Variety Cruises Reviews

4.87 Rating 131 Reviews
99% of reviewers recommend Variety Cruises

About Variety Cruises: Variety Cruises (formerly known as Zeus Casual Cruises) is the world’s largest small ships cruise company and has been offering boutique yacht cruise experiences since 1968. With a fleet of 11 fully-owned vessels accommodating up to 72 guests on the largest vessel, our Motor Yachts and Motor Sailers operate cruise programs taking guests in the heart of the destination, visiting well known destinations and more unique and unheard ports of call in a private, convivial and relaxed environment. Variety Cruises operates scheduled week long cruises in Greece, the Adriatic Sea, Cuba, Costa Rica & the Panama Canal, the Seychelles, the Canary Islands, Cape Verde, and NEW for 2017: Cruises in Iceland , and Cruises in Spain & Portugal.

Variety Cruises experiential itineraries embrace each destination by allowing guests ample leisure time in each port to discover the local nightlife, culinary traditions and culture. Our yachts dock right in the heart of the destination and offer multiple swim stops right off the vessels in secluded bays, always combining the world's most famous destinations with the off-the-beaten track locales inaccessible to large cruise ships. Fine locally-flavored cuisine, an ever-growing number of exciting itineraries blending well known ports of call with off-the-beaten track locales, and personalized service are just a few of the things that have made Variety Cruises the choice for the fast-growing number of travelers looking for distinctive small ship cruise experiences.

Visit Website

Location:
214-216 Syngrou Avenue

Are you a business owner Click here to learn about Reviews.co.uk business solutions.
Alec N
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Would you recommend Variety Cruises to your friends and family as.....?

We recently did the Garden of Eden cruise around the Seychelles on the Pegasus sailing on 16th April.
The fact that there were only 12 passengers instead of a maximum of 44 meant we were treated like royalty.
Good mix of Brits and continentals and everyone got on well.
We had a class A cabin which was comfortable and a reasonable size but as this is not the most modern ship the bathroom is quite small and the fittings are a little dated.
The food however was very good throughout with decent choice and the fresh fish served was excellent.
The staff were very professional and friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble, so a big credit to the captain and Markos who was in charge of Hotel operations.
Enjoyed the excursions to Curieuse, Cousin and Aride islands particularly,which are basically nature reserves with no other facilities .For those interested in the natural world and ornithology in particular then these are excellent excursions and the landings on small boats through big surf waves was all part of the fun.
The optional excursion to Vallee de Mai on Praslin was enjoyable and informative.
There were several excellent snorkelling trips using the zodiacs and the variety of fish and marine life was pretty good and a lot of new coral growth was particularly evident!
So to summarise, thoroughly enjoyed the cruise which certainly exceeded our expectations.
As this was our first cruise with Variety it will almost certainly not be our last since we particularly enjoy small ship cruising and they have an interesting schedule of similar cruises!


Posted 1 year ago
Visit Website
Ali C
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Would you recommend Variety Cruises to your friends and family as.....?

Recently (April 2016) cruise in the Seychelles which was magnificent. Everything you want from a good holiday, plenty to see, beautiful locations and beaches, fauna and flora. The boat Pegosos was wonderful, very comfortable and a fabulous crew that looked after everything. It truly is a luxury experience. Other guests were a lot of fun and the ship is small enough to make it feel like a private charter. The Excursion guide was very good and made sure we didn't miss anything. So happy to see the Tortoises on some of the Island stops, a very good way to see the Seychelles -- highly recommended and very good value. Food was excellent and lovely BBQs on the beach. Take my advice and go!
Posted 1 year ago
E&A H
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Would you recommend Variety Cruises to your friends and family as.....?

Pegus Seychelles. We had a fantastic holiday and a big thank you to Variety Cruises. We found all the staff without exception very helpful ,accommodating, entertaining and great fun which made the experience all the more enjoyable. Would definitely recommend this holiday.
Posted 1 year ago
Colin
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Would you recommend Variety Cruises to your friends and family as.....?

We went to the Seychelles on the M/Y PEGASUS.
From the moment we got on board the ship we were made to feel like part of a family.
The ship was spotless and the cabin was far above what we expected everything in the cabin was clean and with plenty of room for our clothes. We had clean towels every day and our beds were turn down for us every night.
The crew were friendly all the time but remained professional at all times, the service on board was second to none and the food was 5 star.
The excursion that were provided were perfect for everyone. Everyone got on well together so it made things very comfortable. The Hotel Director ( Markos Vasileiadis ) arranged some great evening entertainment for us which was great.
I would have no problem using Variety Cruises again
Posted 1 year ago
Edie
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Peloponnesian Peninsula Cruise on Harmoney V . 15-22 April 2016. Although initially booked on a different ship, we were delighted to find that the Harmony V was as good as the pictures had indicated. Our accommodation was adequate and spotless clean and tidied everyday. The staff onboard were excellent, obliging, extremely polite and professional. The excursions were optional on our cruise which suited us as we like to explore on our own. The food was first class, with a variety of silver service and buffet sylte meals. As a veggie I was delighted with the wide variety of salads and options available. My husband thought the variety of courses, fish, meal, poultry were all very good and deliciously prepare. We hope to book this cruise line again next year and explore more of the wonderful Greek Islands and their facinating history and culture.
We made friends with some of fellow passengers and have exchanged photos and email addresses. This was definitely a highlight holiday in every sense of the word.
Posted 1 year ago
Anita
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Harmony V - Antiquities trip round Peloponnese. The ship was extremely comfortable, the crew excellent, and the food excellent, Organisation of excursions superb all of them very interesting and the talks provided by your Expert, very interesting. . As you might have read in the article I sent you recently. Do pleased if you wish use items from that article. We were incredible fortunate with the weather blues skies and sun the whole way, this in mid-April.
The only quibble I would make, is that I did not like the taverna were we had lunch on the Olympic excursion, it must be difficult to maintain the standard, at a reasonably easy coach access venue. And of course one tended to compare with the wonderful food we were having on the yacht, Harmony V, their food was outstanding;

Anita Rieu-Sicart
Editor VAR VILLAGE VOICE monthly magazine.
Posted 1 year ago
Francois
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Almost perfect week on Galileo ! Only 26 pax, and a great service. The team is absolutely perfect and the trip is very interesting. Special thanks to Iossif, our cruise manager, and Anna, our waitress, always perfect.
The swim stops are not useful during spring but are chosen in so lovely places.

Variety Cruise and Galileo is a very very very good company, far from the mass tourism.
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Francois,

thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent Jewels of the Cyclades small ship cruise experience with Variety Cruises! It is with great pleasure to hear that your hosts and crew were so attentive and professional, and that you found the ports of call interesting throughout your cruise week. We thank you for your kind words, and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back "home" on board one of our ships soon.

SEA The World with Variety Cruises..

The Variety Cruises Team
Posted 1 year ago
Malene
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

I did a Variety Cruise in the Seychelles on board Pegasos in February. I have done it several times before and I just love it. This time we had bad weather, but nevertheless it was a wonderfull cruise, thanks to the captain and the crew. They avoided no effort to make sure we had all possibly experiences, despite the weather.
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Malene,

thank you for taking the time to share a review on your Seychelles cruise experiences with Variety Cruises, and it is with great pleasure to understand that the Pegasus and the beautiful islands feel like home away from home. We look forward to welcoming you back on board on one of our ships in the near future!

SEA The World with Variety Cruises..

The Variety Cruises family
Posted 1 year ago
Martin
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Aegean Mosaic Cruise from Istanbul; 07 October 2015 for 8 days. Embarkation arrangements at Istanbul were awful! (I will write separately about this when I get a moment.) Captain Andreas Sisniotis and the crew of the Voyager were, as usual, first class and everything on board ship lived up to the usual high standards (and, now, our high expectations). However the standard of optional excursions was mixed. We objected, in particular, to the visit to a carpet factory which was an opportunity, we were told, to see a social project to provide employment for village women in Turkey and maintain a traditional industry. In practice it was nothing but a hard sell (in which, according to the owner, Variety Cruises were implicated by underwriting any purchases we made - shame on you). We enjoyed our cruise and would come again: but the letdowns were serious letdowns!
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Mr. Debenham,

thank you for sharing a review on the most recent of your Variety Cruises experiences. It is with great pleasure to hear that the Captain and Crew on board the M/Y Variety Voyager were first class, professional and attentive and that the vessel lived up to the standards of your first experience on the M/Y Variety Voyager back in 2012. Furthermore, we thank you for your comments and objections on the nature of one of the optional excursions on shore, as well as on the embarkation process at Istanbul; your comments as an experienced Variety guest are well taken into consideration and are highly valuable to us in order to exceed your expectations each and every time we welcome you back on board with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on board with us again, and SEA the world together the Variety Cruises way.

