Universal Swytch eBike Kit Reviews

4.79 Rating 192 Reviews
Jon Crouch
Firstly read the manual it tells you everything you will need to know! It was easy to fit. I have a heart condition and not ridden a real bike in over 4 years. But it took a ride with my daughter this week and the kit is fantastic, my daughter is 6 so I had to turn it off as I was too fast for her. But even being able to turn it off and ride it like a normal bike is great! But with the motor on it brought a huge smile to my face and a confidence to go out and ride again which I never thought I would be able to do so I can’t rate this highly enough it is great a real life changer for me! And a great experience getting back into doing work on my bike etc, I love it!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Jim Sullivan
Received this kit over a year ago and find it to be everything you would expect in an electric bike. In fact, it does give DIY folks options for customization if that is your interest. Highly recommended!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Amanda Kelland
I was an original backer for Swytch and eventually got my kit last October. My husband fitted it relatively easily and right from the first ride I have absolutely loved it. I find it evens out the lumps and bumps of cycling so my rides are at a more even speed, I don’t use the power assist for flat and downhill so a 30-40km ride will usually only drop 2 bars on the battery. We were so impressed we bought another kit for my husband in January.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Michael Wilkinson
Faced withy the dilemma of making a decision between a new e-bike or converting my nearly new hybrid with an e-bike kit, I opted for the Swytch method. Swytch offer a discount to those pre-ordering and as such I was expecting a fairly long wait for delivery. I was pleased and not a little surprised to receive delivery by the promised time, three months - well done Swytch (although some report long waiting times) The fitting is straightforward and well within the capabilities of someone who can do basic bike maintenance. Clear instructions are supported by a number of videos and underpinning this is the offer of assistance by Customer Support. The process went well for me and in a short time my Genesis Tour de Fer was transformed into an e-bike. Riding the bike is great. It really is like a permanent tailwind, or a helping hand. The assistance is controlled and powerful. It works on pedal assistance and can be detected after about half a revolution of the pedals. The level of assistance is controlled via easily accessible buttons on top of the battery pack (in my case fastened to the handlebars and looking like a small bar bag) I live at the top of a significant hill and this has always been an issue when planning rides. No more, the Swytch kit gets me up the hill and no longer is it a leg breaking struggle. I still have to work a little but I now climb the hill more quickly, more easily and in a higher gear. All in all I'm delighted with my decision to go down the Swytch route. I can continue to ride my bike which I love and which is only two years old but which now has the benefit of assistance. I have saved many hundreds of pounds when compared tot he cost of buying a ready made e-bike. A technical problem with my kit was very quickly diagnosed by Swytch Customer Support and a replacement handlebar bracket sent to me within two days. Excellent after sales service I'm happy and would recommend Swytch
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Alvin Leung
The Swytch universal ebike kit is a great product. I converted my wife’s Specialized Hardrock mountain bike with this kit. It is very easy to install following the instruction manual and the video. The kit is extremely light weight because the controller is built into the battery. It only added 11 lbs weight to her bike vs. my e-bike with separate controller and battery has added a total of 22 lbs instead. The service is excellent. The kit took a longer time to deliver then original estimate but is understandable because of the pandemic crisis as all the kit were assembled in China. I did receive email notices regularly throughout the period to inform me Swytch’s progress in production. The Swytch also sent me a brake sensor without charge as a courtesy to my request. As for the ride, the PAS sensor works very well and smooth, and the operation is simple and straight forward. My wife loves her ebike that makes going uphill an ease. She is totally happy with her ebike experience. I highly recommended.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Stuart Barry
Overall I would not buy from them again. With 1 exception (on-line technical assembly assistance) customer service is non-existent. This is a ghost company - no-one is there to talk to you and you are forced to send in forms or emails to which there is often no reply. I ordered 2 kits in May 20. Allowing them some slack for delivery delays that may have been out of their control I did not complain when the 2 kits did not arrive until Dec 20. One of the kits was fine. The second was (AND STILL IS in Mar 21) missing a wheel nut. I have tried numerous times to get one shipped but nothing arrives and they seem to have given up contacting me. Since the 2 kits were purchased to allow my wife and I to go out together the whole purchase is incomplete and a waste of time. Although I have tried my kit and it works well I don't wish to cycle alone. I am tempted to send the whole lot back and ask for a refund. If this is the sort of service that I get with the new product what hope is there of getting service after a year or 2? In future I'll pay more and buy locally from a reliable company.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Janet Gillis
Love this product. I wanted to convert my bike to an e-bike and Swytch enabled me to do that. Quality construction, beautiful look, impressive packaging. I'm 65 and Swytch enables me to ride longer and easier. Just what I was looking for. Getting one for my husband next. My brother-in-law has the same bike as me and now he's looking at Swytch, too. Thanks for a great product, great customer service.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Craig Nicholas
After a long wait, the Swytch universal kit finally arrived. I've installed it on my wife's Giant Box Two full-suspension mountain bike. The end result is great; my wife is very happy. She can now keep up and overtake :-$, recently easily completing an initial 14 mile circuit. The installation needs some comment. If you have 1" diameter handlebars where it is clamped to the stem you will need to ask for some suitable spacers; they aren't included by default. Regarding the pedal sensor magnetic disk installation. For the size of gap between the pedal arm and frame, the manual suggested 'Easy Fit Regular' configuration. However, due to the 16mm spindle diameter, with the semi-circular toothed spacers trimmed to suit, it seemed to me to be liable to be knocked off since the semi-circular disks are not a tight fit nor is the retention ring (circlip) a tight fit. So I decided to glue them together with contact adhesive (which should still allow for it to be dismantled in the future if needed) AND I installed the pedal disk arm. This has resulted in a much more secure installation. Being a full-suspension mountain bike, the pedal sensor itself had to be trimmed to fit nicely, which was suggested in the manual. The front wheel was an easy fit and blends nicely with the existing rear wheel. The other components fitted easily. In use, it just works! We did discover that there is a 0 power level which I think to maximise range will be needed because the assistance wasn't necessary on the flat (or downhill of course). It would also have been easier to change power level without taking your hands off the handlebar but that isn't an option. We did try the twist throttle but it interferes with the gear levers so it can't be used. I gave it four stars because there is room for improvement both on kit content and price. Looking forward to the summer!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago