Academy Of Freelance Makeup Reviews

4.93 Rating 105 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend Academy Of Freelance Makeup
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone
Read Academy Of Freelance Makeup Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

+442074344488

Email:

info@aofmakeup.com

Location:

63 Dean Street Soho

I have had the most amazing experience with AOFM! My journey started 12 years ago when I completely their makeup & hair course. Fast forward 13 years and I have a strong, successful career working in fashion, advertising, editorial & bridal. Their extensive training and knowledge is priceless and has stayed with me all these years later. I have been fortunate to have had my work featured in Vogue Italia, Grazia, Australian Womens Weekly, WHO, L'Officiel, GQ and many more. I have participated in London Fashion Weeks as part of AOFM ongoing support for their graduates. Following this exposure I have also had the opprotunities to be part of Milan Fashion Week and Melbourne Fashion Week. I cannot recommend their training enough - THANK YOU AOFM!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
I graduated from Complete Artistic Pro course in 2017 and I have to say that choosing AOFM has to be one of the best decisions I’ve made. Even though the classes lasted 5 weeks, I still wish the course was even longer not because I didn’t learn enough, but because I honestly loved every second of my time at AOFM. Those 5 weeks of invensive training gave me so much - it was not only a turning point in pursuing a makeup career, but also influenced my aesthetics and taught me so much about work ethics and buisness side of the makeup industry. I made amazing friends that I still keep in touch with and would love to do it all again. Having comparison with two different makeup schools, I can say without a shadow of a doubt that AOFM truly is second to none. The teachers are extremely experienced and professional. I also loved having different turors every day, as it really allows to learn different techniques and further create your own style of makeup that suits you best. Everyday students get to use products from leading beauty brands such as MAC, Charlotte Tilbury, Nars, Dermalogica, Chanel and more and learn how to work with different formulas. Another great advantage is the photoshoot, where students are able to work on professional models and with the help of amazing hairstylist, stylist and photographer start building their portfolio. After graduating from my course I got a job at Sephora within as little as two days from applying. It was a great learning experience - like some of our teachers recommended - as I got to keep training and perfecting my techniques. I’m currently freelancing and have worked on bridal, sfx and events including a major music event. After passing my fashion week masterclass, I’ve done three seasons of London Fashion Week with AOFM so far and I’m looking forward to the next ones. What an honour to assist such phenomenal artists as Yin Lee, Michelle Strain, Valentina Creti and Sharka Nunfa. I also had an opportunity to attend a Smashbox masterclass with them and within less than a week from graduating was able to take part in a paid opportunity of assisting Michelle Webb on a sfx job. Even though AOFM’s aftercare programme is unquestionably outstanding, I find that the best mindset is to take up the course to learn as much as you possibly can and treat the opportunities as an added bonus, this way you’ll get the most of your time in class. Having that said, I would highly recommend AOFM, if you’re ever find yourself considering one of their courses. I truly find it was worth every penny and exceeded all my expectations. I’m so grateful to the AOFM team for everything they’ve taught me, the time I had there and the opportunities they’ve given me.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
The acedemy provides special and personal attention to each and every student.Gives after course assistances in the form of master class and firsthand backstage working experience . Highly recommended .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I did the 5 week course at AOFM in London where you learned all the fundamentals of Makeup, Hair, Nails, Airbrush Makeup and Special FX. It was an unbelievable experience because you get to see a bit of everything and decide which path you want to follow and specialise in. The best thing about AOFM is their Aftercare programme where they organise masterclasses with top brands like Bobbi Brown, Charlotte Tilbury Stila Cosmetics just to name a few and they give you discounts on the day to build up your kit. They take you to fashion weeks all around the world to learn and work backstage to put up a beautiful show! I actually joined them for Milan and Tokyo where I learned so much and met so many interesting artists.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
AOFM it’s an academy to help any girls to make her dream true. By giving her some tips to start her free lance make or to work on makeup industry therefore helps to give students confidence of themselves. By following them with aftercare classes. I think aofm they work hard for their students I never see academy that’s take care for the students even after graduation. Xoxo
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hey everyone!!! My name is Alina, and Ive been always creative , but never new who exactly I want to be , but one day I thought of being a makeup Artist could join all my talents together so I was lucky to choose and study In AOFM academy , the best makeup school in the world. As for me it’s important that AOFM is providing the products of most of the makeup brands I could try them out and see what I actually need in my kit in future , aftercare and opportunities are one huge plus to this, not a single makeup academy could offer masterclasses with high end Brands absolutely free, to always be aware of new product range and new techniques etc. I have met amazing people , who shoes me how this industry works and how interesting it is . Nothing is Easy, and makeup Artistry is not one of the fields everyone can succeed , but if you are interested in it and you are ready to be the best then choose the best! Thank you
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I was trained in Freelance Makeup Artistry with AOFM in London. The course consisted of 6 days of learning skills/looks then recreating them. During the course, I learnt more stuff that I can even list including; professional artistry skills, how to work with different skin types and face shapes, advice on sanitation, self-promotion and how to build up our kits. We got to work with various makeup artists who all have very different individual personal styles. Each artist brought in their own kits which meant we got to try out different brands each day. This helped us to see what we loved working with and how each product works well with different skin types etc. They also brought along their portfolios so we could see all the amazing work they’ve done. Some of the work was unbelievably amazing! Every day started with meeting the new artist for that day and having a look at their portfolios. We then got a demonstration done on one of the ladies and we got to make notes, take pictures and ask questions whilst we watched. We then got into pairs and recreated the look that afternoon! I enrolled in the 1 week course where I just learnt makeup. You were able to take a longer course which included nails and hair but also required you to take an exam, which personally wasn’t what I wanted to do. I learnt so many valuable skills in one week. It was so worth it! Some of the looks I was able to create included; a ‘no-makeup’ makeup look, natural wedding glam, dewy glow look, shaping & filling brows, editorial & finally my favourite- a recreation of an instagram look where I picked a rainbow eyeshadow with matching lips! They even offer FREE masterclasses for graduates which I am yet to try but I can guarantee will be amazing! They're in a perfect location and I would recommend this course to anyone with a passion for makeup and beauty.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I have attended this academy last year it was my best experience to be part of AOFM it is in the best location the staff is very kind and experienced the best thing is they give you lots of opportunities and aftercare when you finshed your course for example free masterclasses fashion shows photoshoots discount on big brands and much more like that .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
AOFM was one of the best decisions I have ever made. I spent quite a bit of time on researching and visiting other make up schools in London and no other school offered what AOFM did. During classes, I have learned so much. It was a very intense time of learning, practicing, and meeting new people every day. Every single day we were learning new techniques and were using new products. I was able to try make up from basically all the best brands that exist on the market, such as Charlotte Tilbury, Chanel, Dior, MaC , Nars, Marc Jacobs, and many more. The teachers were very nice and helpful, always sharing years of their own experience. Besides makeup classes I also did nails and hair. Nail classes were led by Celebrity Nail Professional  Roxanne Campbell. The nails classes were also super intense and loaded with knowledge and practice. Hair were led by Jan Przemyk, Fabio Vivan, and Oscar Alexander. All of those teachers would share their own experience and teach you tricks no one else would.After the graduation, I passed the master class for London Fashion week and was able to work on many fashion shows. It was and still is a dream come true. During LFW, I was able to assist Yin Lee In, Michelle Webb, Nat Van Zee, Valentina Creti, and Roxanne Campbell.AOFM opened the door for me to the fashion and beauty industry. After the school, I was able to participate in many master classes like Tom Ford or Charlotte Tilbury and was able to work on many London Fashion Weeks.I became a part of Roxanne Campbell's team. I was able to assist her on Chanel shoot and during the London and Paris Fashion Weeks.I started working on shoots and fashion weeks, always getting more and more experience. Like I said, AOFM was one of the best decisions I have ever made . 
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
AOFM started my career path as a professional makeup artist and gave me a future in the beauty industry! I definitely recommend to a friend, going to this school opened the door to a profession I love! After graduating from AOFM I was immediately being introduced to jobs and asked to work with artists. I lead and assisted AOFM teams backstage for fashion week shows and on photo shoots. That developed into making connections with photographers which lead to more opportunities. I’ve since worked closely with AOFM and I was invited to help create makeup looks for vol. II of the book, Makeup Is Art! That’s my work credited on pages 128-129!