With best regards,
The Variety Cruises family
Posted 1 year ago
Jakob
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Variety
My wife and me spent our honeymoon on board the MY Pegasos cruisung the Seychelles. It was our second cruise with Variety Cruises so we already had an idea of the concept of small ship cruises.

Vessel
The MY Pegasus is a catamaran vessel with 4 decks and 21 cabins for a maximum of about 40 people. The several public areas (restaurant, lounge & bar, after deck and sun deck) offer individiual space for all guests. The cozy cabins are furnished with a bed, wardrobe, seating, television and a commode. Bathroom is equiped with a hair dryer. A nice feature are the 2 SIGG bottles that get refilled with water fort the excursions by the crew daily.

Service
The atmosphere on board of the Variety cruises is very familar due to the heartly crew. You fell at home on the vessel since embarkation. The crew members behave more like friends that want you to have a good time then servants waiting for your order. If food, questions or any excursions – any individual concern is very welcome and beeing solved. The crew members seem to like their work as they laugh a lot and have fun with guests withour losing a profesional distance and not forgeting safety.

Food
The food was excellent. Breakfast offers egg, bread, sausage & cheese, cereals and fruits. Lunch is in Buffet form with a selection of 4 different main dishes, several side dishes, salad and dessert. The dinner is alternately 5 course menu or buffet. The menu offers the choice between meat and fish for main dish. The selection of food always included regional creol kitchen and a lot of fish and seafood as well as international kitchen (Lasagne ie). The kitchen even created a vegetarian main dish in short term when announced at the starter.

Shore excursion
All excursions except 2 (Praslin and La Digue) are included in the cruise rate. The excursions vary between small hikes over the islands with visits of e.g. protected areas, tender shuttles to beaches and swim & snorkel stops. Every evening there is a briefing for the visited spots and activities of the following day. Almost all excursions are made by tender zodiacs and are well organized. Several times there are bbq´s at the shore that are very nice. If you dont join the excursion you can go on your own by tender shuttles leaving several times.

Overall
A highly recommendable cruise if you prefer casual and familiar atmosphere on a yacht instead of amenities as casino, gym, theatre etc. that are offered by big ship cruises with some 3.000 to 5.000 guests. I like the combination of a small ship that is able to bring you to smaller places & villages with a hearty service in a casual environment.
Posted 1 year ago
Colin
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer


I have been on the majority of Variety cruises & they have all been to a high standard of professionalism , good humour, where all nationalities can mix & relax visiting exotic locations.
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Colin,

thank you for sharing a review on your several Variety cruise experiences overall. Since you have enjoyed almost all our cruises destinations by now, we are delighted to inform you that we are adding two new cruise destinations in Summer 2017: Cruises in Iceland on our new Mega Yacht Callisto, and cruises in Spain & Portugal on our Motor Sailer Panorama II, and of course, we so much look forward to having you on board as one of the most loyal Variety guest! Thank you for SEAing the world the Variety Cruises way.

With best regards,
Your Variety Cruises family
Posted 1 year ago
Jacques
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Très agréable croisière avec équipage aux petits soins. Repas très bons. 2 repas sur la plage superbement organisés. 2 soirées folkloriques bien amusantes en compagnie du capitaine. A bord et aux débarquements, accompagnement très dévoué du coordinateur du voyage (Nivek). Un bémol: bien que nos valises aient pu être déposées sur le bateau à notre arrivée à 7.00 (a.m.), (après 22 heures de voyage épuisant!), nous avons dû attendre encore 7 heures pour monter sur le bateau, au lieu de pouvoir nous reposer sur le pont supérieur!! (en attendant que les chambres soient faites). Dans l'ensemble, voyage absolument à recommander!
Posted 1 year ago
Mary
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

In September 2015 we were aboard the Galileo and had a terrific time. The crew was exceptionally accommodating, caring and competent. Variety offers that special small ship experience that a big ocean liner can not provide. The swim stops added a wonderful dimension to the Variety experience.
Mary and Paul
Connecticut
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Mary and Paul.

Greetings from Athens, Greece.

We thank you for sharing your positive comments on your Variety cruise experience on the M/S Galileo and the Jewels of the Cyclades cruise.

It is with such great pleasure to hear that you appreciated and loved the Small Ship concept in which we remain committed since 1968.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board the Galileo or any of ours ships operating in Greece, the Adriatic, Cuba, Iceland and so many more destinations designed for you.

SEA The World with Variety Cruises...
Posted 1 year ago
Ken
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

fantastic time on board the Variety Voyager
excellent staff and facilities
we sailed from Istanbul to Athens through the Greek Islands
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Kenneth,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your Yacht Cruise Experience on the M/Y Variety Voyager operating the Aegean Mosaic cruise from Istanbul to Athens!

