Conveyancing Calculator Reviews

4.49 Rating 181 Reviews
88 %
of reviewers recommend Conveyancing Calculator
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Read Conveyancing Calculator Reviews

About Conveyancing Calculator:

Conveyancing Calculator allows you to save time and money when looking for a solicitor or licensed conveyancer to handle your residential conveyancing. Whether you are buying, selling or remortgaging, you can compare quotes direct from conveyancers in 3 simple steps. Get a quote today and see how much time and money you can save!

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 043 1202

Email:

advice@conveyancingcalculator.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Conveyancing Calculator made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
My initial monline inquiry was follwed up very promptly by a very pleasant lady, who I will refer to as K. K made sure that all of my queries were answered very promptly, and if I am honest, it was K's proactive approach (by telephoning me immediately), coupled with her polite, professional and friendly approach, that ultimately swung me into using EHL Conveyancing. I did do thorough research into EHL conveyancing, their ratings were good, they provided all the necessary cover, and their quote was the most competitive by far. I hope and trust that their service now reflects the excellent impression initially made by K.
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Nik,

Thank you for taking the time to review our service. It is very good to know that our service has been of use to you and we really appreciate the feedback. I have noted your mention of K and I will ensure that she receives your feedback.

We wish you all the best with the sale of your property.

Kind Regards,


Conveyancing Calculator
Posted 2 days ago
Rapid and efficient response. Very easy to deal with.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review.
Posted 2 days ago
We searched for a conveyancer via Conveyancing Calculator (CC). Having found one, we contacted the conveyancer directly and were then instructed we need to wait for CC to contact us first. The conveyancer was excellent and in all fairness CC contacted us within an hour to discuss the details. Although the conveyancer had a 'no move no fee' policy we were told that CC require an upfront payment of a referral fee (£150) and the search pack cost (£235) - these are not hidden costs but are just taken off the quotation. I asked what happens with these costs if the sale falls through prior to exchange and was told they would be kept on my account for 6 months and can be transferred to the next property purchase. I was then asked to make the payment of £385 after which they will forward my details to the conveyancer and the process can start.

I received a secure payment link via email and made the payment. Within minutes of doing so the estate agent left us a voicemail informing us of bad news regarding the property we were buying. There was no further information but we called back instantly and the agent was not available, so we had to wait to find out. We realised that bad news most likely meant we lost the property, so I immediately called CC to let them know. I explained I have no further details but asked them not to proceed in any way and that I'll call them back as soon as we have more information. Note that this was less than 30 minutes after making the payment.

We finally managed to get through to the agent and were told that we've been gazumped. We called CC again to inform them of this and request our money back, which we thought would not be a problem considering it's only been about an hour since we first got in touch with them. As it took us 9 months to finally get an offer accepted, we were not optimistic that we would find a house within the 6 months time that CC allowed, and the concept of losing £385 without receiving the service we paid for did not sit well with us. We also understood that UK laws on distance selling allow up to 14 days cooling-off period for any services purchased online.

The lady who was dealing with our case suggested that we keep the payment on our account, but I asked for a refund instead, and informed her I'm happy to use them again but worry it'll take us more than 6 months to find a new house. She then gave the phone to her male colleague who proceeded to argue that since they told us the fees are non-refundable and they have a recording of this conversation, we can't get a refund. This is incorrect as far as we know; the 14-day cooling-off period is mandatory, and they could only keep the money on the basis of it being 'non-refundable' after that 14-day period. When I mentioned distance selling regulations, the employee then instead informed me that they can't make the refund since they will suffer card fees on the transaction. Understanding that the bank fees on this kind of transaction would be very small, we finally agreed that they may keep £5 to cover their costs and they refunded the £380.

Overall I am not satisfied with the way we've been treated. It seems to me that if I did not know about the 14-day cooling off period, or if I was not prepared to argue my case with CC, they would just keep our money indefinitely, even though our sale fell through on the same day we initially contacted them. From the moment it became clear that we want our money back, we started being treated with what felt like hostility. Although the website is useful as a comparison tool, to us the service provided is not worth the £150 'referral fee' included in the quote. Next time, we will find a conveyancer ourselves and contact them directly instead.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Dear Miss Drozdowska,

Thank you for taking the time to review our service and our conveyancing comparison website. I am very disappointed by this review and actually feel that this review is actually not a true reflection of the service and product provided by us here at Conveyancing Calculator.

We operate a conveyancing comparison website that is available to consumers to use free of charge and clearly (from other reviews) is a useful tool to use when budgeting and looking to select a solicitor or licensed conveyancer to assist with moving home, but at the same time saving consumers hundreds if not thousands of £'s due to our negotiated rates with some of these major high street and online firms.

Consumers are free to select any conveyancer they wish to handle their conveyancing and our staff are here to assist with that selection, by providing the information in a clear and concise manner. This combined with the information provided on the website, allows YOU to select the right legal firm to handle YOUR case.

I can see from your case notes that you initially spoke with Amanda and she spoke to you regarding your purchase and set your instruction up for you and then sent you a secure payment link so that you make your initial payment of £385 to secure the discounted fixed fee quote with solicitor. This £385 is deducted from your total conveyancing quote and is non refundable but fully transferable within a 6 month period, should your transaction become abortive, as you are aware.

The £385 is actually broken down as follows:

£150 - This is your instruction fee to open the file with your chosen solicitor.

£235 - This is for your conveyancing searches required on your purchase property.

As soon as your payment was made, we had began processing and working on your order and arranging your instruction to go over to your chosen solicitor. Not only did we spend time processing this order and preparing this order, but we also incurred a charge of £5.59 by our credit card processing company to process your payment of £385. These fees that we are charged are non refundable, regardless of whether your payment is completed or refunded. The fact that we retained £5 to cover our admin / credit card fees and agreed to refund you £380, has actually ended up costing our business 59p to process your order, as well as time spent by staff dealing with your enquiry and providing advice to you regarding your purchase.

Distance Selling Regulations in the UK, were actually replaced in June 2014 by the Consumer Contract Regulations. Moe information on these can be found here:

https://www.which.co.uk/consumer-rights/regulation/consumer-contracts-regulations

The key part to these regulations is the Right to Cancellation. These are as follows:

"Your right to cancel You have 14 days from entering into a service contract in which you can cancel it.

The trader shouldn’t start providing the service before the 14 day cancellation period has ended, unless you have requested this.

If you request a service starts straightaway In this instance you will still have the right to cancel, but you must pay for the value of the service that is provided up to the point you cancel."

Your payment and instruction is a request to start the service straightaway. Please refer to paragraph 3 above. Yes you do have the right to cancel under UK law, but you must pay for the value of the service that is provided up to the point you cancel. We would consider a £5 charge very reasonable, considering the time and money spent assisting you in the instruction of your chosen solicitor.

Never once have you been treated with hostility or pressurised by our staff or our service. YOU made the initial payment and were fully aware of the terms and conditions surrounding your instruction and the payment made, as well the service and products that you were ordering.

By all means, please contact a conveyancer directly for you next instruction and I'm sure you will quickly learn that:

1. Your quote will be much more expensive and possibly not a fixed fee.

2. Any law firm, will require an upfront payment to open your file and to begin working on your file. This will be a payment on account to cover third party costs and disbursements such as ID checks, bankruptcy searches, conveyancing searches, land registry fees and more. Probably totalling more than the £385 initially requested by our service.

We work with may law firms all over the UK and help thousands of conveyancing customers each year helping them to sell, buy or remortgage their properties. Many of these people are fully appreciative of our helpful and assistive service and are fully aware that we operate a commercial business that employs people, has bills to pay and yes we have to make money to survive.

I hope that many people reading your review and our response to your review, will quickly identify that you are the stereotypical "online reviewer". When things don't go your way, take it out on the business or people that were actually trying to help YOU.

I wish you all the best with your purchase and good luck navigating the purchase process, it's a tricky path ahead and without the right advice or guidance, you are sure to lose more than £5 along the way.

Kind Regards,



Conveyancing Calculator
Posted 2 weeks ago
Very poor, they are rude and unhelpful!
Posted 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Shears,

Thank you for taking your time to review our service. I'm very disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with our conveyancing comparison service. Having looked into your quotations provided to you, I can see that you were particularly interested in the quotation provided by NBM Law and requested a callback from this firm to discuss your quote in more detail.

We are a conveyancing comparison service and do not control the firms providing quotations and how their sales teams and businesses are operated. Perhaps you should take this issue directly to NBM Law, as you have never spoken to any of our staff and I am assuming your review is actually aimed at NBM Law and not our service.

Kind Regards,


Conveyancing Calculator
Posted 3 weeks ago
Great service , easy to use, saves time searching. Would recommend.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our service. Much appreciated.

Kind Regards,


Conveyancing Calculator
Posted 2 weeks ago
Fantastic resource for getting an affordable quote and a relief that there are no hidden costs. Staff very attentive in helping you select the best company. Highly recommend..
Posted 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our service, it is much appreciated. Your comments are very kind and will be relayed to our staff accordingly.

Kind Regards,


Conveyancing Calculator
Posted 2 weeks ago
Quick & ease. It let me get a good feel of likely costs for budgeting purposes. I was amazed at the huge difference between some of the quotes & a couple from local 'high street' solicitors. Come the day we decide to move we'll almost certainly be using a firm from conveyancing calculator.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our service. Our pricing is always very competitive as we have negotiated fees with some of the biggest and best UK conveyancing solicitors and licensed conveyancers.

As soon as you're ready to move, then please feel free to use our online comparison service and hopefully you can find a solicitor or conveyancer to help with your move.

Kind Regards,


Conveyancing Calculator
Posted 2 weeks ago
Conveyancing Calculator is a useful tool but it remains to be seen how good our solicitor turns out.
Posted 1 month ago
Someone was supposed to call me back about a quote and did not
Posted 1 month ago
Dear Ms. Carney,

Thank you for your review. I can see from your file, that you were called on the September 17th at 9.17am and you spoke to a member of the Gordons Property Lawyers first contact team. From the notes I can see that you were not quite ready for your remortgage to go ahead, as you were still awaiting some information from your lender and to see if your remortgage had been agreed.

We will endeavour to contact you again today for an update on your situation.

Kind Regards,


Conveyancing Calculator
Posted 1 month ago
Calculator never arrived, and they refused to speak to me. I paid by paypal, but this is why Amazon is ruling the world
Posted 1 month ago
Got great information about charges and services provided plus great communication from a couple of companies.
Posted 1 month ago
excellent and easy to use
Posted 1 month ago
Very easy to complete and definitely worth it with the prices that were offered.
Posted 1 month ago
Really useful tool that provides great results from trusted solicitors. Would recommend.
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Helen,

Thank you for taking the time to review our conveyancing comparison service. I am glad you found our website useful and we wish you all the best with your purchase.

Kind Regards,


Conveyancing Calculator
Posted 2 months ago
A very quick way of comparing quotes - I managed to save close to 40% on an initial quote I'd received from elsewhere
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our conveyancing comparison service. I am glad you found our website useful and we saved you a considerable sum of money on your conveyancing!

Kind Regards,


Conveyancing Calculator
Posted 2 months ago
Great price was contacted by chosen solicitors with in an hour, still in early stages of selling process but very happy so far.
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our conveyancing comparison service. I am glad you found our website useful and our pricing and communication on the mark.

Kind Regards,


Conveyancing Calculator
Posted 2 months ago
Easy to use and found me a number of good options to compare
Posted 2 months ago
A customer care person followed up the day after I got quotes from them, and after discovering I'd found the same place at a significantly lower price than the price provided by Conveyancing Calculator, they offered to price match it. Very happy with the help provided and the whole process has been very smooth so far.
Posted 3 months ago
Very handy calculator if buying residential property.
Posted 4 months ago
Easy to obtain a quote.
Posted 4 months ago
Conveyancing Calculator is rated 4.49 based on 181 reviews