !!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for this fantastic review Faye. I am thrilled that you and your daughter had such an amazing holiday in Thailand and that your birthday celebrations were so special. Thanks again.

Harry
Posted 2 weeks ago
"We booked our honeymoon to Tanzania with Wayfairer. Tom gave us excellent suggestions for accommodation and itinerary and organised it all, including transfers. It all went very smoothly and the trip was fabulous. We stayed at Lake Manze in the Selous game reserve, an open safari camp with very knowledgeable and helpful guides and managers, followed by all-inclusive at the Sea Cliff Resort in Zanzibar. The Sea Cliff was wonderfully relaxing and welcoming. Thanks to Tom for an incredible honeymoon experience. We would definitely use Wayfairer again and have already recommended to friends."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for this fantastic review Nicola and you are most welcome. I'm really pleased that everything went so well for you on your honeymoon and it's great to hear that you've been recommending us to your friends. Thank you.

Tom
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Exception trip over 2 weeks across Northern India from Pakistan border to Myanmar Border. Organisation was exceptional from first meet and greet , all drives and guides were top class, hotels etc. A tough job for Wayfairer to organise this trip, but all undertaken and delivered with top class professionalism. I would highly recommend."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your excellent review Julian. It was a real pleasure working on this itinerary with you on your second trip to India with us. A really remote, interesting and unusual itinerary which I really enjoyed working on. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed it so much.

Tom
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I really enjoyed our family tour to Thailand and all the hard working by the staff ( Thanks Harry ! Thanks everybody!) who put up together such a beautiful itinerary . I very much enjoyed our guide Nui and her placid , easy personality trying to explain her country in a funny , enjoyable way . I found her accesible, caring and sweet ( and with a nice sense of humor) . I particularly enjoyed the Cooking Class ( great team - husband&wife - and great food) . I will never forget the Tree House hotel in Chaing Mai ( fantastic in every possible way ) hotel in Chiang Mai."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you for this wonderful review Susanna. You're most welcome of course and I am so pleased that you'd your family loved Thailand every bit as much as I do.

Harry
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Tom organized a fantastic safari experience for us with Saruni Wild lodge in Masai Mara region. The Saruni lodges were spectacular! The Saruni Wild he recommended was beyond all our expectations in comfort, location, service. The people there were constantly friendly and fantastic hosts. We could not believe we had the whole place to ourselves! There are two more tents, but ours, the family tent, was the only one occupied, so we had the place to ourselves. The manager, Cecilia, hosted us for dinner the first night, answered all our questions, shared her stories. She is an amazing woman! The second night was not at Saruni Wild, though, because it rained so much they had to evacuate us for security to the other location, Saruni Mara, where they put us up in the family bungalow. Even though it was also fantastic and comfortable, with electricity and wifi, we missed the rugged exposure of the Wild camp. We are glad we got to see both, and we would definitely recommend Wild over Mara for future travelers, if they are OK not having electricity and wifi… it is just as comfortable, and the location is absolutely extraordinary, with wildlife grazing just outside your tent in the morning, with a shorter drive to get to places to watch more wildlife, and with spectacular sunsets sitting by the fire in the evening."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thanks for this excellent review Ricardo. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your safari so much and that you really got to experience the best of the Masai Mara in Kenya. Please don't hesitate to get in touch about any future travel plans as we would be delighted to help again.

Tom
Posted 2 weeks ago
"The holiday to Cambodia was absolutely awesome. Entirely seamless from start to finish with the most incredible hotels. Thea was excellent and put together one of our best ever holidays! Was the first time I have used a travel company to book a trip and wish we had done it sooner."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you so much for the fantastic review Tom. I'm so pleased that we have converted you to use a specialist company and I look forward to sending you away on your next adventure soon.
Thea
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Everything what we wanted and hassle free"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you for your review Paul. I'm so pleased that everything went so well on your trip and that you got everything you wanted from it. Please don't hesitate to contact us again about your future holiday plans.

Tom
Posted 2 weeks ago
Wayfairer Travel is rated 4.96 based on 90 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This