Academy Of Freelance Makeup Reviews

4.92 Rating 83 Reviews
100% of reviewers recommend Academy Of Freelance Makeup
Visit Website

Phone:
+442074344488

Email:
info@aofmakeup.com

Location:
63 Dean Street Soho

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
"Experienced teachers with valuable sharing. Quite a large range of branded cosmetics to be provided in class, e.g. Make Up For Ever, NARS, Bobbi Brown etc. Your hard work will be appreciated by offering different intern opportunities. Photo shooting session arranged by school and paid touched photos are available for portfolio."
Posted 1 year ago
Visit Website
"I've finished the AOFM course in 2013, the most valuable for me was to meet these great makeup artists who work in the industry and to hear how they made it and what difficulties they had. Another important thing was the training with the makeup brands we had, as it was a great opportunity to try products from different brands and choose the best ones to work with, as my previous makeup school had just one makeup sponsor and I haven't tried any other brand before AOFM. As far as aftercare is concerned, I'm very happy and thankful for the oppotunities I had to assist in Fashion weeks, I did few in London and Milan. It was a really unique chance to learn from our teachers, to see how it all is organized from it's beginning, as I've been to a test with the designer, and how it works until the end. It helped me a lot in my own work when I had to be a key makeup artist. Hope to continue working with AOFM in the future, I still have a lot to learn. Regina"
Posted 2 years ago
"Hands on Knowledgeable teachers in a fun and exciting learning environment with amazing once in a lifetime opportunities."
Posted 2 years ago
"Attended AOFM a year ago now and so far I have had so many great opportunities with their aftercare programme, I have had paid opportunities as well as attending 2 London Fashion weeks and Milan. AOFM also offer free exclusive masterclasses available after completing the course like with Charlotte Tilbury and Chanel which are great to attend. AOFM was a professional but friendly school and offers a good working relationship with tutors as well who you can also have assisting opportunities with. Very pleased with my AOFM experience and look forward to keep working with them."
Posted 2 years ago
"I was very glad to attend AOFM Professional Makeup and Hairstyling Course in July 2015 because at that time it was the right choice in my learning process. As I did my first makeup school in Paris in 2013, when I attended AOFM School I already had a little knowledge of the classic makeup techniques. But this School is different, I mean it has a different approach to makeup, it's more fashion focused, and it was what I was looking for. I liked very much that teachers were all freelancers who actually have been working in the fashion industry, they were up to date with the latest trends and they shared their experiences and their portfolios. I loved Michelle Webb, Valentina Creti, Barbara Braeunlich, Philippe Miletto, Angela Davis Deacon, Louise Dartford, Karla Mujica Barchieri because they brought their own style and personalities to the lessons giving me advice and tips. And I loved when some of them were strict about techniques and when they corrected my mistakes. Another positive aspect of the school is that I learnt to do mood boards and to choose the right themes and inspirations in preparation for the final shooting with a professional photographer, pro models, pro stylist and pro hairstylist. I had also the chance to try various makeup brands like Mac Cosmetics, Charlotte Tilbury, Giorgio Armani, Bobbi Brown, Shu Uemura and learn the differences in colors and textures. The thing I loved the most was the opportunity to do the Fashion Week trial and join the Pro Team during the FWs in NY, London and Milan. Amazing learning experiences that helped me to learn, improve and grow as a makeup artist and that gave me the chance to meet some great people who are ready to work hard for free. I'd recommend this school to everybody who is already into makeup, like an intermediate level, and want to take a step forward into fashion. Thank you very much! Giulia Carini"
Posted 2 years ago
"I personally thoroughly enjoyed the course, the best part was meeting all the different makeup artists and hair stylists, each one having completely different styles and tastes to the last. To name a few, Suzy Rucroft she was very professional and her work was fantastic. Carolyn Roper, her class was brilliant, getting to learn completely new techniques and she made it really fun. Angela Deakin, I really admired her work and for me it was my favourite style. I took the course as an opportunity to kick start a whole new career, I was a PA for years and desperate to get out and do something creative, the part time course fitted in with my life perfectly as I could still work in the week. I am now working with Lancome as an Account Manager and do some freelance work when I can. After the course I was lucky enough to work on the S/S 16 Gyunel show with Louise Dartford, she was great at leading us all, it was one of the best experiences and I am so glad I got that opportunity. I have also been to a few master classes including Chanel and Charlotte Tilbury which were full of great tips and tricks also not forgetting the free goodie bags and discounts. The only thing I was disappointed with was the brush set and belt, myself and a few of the other girls on the course had faulty brushes where the whole brush head fell out. The hairs would fall out and the black dye on the belt came off onto the brushes making them impossible to use on someone's face. To be honest this minor point was completely over shadowed by the great aftercare and the fact that we got such huge discounts on the shopping day to purchase our own set of brushes. I always highly recommend the course to friends as I get asked a lot about it through social media. I would love to look into doing another course with you guys at some point to better my skills."
Posted 2 years ago
Hey there Chloe!
Firstly, a massive congratulations on your new position at Lancome! It's always such a pleasure to hear of our graduate's success stories once they have departed the academy!
We are so glad to hear of your great experience whilst educating with us & that you love our aftercare programme as much as we do!
We are very sorry to hear of the issues you have had with the brushes that you were supplied with at the beginning of your course, all of our brushes are handmade & at the time of your education there was an issue with the glue that was being used by the manufacturers, we have since rectified the issue by going with a new manufacturers, if you continue to have issues, please don't hesitate to pop by the academy or just give us a call
See you soon!
AOFM
Posted 2 years ago
"My name is Laura Webb and I've completed the total pro course at AOFM (foundation makeup, advanced makeup and hair). Having a different teacher every day is a fantastic way of meeting loads of different artists currently working in the industry and learning a variety of tips and techniqes. Every session started with the artists showing their portfolios of work and their stories which was so inspiring. The best thing about AOFM is their links to so many amazing brands and events which means that the aftercare is second to none... Constant opportunities are posted for all graduates... Evenings with industry insiders, assisting opportunities, back stage work etc. I'm so happy I decided to train with AOFM it really gives you an amazing head start whether you want to go into bridal makeup, high fashion etc."
Posted 4 years ago
Academy Of Freelance Makeup is rated 4.92 based on 83 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support