Academy Of Freelance Makeup Reviews

4.92 Rating 92 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend Academy Of Freelance Makeup
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone
Read Academy Of Freelance Makeup Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

+442074344488

Email:

info@aofmakeup.com

Location:

63 Dean Street Soho

My experience at AOFM London in tthe summer of 2013 was nothing short of amazing from beginning to end. I am from Trinidad in the Caribbean and I took about 3 years of researching the right Makeup school for me. I chose the Creative Total Pro Course which included Makeup, Hair and Nails and the opportunity to try out to be part of the AOFM Pro Team in the end. AOFM delivered exactly as they promised: different educators every day , the world;s top luxury makeup brands , an assistant for each educator for each session. etc The style of the course suited me as the first half of the day was theory and the afternoon session was hands on practical. We got the opportunity to pair up with different classmates every day to work on each other. The experience of different faces, complexions, ethnicity and even personalities was priceless. The opportunity to have a shopping day at top makeup stores with major discounts was greatly appreciated by me and my classmates, who all took this opportunity to build our makeup kits with professional brands. I loved the opportunity of our final exam being a photoshoot directed and styled by us with 2 distinct looks. it gave you the feeling of being a acual Makeup Artist working in the editorial field. One of the main reasons i chose AOFM was the opportunity at the end of the course to try out to be a part of the their Pro Team to be able to work at Official London Fashion Week shows at Somerset House as well as other locations. I passed the test which was made to simulate a real life backstage fashion show: looking on as the Lead MUA showed us the makeup look as it was applied on a model and showing us how to share products backstage . When the first look was done , it was marked and then she showed us how to take the look into another look in a few mins. My first show was Haizhen Wang SS14, the very first official show to kick off London Fashion Week at Somerset House. I did approximately 5 different shows that season. Towards the end the Lead MUA asked me to be a part of the team for Paris Fashion Week. Many of my classmates who live in and around London continued to be a part of the various projects through AOFM. Once I got back to my country i started to build a steady makeup clientele. i secured the job to be the Lead Makeup Artist for a Local Movie. I have since done many photoshoots, worked with local entertainers and have done many bridal jobs , even destination weddings. I have been the Lead Makeup Artist over the last 4 years for a major local Christmas Concert which runs for an entire week. AOFM helped me take my craft to higher heights and I have never regretted my decision.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
It felt right from the start! AOFM was the first institution to get in touch with me, rather than waiting for an automated response. It was a national holiday in Dubai and Jana (director of AOFM) made an exception to meetup with me. I appreciated that he met with me to answer my questions and give me a tour of the beautiful place. It was easy to find and I liked the modern feel of the place, with glass views of Jummeirah. area, He also showed me my dream “the makeup room” wall to wall full of the best makeup products. My favorite brands that I eventually started to use while in training were: Charlotte Tilbury, MAC, Bobbi Brown, Inglot. They also provided us with a set of 25 makeup brushes, which I still use till today. The advantage you have at AOFM is the hands on training from highly experienced makeup artists from different parts of the world. Classes were very fun and I really enjoyed the practical application with my colleagues, daily. I loved gaining new insights and techniques at AOFM. It was to my advantage to work with the team and artists for their encouragements, feedbacks and tips AOFM not only improved my overall knowledge in this field, yet I left with a better understanding of what goes on in real life with (fashion, wedding, film, etc) listening to artists perspectives, which I loved! I now have much more confidence and clarity of what to do after have completed the coarse as a professional makeup artist, thanks to Dubai-AOFM! Vivian Daboul
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
My training experience can’t be explained in words but I’ll still try. :) Makeup has been my passion since my teenage years and I always wanted to learn it professionally but never got the chance. I’ve always been picky about stuff so had designated weeks for searching good academies/training schools for learning makeup. Luckily we were based in London at that time and I ended up getting into AOFM. I opted for 3 weeks professional makeup and hairstyling course and I absolutely LOVED my experience. The wide range of trainers your academy provide with years of experience was something that has taught me a lot! It was an amazing learning experience which set my basics right about makeup and styling. Career wise things didn’t go as planned since I had small kids that time and I had a new addition to our family after the completion of the course so I took a break n unfortunately I couldn’t work properly for years. After moving back to my home country, kids all grown up, I’ve finally started to build my career and I’m so happy to get a very positive response from my clients as well as my followers and I can’t thank you guys enough for the amazing learning experience, you guys are hands down the BEST! ❤️❤️❤️ Much love for you and all the trainers who do amazing work. The experience couldn’t have been any better!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
I got my makeup training 5 years ago at AOFM. I was taught the principles of makeup in all the different fields and had guidance on working in the industry as a freelance MUA. AOFM provides amazing aftercare sessions , masterclasses with renowned brands and backstage opportunities. I had the opportunity to work with an amazing team for London Fashion Week , met incredible people and had an amazing overall experience. Being a freelancer, that works internationally, on shoots, commercials, events, brides and gives makeup courses; I highly recommend you start your makeup journey with one of the amazing branches of AOFM. Available in various areas of the world.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
Hi i'm Yumi. Training at AOFM was a great opportunities for me. I completed total pro course on August 2013 and after finish i was able to have a opportunity work for London Fashion Week and Paris Fashion Week. It was incredible!!! In this class, we could try many different brand cosmetics everyday it's a really helpful to be a makeup artist. Since i trained in 2013, i am working as a full time freelence makeup artist based in London but travelling all over the world for my clients. I did commercial, fashion magazine and also celebrity for events. Also, I join AOFM pro team every season for fashion show (London, Milan and Paris) since i graduated in 2013. Another good thing for me is master class with luxury cosmetics brands. I could attend many master classes (Channel, Tom ford, Charlotte tilbury, MAC and Bobbi Brown. etc). It was also really good chance to share beauty trend and new cosmetics information. I can say that AOFM is the only one makeup academy can really good care of graduates after finishing course. Now just turned to 2020, i am really curious that what’s more amazing opportunities can come to me this year!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
I finished my course in Feb 2018 . .I did the complete pro course. and have had so many oppurtunites since , I have been in Paris several times for fashion week and have been the lead in my own show in Paris Feb 2019 for couture week. I have worked New york fashion week and have had to turn down Paris and Milan and Greece this year so far as was so busy with my editorial work. Everyone is lovely at the office and you get oppurtuties here that no other Make up school offer. The Teachers are second to none and are specialists in their field. There is great support and they offer refresher and Masterclasses so you are always up to date . I would have no hesitation in recomendeing this school . Lorraine Fowler Ella connor MUA
3 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Having had such a positive experience during my training at AOFM I wrote a review 3 years ago to aid students considering a make up course and to highly recommend AOFM. I am now 4 years on from attending the total pro creative specialist course, and felt compelled to follow up with this review. I feel it’s important to not only review the course itself but also the amazing opportunities and jobs that have come my way since graduating from AOFM in 2015. This exceeds all expectations, the proof is definitely in the pudding and AOFM have offered me life changing jobs and experiences. As long as you are hardworking, reliable and punctual these opportunities are available for every AOFM graduate. Once I had attended and passed the backstage masterclass, I then went on and still continue to work backstage at London, Paris, Milan, New York, Florence, Tokyo fashion weeks, I do this at least 2-3 times each year. I have also worked at celebrity events, and fashion shows at beautiful hotels and venues, and with incredible designers. A recent show was actually featured in Vogue! I have also been given the chance to key 4 shows of my own 2 in London and 2 in Florence. To attend and achieve these types of opportunities most make up artists have to wait years. AOFM have opened so many doors for myself and many of the other graduates and give us all the fortuity to continue benefiting from the excellent aftercare AOFM offers all students. Thank you so much to all at AOFM! Xxx
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I attended the AOFM academy in 2018, I chose AOFM because it is considered the best academy in the world and I wanted to have the best education. From the first days I found great professionalism of the staff and of all the teachers. For me it was a great experience. AOFM also offers its graduates a path after school that I think is very important and that very few academies give. The philosophy of AOFM is that the makeup artists graduated in their academy are the best around, AOFM is not just a school, but a mark of quality, every customer who has an AOFM qualified makeup artist in front of him has the certainty of having a make-up artist high level. AOFM also offers free Masterclasses to graduates to keep up to date with the latest trends. It also offers graduates the chance to participate in Fashion Weeks around the world. As I said before, I graduated in November 2018 and immediately after a few months I was invited by the Key Artist Michelle Webb to be part of her Team in Daks London and Les Hommes fashion shows in Milan. I learned a lot during makeup week fashion . Taking part in the fashion week with the AOFM team was a great experience. Before AOFM I also attended other academies, so I am able to make evaluations and comparisons, The prices of the AOFM courses are very advantageous and offer you a lot, you have the possibility of having a complete high level training, and always stay up to date. After attending AOFM my professionalism has grown a lot, and I've managed to make-up for important magazines. I think AOFM academy is the best school in the world and I recommend it for those who want to become a top-level Make-up Artist ! Liana Zurabova
1 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
AOFM is the most fantastic make-up Academy and I thoroughly recommend any potential student not to hesitate to join this elite school. The classes are kept small to maximise the learning, and more importantly the tutors are not full time stuck-in-the-classroom teachers but real-time working artists who are exposed to the everyday challenges and latest techniques which you will undoubtedly benefit from. Moreover, what also raises this educator to another level is the Aftercare Programme which I have personally been actively involved with. Immediate opportunities like representing AOFM on projects like Britain & Irelands Next Top Model, Clothes Show Live, Harpers Bizarre, Global Fashion Awards are amongst some of the amazing projects I've worked on. Not to mention working with the Pro team in Milan, Paris, Russia and London on the prestigious Fashion Week shows which really boost my CV. Since leaving, I took all the advice and help given, assisting, learning on the job and took full advantage of the ongoing free aftercare and masterclasses on offer, and have since built up my client base to include some of the most internationally recognisable faces in TV & Film today. AOFM is a credible make-up Academy and I thoroughly recommend any potential student not to hesitate to join this elite school. The classes are kept small to maximise the learning, and more importantly the passionate tutors are not full time stuck-in-the-classroom dusty teachers but real-time live working artists who are exposed to the everyday challenges and latest techniques which you will undoubtedly benefit from. AOFM are a professional school, with a dedicated hardworking curriculum to bring you from makeup zero to hero in the most condensed time possible. They offer no false claims or promises about your future in this most competitive of industries, however if you work hard and take as much from your experience with AOFM as you can, you will have given yourself the best foundation possible to build and grow this hard won but most rewarding of careers.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Alot of information, interested way to learn, great teachers
5 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I studied with AOFM in 2015 and I did the Complete Course of 5 weeks. I really enjoyed it and I have learnt so much from it. After my course I did a test to be able to work backstage at Fashion Weeks. I did London, Milan and New York Fashion Week. I met incredible makeup artists which I still assist. Through AOFM I could get experience working for Editorial shoots and Fashion Films. After almost 2 years since I finished my course I am still working with them backstage and I love it. I would recommend AOFM as a prestigious Academy where to learn and get some hand on experience.
8 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The AOFM was life changing for me. It opened up opportunities I had only dreamt of before. The tutors were so informative and highly experienced within all areas of makeup which gave every student a wonderful learning experience, providing extensive knowledge in a variety of skills. The aftercare is exceptional with continued support and assisting opportunities with some of the industries most talented makeup artists. In addition to this the ongoing free classes with various brands contribute to making the AOFM, in my opinion, the best makeup school I could have chosen to attend. Many many thanks Louisa
3 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
AOFM gave me my confidence back & the courage to give up my part time admin job and go freelance makeup artist full time. After a particularly challenging few years in my life I made the decision to finally follow my passion and get back into makeup. To do this I needed a school which was great, recommended, known in the industry, and ultimately was going to give me my confidence back into doing what I love, aswell as teach me new skills and techniques. AOFM was that school! What an amazing place! Run by the most talented and knowledgeable people in the industry, you are in such capable hands. They have makeup brands galore for you to try and use during your course, talented tutors from all different backgrounds each sharing their knowledge and skills that they have gained throughout their successful careers and also from the greats that they have assisted In the past. Not only that but the aftercare with AOFM is fantastic. Since graduating from AOFM I have given up my part time job and gone full time freelance makeup artist, I've worked on London Fashion Weeks assisting for AOFM and also on my own merit thanks to the experience gained from being backstage with AOFM. I've now made some amazing contacts and work for ITV regularly and have been confirmed to do a fashion show in Marbella this week. Put your mind to it and don't miss a class (you won't want to), I simply cannot thank AOFM enough and would 100% recommend them to anyone who wants to take a serious step into their makeup career! Thank you to all the staff/tutors at AOFM. Kim E, completed the professional hair and makeup course.
4 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I have completed the Total pro Creative Specialist Certificate in summer 2016. I had spent a long time researching various make up schools and courses, AOFM really stood out to me among the rest for it's ongoing aftercare. AOFM offers an amazing opportunity to study and work with highly professionals, industry recognised makeup artists. The course was very intense including makeup, hair styling, nails, and airbrush.Everything I learned there is helping me through my career (practical skills, theory, discipline, product knowledge etc...) Since I finished my course I was lucky enough to attend few masterclasses - Charlotte Tilbury, Dior and Bobbi Brown and also I had a chance to be a part of the AOFM team during London fashion week on February and I had a opportunity to do makeup on VIP guests at Century club in London. I did makeup for supermodel Jade Parfitt and Pandora from radio Kiss. I'm heading off to London again in few days to attend the Men's London Fashion week, glad to be part of the AOFM team and once again THANK YOU AOFM for the opportunity, looking forward for any upcoming events.
5 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Experienced teachers with valuable sharing. Quite a large range of branded cosmetics to be provided in class, e.g. Make Up For Ever, NARS, Bobbi Brown etc. Your hard work will be appreciated by offering different intern opportunities. Photo shooting session arranged by school and paid touched photos are available for portfolio.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I studied at Aofm less than an year ago. I had no knowledge about makeup (I was a tota beginner) and I found that the full course gave me not only the skills to break in this industry, but also the confidence that I need to build to be able to do it. At the end of the course I had to do a masterclass which is a test which can possibly allow you to work for the official fashion week, and here's the news.. Not only the London one! Aofm will provide you the Milan, Paris and also NY one's! Isn't it crazy? I had to learn and afterwards work with simply the best in the industry. I can name some of them, Michelle Webb, Yin Lee, Valentina Creti.. With Aofm I had also the chance to collaborate with couple of magazines that published my work! I am beyond grateful to the academy and to the amazing staff working in it. Don't consider anything else if you simply wanna work with the best and for the best. Good luck!
5 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The classes were easy to follow and very enjoyable. You get to fully develop your creativity. The tutors were very inspiring.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I'm very happy because I studied on AOFM. It is amazing academy where anyone can make big career for Makeup artist. I liked AOFM because it can using the most popular brand which used the best makeup Artists round the world. My experience in AOFM is was wonderful because I learned amazing things about makeup with excellent teachers. I love them, and yeah My English language not the best but anyway I learned every things who showed my teachers. AOFM five stars !! Chris
2 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
My experience at AOFM London has been extremely amazing, attended Total Pro specialist course in June 2016. I had the privilege to studying in the best academy in the world, with the best makeup artist and hair stylists. I had this big dream to became a makeup artist and AOFM game me "wings to fly" I loved every second in the academy, the classes and all the tutors incredible supportive and also my wonderful colleagues which we made friendship for life . Fantastic experience. I felt blessed to had the opportunity to use in classes all the luxuary makeup product, attended to channel masterclass which I found incredible. It's fantastic how AOFM cares to give support to their students. Since I left AOFM currently had the privilege to work for Estée Lauder and currently working for Christian Dior. Looking forward to assist backstage to this wonderful academy. Massive Thank you to all AOFM team kindest regards Sabier SOUSA from Venezuela/ Madeira Island
2 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
It was very intense, and there was so many things to learn in a short amount of time. But all in all, the education, care and support that I received from the teachers and the AOFM staff (especially recepcionist Barbara) was amazing and lived up to my expectations. The course has given me more confidence as a makeup artist as well as knowledge, tips and skills.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Academy Of Freelance Makeup is rated 4.92 based on 92 reviews