Sport Lived Reviews

4.53 Rating 36 Reviews
97% of reviewers recommend Sport Lived

About Sport Lived: Sport Lived is a gap year company which arranges for young people to play and coach sport in Australia, New Zealand & South Africa!

Visit Website

Phone:
01158229999

Email:
ian.dodd@sportlived.co.uk

Location:
Sport Lived,Sir Colin Campbell Building, Triumph Road,

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

How would you rate Sport Lived?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

4
Julie Walsh
Julie Walsh
Verified Buyer
"My son enjoyed his stay in Brisbane and was looked after well"
Report
Posted 7 months ago
4
Aidan Rennison
Aidan Rennison
Verified Buyer
"I went on the Sport Lived rugby union academy programme in Brisbane and had a fantastic experience that will stay with me forever. The coaching I received over there from both the Academy itself and the University of Queensland Rugby Club was top class. Unsurprisingly many professional players and even Wallabies have come from the setup at UQRFC. There were a few inconsistencies in what was advertised as included in the Academy, for example there was no nutritionist but there were sports psychology classes. The sportlived contact out there, John Mitchel, was brilliant, helping out with anything and everything along with organising some excellent socials. The premium accommodation I stayed in whilst I was there was very high quality and I would definitely recommend it. I would strongly recommend a Sport Lived programme to anyone thinking about going on a high level sporting gap year!"
Report
Posted 7 months ago
Clare Davies
"The company lived up to it's name and gave Jake an amazing experience. He was looked after, treated with respect and given a first class hockey experience which has inspired him to keep the fitness level up for his University in September! He was all alone going out to Melbourne and having been met at the airport, was supported in his life in Australia; from being a member of a hockey team and playing for the Reserves, to being given some experiences of life down under! He loved surfing! Thanks Sport Lived, Jessy, Kathy and all the others for looking after him so well!"
Report
Posted 9 months ago
"Right from the get go they looked after us before and during Melbourne. The staff out in Melbourne are available 24 hours a day and are there a lot at the beginning of the program to make sure you have all your necessary documentation etc. the club I was set up with where amazing and I could not have asked for a better club that made me feel so welcome from day one and I couldn't of found them without Sport Lived. Lastly but certainly not least the people I lived with where amazing and I have made friends for life and it helped so much having a ready made group of friends as soon as you arrive."
Helpful Report
Posted 22 hours ago
Visit Website
Helen Phillips
Unverified Reviewer
"I have been so impressed with the help and Sport Lived gave Sam and us both before leaving and during his time in Melbourne. It really made it a pretty stress free experience as a parent, knowing that Sam was having a great time but that there was a safety net there if needed. Would really recommend it as a great Gap year option for anyone who loves sport."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
"I spent 10 weeks coaching cricket in Melbourne and had an amazing time. SportLived helped support me and the group I was with."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
PAUL DEWHIRST
Verified Reviewer
"Freddie loved his time in Australia with Sport Lived and is already planning his next trip. Sport Lived were excellent from the off and made sure our lad was well looked after. When we visited over Xmas the Sport Lived staff invited us to the socials and made us very welcome."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Taylor Hughes
Unverified Reviewer
"Playing football in Melbourne was an awesome experience. The city is amazing and I met so many new friends who I still keep in contact with. The socials were so fun and they gave me a chance to try new things in a new country. The Sport Lived team were there if we needed any help and definitely made me feel comfortable on the other side of the world."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Our son had a great 6 months in Melbourne and his cricket seems to have benefited as he is now in the "elite" training core for his Uni! The flat was well located; he got on well with his flat mates (several he is keeping up with now) and enjoyed flat life - perhaps too much; they played indoor cricket with oranges and we lost most of our flat deposit! He looked forward to the socials Sport Lived organised and, the major sporting events they were given tickets too were mostly top class; sitting in the equivalent position at the Melbourne tennis championships to the Royal Box at Wimbledon can't be bad. Our only concern was that earning money to keep afloat proved tougher than anticipated and at one time threatened to derail the enterprise. There were opportunities to travel (the Great Ocean route) and for sorties outside the City but don't spend Christmas in Melbourne -apparently "it's closed". Sport Lived were our "comfort blanket" for what was, for our son, a hugely maturing, fun and memorable experience. He can't wait to go back and see all his Melbourne friends again!"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"We booked some way in advance for my son to travel to Melbourne and play a full season of rugby with Melbourne RFC. Unfortunately, two months before travel my son ruptured his ACL whilst playing for his local club and had to have reconstructive surgery. Sport Lived gave us the opportunity to cancel - however, we made the decision that as my son had organised a year out for this purpose, and he had no other plans, we would continue with the trip minus the rugby matches! My son found the accommodation top class (Space Hotel) and Jessie and Kathy wonderful - Kathy organised some brilliant days out for the. Due to a last minute price increase (the Brexit vote!) he had to stay in a four man room and not the two man room, as organised. I would say that for a six month stay, a two man room would have been preferable. The rooms do not cater solely for SL - my son did have a constant change in room mates (not SL) - not always favourable! The rugby players (there were only a couple of them) arrive between seasons. When my son arrived, he said there were far more SL summer attendees, which he preferred. Three months into his six month trip, he said it was much quieter and less attendees for the winter sports (plus Melbourne weather does start to deteriorate!). Overall, he had a great experience - we would recommend SL to any sport loving individual who is interested in combining travel and sport for their gap year."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Thomas Pullen
Verified Buyer
"Had a great time in aus!"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Awesome experience! Everyone involved was incredibly friendly and helpful."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Theo Hannah
Verified Buyer
"Brisbane was amazing, playing with the red heavies was exactly what I needed. Everyone at the club was friendly, and made me feel at home. The quality of coaching and players really pushed me to work hard and become a better player. Sport lived was well organised and John was an absolute legend taking us surfing and to see a few reds game amongst other activities he organised for us."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Kath Loxton
Verified Buyer
"Sport Lived looked after my son and seemed to give just the right balance of supervision and independence. Great transition between living at home and Uni."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"Our son did both cricket and football whilst out in Melbourne. He had a great time there and was kept very busy with the coaching and playing opportunities that Sport Lived had arranged. I felt he was well looked after, and the local representatives were very quick in responding to the one or two questions that we had. All in all an excellent way of spending part of a gap year."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Julie Walsh
Verified Buyer
"My son enjoyed his stay in Brisbane and was looked after well"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Aidan Rennison
Verified Buyer
"I went on the Sport Lived rugby union academy programme in Brisbane and had a fantastic experience that will stay with me forever. The coaching I received over there from both the Academy itself and the University of Queensland Rugby Club was top class. Unsurprisingly many professional players and even Wallabies have come from the setup at UQRFC. There were a few inconsistencies in what was advertised as included in the Academy, for example there was no nutritionist but there were sports psychology classes. The sportlived contact out there, John Mitchel, was brilliant, helping out with anything and everything along with organising some excellent socials. The premium accommodation I stayed in whilst I was there was very high quality and I would definitely recommend it. I would strongly recommend a Sport Lived programme to anyone thinking about going on a high level sporting gap year!"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Anthony Price
Verified Buyer
"Just being able to have a once in a lifetime opportunity that perhaps not many people will get to experience coaching and refereeing abroad in their chosen sport or activity."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Hugo Van De Graaf
Verified Buyer
"The Sport Lived rowing program was an awesome experience. Melbourne is a great city to row in. The river is flat everyday and it makes training there really enjoyable. Because all the clubs are on the same road next to the city, the atmosphere around them is great. You get to know everyone in your club quickly and you also interact with a lot people from other clubs as well. I also got to go on training camps (where I discovered different places of Australia) and on competitions. The best regatta was without a doubt the national championships in Penrith, Sydney. Getting to row on the Olympic course was one of the greatest experience I had during my program. On the side of rowing, I got to live in a really cool suburb of Melbourne, South Yarra. It was extremely convenient because it was easy to get to my rowing club and the suburb itself was awesome."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"Sport Lived gave me the opportunity to live on my own while still having a support group of friends and adults that could help me along the way. My tennis coaching program in Melbourne went flawlessly and I made so many friends from all over the world. The group socials that were put on by the local sport lived leaders were very well run and fun. I remember surfing, going to the Formula 1 Grand Prix, going to food festivals and wildlife sanctuaries. I would absolutely recommend this program to anyone that wants to travel and get great international work experience."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"The company lived up to it's name and gave Jake an amazing experience. He was looked after, treated with respect and given a first class hockey experience which has inspired him to keep the fitness level up for his University in September! He was all alone going out to Melbourne and having been met at the airport, was supported in his life in Australia; from being a member of a hockey team and playing for the Reserves, to being given some experiences of life down under! He loved surfing! Thanks Sport Lived, Jessy, Kathy and all the others for looking after him so well!"
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"To live in the most liveable city in the world got better and better and was an experience never to forget. Loved the football team I was playing for and the different approach they take to back home along with all the people involved. There is a level of ability for everyone and that could be promoted more as I enjoy playing at a lower level. I also had the benefit of training with higher teams which worked well in pushing me on further. Playing away at other grounds was interesting and the coordinators do what they can to make social events as good as they can be. Gym access at the Australian open park was cool and something I wasn't expecting to get. Improvements I would suggest are to increase the numbers of people taking part in each particular programme and find a way to make the football available in more times of the year. Perhaps doing 5-a-side during times when the football season isn't running. I didn't regret many things but it would've been nice to be there when the grand prix was on (1 day before I arrived) which could've easily been done."
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"Sport Lived was abosultely amazing at making us feel so welcome to Australia, especially being an 18 year old moving to the other side of the world. The location where I was based was right in the city so prefect to experience Melbourne life. I learnt a lot from the swim teaching program and it really helped me develop my skills. Overall a life changing experience."
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Sport Lived is rated 4.53 based on 36 reviews