Universal Swytch eBike Kit Reviews

4.79 Rating 167 Reviews
Mark West
Very pleased with my Swytch kit so far. It was easy to install on my MoultonTSR Alfine 11 which I use for day rides in the country and local fitness rides. It has proved easy to ride and now most hills are a rewarding achievement instead of hard labour. I'm considering ordering another kit for my 1965 classic Moulton bicycle which would make an excellent town and shopping machine with its large luggage racks.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Reagan Le
I haven't had the chance to ride it too much yet, but installation was a breeze even on a 25+ year old bike. I like the simple design and it easily fit my need to repurpose my old bike.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Bob Bates
As a 74 yr. old cyclist with an asthma condition. What I really needed was just a bit of help with the long upward slopes as well as the steep hills. the flat i was fine with .. Swytch was definitely the answer to my needs . after the normal lets have a playtime and see how far ahead of my grandchildren I could get on the highest setting !! I have settled into a normal 1 bar assist. I am once again a very happy cyclist
4 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Brian Young
I discovered Swytch in May 2020 and placed a pre-order. You may read several disgruntled reviewers complaining about the time it took for their orders to arrive. I'm not going to do that, it is 2020 and probably the most disrupted year anyone has experienced, so I cut them some slack and waited for the eventual delivery. Their website kept us up to date regarding progress of the order and then slit into specific updates for each batch. Couldn't ask for more than that. So enough about delivery time, because when it did arrive, boy was it worth the wait. Like many others I'm getting on a bit and where cycling was fun it started to hurt in strong head winds and riding up inclines. I'd bought my Trek hybrid following a heart by-pass to help me back to full fitness and for enjoyable exercise, but when the enjoyment started to fade after twenty years or so I thought my cycling days were over. Then I saw the promotional videos for Swytch and decided it was worth a try. A couple of hours following the simple instructions and, with a couple of easily overcome challenges my Trek had become everything Swytch promises. It is simply a brilliant product. Regrets? Yes, I should have done it sooner. 6 stars.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Malcolm Williams
Having tried out two e-bikes several years ago, we'd entertained the idea of a possible purchase sometime in the future. However, the biggest stumbling block to our plans were that we both owned bikes that we were loathe to abandon so the idea of a conversion kit grew more appealing as the years ticked by. Having discovered Swyche, and having read the various reviews, we duly put orders in, and the two boxes arrived in early October. I purchased two install kits, the PRO versions. The installs were fairly straight forward although I did find the website a bit confusing to navigate, what I wanted was a comprehensive set of instructions at the front of the web pages. Also, the 'quick install paper instruction' seemed unnecessary, let's have a full set of paper comprehensive instructions supplied with each kit. Unfortunately I received the wrong sized wheel for my wife's bike, 700c, not 27". They initially agreed that I could use the 700c wheel providing I could fit it and they would order the correct size asap. I had to buy a new tyre to fit the 700c wheel and by minimal adjustments to the brake, my wife was able enjoy her bike. Swyche then contacted me and offered a refund instead of the correct wheel which I accepted as I decided to upgrade the back wheel also. This would mean I could obtain new tyres if necessary when cycling abroad. The only other problems were the pedal sensors, the ones supplied are too big and are apt to move out of alignment. I have managed a slight temporary modification, but am awaiting two new alternative sensors. In terms of how they work, we are both thoroughly enjoying the benefits of a Swyche conversion and have racked up 500 Kms between us. We are very pleased we took the decision to convert our much loved steel framed classic touring bikes. Both bikes, a 30+ year old Carlton Courette and a similar age Raleigh Royal, with the kit fitted weigh an almost identical 19kgs so still competitive weight wise with much more expensive modern offerings and still offer a very decent riding experience when cycling without e bike power.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Kah Chung Chan
A very clean looking way to upgrade a beloved bike with electric power. Ample power at all levels has allowed me to go further afield than ever before. Bear in mind delivery times may run over. After sales support is excellent though.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Joon Chang
Swytch is a very good worth while ebike conversion kit. I've been cycling one form or another for 45+ years and have sustained too many injuries so needed some assistance to get back on the bike and go for longer rides. Swytch was the perfect kit to retrofit onto my old school Trek mountain bike and it helped to compensate for my injuries. I really enjoy the kit and it was very straight forward to install. Yes, it took longer than expected for delivery but given the current situation in the world, I don't see how there would not be a delay. I'm sure Swytch will figure it out and improve their logistics. I like the kit so much, I just ordered a second kit for my folding bike too.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Michael Whitwam
I ordered my Swytch kit to convert my Carrera 3 hybrid bike and was very impressed with the results. The kit was easy to fit and took me about an hour (not a cycle maintenance guy) to fit in total and then I was off. The motor is a 250w and i got the eco pack battery which is plenty to help me along the way on long rides. The motor is responsive and pulls well at all assist levels. From 1 level of assist on the eco pack I can get 35km of distance with a mix of hills and flats. There will be a lot of comments around delivery times from my own personal experience I ordered mine in April and received it at the end of July so over their estimates but considering what was going on in these times it wasn't and issue for me. I was kept well informed with their weekly/bi weekly updates and have had quick responses from any queries i sent to the customer service teams. Overall a great quality product and if you can deal with the wait times due to the business model then a great purchase.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago