Academy Of Freelance Makeup Reviews

4.94 Rating 114 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend Academy Of Freelance Makeup
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone
AOFM Verified Customer Review Genuine Academy Of Freelance Makeup Review
Read Academy Of Freelance Makeup Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

+442074344488

Email:

info@aofmakeup.com

Location:

63 Dean Street Soho

Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 13th May 2020
Ria Jaini
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 13th May 2020
Ria Jaini
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 3rd March 2020
Zoe Karlis
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 3rd March 2020
Zoe Karlis
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 3rd March 2020
Zoe Karlis
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 3rd March 2020
Zoe Karlis
Academy Of Freelance Makeup 5 star review on 3rd March 2020
Zoe Karlis
59
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Make up was just a little part of my life after an internal deep search I decided to take my love for beauty and color into higher level, in the best make up school possible.
AOFM gave me the knowledge and tools to take my skills up to the higher level in the industry. The combination of passion and creativity I acquired by the teachers and opportunities given by AOFM took me to create in me a bigger and more eager searcher for what I call the love of my life “Make Up”.
I had worked big editorials and fashion shows all over America and recently I was booked to be the Make up Designer and Director for the Mercedes Benz Fashion Week San Jose in Costa Rica.
I have to say that the teachers, the love and creativity for what they do is a big inspiration, as well as the love and care AOFM give the students by knowledge and opportunities all over.
My love to make up is now where it belongs thanks to the guide and teaching I received by AOFM.

Thank you AOFM all the way from Costa Rica.

Hugo Gamboa
Posted 6 years ago
I studied a Makeup course in Spain but It wanted to specialize and have an international certificate. I searched for a while and I found AOFM.

This academy is awesome. The Total PRO course, the one I did, is amazing and very complete.

Teachers are known pros, they taught us everything they knew, gave us some tips and used the best makeup brands in the market.

When you get your certificate you have a gorgeous aftercare with lots of jobs for applying. I worked at London Fashion Week!

So I recommend to all of you guys, don´t doubt and book your seat at AOFM!

Ainhoa xx
Posted 6 years ago
I studied a Makeup course in Spain but It wanted to specialize and have an international certificate. I searched for a while and I found AOFM.

This academy is awesome. The Total PRO course, the one I did, is amazing and very complete.

Teachers are known pros, they taught us everything they knew, gave us some tips and used the best makeup brands in the market.

When you get your certificate you have a gorgeous aftercare with lots of jobs for applying. I worked at London Fashion Week!

So I recommend to all of you guys, don´t doubt and book your seat at AOFM!

Ainhoa xx
Posted 6 years ago
The training I received at AOFM was outstanding.I took the 'Complete Artistic Pro' Course and graduated at the end of February 2014. I have already been able to put so much of what I learnt into practice in the makeup industry upon the courses completion. AOFM offers so much, for example I was taught by a different tutor everyday, all of whom are currently working in industry. I found everyone who taught at the Academy to be relevant and exciting, with their own unique and dynamic style of teaching. They strongly encourage individual thinking and creativity, and it never felt as if I was just merely being shown something and told to copy. I was constantly being pushed and challenged by my tutors in the most inspiring and satisfying way. The products used in the classroom were all high end, and practical work would take place each day for most of the day, giving me a chance to be creative and experiment with a wide range of brands. The course also included a week in Special FX, taught by Michelle Webb who is an exceptional teacher and has first hand experience in the film and fashion industry. Each day on the course was new, interesting and exciting with plenty of individual attention given. Michelle taught me skills that I didn't imagine would be possible to acquire within just one week.

I would strongly advise those wanting to go to AOFM to do the complete 5 week course because it covers all areas of the industry. Makeup is a fast moving and ever evolving industry, where you never know what might be thrown at you, and this course is great preparation for a life working in this field.

The aftercare and guidance I have received from AOFM has been more than I could have ever imagined and I have been given lots of opportunities since completing my course.
For example I've have had the privilege of working at London, Milan and Bath Fashion Weeks. As well as this I have assisted established makeup artists on editorial shoots, working with some truly incredible people. Recently Jana Ririnui, the head of education at AOFM, gave me the opportunity to be the key make up artist at the Middlesex Graduate Fashion show. This experience showed me and taught me ways to run a team and collaborate with stylists and create a look together. Chances like these are invaluable and I am forever grateful.

AOFM runs fantastic free master classes. So far I have been lucky enough to attend MAC, Dermalogica, Benefit, Vogue and Charlotte Tilbury's master classes - all of them were very informative and helpful. Each of these events began with a lovely champagne reception allowing for the opportunity to network with other makeup artists whilst eating delicious canapés .I am very much looking forward to the next one!

The tutors have all been very welcoming and are obviously extremely talented. I feel privileged to have been educated and guided by them. I am so grateful to Jana, Jason [heads of AOFM] and Zana Moses [studio manager/make-up artist] for all their faith in me and devotion to their students, and for delivering everything that was promised to me and more. My experience at AOFM has been a blessing and one that I will never forget, I would highly recommend their courses to any aspiring artists out there!!!!
Posted 6 years ago
I graduated AOFM make up school in December 2013 .I visited many make-up schools before I chose AOFM academy. And I made the right choice that’s just the best make-up school in London. I was so fascinated by all professional make-up artists who were there. So friendly and so passionate by their work and try to teach you the best methods and tricks. After you graduate you have aftercare program which is so good start for your first experience and to see how make up industry works. Moreover I fund good friends there as well. Therefore the ambiance was excellent I personally felt good coming in to the school and enjoyed my time there. Thank you AOFM team for this amazing experience!! Rima xx
Posted 6 years ago
I have done 4 different courses at AOFM and have loved every single one. I decided to do one course at a time over the course of a year to fit in with work and other commitments, but if you have the time you can do 5 weeks at once.

The teachers are brilliant, and really help you get an insight into the industry, and the facilities and location of the academy are perfect.

The academy has every brand of make-up you can think of to play with and use in the lessons, which is great as you will never get the opportunity to sample so many products!

I also highly recommend the airbrush course, which is only 3 days, but by the end of it you will feel confident in being able to use an airbrush and have a real understanding of what it can be used for.

Since graduating (for the 3rd time!), I have worked with AOFM on LCM and London fashion week for 2 seasons, and I regularly attend their free make-up masterclasses held at the academy.

I always recommend AOFM when people ask me where I trained, and will always compliment the academy for helping me further in my career as a make-up artist
Posted 6 years ago
I completed the advanced makeup and hair course at AOFM in London, and it was the best thing I have ever done! The course was fantastic, I learnt so much from the fantastic tutors and made so many new friends! One of he best things I got from AOFM was the belief that I could go out there and make it as a makeup artist. The tutors give you so much great advice and really give you e confidence to go and do it. Also, the after care from AOFM is the best I have seen from any courses. I have been to master classes and am looking forward to fashion week trials. Since graduating I have been testing and also have some weddings coming up. AOFM has really given me the skills and confidence to get out there and do something that I love. I definitely recommend them!
Posted 6 years ago
I can't recommend and praise AOFM enough as the number one Makeup School! After graduating from their Foundation, Advanced Makeup and Session Styling Course I have been fortunate to work the past three seasons assisting backstage at London Fashion Week for on schedule designer shows as well as London Collections Mens and some amazing events with the academy. I found the training incredible and still miss my time there. We was taught by a different tutor each day who were all current professionals in the industry and learnt some of their amazing techniques. The makeup brands were endless what we got to use in class which I found was another plus as branded makeup courses you wouldn't get to experience this. They even took our class on a shopping day to MAC, Shu Uemura, Benefit and Bare Minerals where we enjoyed a fantastic discount to help start to build our freelance kits. No pressure to buy but we were given a few key products the tutors recommended in class to help us along the way and what were multi use. After graduating the perks don't stop there!! All the past graduates receive phenomenal aftercare and get to attend FREE masterclasses at the academy where you spend a champagne and canape evening with industry and brand experts. I have been to numerous since graduating including, Bobbi Brown, MAC & NARS. My portfolio is coming along quite nicely now with my own credited/published work and because of all the assisting opportunities I have had with the academy I feel much more confident on my own jobs whether its on a shoot, TV, an event or a wedding client. For a little insight to working with AOFM backstage at the shows, I have included a couple of links to my Blog... http://jocolettabeauty.blogspot.co.uk/2014/02/london-mens-collections-aw14-assiting.html http://jocolettabeauty.blogspot.co.uk/2014/03/lfw-nasir-mazhar-aw14-assisting-ayami.html
I would definitely recommend any of the courses at AOFM as they really are the best in the business :-)
Jo Coletta
Posted 6 years ago
Absolutely fabulous! I'm a graduate of the Total Creative Pro course from a couple years ago, and I had an amazing experience. I find what really sets this academy apart from all the rest is that you are learning from the best working artists in the industry. All of which have portfolios to die for. The students are fortunate enough to learn from a different artist daily which I find to be extremely valuable. To be able to watch and learn the artistry of numerous talent is inspiring.
Another great asset this school has is their product stock. You are working with luxury industry products on a daily basis playing and experimenting with different formulas and brands. It's great to be able to know your product lines and whether or not you want them in your kit because you've had the opportunity to use them yourself, and see what works best for your style and product preference.
As for the aftercare, I don't think it gets any better. I've had the privilege of working backstage at New York, London, and Milan Fashion Weeks. Runway is an experience on its own, but to say you've been part of the biggest fashion weeks in the world is something I'm very grateful to AOFM for.
I will say the people you meet along the way are amazing as well. My class was quite the international group, I myself am from Canada. I've made dear friends from all over, and we've become our own network of makeup artists.
Nothing but great things to say about this academy, it was an inspiring and positive experience. Would recommend it to anyone looking to learn or reinspire their passion for makeup!
Posted 6 years ago
I completed the Complete Artistic Pro course last September 2013 at AOFM. It is not only a great course to boost your knowledge and perfect your techniques, but it is also extremely inspiring. Having a different tutor every day that is CURRENTLY in the industry helps you to better under the industry today, get a real feel of what you can expect and hopefully where you can see yourself in the future. – With A LOT of hard work and dedication to the field!! The aftercare offers amazing opportunities like no other make up course or school and the ongoing care helps to keep you focused on the bigger picture of your career when you are first starting out in the big wide make up world! I am glad I chose AOFM and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to become a professional and successful make-up artist. DAISY x
Posted 6 years ago
One of my best decisions was to choose AOFM. I have learned so much from every single of the amazing team member there. What is so different with you guys you help us the chance to actually help us to for fill are dreams, you guide and take care of us. I moved to London for this and I am so happy to belong to AOFM.

Thank you so much and keep up the amazing work.
Posted 6 years ago
I was waiting for the opportunity to do a Makeup course for a long time. I spent hours and hours online searching for the right makeup school but as soon as I found AOFM I stopped looking. I knew that it was the right one for me and that I had found the perfect course for myself. The classes are kept small to maximise the learning and every question that you have will be answered by the most talented industry professionals - AOFM tutors. I was very impressed to see a different tutor every day, they all work in the industry and have done for many years, they are real experts. I learned so much during the course and I am very happy that I chose AOFM. I would highly recommend AOFM to anyone who would like to work in this industry . I graduated from Total Pro Course over a year ago and worked with AOFM on numerous fashion shows since, such as London Fashion Week, Alchemy Fashion Show, Winners of the Graduate Fashion Week and recently I had an opportunity to work at Milan Fashion Week. I also represented AOFM for the FashionTV Red Carpet Lounge at the Cannes Film festival 2013. It was an unbelievable experience which I will never forget and our team was amazing! AOFM gives endless opportunities and wonderful student aftercare! So far I have attended Masterclasses with Michael DeVellis, NARS, Bobbi Brown, Smashbox, Dermalogica, Benefit as well as Charlotte Tilbury. The most recent one was with super talented Dani Fonseca, the creator of the skeleton look for Lady Gaga's "Born this way" video. At every Masterclass AOFM greets their students with champagne, canapes and a huge smile on their face. What is there not to love about AOFM and their wonderful team? I made the best decision to choose this Academy and would recommend it to everyone! Don't hesitate, I assure you, you will be pleased with the decision!
Posted 6 years ago
Completed the Foundation and advanced course in the spring of 2012.. Enjoyed every minute of it, regret not doing the hair course as well. Loved the products used, as I was already using some of these personally. What you think you know when you start about makeup and what you end up learning are very removed from each other. Now I am so much more savvy about the things I use both on myself and when doing makeup for others. The after care is also brilliant as are the Masterclasses, which give a deeper insight into the products. I would recommend this course to anyone, as this was the one I always went back to when I was researching where to apply. Well worth the money.
Posted 6 years ago
Last November (2013) I took AOFMs total pro course and since then I have become a full time makeup artist with a number of publications and have worked on some very exciting projects and I'm sure many more to come. There are ENDLESS reasons as to why this course is EXCELLENT and will list my TOP 5!

1. Everyday you are taught by a different teacher. These are working makeup artists, who are current, successful and well-known. They have worked with celebrities and brands you know, on films you know and featured in magazines you know. This means you get to absorb a variety of techniques and industry tips. Learning about the industry has been absolutely CRUCIAL for me.

2. Classes consist of roughly 16 pupils. Before I started the course, I was worried this would be too many people. I WAS WRONG!! Paired up with different class members everyday gives you the benefit of experiencing a variety of skin tones and skin types. This is imperative as a makeup artist. As well as this, by the end of the course, you will have 15 new friends! :)

3. The course exposes you to a huge variety of makeup products! Bobbi Brown, Armani, Chanel, Dior, Laura Mercia, MAC, Makeup Forever, Nars, Smashbox, Benefit, Temptu, Airbase, Dermalogica....the list is endless!!!

