English Holiday Cruises Ltd. Reviews

4.93 Rating 313 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend English Holiday Cruises Ltd.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 6th June 2021
Anonymous
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 31st October 2020
Hugh Ian Crozier
37
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
We have been on many cruises on oceans, seas and rivers and this was one of the best, despite Covid. The whole team worked hard together to make our stay safe and very enjoyable. They combined warm and friendly service with excellent organisation and planning, both on the boat and on our many included trips. Even on the last morning when our train was cancelled they rallied round re-organising taxis etc to get us literally back on track. Great boat, lovely scenery, idyllic atmosphere and wonderful staff - I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Posted 2 hours ago
We thoroughly enjoyed our cruise on the Edward Elgar. The ship had been brilliantly prepared to be Covid safe, in fact we almost forgot about the virus except when we had to put on our masks when inside! The one way system worked well as did the glass screens separating groups. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful - they even left the power on in my cabin so that I could charge my hearing aids overnight. The food was superb - well balanced menu and carefully presented. The whole trip was well organised with something different to do each day and the musical entertainment on two evenings was a joy! The marvellous weather was a terrific bonus! I would thoroughly recommend English Holiday Cruises.
Posted 2 days ago
Sue, what a wonderful week of weather it has been! Thank you for your review and recommendation.
Posted 1 day ago
A wonderful experience. Everything on the cruise was excellent, the crew were so friendly and the food was superb. The cabins are small but very comfortable and contained everything needed. Covid precautions were taken very seriously and we felt absolutely safe at all times
Posted 1 week ago
Joy, thank you for your kind review. The crew are a friendly bunch, aren't they!?
Posted 1 day ago
The whole boat operation, and the visits were superb, it is not something you control but rather naively I was hoping for better views from the boat. Not your fault at all, but I was disappointed with the general view of the bank of willows leaning over into the water, I realise the willows and other trees are essential to hold the banks together.The visits to various towns Slimbridge and the railways were all very well planned, the food and service on board were excellent.
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Michael, thank you for your review and we're glad you enjoyed the service and tours.
Posted 1 day ago
Really relaxing with exemplary service.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 6th June 2021
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you! Upon upon Severn is a good spot, isn't it?
Posted 1 day ago
Everything was superb. The cabins were well equipped & comfortable. The food was delicious with a very good menu all beautifully presented. I am a coeliac & have various dietary needs & Miles made various meals especally for me which I appreciated. The Covid precautions were well thought out & successful. Various arrangements had to be made to our itinerary as the Severn was so high. Jay & Steve kept us well informed . The staff were all very professional, efficient & friendly & most helpful. Pauline & John Pollard
Posted 1 week ago
Dea John and Pauline. It was an eventful week! We're glad you found the amendments enjoyable and that you were kept well informed. Thankfully our hospitality with good food and drink never suffers changes even with bad weather!
Posted 1 day ago
Despite the combined efforts of COVID precautions and the preceding week’s heavy rains which resulted in the Severn being closed above Gloucester for first half of our trip (and some real-time rescheduling by Jay and Steve), this was a thoroughly enjoyable tour. All the crew were amazingly helpful and efficient, and contributed significantly to our experience. Meals were of a consistently high standard, well above our expectations and Miles always helpful in meeting dietary requests and constraints. The excursions were informative and well-planned (often at short notice!). Our lasting memory was sitting on the top deck on the final morning cruise from Tewkesbury to Gloucester on an almost deserted river, with warm sunshine and lots of bird life - an idyllic morning which summed up our expectations.
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Geoffrey, sometimes the elements do stack up against us, but we're glad we managed to deliver an interesting yet rescheduled trip for you. Hopefully next time you will get more days like the passage down to Tewkesbury you enjoyed. Thank you for your kind review.
Posted 1 day ago
A very professional company. Strict adherence to Covid regulations. Extremely good vegetarian meals. PS Tell Captain Steve I am busy constucting the quizzes. Should be posting them soon. Cheers, Gail Saunders
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you for your review, Gail. Vegetarians are always welcome! Steve has his eye on the postbox for the quizzes:)
Posted 1 day ago
The crew were genuinely friendly and attentive. We enjoyed the experience despite the weather, covid and the adverse state of the river. Covid precautions are excellent but tend to get in the way of socialising, but this is necessary at the moment. The joining instructions and travel advice worked v. well. We also enjoyed the freshly cooked food which was of a high standard coming from a small kitchen. Thanks to all the crew
Posted 2 weeks ago
Keith, thank you for your review and we're glad you enjoyed our hospitality. We'll try and get the weather sorted for you next time!
Posted 1 day ago
Well done! You were a great crew in every respect. Thank you for giving us such a lazy, relaxing break. My only quibble is outside your control and that is the state of the River Severn banks, landowners should be ashamed for their neglect. I plan to take it up with The Environment Agency.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, David! We're glad you enjoyed our hospitality. Do let us know what the EA say.
Posted 1 day ago
We enjoyed every minute of our five night cruise, from the moment we were welcomed aboard till the moment we waved goodbye. The cabin was clean, cosy and comfortable with plenty of space for our suitcases and clothes. The food was delicious, well cooked and varied. The Covid precautions were well thought out and we all felt very safe. The crew couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful. Our fellow passengers were all friendly and interesting to talk to. What more could we ask for but perhaps a little more sunshine! We definitely recommend this company and will be back!
Posted 3 weeks ago
What a lovely review! Thanks so much, Lance, and we look forward to having you back!
Posted 1 day ago
Enjoyed the cruise and being well looked after.food was very tasty and the boat was well designed.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you Stanley! We're glad the boat layout and food met your expectations and hope to see you again:).
Posted 1 day ago
Covid safety measure were very reassuring. We felt safe. The trip was most enjoyable. Excursions were well organised, and thoroughly enjoyable even though we are local and have visited all the places before. Food was outstanding, and the service excellent. The crew were very friendly and professional. Well done. We hope to book another trip.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you, Patrick. See you again in the future!
Posted 1 day ago
We enjoyed a relaxing four-day break aboard the MV Edward Elgar. The cruise was booked at short notice due to the ever changing COVID-19 restrictions and allowed us to discover a part of Gloucestershire that we would not normally visit. The crew looked after us very well throughout the cruise. COVID-19 arrangements meant that we felt safe as well as valued and welcomed. The quality of the food was excellent. The cabin was compact and comfortable. The one evening of live music was very enjoyable and allowed us the opportunity to dance! Another evening of music would have been welcomed. Due to the frequent squally showers we were unable to enjoy the outside upper deck. In spite of the weather being changeable though, we were able to take advantage of interesting excursions, some bracing walks along the tow path and stunning views across the Severn estuary. The skipper was very knowledgeable about the canal and the local area; his informative tours and talks helped us to fully appreciate the trip. Overall, this was a valued opportunity to take life at a slower pace, being waited on and fully catered for, and seeing and learning about a part of England- and a way if life- we wouldn’t normally experience. We came back feeling very relaxed and refreshed. We will be booking another trip!
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
Posted 7 months ago
100% enjoyable, friendly and helpful crew, interesting places visited, wonderful food and kept on our toes with entertainment.... quoits, quizzes and talented duo on the last night. Covid rules observed throughout.
Posted 7 months ago
Thanks for a brilliant weekend cruise! Thoroughly relaxing and very well organised (including the extensive extra measures taken to be CovidSafe). Amazing friendly professional team looking after us and attending to our every need. Really looking forward to our next one with you all next June. Keep up the good work!
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 31st October 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 31st October 2020 English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 31st October 2020
Posted 7 months ago
An excellent time just a pity the weatherlet us down a bit. The crew were very attentive and helpful and the chef deserve special mention. With all the precautions taken for covid19 we felt very safe and secure. Well done everyone.
Posted 7 months ago
We have just returned from a 4 day cruise on the Gloucester to Sharpness canal. Apart from the weather we a had a very relaxing few days with excellent service throughout the stay. The crew were friendly, attentive and informative. The food was fresh well presented and of a high standard, much better than expected considering the limited amount of kitchen space. The cabin was cosy and clean as was the rest of the boat. The crew had taken all possible precautions regarding Covid so we felt safe at all times. This is definitely a break we would recommend but fine dry weather would make it perfect.
Posted 7 months ago
A perfect 5 night break, starting in Gloucester, during this difficult Covid time. Comfort and friendliness were everywhere and Covid -19 restrictions were very well addressed - hand sanitisers, face masks (worn at all times except at the table and in the cabin) 2 metre distancing - all adding to the feeling of care and attention. The food was exceptional - nutritionally well balanced and portion sizes were perfect. Thank you, Miles the chef. The two stewards, Dan and Jack, were efficient and courteous and saw to all our needs. Louis, who took our temperature each morning, organised a quiz after dinner and deck quoits as well as assisting the skipper - a multi-talented member of the crew. Steve, the skipper, always explained very clearly what was happening along the journey. The selection of tours was varied and well organised, with good guides at each venue. As a bonus, the weather for the week was very good! Cabin facilities were well appointed and the bathroom served its purpose. Beds were very comfortable. Instructions on how to find the boat were very clear and the organisation by the office staff was efficient. Thank you all for a thoroughly enjoyable and stress-free trip.
Posted 7 months ago
Wonderful, wonderful. Our Historic Canal Cruise was absolutely excellent from the minute we boarded the Edward Elgar it was a total pleasure to be on board. All the Covid-19 measures were clearly explained to us and were extremely well thought out and executed at all times. ALL the crew members went the extra (nautical!) mile for our comfort and enjoyment, especially Miles the Chef who catered for my partners vegetarian options, explaining every day what those options were. Each and every meal were of top quality and very well presented. In addition, English Holiday Cruises is well organised, well run and a top customer friendly company. Having been in the Hospitality business most of my working life, I dearly wish that all Hotels, Restaurants and Venues were able to reach the very high standards you offer. If there were a 6-star category, you would definitely win it!
Posted 7 months ago
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. is rated 4.93 based on 313 reviews