Universal Swytch eBike Kit Reviews

4.8 Rating 251 Reviews
This kit is a game changer, especillay when you don't want to spend thousands of pounds for a brand new electric bike. On other important thing, your bike doesn't look like it's electric so less chances for it to be stolen.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Patrick Conlon
Verified Reviewer
The order process went well, installation was uneventful. This kit works fine on the street but you must be careful on a trail application. The weight of the battery on the handle bar means you *must* be careful on down hill trail descents. Easy does it. I have had no problem with the range but I also exert moderate pedal assist. Regeneration would be a suggestive enhancement to take advantage of long down hill descents. Keep the weight over your front tire on the ascents, expect moderate pedaling needs for assistance to the hub motor.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Kit is moderately expensive (£550) for a front wheel hub motor, battery, cadence sensor and controller. Install was a massive faff. Motor axle was too wide for my fairly regulation UK bike (a cyclocross style) and had to manually file it down to fit. Universal cadence sensor also a faff, as no explanation of which of the various modes of attachment my bike required. Magnetic ring had to be cable tied to crank shaft and sensor didn't have room to fit on down tube so had to squash it in around derailleur cables. No incredible prone to misalignment whenevr bike is locked up or stood anywhere. Handle bar mount didn't fit my handle bars so battery pack now sits at a weird 45 degree angle in the air. Experience with the whatsapp support number was average to say the least. In use the kit works well. After a short pedal cadence sensor picks up and motor delivers a boost ranging from gentle nudge on the lowest setting to fairly spirited thrush on max chat. Sadly the support is limited to a maximum so as you approach this you have to provide more of the go forward than the motor. Breaching the top speed is fairly painful as you are suddenly on your own with no electric support and trying to overcome the added resistance of the hub it becomes harder than the normal bike to attain and maintain higher speeds. In short, you have to change your style of cycling to high cadence, fast accelerating, and top speed limited. Ideally suited to my commute in London stop start traffic but less so for out of town excursions. The kit has definitely sped up my overall commute from 50 ish to around 40 mins, made me less sweaty, and made the homeward journey less of a gruelling experience. Some odd behaviour - at low battery the electric motor does things like not kick in or stay on at a low speed without pedalling. This morning it said I had 2 bars of battery left but after 5 minutes of medium assist it stopped working altogether. Annoying. I would brefer a frame mounted battery so the weight is not on the handlebars, with a digital more accurate display like some of the amazon bafang kits. In future I may stretch to a purpose built electric bike as they are much better integrated but they do cost around double the price. All told I am happy with my purchase although I think it is expensive (£550) in general, given the multiple small issues with the install, support, and end result.
4 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Well done, Swytch I’m a 63-year-old guy living in north London. UK. And the part I live in is a hilly place, actual fact Alexandre Palace is one of the highest places in London which is why I brought the Swytch Kit for my bike and that gets me up the hills very well, granted I raise the strength for the steeper hills, but I can cycle up the hills with no bother so pretty good going for me. I have a cheap generic folding bike off the web so had a couple of hiccups fitting the Swytch kit but I put that down to being a cheap non-standard bike, but these were minor and easily corrected, The wheel and wiring fitted perfectly, the peddle assist sensor I had to pack out just a little from the frame so that was no problem the main problem was fitting the battery pack and fixing to the handlebars as it was hitting the handlebar clamp but that was soon fixed by purchasing a cheap handlebar extension off the web that hangs just below my handlebars missing the clamp totally and connected the Battery pack to that! so all fine, in the end, I found other than those two things fitting the whole kit was very easy, I’m not sure how many miles I have done on a charge but have used it several times up some steep hills and have been trying to run the battery down so I can charge it up again, so impressed with that too. All in all, I’m very pleased with the whole Swytch service and product so well recommended.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
AMANDA WRENCH
Verified Reviewer
I absolutely love my bike, as it's the perfect bodywork with high handlebars that I love, so I was very reluctant to swap it for an electric bike. When I came across 'Swytch' it was a match made in heaven! The battery pack is incredibly small and very easy to take on and off. However, it's enabled my husband to go on many more bike rides together, as he is much fitter than I am and always wants to go further than I do, so adding Swytch to my bike has saved the day!
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
There are other electric kits out there but they don’t compare to swytch kits. Very simple and sophisticated. I’ll recommend every time.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I have been riding my new Swytch eBike for two weeks now and it's great. The battery lasts longer than expected but I guess it depends on rider weight, terrain and how much power assistance you use. For me (I'm not skinny or super fit), I can ride for two hours and still have some power left. (I'm using the cheaper Eco Kit) I often ride with my 17-year-old son on his racing bike (who is skinny and fit) and now I can keep up with him without breaking into s sweat! The bike feels just as good to ride as before - only a lot lot easier! But should I ever run out of power, it's no problem to ride home using just muscle power. Fitting was straightforward - change the wheel, fit the pedal sensor and the battery to the handlebar, and connect a few cables. Everything I needed was included in the kit. And the support team is very responsive should you have any questions. I only had to contact them about the warranty survey which involves submitting pictures of your kit so they can confirm it's fitted correctly. So if you want to give your bicycle a new lease of life Swytch is a great investment. I might have cycled twice a month before but now I'm looking forward to my ride every other day.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Easy to fit and works brilliantly, fun to ride
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago