Academy Of Freelance Makeup Reviews

4.93 Rating 107 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend Academy Of Freelance Makeup
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone
AOFM Verified Customer Review Genuine Academy Of Freelance Makeup Review
Read Academy Of Freelance Makeup Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

+442074344488

Email:

info@aofmakeup.com

Location:

63 Dean Street Soho

Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 3rd March 2020
Zoe Karlis
More Photos & Videos
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 3rd March 2020
Zoe Karlis
More Photos & Videos
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 3rd March 2020
Zoe Karlis
More Photos & Videos
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 3rd March 2020
Zoe Karlis
More Photos & Videos
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 3rd March 2020
Zoe Karlis
More Photos & Videos
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 3rd March 2020
Zoe Karlis
More Photos & Videos
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 3rd March 2020
Zoe Karlis
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I can't recommend and praise AOFM enough as the number one Makeup School! After graduating from their Foundation, Advanced Makeup and Session Styling Course I have been fortunate to work the past three seasons assisting backstage at London Fashion Week for on schedule designer shows as well as London Collections Mens and some amazing events with the academy. I found the training incredible and still miss my time there. We was taught by a different tutor each day who were all current professionals in the industry and learnt some of their amazing techniques. The makeup brands were endless what we got to use in class which I found was another plus as branded makeup courses you wouldn't get to experience this. They even took our class on a shopping day to MAC, Shu Uemura, Benefit and Bare Minerals where we enjoyed a fantastic discount to help start to build our freelance kits. No pressure to buy but we were given a few key products the tutors recommended in class to help us along the way and what were multi use. After graduating the perks don't stop there!! All the past graduates receive phenomenal aftercare and get to attend FREE masterclasses at the academy where you spend a champagne and canape evening with industry and brand experts. I have been to numerous since graduating including, Bobbi Brown, MAC & NARS. My portfolio is coming along quite nicely now with my own credited/published work and because of all the assisting opportunities I have had with the academy I feel much more confident on my own jobs whether its on a shoot, TV, an event or a wedding client. For a little insight to working with AOFM backstage at the shows, I have included a couple of links to my Blog... http://jocolettabeauty.blogspot.co.uk/2014/02/london-mens-collections-aw14-assiting.html http://jocolettabeauty.blogspot.co.uk/2014/03/lfw-nasir-mazhar-aw14-assisting-ayami.html
I would definitely recommend any of the courses at AOFM as they really are the best in the business :-)
Jo Coletta
Posted 6 years ago
Absolutely fabulous! I'm a graduate of the Total Creative Pro course from a couple years ago, and I had an amazing experience. I find what really sets this academy apart from all the rest is that you are learning from the best working artists in the industry. All of which have portfolios to die for. The students are fortunate enough to learn from a different artist daily which I find to be extremely valuable. To be able to watch and learn the artistry of numerous talent is inspiring.
Another great asset this school has is their product stock. You are working with luxury industry products on a daily basis playing and experimenting with different formulas and brands. It's great to be able to know your product lines and whether or not you want them in your kit because you've had the opportunity to use them yourself, and see what works best for your style and product preference.
As for the aftercare, I don't think it gets any better. I've had the privilege of working backstage at New York, London, and Milan Fashion Weeks. Runway is an experience on its own, but to say you've been part of the biggest fashion weeks in the world is something I'm very grateful to AOFM for.
I will say the people you meet along the way are amazing as well. My class was quite the international group, I myself am from Canada. I've made dear friends from all over, and we've become our own network of makeup artists.
Nothing but great things to say about this academy, it was an inspiring and positive experience. Would recommend it to anyone looking to learn or reinspire their passion for makeup!
Posted 6 years ago
I completed the Complete Artistic Pro course last September 2013 at AOFM. It is not only a great course to boost your knowledge and perfect your techniques, but it is also extremely inspiring. Having a different tutor every day that is CURRENTLY in the industry helps you to better under the industry today, get a real feel of what you can expect and hopefully where you can see yourself in the future. – With A LOT of hard work and dedication to the field!! The aftercare offers amazing opportunities like no other make up course or school and the ongoing care helps to keep you focused on the bigger picture of your career when you are first starting out in the big wide make up world! I am glad I chose AOFM and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to become a professional and successful make-up artist. DAISY x
Posted 6 years ago
One of my best decisions was to choose AOFM. I have learned so much from every single of the amazing team member there. What is so different with you guys you help us the chance to actually help us to for fill are dreams, you guide and take care of us. I moved to London for this and I am so happy to belong to AOFM.

Thank you so much and keep up the amazing work.
Posted 6 years ago
I was waiting for the opportunity to do a Makeup course for a long time. I spent hours and hours online searching for the right makeup school but as soon as I found AOFM I stopped looking. I knew that it was the right one for me and that I had found the perfect course for myself. The classes are kept small to maximise the learning and every question that you have will be answered by the most talented industry professionals - AOFM tutors. I was very impressed to see a different tutor every day, they all work in the industry and have done for many years, they are real experts. I learned so much during the course and I am very happy that I chose AOFM. I would highly recommend AOFM to anyone who would like to work in this industry . I graduated from Total Pro Course over a year ago and worked with AOFM on numerous fashion shows since, such as London Fashion Week, Alchemy Fashion Show, Winners of the Graduate Fashion Week and recently I had an opportunity to work at Milan Fashion Week. I also represented AOFM for the FashionTV Red Carpet Lounge at the Cannes Film festival 2013. It was an unbelievable experience which I will never forget and our team was amazing! AOFM gives endless opportunities and wonderful student aftercare! So far I have attended Masterclasses with Michael DeVellis, NARS, Bobbi Brown, Smashbox, Dermalogica, Benefit as well as Charlotte Tilbury. The most recent one was with super talented Dani Fonseca, the creator of the skeleton look for Lady Gaga's "Born this way" video. At every Masterclass AOFM greets their students with champagne, canapes and a huge smile on their face. What is there not to love about AOFM and their wonderful team? I made the best decision to choose this Academy and would recommend it to everyone! Don't hesitate, I assure you, you will be pleased with the decision!
Posted 6 years ago
Completed the Foundation and advanced course in the spring of 2012.. Enjoyed every minute of it, regret not doing the hair course as well. Loved the products used, as I was already using some of these personally. What you think you know when you start about makeup and what you end up learning are very removed from each other. Now I am so much more savvy about the things I use both on myself and when doing makeup for others. The after care is also brilliant as are the Masterclasses, which give a deeper insight into the products. I would recommend this course to anyone, as this was the one I always went back to when I was researching where to apply. Well worth the money.
Posted 6 years ago
Last November (2013) I took AOFMs total pro course and since then I have become a full time makeup artist with a number of publications and have worked on some very exciting projects and I'm sure many more to come. There are ENDLESS reasons as to why this course is EXCELLENT and will list my TOP 5!

1. Everyday you are taught by a different teacher. These are working makeup artists, who are current, successful and well-known. They have worked with celebrities and brands you know, on films you know and featured in magazines you know. This means you get to absorb a variety of techniques and industry tips. Learning about the industry has been absolutely CRUCIAL for me.

2. Classes consist of roughly 16 pupils. Before I started the course, I was worried this would be too many people. I WAS WRONG!! Paired up with different class members everyday gives you the benefit of experiencing a variety of skin tones and skin types. This is imperative as a makeup artist. As well as this, by the end of the course, you will have 15 new friends! :)

3. The course exposes you to a huge variety of makeup products! Bobbi Brown, Armani, Chanel, Dior, Laura Mercia, MAC, Makeup Forever, Nars, Smashbox, Benefit, Temptu, Airbase, Dermalogica....the list is endless!!!

4. AFTERCARE is one of the main reasons I took the course. You are able to kick start your career through a variety of assisting opportunities offered by AOFM.... working on photoshoots, fashion shows, fashion films and so forth. Within the first two months of completing the course, I was doing makeup for Mens Fashion Week. You also get to attend AOFM masterclasses for the rest of your life!! Yes! Even when the course is finished!! Two weeks ago I attended a masterclass run by Dani Fonseca, responsible for creating the infamous look for Lady Gaga's "born this way" music video.

5. Last but not least - AOFM have high standards! And rightly so. It is an intense course, so expect to work hard. You have to earn your qualification and this only prepares you for the real world of makeup artistry.

:-)

Min xx
Posted 6 years ago
Armed with an obsession for makeup and a passion for a career change in the makeup industry, I enrolled in the Total Pro course at AOFM in April 2013. From day one I knew it was the right decision. Every day was something new. Each day we had amazing tutors who are at the top of their field. They were so inspiring and helpful and we could learn about their tips and tricks, styles and methods, and also get to work with amazing ever-changing cosmetics and products. This course built up my confidence and skills and I've not regretted it. I've been lucky since my graduation to have assisted on a few fashion shows - London Fashion Week, Bath in Fashion, London Graduate Fashion Week, and other jobs including music video shoots and working on fashion films. The aftercare and the opportunities after graduation are second-to-none. I highly recommend AOFM! xx
Posted 6 years ago
My name is Laura Webb and I've completed the total pro course at AOFM (foundation makeup, advanced makeup and hair). Having a different teacher every day is a fantastic way of meeting loads of different artists currently working in the industry and learning a variety of tips and techniqes. Every session started with the artists showing their portfolios of work and their stories which was so inspiring. The best thing about AOFM is their links to so many amazing brands and events which means that the aftercare is second to none... Constant opportunities are posted for all graduates... Evenings with industry insiders, assisting opportunities, back stage work etc. I'm so happy I decided to train with AOFM it really gives you an amazing head start whether you want to go into bridal makeup, high fashion etc.
Posted 6 years ago
AOFM is a fantastic make up school. We worked with outstanding industry artists and have access to many master classes, additional training and job opportunities when you have completed your courses. I would highly recommend.
Posted 6 years ago
I completed the Total Pro Creative Specialist Certificate in November/December last year. I had spent a long time researching various make up schools and courses, AOFM really stood out to me among the rest for it's ongoing aftercare. I had completed a course in Special FX at another school a few years ago and felt completely overwhelmed once I had graduated and struggled to get work and so AOFM's frequent job opportunities and access to huge events such as London Fashion Week really appealed to me. I loved the whole experience, it was very intense- I definitely lived and breathed AOFM for the full four weeks of the course. I was amazed by the quality of the facilities and the seemingly unlimited amount of top quality cosmetics at our disposal. Since graduating AOFM I have worked at London Mens Collections, London Fashion Week's Fashions Finest and continue to be offered opportunities by AOFM. My confidence as a Freelance Make up Artist has grown massively and I am using my new found skills daily building up my portfolio and working with brides. I would and have recommended AOFM to any aspiring make up artists out there!
Posted 6 years ago
My experience at AOFM was priceless. I always had a passion for make up and completing my course at AOFM showed me techniques and skills I never knew existed. We not only had the opportunity to use the best products available but we were taught by the industry's finest.

The aftercare programme is the best with the ability to keep your skills relevant and fresh. The opportunites you get as well is brilliant with ample exposure to backstage shows, films and photoshoots.

