Universal Swytch eBike Kit Reviews

4.76 Rating 142 Reviews
Mark Castle
Transformed an old mountain bike that was heavy and only used occasionally into a great commute ride. It's like having your own personal tail wind and puts a smile on my face every time I use it, which is now often.
Helpful Report
Posted 16 hours ago
Lloyd Sharman
>
Great piece of equipment - easy to assemble to the bike and works excellently. One tiny issue (the wheel was ~15mm smaller in diameter than the one it replaced [universal kit] and the tyre doesn't fit as well when changed over) .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Mark Connelly
>
Absolutely brilliant upgrade to my wife’s hybrid. Took a bit of “fettling” (file and angle grinder!) of the front forks to get the spindle of the wheel to fit, but everything else was easy. Some progress photos uploaded
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Anoniem
After a longer-than-expected wait (COVID) between my Indiegogo support and delivery of my Pro kit, I am very happy with how it transformed my daily and trusted bicycle. My main motivation was to upgrade my now 5 yr old bicycle which I specced with a single gear hub. It's now ready for more years of carrying kids, groceries and myself around. Installing the kit was a couple hour job, changing the tyre was the most challenging part (that says a lot about the ease of the rest of the steps). And I love the fact that I hardly notice the kit is there when I choose not to use it (and leave the chunky battery home). Owned it for 2 months, used it for about 100 miles.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Chris Capel
>
Great ebike conversion kit. Now I can leave my car for commuting, with the actual 50km range. Installation was really plug & play. I challenge Swytch to design a version 3.0, where the battery gets a place within the frame in stead of on the handlebars. This will improve stability in tight turns at high speed.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Lynn Howarth
>
I'm absolutely over the moon with my swytch bike kit. Took less than an hour to fit, and its so much better than i was expecting. Its given me a whole new reason to get on my bike. I cannot recommend this product enough, from ordering to receiving i was kept informed of any progress or delays. Excellent service and Excellent product.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Charlie
>
So happy with my Swytch kit. Although there were understandable delays in supply chain due to covid, was able to trace progress through the team's updates. The kit has given me the added boost to get out and about more regularly and manage the more onerous parts with relative ease.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Mark Raeburn
I have just fitted my swytch kit having received it last week. All I can say is it an excellent system and very easy to fit. The only mistake I initially made was with fitting the disk brake. The screws for the disk brake are in the hub already but you need to remove the plastic spacer that is being held on with the screws to ensure the disk lines up. If is wasn't for my mistake it would have only taken me 30 mins to fit it. I am managing to get around 50Km per charge but that is on the maximum power setting. As the battery only takes about 3 hours to charge its not an issue to worry about. I did take the optional throttle but have not fitted it yet and I don't think it is really needed as the cadence detector on the pedals allows the power to kick in quickly. Overall it will allow my miserable commutes in the rain to be more enjoyable and to overtake those horrible electric scooters that have been overtaking me in the past.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Paul Sherwin
Great product and instructions. Easy to install (90mins) and provides great performance. At cruising speed you need to keep peddling to maintain power, which I really like for fitness. A revolution to normal bike riding.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Francesco Bernagozzi
>
I was willing to buy an eBike, while at the same time I didn't want to stop using my beloved Specialized Sirrus, when I ran into the Swytch commercial video with Dmitro and Oliver. I loved the idea and the overall aesthetics. At first a bit skeptical because of all rubbish sold online, including some crap conversion kits, I started looking at DIY videos and going through reviews of the Swytch kit and decided to immediately apply to preorder one! It took a while, but the wait was definitely worth it! I chose the black wheel option to better fit my bike, and the standard kit without any other add-ons (I just wanted something to help me if tired or in case of really steep climbs, as I don't use my bike for commuting, but only for rides with my friends). Well, after some days I can say I'm more than happy! The ignition of the kit is very gradual, does not immediately affect the pedaling and makes everything natural and fluid. The weight of the battery on the handlebar is imperceptible, it seems to me that I have not made any changes! A huge plus is the fact that, in the case of normal use of the bike without the Swytch kit, without the battery the overall weight of the bike remains practically the same as before - which is also great for being able to load it in the car or store it on a bike rack. Perhaps the only negative aspect is that disassembling the front wheel becomes more complicated than before due to the bolts and for fear of damaging the connectors (which in my case I also protected with heat shrink sleeves), in fact disassembling the rear wheel is a bit more annoying. The hook on the handlebar is very small and allowed me not to move any of the accessories (bell and computer), it seems designed for my bike! The LED integrated in the battery is excellent in an emergency, plus it consumes very little, and the Swytch logo is really nice! The kit is tiny and fits easily into any backpack: moreover, in less than 3 hours it recharges completely. Last but not least, the customer support is exceptional. I had the pleasure of writing to Simon, always available to clarify any doubts, precise and perfect. I am very happy with my purchase!
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Anonymous
I started using my ‘Swytched‘ bike and it has been fantastic. Hitting those hills is much easier. I had some hiccups when converting my bike but Swytch technical team helped me every step of the way.
5 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
VLAD MALARZ
Loving my new Swytch E-Bike conversion which they fit for me at Personal Electric Transport in Leyton - plenty of power in this small kit!
3 Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Maggie Keast
Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to save money, I was looking at some Bosch eBikes in Bristol which were very expensive. I think this kit isn't quite as high quality but it is good quality, and most importantly though very easy to use. Also it arrived early which I wasn't expecting!
6 Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Wendy
Dear Swytch team firstly can I say thanks for helping me know I must have been a tricky customer not knowing what wheel size and everything but you'll be glad to know the wheel fits fine to the bamboo forks and my husband installed it easily. I'm riding around now like a devils angel it is brilliant. Also I know not everyone got their kit yet and I was one of the first so thanks for that. I'll call you if I need anything hope that's ok
2 Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hamish
It arrived! Wasn't expecting it to be delivered early, feeling very chuffed. Looks lovely on my restored Peugeot bike!
4 Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago