English Holiday Cruises Ltd. Reviews

4.93 Rating 300 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend English Holiday Cruises Ltd.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 31st October 2020
Hugh Ian Crozier
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 31st October 2020
Hugh Ian Crozier
36
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
We enjoyed a relaxing four-day break aboard the MV Edward Elgar. The cruise was booked at short notice due to the ever changing COVID-19 restrictions and allowed us to discover a part of Gloucestershire that we would not normally visit. The crew looked after us very well throughout the cruise. COVID-19 arrangements meant that we felt safe as well as valued and welcomed. The quality of the food was excellent. The cabin was compact and comfortable. The one evening of live music was very enjoyable and allowed us the opportunity to dance! Another evening of music would have been welcomed. Due to the frequent squally showers we were unable to enjoy the outside upper deck. In spite of the weather being changeable though, we were able to take advantage of interesting excursions, some bracing walks along the tow path and stunning views across the Severn estuary. The skipper was very knowledgeable about the canal and the local area; his informative tours and talks helped us to fully appreciate the trip. Overall, this was a valued opportunity to take life at a slower pace, being waited on and fully catered for, and seeing and learning about a part of England- and a way if life- we wouldn’t normally experience. We came back feeling very relaxed and refreshed. We will be booking another trip!
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
Posted 6 months ago
100% enjoyable, friendly and helpful crew, interesting places visited, wonderful food and kept on our toes with entertainment.... quoits, quizzes and talented duo on the last night. Covid rules observed throughout.
Posted 6 months ago
Thanks for a brilliant weekend cruise! Thoroughly relaxing and very well organised (including the extensive extra measures taken to be CovidSafe). Amazing friendly professional team looking after us and attending to our every need. Really looking forward to our next one with you all next June. Keep up the good work!
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 31st October 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 31st October 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 31st October 2020
Posted 6 months ago
An excellent time just a pity the weatherlet us down a bit. The crew were very attentive and helpful and the chef deserve special mention. With all the precautions taken for covid19 we felt very safe and secure. Well done everyone.
Posted 6 months ago
We have just returned from a 4 day cruise on the Gloucester to Sharpness canal. Apart from the weather we a had a very relaxing few days with excellent service throughout the stay. The crew were friendly, attentive and informative. The food was fresh well presented and of a high standard, much better than expected considering the limited amount of kitchen space. The cabin was cosy and clean as was the rest of the boat. The crew had taken all possible precautions regarding Covid so we felt safe at all times. This is definitely a break we would recommend but fine dry weather would make it perfect.
Posted 6 months ago
A perfect 5 night break, starting in Gloucester, during this difficult Covid time. Comfort and friendliness were everywhere and Covid -19 restrictions were very well addressed - hand sanitisers, face masks (worn at all times except at the table and in the cabin) 2 metre distancing - all adding to the feeling of care and attention. The food was exceptional - nutritionally well balanced and portion sizes were perfect. Thank you, Miles the chef. The two stewards, Dan and Jack, were efficient and courteous and saw to all our needs. Louis, who took our temperature each morning, organised a quiz after dinner and deck quoits as well as assisting the skipper - a multi-talented member of the crew. Steve, the skipper, always explained very clearly what was happening along the journey. The selection of tours was varied and well organised, with good guides at each venue. As a bonus, the weather for the week was very good! Cabin facilities were well appointed and the bathroom served its purpose. Beds were very comfortable. Instructions on how to find the boat were very clear and the organisation by the office staff was efficient. Thank you all for a thoroughly enjoyable and stress-free trip.
Posted 6 months ago
Wonderful, wonderful. Our Historic Canal Cruise was absolutely excellent from the minute we boarded the Edward Elgar it was a total pleasure to be on board. All the Covid-19 measures were clearly explained to us and were extremely well thought out and executed at all times. ALL the crew members went the extra (nautical!) mile for our comfort and enjoyment, especially Miles the Chef who catered for my partners vegetarian options, explaining every day what those options were. Each and every meal were of top quality and very well presented. In addition, English Holiday Cruises is well organised, well run and a top customer friendly company. Having been in the Hospitality business most of my working life, I dearly wish that all Hotels, Restaurants and Venues were able to reach the very high standards you offer. If there were a 6-star category, you would definitely win it!
Posted 6 months ago
We had a fabulous mini break. The boat was super clean and efficiently run. At no time did we feel unsafe due to COVID-19 or anything else. The cleaning, social distancing and sanitiser were all exactly right - we felt satisfied with everything and it didn’t encroach or spoil our enjoyment. The choice of itinerary was spot on. The captain and crew were generous, friendly, helpful and always available if needed. The food was very good with so much thought put into providing what we actually wanted, the drinks were free flowing with lots of choice and very reasonably priced. Our cabin was cosy but well planned, everything you wanted was there. The beds were comfortable and warm. The whole experience was relaxing and fun and I would love to go again sometime.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 24th October 2020
Posted 6 months ago
I was a bit nervous about being on my own but the minute stepped on board I felt at home., Thankyou aall for taking such good care of me I don't know how to send a picture, The only time I found difficult was reaching the light cord in the bathroom a and I found the big thermos a bit heavy for my dodgy old shoulder, On looking back I k,eep on smiling
Posted 6 months ago
My wife and I (aged 85 and (90) were first time customers whose June cruise was cancelled due to the Corona virus. We re- booked for October as we expected that by then the virus would be in the past but it still existed. We considered cancelling but thankfully decided not to, and on arriving we were quickly confident that all would be well. We and our fellow guests along with the crew accepted and followed the virus precautions in a friendly and courteous manner. We have no hesitation in recommending your cruises to our friends.
Posted 6 months ago
very friendly holiday excellent food very covid safe
Posted 6 months ago
Enjoyed the cruise,excellent food, good company, well organised facilities for Pandemic and felt safe. Thanks to all concerned will recommend.
Posted 6 months ago
We had a wonderful trip on MV Edward Elgar. My husband and I enjoyed the trips in Gloucester, Upton upon Severn, Tewkesbury and Worcester. The guided walks and visit to Worcester Cathedral were very interesting. We felt very safe on board and the COVID-19 precautions were stringent. The captain and crew were exceptional and made us feel very welcome. Meals were first class and professionally presented. The wildlife along the canal and river was prolific and we saw kingfishers, herons, cormorants and many other birds. This was our first cruise and it excelled all our expectations.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 18th October 2020
Posted 6 months ago
well catered for Covid restrictions VERY well looked after, food top marks not sure I could cope with the shower room again bed VERY comfy
Posted 6 months ago
Our cruise was a very enjoyable and relaxing cruise, despite all the restrictions caused by the Covid-19 virus. The actions taken by English Holidays made us feel quite safe throughout the cruise. We found the crew to be attentive, friendly, well mannered and efficient. The food was good and catered for my diabetic/coeliac diet very well. Only complaint was that there was no gluten-free beer in the bar! All in all a great experience.
Posted 7 months ago
We have just returned from a Severn Wonders Cruise on the Edward Elgar and had a wonderful time. Our holiday was fun and relaxing with just the right mix of cruising, on board activities and entertainment, and time off the boat for some interesting visits to places along the route. The Edward Elgar is comfortable and the new “pods” for each cabin in the lounge area are well thought out and felt safe while still letting us chat with our fellow passengers. It is clear a lot of thought and attention to detail has gone into all the arrangements on board to make sure everything works really well. Cabins are compact but had everything we needed. The menus were varied and the food provided by Miles was always really tasty and enjoyable. And the crew were all fantastic, friendly and helpful, ensuring we were well looked after throughout the week so thank you Steve, Miles, Louis, Dan and Jack.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 2nd October 2020
Posted 7 months ago
You couldn't have felt safer. Everything for your safety was thought of, if you forgot your mask you were very gently reminded and the whole experience was as friendly as you could expect under the circumstances! Highly recommended!
Posted 7 months ago
We spent a most enjoyable week on board the "Edward Elgar" - the crew were most helpful, friendly and attentative and were led by a communicative Captain whose local knowledge enriched our tour. The chef was brilliant and consistantly provided excellent, tasty, "home" cooked and well presented meals. The Covid arrangements worked well and did not intrude much into the pleasant way of life on board - we could still chat to other guests across the lounge. Thank you English Holiday Cruises.
Posted 7 months ago
The Heart of England cruise that we recently took was a really great experience. It far exceeded expectations in this troubled time. The Covid-19 protocol changes made were well done and handled expertly. The crew were well trained and most attentive to every need. It was a shame that the family bubbles had to be in place which restricted a more intimate experience but we manged to have interesting and lively conversations with our fellow travellers at our segregated dinner tables without face masks. Up on the deck it was not a requirement to wear face masks and we felt comfortable with the social spacing arrangements and the beautiful weather whilst watching the scenery go by. It was punctuated by a daily game of deck quoits managed by our jack of all trades crewman Louis. The food was expertly prepared by our Chef Miles and was five star quality with great presentation and made on board with locally sourced ingredients. We often saw Miles walking off along the riverbank at times foraging for some of the days ingredients. It was obvious that his previous culinary experience was at some of the finest restaurants. It was enhanced by the copious amounts of libation on offer. Dan and Jack were our other crewmen acting mainly as stewards and quiz masters for the early evening entertainment complimented on a couple of nights by excellent live entertainers. The cabins were comfortable but a little small for two people trying to wash and dress in the mornings. The ventilation and cooling in the cabins was good with sanitiser provided inside and outside the cabins as required. Most mornings were spent sailing serenely along the river Severn and afternoons usually involved a tour to a local town or attraction after mooring up for the night. These tours were very well managed with social distancing employed at all times and informative local guides. As we sailed along we were regaled by commentary from our erstwhile captain Steve who was a submariner in a previous life. His knowledge of the local landmarks accompanied by his wit and humour was a breath of fresh air and at the end of the trip we left wanting more. Overall the experience was unforgettable made all the better by Captain Steve's leadership skills and the professionalism of his enthusiastic crew. We have no hesitation in awarding the Edward Elgar and crew a five star rating and highly recommend the company and experience
Posted 7 months ago
We were surprised and delighted that all your hard work enabled the holiday to go ahead. Steve and all the crew kept us safe, gave us delightful meals and plenty of laughs! The Covid preperations were superb. Thank you for a great week
Posted 7 months ago
Thank you for your review, Bernice! It's important to keep laughing, and well-fed! We're glad you think our Covid precautions are suitable. See you again, we hope!
Posted 7 months ago
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. is rated 4.93 based on 300 reviews