RAGE3-S Reviews

4.56 Rating 313 Reviews
Read Evolution Power Tools Reviews

210mm Multi-Material Cutting Sliding Mitre Saw

About Evolution Power Tools:

Evolution Power Tools. Pioneers of multipurpose cutting technology.

Visit Product Page

Phone:

+441142511022

Email:

sales@evolutionpowertools.com

Location:

Venture One Business Park, Longacre Close, Holbrook

Chris Morgan
Does everything I want it to do
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
John Fitzpatrick
Great saw It does exactly what it says on the tin
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
NIGEL BATES
good bit of kit, and a price to match
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Anonymous
All good so far, cuts cleanly and quickly
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Malcolm Sellwood
Robust tool , pression cuts ,lots of adjustment , easy blade change .good laser guide, good price.No dust bag or timber bracket support supplied with my tool ,or frequent cut adjustable length end stop, penny saving by manufacturer lets it down slightly , so if looking for a saw with this look elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Anonymous
Good saw but I think you should supply the supports and clamps with it
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
William Golightly
I was a bit unsure about how good this mitre saw would be given the price, but after reading other reviews I decided to give it a go and am really pleased that I did. The saw needed a quick assembly but don't be put off by this, it took me less than five minutes, after reading the instructions, that were very simple to follow. I also watched the assembly video online but I could have easily managed without that. The blade was slightly off square after set up but again, it just needed a quick adjustment with one of the provided allen keys and was soon cutting perfectly. The slide is very smooth, with an easy to reach locking screw and allows me to cut the full 210mm x 60mm advertised, (Not always the case with some saws) and the blade gives a clean cut on everything I have tried it on so far, including several different soft and hard woods, both treated and untreated, and plastic soffit and facia boards. I have even cut a bit of 3mm thick 50mm steel plate and couldn't believe how clean a cut I got, without the steel even getting warm! The Bevel adjustment is made by a simple to use single lever on the back of the machine and seems very accurate, allowing me to cut kitchen cornice perfectly. The mitre adjustment is also easy to use and the degree scale is very clear and gives fine adjustment as well as having stop points at crucial points such as 22.5, 30 and 45 degrees, which is useful for fast setting. I have been using the saw on a workbench and have found it really stable and very smooth, and with my vacuum fixed to the dust port it gives very little mess. Best of all, because it is so light, is when I have finished using it, I can engage the locking pin and lift the saw and put it away very easily. One very small moan I have is that although you can swap the workpiece clamp to both sides of the saw, because the blade motor projects to the right, it is almost impossible to use the clamp on the right. This could be easily rectified with a design tweak to the shape of the clamp arm. Clamping from the left is fine! Overall, a great bit of kit! I can't recommend highly enough!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Robert MILTON
The items I requested from Evolution, following an email request to them, met the requirement in full. Well done on providing a good Service. As a bonus to enquirers/purchasers perhaps Evolution could provide a single page A3/A4 (alternatively an attachment to an email) showing the parts list for the tool for which parts have been requested.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Anonymous
The after sales on this saw are non existing. They will look for anything or any loophole they can find before fixing failing parts, which for me was the brake, motor and guard. If your using the saw 2 to 3 times a year then you're probably ok, you get a 3 year warranty but I can not see it lasting that long, then you have to battle with the after sales, just to have it sent back unfixed. If you have more cash to play with, use it on a better make.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Gary Prichard
Does what I need it to, mostly skirting boards and architrave (occasionally stud work), good finish for a sub-40T blade, laser and blade wasn't perpendicular to the guide to start with but not too difficult to adjust. Biggest issue is the product description is a bit vague i.e. you don't get support brackets or collection bag which the advertising images suggest that you do (would probably have gone with a different brand had I spotted that), will definitely take that into account on any future purchases
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Keith Money
For a potentially dangerous machine the supplied instructions or woeful. There are various videos and manuals on-line but they are not easy to follow. I bought my saw from Screwfix but later found out that no dust bag is supplied on the Rage s3 model. No problem I thought, I will attached a hoover to it as it does have a vacuum connector. Oh dear, neither my Dyson nor Hitachi hoovers would mate to the machine. I did contact customer services about the dust bag and no goodwill gesture was made to send a dust bag. Great British customer care yet again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Stephen Marshall
Awesome piece of kit, exceptional price for a quality product. Only wished i researched my purchase because there are other rage 3 saws that have additional tools.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Roger Harper
Easy to put together and a joy to use - the sliding action is so smooth its sublime! The laser and angles are *slightly* off, but I haven't had the time to zero them out yet as I've only used the saw on one project which didn't need 100% accuracy. Reading the manual gives clear instructions with decent English. All in all, I'm pretty satisfied. It would've been nice to have extension rails included but you can't have everything for that price!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
John Williams
Very good value for money. The only thing that could be improved is the laser, which is not accurate.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Anonymous
Does the job very well. Much better than I expected.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago