English Holiday Cruises Ltd. Reviews

4.93 Rating 375 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend English Holiday Cruises Ltd.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 13th September 2021
Jackie Willkinson
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 22nd August 2021
David Gartland
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 25th June 2021
Valerie Powell
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 25th June 2021
Valerie Powell
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 6th June 2021
Anonymous
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 7th November 2020
William Munro
41
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Everything about our recent cruise was five star! The food was excellent (hold on to your Chef at all costs!!), the service impeccable; the crew could not have been more helpful and pleasant. The anti-Covid measures taken on board were really complete, and yet, somehow, not intrusive at all. We felt safe at all times. All in all, we have just had a wonderful, restful and super holiday. Diet starts today!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Peter, Thank you for your very kind review. We have worked really hard to make sure we have a Covid secure boat without being too intrusive, and it seems that investment is working to keep passengers like you out on the water enjoying themselves. Thanks again!
Posted 1 year ago
Who needs the Rhine or Danube when we have the Severn!! We had an excellent trip- one wet afternoon and a problem with a lock south of Worcester which the crew dealt with very well were the only minor issues. The adjustments made for Covid were spot-on . My only comment is that I felt that the crew should have more pro-active in insisting that passengers complied with the mask rules. The reduced numbers and the oneway system worked well, As you would expect on a boat of this size the cabins were on the small side but perfectly adequate- the wet room was fine. The crew were always helpful and nothing was too much trouble. One of the abiding memories of the trip was the food both in terms of the variety and quality- well done chef. A great variety of non-alcoholic still drinks would have been appreciated. A great package
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi David, Thank you for your comments and we're glad you enjoyed yourself! Every so often, something happens on the river that is beyond our control (like a tree falling and cutting power to the lock which is what happened on your trip) but I'm glad we made suitable alternative arrangements without having to disrupt your holiday too much! If you want excitement, just add water! Also, the crew are happy to take requests to stock additional drinks, a shop isn't usually too far away:)
Posted 1 year ago
In very trying circumstances the Skipper & crew were brilliant.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your comment! There's a lot to remember to be Covid-Secure, but the crew are doing a great job, aren't they!?
Posted 1 year ago
Fist class arrangements for our Severn Wonders cruise leaving on 17th August 2020. And a first class cruise as well.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Peter, thank you for your kind words! We will try and stay "first-class" and we hope to see you again!
Posted 1 year ago
So comfortable, so friendly, with superb food. Lots of attention from the crew, nothing too much trouble. The Covid 19 precautions were comforting - the screens between tables were protective without preventing interaction with occupants of other tables in the lounge area. We thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment provided by the crew - the deck quoits and the quizzes - not to mention the Bingo!! The weather was challenging but the tours were possible due to the provision of coach transport. Everything perfect!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Linda, we've been missing our usual live entertainers but now the government are allowing distanced performances again we will be welcoming them back. Trouble is, we can't get Skip to put down the mic!
Posted 1 year ago
Excellent service the crew were very helpful and friendly well worth taking a holiday with them. Covid secure
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you, Daphne. The crew do take pride in good service and will be glad to read your review.
Posted 1 year ago
As a single traveler, I was very well looked after and my dietary requirements were cheerfully catered for - nothing seemed to be too much. There was a good relationship between the crew members and I particularly liked Skip's sense of humour. The Covid requirements were carried out efficiently - got used to the mask-wearing but thankful to remove it.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, Hilary. Perhaps we can organise a ceremonial "no mask" cruise when this is over. We look forward to it! Until then, thank you for being a considerate customer and doing your part to keep everyone safe.
Posted 1 year ago
A really enjoyable cruise, where we experienced a high level of service and cuisine. The crew were efficient , capable and great fun.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Sandra, despite current circumstances, there is still fun to be had and we're glad you enjoyed your cruise with us! Thank you for your review!
Posted 1 year ago
This was our first experience with this company and we were not disappointed! The crew were just brilliant led by a very experienced Cap and lovely young men. The COVID 19 work done was perfect, we felt safe at all times, and all guests being 60+ I feel all had no worries. We were so well looked after that we hope to come again for one of their other cruises!
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 29th August 2020
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks, Sue! We look forward to seeing you again!
Posted 1 year ago
Enjoyed every minute of the cruise. Staff were great, service and food brilliant. Covid19 distancing and sanitation arrangements on board were excellent. Precautions did not prevent us enjoying ourselves. Loved the excursions, the quizzes and bingo. We all had fun at the improvised quoits. Marvellous holiday. Thank you all.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Ian, Thank you for your kind review and we're glad it's still plenty of fun despite some extra precautions on board!
Posted 1 year ago
Lovely trip, well up to our expectations. Disappointed the Severn Valley Railway wasn't possible. All the crew were wonderful, the food first-class. Steve was a great skipper and MC. A good group of fellow-passengers.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Sheila, We'll be going back to the railway when we can, but hopefully, our crew and food made up for this change in itinerary:)
Posted 1 year ago
We had a very enjoyable cruise. The crew could not do enough for us and the food was excellent. We were impressed by the teams reaction to the boat getting stuck in mud on the last morning when return to port. Putting themselves out for people on a tight schedule.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We've asked Chef Miles to make the cakes slightly smaller next week, and we've also marked that spot on the map so we can avoid any more sticky situations!
Posted 1 year ago
All your measures that you had introduced appeared to work well however you must have noticed that the regulation probably worked against your guest as at meal times one could not do what people usually do at meal times CHAT amongst each other All the staff without exception were warm, open ,chatty and had time for every one.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Peter and thank you for the five-star review. Social distancing measures do indeed create extra barriers to talking with people outside of your travelling group, especially in dining settings as you refer to. Hopefully, there was some opportunity to chat to others on the exterior decks outside of mealtimes. We look forward to when we can change things back to normal.
Posted 1 year ago
We were the trailblazers on the first cruise of the 2020 season. It was apparent that great care and consideration had been taken re-Covid safety measures **. The crew had obviously all been briefed and hey carried out these precautions without being harsh. As a result we felt safe, but also relaxed. ** Here are examples if you wish to use them: temperatures taken when we boarded and every day at breakfast time, Perspex screens separating the dining tables, chairs on the upper deck placed in pairs, hand sanitisers everywhere, enough masks for a fresh one every day.
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. 5 star review on 18th August 2020
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Alan, getting the balance right between keeping people safe as well as being hospitable is something we've taken a lot of time to develop as this is a significant challenge right now for all hospitality-based businesses. Thank you so much for your review as it is very encouraging to read.
Posted 1 year ago
The first trip out from Gloucester, cruising along the Severn River was a total success. We felt very safe with the measures installed to ensure that social distancing was achieved and masks were worn around the ship. Meals were eaten at tables for 2 and the staff were extremely helpful and couldn't have done more to make the journey a success. The weather was very kind to us and we were able to spend time on the upper deck in the sunshine. Top marks to everyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
David, thank you for your review and we're glad the top deck had good weather! We'll try to put in another request for sunshine if you come again:)
Posted 1 year ago
The crew of the Edward Elgar are to be congratulated for their efforts to make the boat safe from the covid virus; the modifications made to the boat were excellent and the crew meticulous in their procedures. We felt safe throughout the voyage and have no hesitation in recommending the boat as a very safe place to holiday.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Paul, thank you so much for your kind review! The crew have trained very hard and were integral to our re-opening planning. Great to see you feel the new system is working without taking away from the experience.
Posted 1 year ago
We thoroughly enjoyed our recent 3 nights canal cruise - well planned and organised excursions. We were well looked after by Steve and the Crew. We have already booked on for the 6 night river cruise in July 2020. Well done !!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We enjoyed the cruise very much. The food was really good, nicely presented and always hot and my husband's gluten free diet was well catered for. The crew were very friendly and helpful and worked very hard to keep us all comfortable. It was very different doing a river cruise in England and we would certainly like to return for a longer one in the future. Thank you very much.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
It was our first time and we loved it
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Crew very helpful, food very good. Skipper is an ex submariner, so no comment is needed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
English Holiday Cruises Ltd. is rated 4.93 based on 375 reviews