Variety Cruises Reviews

4.87 Rating 131 Reviews
99% of reviewers recommend Variety Cruises

About Variety Cruises: Variety Cruises (formerly known as Zeus Casual Cruises) is the world’s largest small ships cruise company and has been offering boutique yacht cruise experiences since 1968. With a fleet of 11 fully-owned vessels accommodating up to 72 guests on the largest vessel, our Motor Yachts and Motor Sailers operate cruise programs taking guests in the heart of the destination, visiting well known destinations and more unique and unheard ports of call in a private, convivial and relaxed environment. Variety Cruises operates scheduled week long cruises in Greece, the Adriatic Sea, Cuba, Costa Rica & the Panama Canal, the Seychelles, the Canary Islands, Cape Verde, and NEW for 2017: Cruises in Iceland , and Cruises in Spain & Portugal.

Variety Cruises experiential itineraries embrace each destination by allowing guests ample leisure time in each port to discover the local nightlife, culinary traditions and culture. Our yachts dock right in the heart of the destination and offer multiple swim stops right off the vessels in secluded bays, always combining the world's most famous destinations with the off-the-beaten track locales inaccessible to large cruise ships. Fine locally-flavored cuisine, an ever-growing number of exciting itineraries blending well known ports of call with off-the-beaten track locales, and personalized service are just a few of the things that have made Variety Cruises the choice for the fast-growing number of travelers looking for distinctive small ship cruise experiences.

Visit Website

Location:
214-216 Syngrou Avenue

Are you a business owner Click here to learn about Reviews.co.uk business solutions.
Steve &
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

http://www.silvertraveladvisor.com/blog/cruise-ocean-cruising/variety-cruises-sights-and-sounds-of-cuba-chapter-1
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Steve,

Thank you so much for providing us with the link to this amazing review.
We look forward to read the next Chapters and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board one of our ships soon.

Best regards,
The VC team
Posted 2 years ago
Frances
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

In general, the crew and tour guides did a wonderful job. However, our experience was significantly marred on the last day of our trip. We were dropped at the Havana Airport with little by way of guidance regarding what to expect. We desperately needed a "handler." The airport was complete chaos. Checking in was extremely slow and took more than 90 minutes (longer for some members of our group). Many other travelers were brought to the head of the lines in front of us with no explanation. Following check-in, we encountered lengthy lines for exit fees and security (as well as for the bathrooms).
Once past security, there were no places to sit and our entire group literally sat on the floor.
There was no information about our flight and no airline staff could address questions. Pairs within our group received seat assignments at oppositie ends of the plane, many of which turned out to be non-existent. Consequently, it took a very long time to board our already significantly delayed flight. There was virtually no cooling on the plane, which was hot, crowded, and very uncomfortable.
We arrived very late in Miami and, of course, missed our connecting flight back to Chicago (although we had originally planned a lengthy layover). Some members of our group were not able to get a return flight for several days.
In brief, we were extremely disappointed in how our departure was mishandled.









Posted 2 years ago
Dear Frances,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your cruise experience on board the M/S Panorama in Cuba. It is with great pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with the friendliness and professionalism of the crew on board as well as the tour guides ashore on excursions.

Moreover, we are sorry to hear that the overall experience was marred due to problems regarding your departure from Havana airport. However, we would like to inform you that Variety Cruises is only the provider of the cruise tour in Cuba on board the Motor Sailer Panorama, therefore in no way would we able to investigate the circumstances under which you experienced problems with your transfer and flights departure from Cuba.

We remain at your disposal for any information and assistance you may need and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board one of our ships soon.

With very kind regards,
The Variety Cruises team
Posted 2 years ago
Naomi
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

The ship was Panorama II, which began and finished in Marina Zoas. We set off on 14 Nov 2014 and returned to MZ on 20 Nov, leaving the ship the following morning.

Panorama II is a beautiful ship and I would love to cruise on her again. The cabins were fine, also the hospitality, food, etc. My son and I went on all the excursions as we had already booked and paid for these via Voyages Jules Verne. The excursions were all very educational and enjoyable, and Evgenia Alexiou proved an excellent guide. Also her lectures on board the ship were very good. Together she and Dietmar and George formed a brilliant team and we all felt very well cared for, which enabled our disparate group - Brits, Aussies, Germans and I think an American or two - to gel together in a very satisfactory way.
Posted 2 years ago
Suzette
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Harmony V was a great little yacht with a wonderful crew and good food. Excursions were well-planned and interesting.
Posted 2 years ago
Geoff
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Harmony V excellent crew & destinations. Athens & Greek Isles. My wife & I have been regular cruisers on the larger cruise lines, the Harmony V being the first small boat experience. We will be back.
Posted 2 years ago
Susan
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Wow what an amazing 7 days we had on the Panorama II everything was fantastic, the food, excursions, the staff where just wonderful and the destinations. The Greek Islands where very special, especially on this small ships cruise with only 38 passengers, on some islands you felt you where the only ones visiting. I can't wait to do another cruise with Variety!!!!
Posted 2 years ago
David
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Classical Greek Cruise 2014:September
What an experience! An unforgettable week! This cruise surpassed all our expectations! Not wanting to cruise on a "big ship",this was the perfect alternative.
We sailed on the Harmony V, which offered a more personalised service, with an experienced and professional crew.
On board meals were exceptional and plentiful, daily routine well communicated and offshore options well organised,thanks to the cruise director Dietmar. All locations visited were interesting and varied.
Would highly recommend this cruise, specially for people wanting to experience cruising for the first time.
David and Michelle Brierley, Sydney, Australia
Posted 2 years ago
Robert
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

See my email of September 25, 2014. I forgot to mention that when off the ship with other passengers we would often say "lets go home". I think this is a tribute to the Crew/Captain for making us feel so comfortable. Also the "SHIP" had something to do with it - it was warm and in one passenger's comment "beautiful" (note: he owns a 70 ft yacht).
Robert Armanino
Posted 2 years ago
Jason
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Variety was FAR better than any 'big ship' cruise we've been on. They accommodated all our requests, and we got to know our fellow passengers - and had a much better experience - than we would have had we done the same cruise on a biugger ship or by bus or driving. Thanks!!
Posted 2 years ago
Christine
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

"jewels of the cyclades" on the boat GALILEO (30/09/2014) in twin bedded cabin
we enjoy very much this cruise ! because :
- there are only 45 persons and no children with much crew
we enjoy : the cruise program with visit archeological sites and swim stops with BBQ
- reading on the sun desk
- breakfast , buffet and diner very good, and it was very nice to go in traditionel greek tavernas
christine sassard from FRANCE du sud
Posted 2 years ago
Jane
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Yannis and Marita and the rest of the crew made our sailing experience very comfortable and pleasant.
The entire crew was hospitable and polite.
It would be nice to have hand lotion in the room.
Posted 2 years ago
Scott&Noelene
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Classical Greece cruise on MY HarmonyV. We loved our cruise experience. All staff from the boys greeting you as you came back on board every time, to the cabin staff, house keeping, wait staff, cruise director, and captain and crew were very friendly and obliging in making our time with them personal and an enjoyable experience. Everyone was always willing to take the time for a chat or answer questions. We were very impressed with one of the waiters Vic. Watching him work was amazing. He had a keen eye for all the needs of the passengers in the dining room , with a subtle wit and sense of humour which was very engaging.
If the opportunity arose to travel to a destination of interest for us with your company, we would, and would have no hesitation in recommending variety cruises to family, friends and colleagues.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Scott and Noelene,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent Variety Cruises Yacht Cruise Experience.
It with such great pleasure to read that your week on board the M/Y Harmony V has been so enjoyable, with the staff on board always attentive, providing such personal service.

We thank you for choosing Variety Cruises and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board with us very soon.

With best regards,
The Variety Cruises Team

Posted 2 years ago
Elena
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Truly amazing experience and unforgettable days on board of Variety Cuises yachts! Enjoying the most of each destination in privacy and comfort of Variety vessels, and being indulged by always nice and friendly staff attention. Amazing plan of exclusive holidays for demanding travellers!
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Elena,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your recent Classical Greece cruise on board the M/Y Harmony V. It is with great pleasure to hear that you appreciated the Variety Cruises concept. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back on board one of our ships for your 3rd Variety cruise soon.

Thank you and Sea you soon.
VC
Posted 2 years ago
Catherine
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

All wonderful - just a couple of comments:

Nowhere to dry of swimming kit.

Didn't get on very well travelling over night - missing the scenery which was a shame, and the motion and engine noise stopped me sleeping.

Otherwise had a great trip - and congrats to Dietmar who was so well informed and efficient!
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Catherine,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent Yacht Cruise Experience on board the M/Y Harmony V.

It is with great pleasure to hear that your overall experience has been so positive and that the Cruise Director on board has been so professional and attentive. We also thank you for your suggestions on the cabin facilities and have forwarded them to the Operations Department. Last but not least, it is indeed inevitable that in two out of the seven nights of the cruise, the vessel overnights at sea in order for the guests to enjoy most time on the destination the next day.

We wish to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board one of our ships soon.

Thank you again, and Sea you soon.

Best regards,
The Variety Cruises Team
Posted 2 years ago
Terry
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Hello
I am very happy to supply our review of Harmony V.
The Staff Exceptional.
The Captain remarkable as to the complete management of the vessel.
The cleanliness of the Cabins.
The knowledge of your staff as to the locations visited.
I would be happy to recommend Harmony V to anyone that visits Greece.
Thank You.
Terry Parathyras
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Terry,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on your recent Classical Greece Yacht Cruise Experience. It is with such great pleasure to hear that the Captain and Crew have been so professional, efficient and attentive.

We thank you for choosing Variety Cruises and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board one of our ships soon.

Sea you soon.

The Variety Cruises Team
Posted 2 years ago
Helen&John
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Greek Islands, Panorama II,
We had a wonderful time. The crew was marvellous, the sea was kind, the stop overs and visits were fantastic, the guides and tour director were all very knowledgable -- wish my history teacher way back at school could have been half as good! The food was amazing, what else can I say? Thanks for a wonderful experience.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Helen and John,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your Aegean Odyssey cruise on board the Panorama II. It is with such great pleasure to hear that your week on board has in all aspects been excellent!
We thank you for choosing Variety Cruises and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back home soon.

Safe travels and Sea you soon!

The Variety Cruises Team
Posted 2 years ago
Tracy
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

M/S Galileo, Fantastic Ship. We traveled on the 16 of August 2014. Cabin 5 was our home for the week. Nice size, good beds, and very clean.
Maritia was on top of every want and need. Excursions were very organized and it was nice to have such a small group, every thing was very personal. she new everyone by name and where they were from. She had great tips of the local areas we visited. I even fell on the ship (my fault) when no one was around and she was there with ice packs before I could get up for my ankle. She was just great!!!!
The Bartender, Valerie was so much fun . Mixing drinks laughing and making everyone feel right home.
Anna and the staff were always there with coffee and a nice smile for the day.

Great trip with fun memories, and we will be back again soon!!
Tracy and Sam
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Tracy and Sam,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your week on board the M/S Galileo on our Jewels of the Cyclades cruise. It is wonderful to hear that the accommodation and crew have made you feel like home, and that you were satisfied with the friendliness and professionalism of the crew on board as well as with the quality of the excursions ashore.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board one of our ships soon.

With very kind regards,

The Variety Cruises Team
Posted 2 years ago
Bony
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

This is my first time with Variety Cruises and it was for Jewel of Cyclades from 9 Aug until 16 Aug. I have to say it exceeded my expectations. Using a small cruise ship like M/S Galileo is totally a different experience compare to big cruise ships. We could actually dock at the ports of the islands and/or swimming locations which are remote with crystal clear water.

The services on-board was excellent and very personal as you don't have many passengers - max is 50 passengers, I think. There is basically no queue during embarkation and disembarkation at ports.

I totally love it. Given the chance, I would definitely do another cruise with Variety Cruises. Thumbs up!

Regards,
Bon
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Bon,

Thank you for leaving a review of your cruise experience on board the M/S Galileo encircling the most beautiful Jewels of the Cyclades.

It is with great pleasure to hear that the cruise exceeded your expectations. The key points of small ship cruising that you have mentioned above, along with the dedication of the crew on board as well as the well-chosen stopovers is what makes the cruise experience with Variety Cruises truly unique.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board one of our ships soon.

Safe travels and Sea you soon!

With best regards,
The Variety Cruises Team
Posted 2 years ago
Corrine
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

We were on board Harmony V on the classical Greek Cruise. We found the experience to be wonderful. All the crew were attentive and the level of service was very high. Meals on board were great, so much better than expected. We really enjoyed being able to get on and off the ship at the Ports we were in, a major advantage on being on a small ship. It was easy to join into group activities and also to take time out to do our own thing.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Corrine,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your Yacht Cruise Experience on board the M/Y Harmony V. We are particularly delighted to hear that the food quality on board exceeded your expectations and that you were so satisfied by the professionalism of the crew on board. Last but not least, the concept of our cruises lies exactly on the ability to get on and off the ship at one's pace. Also, our itineraries are indeed carefully crafted to daily combine excursions and activities with enough time for our guests to make their own arrangements!

Thank you for choosing Variety Cruises, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board one of our ships soon.

Sea you soon,
The Variety Cruises Team
Posted 2 years ago
Taylor
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

I had a wonderful time on this cruise!! The staff and everyone was so pleasant and nice! I felt right at home! Our cruise director was amazing as well as his assistant! I saw and learned so much on my trip I am truly grateful that we were blessed with such an amazing bunch of people! I cannot wait to go on my next cruise!!! =)
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Taylor,

Thank you for leaving a review of your cruise experience in Greece.
It is with great pleasure to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your week with Variety Cruises staff and fellow guests and we look forward to welcoming you home soon :)

With kind regards,
The Variety Cruises Team
Posted 2 years ago
Variety Cruises is rated 4.87 based on 131 reviews