It with such great pleasure to hear that your overall on board experience was fantastic and the crew attentive and excellent.
We thank you for choosing Variety Cruises for your cruise experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board one of our ships very soon.

Safe travels & SEA you soon.

With best regards,
The Variety Cruises Team
Posted 1 year ago
Terry
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

In September 2014 my wife and I cruised on the Galileo and although the cruise was changed from the Agean Sea to the Ionian Sea because of bad weather in the Agean we were not disapointed, it was an amazing cruise. We enjoyed it so much we returned this year in August and cruised on the Variety Voyager and again had a very enjoyable cruise and would certainly recommend Variety Cruises to anyone wishing to cruise the Greek Islands
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Terry,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on both your Variety Cruises experiences.

It with such great pleasure to hear that your overall experience on the M/Y Variety Voyager operating the Aegean Mosaic cruise was so enjoyable.

We thank you for your loyalty to Variety Cruises and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board one of our ships again very soon.

Safe travels & SEA you soon.

Happy Holidays and a prosperous 2016!

With best regards,
The Variety Cruises Team
Posted 1 year ago
Teresa
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

I, along with my husband and friends sailed on the Variety Voyager from Athens to Istanbul in August of 2015. It was definitely one of the best trips of my life. Captain Andreas was ever so nice and we all knew we were in great hands. The crew was amazing and each day was planned with great excursions, which we did quite a few of them. This was our second cruise with Variety and I can't wait to go on another one.
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Teresa,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your second Variety Cruises experience, again on the M/Y Variety Voyager!

It with such great pleasure to hear that your Aegean Mosaic cruise has been one of your most beautiful trips to remember, and that the Captain and crew on board went above and beyond to that end.

We thank you for your loyalty to Variety Cruises and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on board one of our ships again very soon.
Safe travels & SEA you soon.
Happy Holidays and a prosperous 2016!

With best regards, The Variety Cruises Team
Posted 1 year ago
I A
Overall Rating
Unverified Reviewer

The Galilao last week touring around the Greek Islands was fantastic. Thanks to the Captain and hardworking staff on board. The chef wowed us with the buffets and Greek night entertainment great fun. All above our expectations. Thank you all. 13.10.15
Posted 1 year ago
Kirk T
Overall Rating
Unverified Reviewer

My wife and I sailed on the Harmony V from August 14th-21st on the classical Greek cruise. Over all the cruise was a very good experience that we would not hesitate to do again. While the ship may not have been brand new, it offered almost everything we needed to enjoy our time on the ship. The food was very good, the employees were very attentive and the cabins were comfortable. Our cruise director Josef was outstanding in his knowledge of history which he presented in a manner that made it very interesting. He was friendly and engaging with the passengers and available at any time. The islands we visited were outstanding along with the tours that were available, three of which we took part in. My only concerns were the lack of equipment available for enjoying the water. From reading the brochures and information on line, we got the impression the water activities were a big part of the cruise and looked forward to that. My other concern was that the Captain was not very friendly with the passengers. As a former airline captain, interaction with the passengers was very important to me and I found this lacking. Otherwise, a wonderful vacation that I would recommend to anyone.
Kirk Thorvaldsen
Posted 1 year ago
Drancy G
Overall Rating
Unverified Reviewer

De retour d'une croisière aux Seychelles sur le MY Pegasus nous sommes rentrés enchantés. Si certes le bateau était un peu vieillot mais avec charme l'équipage a été au cours de ces 8 jours extraordinaire. De la cuisine mitonnée par un cuisinier Seychellois aux excursions, mais également le capitaine et l équipage, toute l'équipe est attentionnée et d'une gentillesse extrême. Un voyage inoubliable au jardin d'Eden, Croisiere chaudement recommandée !
Posted 1 year ago
Maria T
Overall Rating
Unverified Reviewer

I was on The Panorama II end of June 2015, with strong winds and my fear of sea sickness. The ship travels so well that we had no problem whatsoever. Overall, the food was EXCELLENT, the staff professional and very helpful (thank you dear George and Captain Costas!) and the itinerary we chose, which included both the Cyclades plus the Peloponese part, offered the best of the greek islands. We had swim stops of course which added to the adventure but missed the beach bbq because of new laws, they said. Anyway, the whole experience was so good that I would recommend it to all!!!! Maria Trivyza
Posted 2 years ago
Variety Cruises is rated 4.87 based on 131 reviews