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I went to AOFM a few years ago and it was the best decision I made. I was able to become more confident in my skills and through them I managed to get a job in the beauty industry. For those wanting to get in the industry it is a good place to start. You will gain a lot of skills and when you become a graduate, have an opportunity to take part in the fashion weeks each year. They have amazing staff and assist with the experience and those starting out. I highly recommend attending . You will also make life long friends there.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I attended the London Total Pro Creative Specialist Certificate course and I could not speak highly enough of this make up academy. Location is very central and the team are very welcoming and cater to your specific learning. The teachers approach you on a personal learning basis and cover off everything there is to know about the make up industry including using top brands including Chanel, Dior, MAC just to mention a few, teachers are brought in that currently work in the best productions, fashion shows and TV, every day there are different teachers working in the field. AOFM from what I can see have come a very long way and have the best school not only in London but other major cities across the globe. If you are serious about the make up industry as a career, this is the place to go! 5 stars! Thank You!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Very modern and well organized academy. Excellent teachers. After finishing the course in AOFM I started to make my first editorials. Very Good experience! Liana Zurabova
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
My experience at AOFM London in tthe summer of 2013 was nothing short of amazing from beginning to end. I am from Trinidad in the Caribbean and I took about 3 years of researching the right Makeup school for me. I chose the Creative Total Pro Course which included Makeup, Hair and Nails and the opportunity to try out to be part of the AOFM Pro Team in the end. AOFM delivered exactly as they promised: different educators every day , the world;s top luxury makeup brands , an assistant for each educator for each session. etc The style of the course suited me as the first half of the day was theory and the afternoon session was hands on practical. We got the opportunity to pair up with different classmates every day to work on each other. The experience of different faces, complexions, ethnicity and even personalities was priceless. The opportunity to have a shopping day at top makeup stores with major discounts was greatly appreciated by me and my classmates, who all took this opportunity to build our makeup kits with professional brands. I loved the opportunity of our final exam being a photoshoot directed and styled by us with 2 distinct looks. it gave you the feeling of being a acual Makeup Artist working in the editorial field. One of the main reasons i chose AOFM was the opportunity at the end of the course to try out to be a part of the their Pro Team to be able to work at Official London Fashion Week shows at Somerset House as well as other locations. I passed the test which was made to simulate a real life backstage fashion show: looking on as the Lead MUA showed us the makeup look as it was applied on a model and showing us how to share products backstage . When the first look was done , it was marked and then she showed us how to take the look into another look in a few mins. My first show was Haizhen Wang SS14, the very first official show to kick off London Fashion Week at Somerset House. I did approximately 5 different shows that season. Towards the end the Lead MUA asked me to be a part of the team for Paris Fashion Week. Many of my classmates who live in and around London continued to be a part of the various projects through AOFM. Once I got back to my country i started to build a steady makeup clientele. i secured the job to be the Lead Makeup Artist for a Local Movie. I have since done many photoshoots, worked with local entertainers and have done many bridal jobs , even destination weddings. I have been the Lead Makeup Artist over the last 4 years for a major local Christmas Concert which runs for an entire week. AOFM helped me take my craft to higher heights and I have never regretted my decision.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
It felt right from the start! AOFM was the first institution to get in touch with me, rather than waiting for an automated response. It was a national holiday in Dubai and Jana (director of AOFM) made an exception to meetup with me. I appreciated that he met with me to answer my questions and give me a tour of the beautiful place. It was easy to find and I liked the modern feel of the place, with glass views of Jummeirah. area, He also showed me my dream “the makeup room” wall to wall full of the best makeup products. My favorite brands that I eventually started to use while in training were: Charlotte Tilbury, MAC, Bobbi Brown, Inglot. They also provided us with a set of 25 makeup brushes, which I still use till today. The advantage you have at AOFM is the hands on training from highly experienced makeup artists from different parts of the world. Classes were very fun and I really enjoyed the practical application with my colleagues, daily. I loved gaining new insights and techniques at AOFM. It was to my advantage to work with the team and artists for their encouragements, feedbacks and tips AOFM not only improved my overall knowledge in this field, yet I left with a better understanding of what goes on in real life with (fashion, wedding, film, etc) listening to artists perspectives, which I loved! I now have much more confidence and clarity of what to do after have completed the coarse as a professional makeup artist, thanks to Dubai-AOFM! Vivian Daboul
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
My training experience can’t be explained in words but I’ll still try. :) Makeup has been my passion since my teenage years and I always wanted to learn it professionally but never got the chance. I’ve always been picky about stuff so had designated weeks for searching good academies/training schools for learning makeup. Luckily we were based in London at that time and I ended up getting into AOFM. I opted for 3 weeks professional makeup and hairstyling course and I absolutely LOVED my experience. The wide range of trainers your academy provide with years of experience was something that has taught me a lot! It was an amazing learning experience which set my basics right about makeup and styling. Career wise things didn’t go as planned since I had small kids that time and I had a new addition to our family after the completion of the course so I took a break n unfortunately I couldn’t work properly for years. After moving back to my home country, kids all grown up, I’ve finally started to build my career and I’m so happy to get a very positive response from my clients as well as my followers and I can’t thank you guys enough for the amazing learning experience, you guys are hands down the BEST! ❤️❤️❤️ Much love for you and all the trainers who do amazing work. The experience couldn’t have been any better!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I got my makeup training 5 years ago at AOFM. I was taught the principles of makeup in all the different fields and had guidance on working in the industry as a freelance MUA. AOFM provides amazing aftercare sessions , masterclasses with renowned brands and backstage opportunities. I had the opportunity to work with an amazing team for London Fashion Week , met incredible people and had an amazing overall experience. Being a freelancer, that works internationally, on shoots, commercials, events, brides and gives makeup courses; I highly recommend you start your makeup journey with one of the amazing branches of AOFM. Available in various areas of the world.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi i'm Yumi. Training at AOFM was a great opportunities for me. I completed total pro course on August 2013 and after finish i was able to have a opportunity work for London Fashion Week and Paris Fashion Week. It was incredible!!! In this class, we could try many different brand cosmetics everyday it's a really helpful to be a makeup artist. Since i trained in 2013, i am working as a full time freelence makeup artist based in London but travelling all over the world for my clients. I did commercial, fashion magazine and also celebrity for events. Also, I join AOFM pro team every season for fashion show (London, Milan and Paris) since i graduated in 2013. Another good thing for me is master class with luxury cosmetics brands. I could attend many master classes (Channel, Tom ford, Charlotte tilbury, MAC and Bobbi Brown. etc). It was also really good chance to share beauty trend and new cosmetics information. I can say that AOFM is the only one makeup academy can really good care of graduates after finishing course. Now just turned to 2020, i am really curious that what’s more amazing opportunities can come to me this year!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I finished my course in Feb 2018 . .I did the complete pro course. and have had so many oppurtunites since , I have been in Paris several times for fashion week and have been the lead in my own show in Paris Feb 2019 for couture week. I have worked New york fashion week and have had to turn down Paris and Milan and Greece this year so far as was so busy with my editorial work. Everyone is lovely at the office and you get oppurtuties here that no other Make up school offer. The Teachers are second to none and are specialists in their field. There is great support and they offer refresher and Masterclasses so you are always up to date . I would have no hesitation in recomendeing this school . Lorraine Fowler Ella connor MUA
3 Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Having had such a positive experience during my training at AOFM I wrote a review 3 years ago to aid students considering a make up course and to highly recommend AOFM. I am now 4 years on from attending the total pro creative specialist course, and felt compelled to follow up with this review. I feel it’s important to not only review the course itself but also the amazing opportunities and jobs that have come my way since graduating from AOFM in 2015. This exceeds all expectations, the proof is definitely in the pudding and AOFM have offered me life changing jobs and experiences. As long as you are hardworking, reliable and punctual these opportunities are available for every AOFM graduate. Once I had attended and passed the backstage masterclass, I then went on and still continue to work backstage at London, Paris, Milan, New York, Florence, Tokyo fashion weeks, I do this at least 2-3 times each year. I have also worked at celebrity events, and fashion shows at beautiful hotels and venues, and with incredible designers. A recent show was actually featured in Vogue! I have also been given the chance to key 4 shows of my own 2 in London and 2 in Florence. To attend and achieve these types of opportunities most make up artists have to wait years. AOFM have opened so many doors for myself and many of the other graduates and give us all the fortuity to continue benefiting from the excellent aftercare AOFM offers all students. Thank you so much to all at AOFM! Xxx
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Academy Of Freelance Makeup is rated 4.93 based on 105 reviews