English Holiday Cruises Ltd. Reviews

4.93 Rating 300 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend English Holiday Cruises Ltd.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 31st October 2020
Hugh Ian Crozier
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 31st October 2020
Hugh Ian Crozier
36
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
You couldn't have felt safer.
Everything for your safety was thought of, if you forgot your mask you were very gently reminded and the whole experience was as friendly as you could expect under the circumstances!
Highly recommended!
Posted 4 months ago
The Heart of England cruise that we recently took was a really great experience. It far exceeded expectations in this troubled time. The Covid-19 protocol changes made were well done and handled expertly. The crew were well trained and most attentive to every need. It was a shame that the family bubbles had to be in place which restricted a more intimate experience but we manged to have interesting and lively conversations with our fellow travellers at our segregated dinner tables without face masks. Up on the deck it was not a requirement to wear face masks and we felt comfortable with the social spacing arrangements and the beautiful weather whilst watching the scenery go by. It was punctuated by a daily game of deck quoits managed by our jack of all trades crewman Louis. The food was expertly prepared by our Chef Miles and was five star quality with great presentation and made on board with locally sourced ingredients. We often saw Miles walking off along the riverbank at times foraging for some of the days ingredients. It was obvious that his previous culinary experience was at some of the finest restaurants. It was enhanced by the copious amounts of libation on offer. Dan and Jack were our other crewmen acting mainly as stewards and quiz masters for the early evening entertainment complimented on a couple of nights by excellent live entertainers. The cabins were comfortable but a little small for two people trying to wash and dress in the mornings. The ventilation and cooling in the cabins was good with sanitiser provided inside and outside the cabins as required. Most mornings were spent sailing serenely along the river Severn and afternoons usually involved a tour to a local town or attraction after mooring up for the night. These tours were very well managed with social distancing employed at all times and informative local guides. As we sailed along we were regaled by commentary from our erstwhile captain Steve who was a submariner in a previous life. His knowledge of the local landmarks accompanied by his wit and humour was a breath of fresh air and at the end of the trip we left wanting more. Overall the experience was unforgettable made all the better by Captain Steve's leadership skills and the professionalism of his enthusiastic crew. We have no hesitation in awarding the Edward Elgar and crew a five star rating and highly recommend the company and experience
Posted 4 months ago
We enjoyed a relaxing four-day break aboard the MV Edward Elgar. The cruise was booked at short notice due to the ever changing COVID-19 restrictions and allowed us to discover a part of Gloucestershire that we would not normally visit. The crew looked after us very well throughout the cruise. COVID-19 arrangements meant that we felt safe as well as valued and welcomed. The quality of the food was excellent. The cabin was compact and comfortable. The one evening of live music was very enjoyable and allowed us the opportunity to dance! Another evening of music would have been welcomed. Due to the frequent squally showers we were unable to enjoy the outside upper deck. In spite of the weather being changeable though, we were able to take advantage of interesting excursions, some bracing walks along the tow path and stunning views across the Severn estuary. The skipper was very knowledgeable about the canal and the local area; his informative tours and talks helped us to fully appreciate the trip. Overall, this was a valued opportunity to take life at a slower pace, being waited on and fully catered for, and seeing and learning about a part of England- and a way if life- we wouldn’t normally experience. We came back feeling very relaxed and refreshed. We will be booking another trip!
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
Posted 3 months ago
We have just returned from a 4 day cruise on the Gloucester to Sharpness canal. Apart from the weather we a had a very relaxing few days with excellent service throughout the stay. The crew were friendly, attentive and informative. The food was fresh well presented and of a high standard, much better than expected considering the limited amount of kitchen space. The cabin was cosy and clean as was the rest of the boat. The crew had taken all possible precautions regarding Covid so we felt safe at all times. This is definitely a break we would recommend but fine dry weather would make it perfect.
Posted 3 months ago
A perfect 5 night break, starting in Gloucester, during this difficult Covid time. Comfort and friendliness were everywhere and Covid -19 restrictions were very well addressed - hand sanitisers, face masks (worn at all times except at the table and in the cabin) 2 metre distancing - all adding to the feeling of care and attention. The food was exceptional - nutritionally well balanced and portion sizes were perfect. Thank you, Miles the chef. The two stewards, Dan and Jack, were efficient and courteous and saw to all our needs. Louis, who took our temperature each morning, organised a quiz after dinner and deck quoits as well as assisting the skipper - a multi-talented member of the crew. Steve, the skipper, always explained very clearly what was happening along the journey. The selection of tours was varied and well organised, with good guides at each venue. As a bonus, the weather for the week was very good! Cabin facilities were well appointed and the bathroom served its purpose. Beds were very comfortable. Instructions on how to find the boat were very clear and the organisation by the office staff was efficient. Thank you all for a thoroughly enjoyable and stress-free trip.
Posted 3 months ago
We had a wonderful trip on MV Edward Elgar. My husband and I enjoyed the trips in Gloucester, Upton upon Severn, Tewkesbury and Worcester. The guided walks and visit to Worcester Cathedral were very interesting. We felt very safe on board and the COVID-19 precautions were stringent. The captain and crew were exceptional and made us feel very welcome. Meals were first class and professionally presented. The wildlife along the canal and river was prolific and we saw kingfishers, herons, cormorants and many other birds. This was our first cruise and it excelled all our expectations.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 18th October 2020
Posted 4 months ago
We have just returned from a Severn Wonders Cruise on the Edward Elgar and had a wonderful time. Our holiday was fun and relaxing with just the right mix of cruising, on board activities and entertainment, and time off the boat for some interesting visits to places along the route. The Edward Elgar is comfortable and the new “pods” for each cabin in the lounge area are well thought out and felt safe while still letting us chat with our fellow passengers. It is clear a lot of thought and attention to detail has gone into all the arrangements on board to make sure everything works really well. Cabins are compact but had everything we needed. The menus were varied and the food provided by Miles was always really tasty and enjoyable. And the crew were all fantastic, friendly and helpful, ensuring we were well looked after throughout the week so thank you Steve, Miles, Louis, Dan and Jack.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 2nd October 2020
Posted 4 months ago
We were surprised and delighted that all your hard work enabled the holiday to go ahead. Steve and all the crew kept us safe, gave us delightful meals and plenty of laughs! The Covid preperations were superb. Thank you for a great week
Posted 5 months ago
Thank you for your review, Bernice! It's important to keep laughing, and well-fed! We're glad you think our Covid precautions are suitable. See you again, we hope!
Posted 5 months ago
A cruise on the Edward Elgar is a wonderful way to spend five days of your life during a pandemic. Skipper Steve and his team of lovely lads made the whole thing a very special experience. Cruising on this hotel boat is the ideal way of seeing this stretch of the River Severn and the excursions were all well planned and interesting. We were treated to a variety of superbly cooked meals - including a different breakfast every day - all served in our Covid safe 'pods' in the restaurant. Masks were worn in all public areas, temperatures taken daily and only we entered our cabins. Overall the anti-virus measures taken made us feel as safe on board this boat as we do in our own home.
This is not so much a review as a 'thank you' letter to all concerned in giving us such an enjoyable few days during this worrying time.
Posted 5 months ago
Rosalind.
Thank you for your kind words especially:
"Overall the anit-virus measures taken made us feel as safe on board this boat as we do in our own home."
Pre Covid, we always used to claim the Elgar is your "Home from home", and we're glad to see you think we can still make that claim!
Posted 5 months ago
An excellent 5 days gliding from town to town, past wonderful scenery inhabited by swans, geese, ducks, herons, kingfishers and many more. Where the water is so still it gives mirror like reflections of all about. Enjoyed great food served by an attentive crew. Would thoroughly recommend it.
Posted 5 months ago
Thank you for the review. The wildlife is certainly a highlight for many of our passengers. We hope to see you again!
Posted 5 months ago
Everything about our recent cruise was five star! The food was excellent (hold on to your Chef at all costs!!), the service impeccable; the crew could not have been more helpful and pleasant. The anti-Covid measures taken on board were really complete, and yet, somehow, not intrusive at all. We felt safe at all times. All in all, we have just had a wonderful, restful and super holiday. Diet starts today!
Posted 5 months ago
Dear Peter,
Thank you for your very kind review. We have worked really hard to make sure we have a Covid secure boat without being too intrusive, and it seems that investment is working to keep passengers like you out on the water enjoying themselves. Thanks again!
Posted 5 months ago
The first trip out from Gloucester, cruising along the Severn River was a total success. We felt very safe with the measures installed to ensure that social distancing was achieved and masks were worn around the ship. Meals were eaten at tables for 2 and the staff were extremely helpful and couldn't have done more to make the journey a success. The weather was very kind to us and we were able to spend time on the upper deck in the sunshine. Top marks to everyone.
Posted 6 months ago
David, thank you for your review and we're glad the top deck had good weather! We'll try to put in another request for sunshine if you come again:)
Posted 6 months ago
We waited till two to board the boat,
You needed until then to prepare.
Luggage unloaded and taken by Mark,
What have I forgotten, will I despair?

Greetings are given, our cabin shown,
Sharon gave all we needed to know.
Beckoned by gorgeous scones, cream and jam,
Our strong wills were tested, what a show!

Sailing by now, Steve the boat controlled,
Tewkesbury had offered a berth that night.
More food eaten with names being learnt,
Passing through locks, watch out, some so tight.

New morning breaks with more food to eat,
As Miles is such a whizz of a cook.
Summoned by Jen, so upward we go,
Quoits on the top deck, our aim we took.

Away from those screens that rule our lives,
Jigsaws were started, the cards came out.
Failure to answer the quiz questions,
Show the lack of our knowledge, no doubt!

Tinkling ivories plus blowing four pipes,
A trombone, saxophone and the flute.
Lively melodies and lilting tunes,
By next year will Diana be playing the lute?

By coach to a train we onward travel,
Speeds may vary but planning well done.
Watching swans from the top of the boat,
We were very lucky, lots of sun.

Our guides expounded, history came alive,
Along ancient cloisters to a sacred tomb.
Arches and chapels are viewed by all,
Church clocks striking their bells do so boom.

True calmness was shown by Captain Steve,
Leading his team through any mishap.
All played their part, so tasks ran smoothly,
Boats overtaking must judge the gap.

From chicken and pork, salmon and lamb,
Beef with such sauce do gather with greens.
Crumble and fool, banana roulade,
Our waists have enlarged, or so it seems.

Joined for a while, meet folks from afar,
Laughing together, sharing such fun.
Rich memories stored, hope others will come,
Nothing too small, all requests well done.

From Bewdley to the birds at Slimbridge,
Our Edward Elgar has cruised her way.
Left in wonder by a barges’ graveyard,
So here thanks from us do come your way.
(Severn Wonders) - Posted 2 years ago
I have just mailed a letter to Ricard Clements saying that my wife and I (84 & 86) rate this as the most enjoyable weekend we have had in 58 years of marriage., Your crew were so wonderful and what they did for us was exciting. The food was superb and the 'Skipper' gave us every attention together with his excellent commentaries. The cabins were 'great' and our fellow-passengers - as always a gigantic mix - added to our enjoyment. My wife, rather handicapped after brain surgery just 9 weeks ago thought the attention that your 'Quintet' were 'perfection'
(Unique Weekend Break) - Posted 3 years ago
Another fantastic cruise on the Edward Elgar. So relaxing, comfort on board excellent and of a high standard and everything about the daily trips to local points of interest so well planned & thought out. All the crew go above & beyond in their duties, always happy & interact well with all guests. The chef, Rowan, prepares and presents outstanding meals with fresh & local produce. The atmosphere on board is very relaxed and the crew play a large part in making this happen. The Skipper keeps you informed of interesting features along the canal/river and with an abundance of wildlife there is never a dull moment. Already booked to return in April 2018 - that says it all. It will be our third trip.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 29th September 2017
(Heart Of England Cruise) - Posted 3 years ago
We had a super time. Food, company and service were excellent. I particularly was so gratified that my husband David was so well looked after, every one of the crew were so understanding of his condition and had so much patience. It was Davids birthday on the Wednesday and a great fuss was made of him. Thank you so much for everything.
Posted 1 year ago
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. is rated 4.93 based on 300 reviews