I am honoured to be an AOFM alumni and I can't wait to keep coming back! Thank you Jana and the team xxxx
Posted 6 years ago
I took a makeup course with AOFM in September 2013 and I can easily say this was the best decision I ever made! The location of the Academy is perfect and with different tutors every day you can easily choose and master the technique that suits you best as an artist. They have an amazing selection of skincare and a ton of makeup by the best brands that allow you to explore different textures and application methods that you will not have at your disposal normally. The best thing about the academy, however, is their aftercare programme - it is second to none! I have already been to a bunch of masterclasses with top artists and have polished my knowledge on the latest trends and products on the market. I was also one of the lucky students to assist the very talented Michelle Webb at Milan FW also as part of the aftercare support they provide. Studying at the academy has definitely given me the confidence to pursue this as a career and has taught me some valuable lessons on team work. If you are considering having a career as a makeup artist seriously this is the best school that London has to offer - I guarantee you will not be disappointed!
Hristiyana
Posted 6 years ago
I graduated from AOFM May 2013 from the Complete Artistic Pro Specialist Certificate. The course was amazing!!! I was taught everything from makeup, airbrush makeup, nails, Hairstyling and Special FX. The location for the academy is easy to get to, great tutors (all professional and supportive), I would recommend this academy to anyone that has passion for Makeup, fashion and wants to work as a freelance artist. I had a chance to try various brands of makeup, MAC, Bobbi Brown, Dior, Armani, Chanel, Makeup Forever...the list is endless!!! All supplied by AOFM, I have had great support and aftercare from AOFM. Since graduating I have attended various Free masterclasses also had opportunities to assist at Graduate Fashion week, Bath Fashion Show and London fashion week. Amazing experience and loved every minute of it. Brilliant academy and aftercare!!!
Nazan Asaf.
Posted 6 years ago
I graduated from AOFM in 2012 and really enjoyed every minute of the course! I've always had a big passion for makeup and fashion and AOFM helped me and prepared me to unleash this completely.I am an economist and decided a career change,but was very uncertain about my future job.AOFM tutors and the inspirational people I met through my experience really opened my eyes to follow my dream , because nothing is more important than what makes you happy- making other people feel amazing after they been transformed is such a great thing and I can not thank AOFM enough for showing me this direction! I bought the book MAKEUP IS ART and I was hooked, it just inspired me so much! During the course , which I would've loved to continue longer I learned a lot and not just about makeup techniques, but also how to behave on photo-shoots and how to succeed - the business side of makeup . Since I graduated I have worked with amazing designers , magazines and collaborated with great creative people, assisted established makeup artists and worked at London and Milan Fashion weeks. At the academy I had the chance to explore and work with nearly every makeup brand that exists which helped me choose and filter my own professional kit. Another big plus in joining the academy was the aftercare and the pro- makeup discounts that I got. All of the masterclasses are so lovely and every time I go to one it feels like am going back home , meeting all those lovely positive people and learning new things that really inspire me more and more every time. I would always be thankful to AOFM and to everyone there-Jana ,Jason, Kelly and all the lovely tutors especially Valentina Creti and John Woodbridge/my favourites by far! If you are wondering where to study Makeup this is a great place to go , the only one that prepares you for the real world of fashion , bridal or film makeup.There is something for everyone and I can not recommend AOFM enough and I hope they continue with the lovely masterclasses and great opportunities!!!
Posted 6 years ago
I completed the Foundation - Advanced Makeup Course and the Session Stylist Course at AOFM London in 2013/14 and both courses totally exceeded my expectations. What I loved most about this academy was the fact that we had different tutors every day (all of whom are working in the industry) so we were able to learn a lot of different techniques from some of the top artists out there.

We were also given the opportunity to work with a variety of high end products such as Chanel, Nars, Bobbi Brown etc etc (the list is endless!). This was very helpful as we could decide for ourselves which products/brands we would like to invest in for our own kit.

I also really liked the structure of the classes - which consisted of a theory session in the morning and a practical session in the afternoon - which meant everyone had plenty of time to practice on each other with the full set of high quality brushes given to each student by AOFM on the first day of the course (which we all got to keep!).

On the last day of the makeup course we had our amazing 'photoshoot day' which gave us a real taste of the industry and the chance to work with models, photographers, hairstylists and stylists.

I would say one of the best things about AOFM is the aftercare they provide with endless free masterclasses and assisting opportunities in events such as London Fashion Week!! I really couldn't recommend this Academy enough! (And I will probably be back there to do another course soon!)

Catrin xx
Posted 6 years ago
Hi Im Celeste
Why I chose AOFM
Before choosing AOFM, I researched and toured all of the big make-up schools that offer similar programs. Ultimately I decided to attend AOFM because of a few big deciding factors:
-They have a great career service center! The career services has offer an online forum where they post up-to-date jobs. Before you graduate, you meet with an advisor who is there to help you with career advice, resume, web site, ect. AOFM gave amazing help and support in my first year out of school! AOFM was always sending me on jobs and gave me lots of great advice.

- that aofm was the highest regarded make-up school around.
-The admissions staff was so helpful and honest! They answered all the questions I had and I never felt like they were being pushy or I was being "sold".

The School
All of my teachers were amazing artists and truly passionate about teaching and helping the students to grow . It was great attending as a student and hearing the stories of how they became successful. Another great asset. You are working with luxury industry products brands. The school has so many work opportunities for the students to gain experience and participate in amazing global events celebrating the fashion industry.

After Graduating
Thank you AOFM for all the amazing opportunity
After I graduated I got a job working with a makeup agency in london as a make-up artist. , and for their special events teams. I am also working extensively as a freelance make-up artist within the fashion industry .?
Posted 6 years ago
I attended the Academy in February 2012.
I wanted to refresh my skills from past training that I felt had not been adequate and I’d also had a break to have my 2 children so when I was looking for schools this one was the school that really jumped out at me.
The promise of the aftercare programme I felt was very important to me….as a make-up artist you never stop learning and wanting to improve so I guess I choose this school over others because of that reason.
My first day was one I will never forget! As soon as we were handed out our brushes (the AOFM brushes are given to you as part of the package) I was hooked!
The great thing about the course is it’s so hands on and you get down to practical pretty much straight away which in my opinion is the only way to learn!
I was worried at first because I had thought after having my children that my career was over! My First tutor , Maria revealed that she had in fact been a mathematician until her early 40’s and had taken a huge career change, proving it’s never too late to follow your dreams and yes………….she completely inspired me!
We were taught by different artists every day that are out in the industry, so the wealth of experience and advice they teach you is second to none, teaching us not just how to apply makeup but how to handle the industry and succeed is so important also!
Each tutor I found to be so inspiring and full of passion which really adds to the magic of this school!
The products that we were let loose with in class were all Top class brands……Chanel, Armani, MUFE, Charlotte Tilbury, Shu uemura , Benefit, Nars to name but a few! This was so important to me as I was able to work with and experience the differences! It’s the only way to get a feel as to what you want to use in your kit as we all have a own personal favourites!
The whole course experience was amazing and only fuelled my make-up passion more! Further still I made friendships with other students, whom I still see often and take great pride in supporting their careers, some of them have gone on to do amazing things since we graduated and it only inspires me more!
In February this year I was offered an amazing opportunity with the school to fly to Milan and work backstage with them for the Sergei Grinko Show, assisting the very talented Michelle Webb.
I can honestly say that in a little over 24 hours I had the time of my life…..bringing a lifelong dream to reality!
The team I was part of were wonderful and I was lucky enough to travel out with a fellow student whom I was put in touch with via the school and we really looked after each other and gave each other great support!
During the show Jana (head of Education) was never far from me and gave me great direction and support of my work! The show was very fast pace and as it was my first time back stage I was very well looked after!
After wards having experienced my first adrenaline rush from a live show I was on a high!
Jana took all us graduates for cocktails at the Dolce and Gabbana lounge in Milan to say thank you! It was such a lovely Gesture and made us feel truly valued for our work!
I would 150% recommend this school to any aspiring artist!
The master classes that are offered as part of the aftercare programme are invaluable for keeping me inspired, up to date and in contact with all the right people.
My make-up passion continues …………….with AOFM!
Posted 6 years ago
I attended AOFM back in 2011, I graduated as a Total Pro Artist in December. For a year or so before attending the course I did lots of research looking at various academies, and make up schools. I decided to visit AOFM in the summer of 2011 and met with Jason. Jason was so lovely & helpful, and made me feel at complete ease. He asked me lots of questions and also gave me the opportunity to ask away. I was fortunate enough to see the school, and visit a class that was already being held in the top floor classroom. I went and spoke with a few of the girls, and got a really great vibe from the academy. The course itself was great, it was intense, but that's exactly what I was looking for. The energy from the artist's was amazing, and everyone was so helpful. Really boosting one anthers confident. I felt completely comfortable in class, and found all the artists to be super helpful and fun. The products were introduced on a daily basis, which made it less over whelming, and we really got to see real life industry professionals at work. We used brands from MAC, Chanel, YSL, Shu Uemura, Dior etc... we were taught industry secrets, and shown tips & tricks that still really help me to this day. After graduating, the Academy offered amazing aftercare, and without the academy I would not have been able to assist at the V&A, Claridges, Paris & London fashion week. We also attended master classes with Benefit, Bobbi Brown, MAC, Dior and Charlotte Tilbury. It really has been an amazing school to attend. Even now I receive regular Facebook updates / emails from the academy informing me of fantastic opportunities available. I would love to continue my journey on with AOFM, and really believe you get your moneys worth with the amazing aftercare and guidance. I still keep in contact with many of the artists who taught me, and still try to attend masterclasses and opportunities often. If you're really stuck between two schools I would definitely suggest visiting the academy, I knew as soon as I walked in this was the school for me.
Posted 6 years ago
Attended AOFM in May 2011. Never could have imagined the amazing opportunities I have experienced since graduating, including numerous LFW seasons. The opportunities and aftercare are still going strong 3 years on. Would highly recommend. Carrie x
Posted 6 years ago
Academy Of Freelance Makeup is rated 4.93 based on 107 reviews