4. AFTERCARE is one of the main reasons I took the course. You are able to kick start your career through a variety of assisting opportunities offered by AOFM.... working on photoshoots, fashion shows, fashion films and so forth. Within the first two months of completing the course, I was doing makeup for Mens Fashion Week. You also get to attend AOFM masterclasses for the rest of your life!! Yes! Even when the course is finished!! Two weeks ago I attended a masterclass run by Dani Fonseca, responsible for creating the infamous look for Lady Gaga's "born this way" music video.

5. Last but not least - AOFM have high standards! And rightly so. It is an intense course, so expect to work hard. You have to earn your qualification and this only prepares you for the real world of makeup artistry.

:-)

Min xx
Posted 6 years ago
Armed with an obsession for makeup and a passion for a career change in the makeup industry, I enrolled in the Total Pro course at AOFM in April 2013. From day one I knew it was the right decision. Every day was something new. Each day we had amazing tutors who are at the top of their field. They were so inspiring and helpful and we could learn about their tips and tricks, styles and methods, and also get to work with amazing ever-changing cosmetics and products. This course built up my confidence and skills and I've not regretted it. I've been lucky since my graduation to have assisted on a few fashion shows - London Fashion Week, Bath in Fashion, London Graduate Fashion Week, and other jobs including music video shoots and working on fashion films. The aftercare and the opportunities after graduation are second-to-none. I highly recommend AOFM! xx
Posted 6 years ago
My name is Laura Webb and I've completed the total pro course at AOFM (foundation makeup, advanced makeup and hair). Having a different teacher every day is a fantastic way of meeting loads of different artists currently working in the industry and learning a variety of tips and techniqes. Every session started with the artists showing their portfolios of work and their stories which was so inspiring. The best thing about AOFM is their links to so many amazing brands and events which means that the aftercare is second to none... Constant opportunities are posted for all graduates... Evenings with industry insiders, assisting opportunities, back stage work etc. I'm so happy I decided to train with AOFM it really gives you an amazing head start whether you want to go into bridal makeup, high fashion etc.
Posted 6 years ago
AOFM is a fantastic make up school. We worked with outstanding industry artists and have access to many master classes, additional training and job opportunities when you have completed your courses. I would highly recommend.
Posted 6 years ago
I completed the Total Pro Creative Specialist Certificate in November/December last year. I had spent a long time researching various make up schools and courses, AOFM really stood out to me among the rest for it's ongoing aftercare. I had completed a course in Special FX at another school a few years ago and felt completely overwhelmed once I had graduated and struggled to get work and so AOFM's frequent job opportunities and access to huge events such as London Fashion Week really appealed to me. I loved the whole experience, it was very intense- I definitely lived and breathed AOFM for the full four weeks of the course. I was amazed by the quality of the facilities and the seemingly unlimited amount of top quality cosmetics at our disposal. Since graduating AOFM I have worked at London Mens Collections, London Fashion Week's Fashions Finest and continue to be offered opportunities by AOFM. My confidence as a Freelance Make up Artist has grown massively and I am using my new found skills daily building up my portfolio and working with brides. I would and have recommended AOFM to any aspiring make up artists out there!
Posted 6 years ago
My experience at AOFM was priceless. I always had a passion for make up and completing my course at AOFM showed me techniques and skills I never knew existed. We not only had the opportunity to use the best products available but we were taught by the industry's finest.

The aftercare programme is the best with the ability to keep your skills relevant and fresh. The opportunites you get as well is brilliant with ample exposure to backstage shows, films and photoshoots.

I am honoured to be an AOFM alumni and I can't wait to keep coming back! Thank you Jana and the team xxxx
Posted 6 years ago
I took a makeup course with AOFM in September 2013 and I can easily say this was the best decision I ever made! The location of the Academy is perfect and with different tutors every day you can easily choose and master the technique that suits you best as an artist. They have an amazing selection of skincare and a ton of makeup by the best brands that allow you to explore different textures and application methods that you will not have at your disposal normally. The best thing about the academy, however, is their aftercare programme - it is second to none! I have already been to a bunch of masterclasses with top artists and have polished my knowledge on the latest trends and products on the market. I was also one of the lucky students to assist the very talented Michelle Webb at Milan FW also as part of the aftercare support they provide. Studying at the academy has definitely given me the confidence to pursue this as a career and has taught me some valuable lessons on team work. If you are considering having a career as a makeup artist seriously this is the best school that London has to offer - I guarantee you will not be disappointed!
Hristiyana
Posted 6 years ago
Academy Of Freelance Makeup is rated 4.94 based on 114 reviews