English Holiday Cruises Ltd. Reviews

4.93 Rating 259 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend English Holiday Cruises Ltd.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 17th October 2019
Stuart Woods
More Photos & Videos
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 16th October 2019
Elizabeth Dudley
More Photos & Videos
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 8th October 2019
Ian Bedford
More Photos & Videos
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 23rd September 2019
Ann Cottrell
More Photos & Videos
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 23rd September 2019
Ann Cottrell
More Photos & Videos
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 30th August 2019
Lionel Walker
More Photos & Videos
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 26th August 2019
Kevin Barry LAWRENSON
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The food could be much better. Go on a Majestic Line cruise from Oban and see what they manage on a smaller boat with a much smaller galley

The crew were superb.
Posted 10 months ago
Everything about this cruise made us happy, from the booking process to the crew and especially the captain Steve who was entertaining and educating. His crew could not be faulted in any way being efficient, professional and friendly at all times.
However on this particular occasion the chef was on leave and his relief chef had to cry off at short notice, unfortunately the 3rd choice "chef" was not capable of meeting the required standard,in fact the food was very poor indeed.
The owner, Richard Clemens, joined the cruise for dinner for the penultimate night, having told him of our only criticism of the trip he seemed very reluctant to accept our and others very valid complaints regarding the 'chefs' capability to deliver the brochure promise food,in fact it was dire.
I regret having to post this but it is true reflection of our experience.
I would seriously suggest that you check which chef is on board before booking, if his name is Ed don't book!!
Posted 11 months ago
The cruise was very good, the crew were very pleasant and efficient.
Posted 1 year ago
Sadly the weather has a major impact on our holiday. Due to flooding on the Severn our Cruise holiday became a minibus holiday in parts. The Severn was closed for the second half of our holiday. The food on the cruise was excellent but the cabins are very cramped. On Sunday morning, our last day, we were able to sit on the roof deck and enjoy the view for the only time during the cruise for a couple of hours before embarkation.
Posted 1 year ago
This was a pleasant holiday despite the rather poor weather. The crew were very friendly and hard-working and the various excursions offered much variety. However, the Severn is not a very interesting river, its size is a severe limitation on the facilities which can be offered on a cruise boat and five nights was quite long enough.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 4 star review on 2nd June 2019
Posted 1 year ago
THE STAFF WERE COURTEOUS AND HELPFUL. THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT.
AND THE SEATING IN THE MAIN PART OF THE BOAT WAS EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE. UNFORTUNATELY THE ITINERARY WAS CHANGED WITH ONLY SHORT NOTICE BEING GIVEN. THE TAXI FAILED TO SHOW UP AT THE HOTEL TO TAKE US TO THE BOAT, ONE DID ARRIVE EVENTUALLY AFTER WE HAD RUNG UP. THAT APART IT WAS A THOROUGHLY ENJOYABLE HOLIDAY. DON AND ANNE HASLAM
Posted 1 year ago
A fin and convivial weekend with good food company and excellent entertainment from aint misbehaving.
Posted 1 year ago
A most enjoyable few days, made especially good by the ever present but unobtrusive, humorous, kind and helpful crew and their wonderful chef Miles who produced the most delicious and attractive meals.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 4 star review on 15th October 2018
(River Heritage) - Posted 1 year ago
Had the most wonderful trip on the Edward Elgar on the Severn River Cruise. The staff were second to none in their efforts to ensure we had the best experience possible. The boat and food was as described in the literature, whilst the cabin was compact, it was possible to fit in the two large suitcases with all our extra luggage and we were impressed by the comfortable beds and large bathroom/shower. There was an adapter plus two USB ports in the cabin.
Only drawback, hence 4* was the wifi only works on the main deck. It would have made a big difference to our holiday to have been able to access the wifi in our cabin. I did find I could send messages by balancing my phone on the window sill but I am sure it would not be too difficult for this to be sorted. Also, it would have been nice to have been able to see a newspaper or read subtitles on a tv as we felt a bit isolated from the outside world. Overall an excellent holiday.
(River Heritage) - Posted 1 year ago
The crew were friendly and efficient. Food was always excellent and served hot. The boat facilities were adequate considering the size of the boat. There was a need for an awning on the upper deck in the hot weather. Air conditioning in the main saloon would also be good. We really enjoyed the cruise it was a very good experience.
(Severn Wonders) - Posted 1 year ago
Hotel poor as no air con. Crew fantastic.Food delicious. Itinerary good. Needs more evening entertainment each night like Ain't Misbehaving.
(Heart Of England) - Posted 1 year ago
The crew, onboard facilities, food and food options were excellent. The excursions, entertainment and past times available were well organised. Bar location, selection and prices very acceptable. The whole river cruise was a very enjoyable and relaxing experience.
(Heart Of England) - Posted 2 years ago
A pleasant and relaxing trip to a part of the world we have not visited before. Cabins are small but storage space is adequate. Just have to be organised. Beds very comfortable. En-suite compact but functional. Upstairs seating areas comfortable and bar area a pleasant retreat from main lounge. Breakfast disappointing. More variety in fruit salad ( blueberries, strawberries?) would have been nice. Also yoghurt. Selection of cereals unappealing as was croissants stuffed with pancetta. Our replacement of eggs poached in water and not sufficiently drained resulted in soggy toast which was unpleasant. Given the limitations of the galley, chef did a good job. Entertainment acceptable. Another quiz would have been good. The crew were very pleasant and Captain Steve is very good humoured and knowledgeable of the River Severn. The pre-cruise stay at The Hatherley was fine for one night.
(Heart Of England) - Posted 2 years ago
The crew were lovely and always willing to help. Where the food on the menu was not what we could eat, Miles did make us something different. Having said that, the food towards the end of the week was not as nice as at the beginning. I would have liked a choice of meal, put up the night before so I could choose what I was going to eat.
The boat and crew were lovely. More quizzes and games would have been nice.:o)
(Heart Of England) - Posted 2 years ago
Happy crew, happy ship,
Relaxing cruise, hence this tip-
Food was good, the vessel fine,
Keep the venues and the wine.
(Cruise To The Views) - Posted 2 years ago
An interesting way to see parts of our country we usually pass through on motorways.
Good company and crew and catering.
(Cruise To The Views) - Posted 2 years ago
Very good food. Captain and crew excellent. Tours good.
(River Heritage Cruise) - Posted 2 years ago
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. is rated 4.93 based on 259 reviews