Sport Lived Reviews

4.58 Rating 81 Reviews
94 %
of reviewers recommend Sport Lived
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Read Sport Lived Reviews

About Sport Lived:

Sport Lived is a gap year company which arranges for young people to play and coach sport in Australia, New Zealand & South Africa!

Visit Website

Phone:

0115 822 9999

Email:

info@sportlived.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Sport Lived made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Sport Lived 5 star review on 15th July 2020
Flo Campbell
Sport Lived 5 star review on 13th May 2020
Juliet Huddart
Sport Lived 5 star review on 13th May 2020
Juliet Huddart-Ouabdesslam
Sport Lived 5 star review on 24th July 2017
Clare Davies
Sport Lived 4 star review on 5th September 2017
Julie Walsh
Sport Lived 4 star review on 5th September 2017
Julie Walsh
Sport Lived 4 star review on 5th September 2017
Julie Walsh
2
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Such a great experience, enjoining sports and meeting great people!
Posted 1 year ago
alexander is from South africa and played cricket in christchurch from Jan to April 2019. He made great new friends,loved the cricket and enjoyed the outings. The accomodation was good...the kitchen might need an upgrade.
Posted 2 years ago
Sport lived sorted me out a rugby side to play for during my 6 months in Melbourne. The team was a good level and matched my ability whilst testing me at the same time. We had a very successful season in the U20's league and managed to win the final at AAMI. Couldn't have asked for a better bunch of lads in the flat as well as in the team and I look forward to going back out there soon.
Posted 2 years ago
Our son had a great 6 months in Melbourne and his cricket seems to have benefited as he is now in the "elite" training core for his Uni! The flat was well located; he got on well with his flat mates (several he is keeping up with now) and enjoyed flat life - perhaps too much; they played indoor cricket with oranges and we lost most of our flat deposit! He looked forward to the socials Sport Lived organised and, the major sporting events they were given tickets too were mostly top class; sitting in the equivalent position at the Melbourne tennis championships to the Royal Box at Wimbledon can't be bad. Our only concern was that earning money to keep afloat proved tougher than anticipated and at one time threatened to derail the enterprise. There were opportunities to travel (the Great Ocean route) and for sorties outside the City but don't spend Christmas in Melbourne -apparently "it's closed". Sport Lived were our "comfort blanket" for what was, for our son, a hugely maturing, fun and memorable experience. He can't wait to go back and see all his Melbourne friends again!
Posted 3 years ago
We booked some way in advance for my son to travel to Melbourne and play a full season of rugby with Melbourne RFC. Unfortunately, two months before travel my son ruptured his ACL whilst playing for his local club and had to have reconstructive surgery. Sport Lived gave us the opportunity to cancel - however, we made the decision that as my son had organised a year out for this purpose, and he had no other plans, we would continue with the trip minus the rugby matches! My son found the accommodation top class (Space Hotel) and Jessie and Kathy wonderful - Kathy organised some brilliant days out for the. Due to a last minute price increase (the Brexit vote!) he had to stay in a four man room and not the two man room, as organised. I would say that for a six month stay, a two man room would have been preferable. The rooms do not cater solely for SL - my son did have a constant change in room mates (not SL) - not always favourable! The rugby players (there were only a couple of them) arrive between seasons. When my son arrived, he said there were far more SL summer attendees, which he preferred. Three months into his six month trip, he said it was much quieter and less attendees for the winter sports (plus Melbourne weather does start to deteriorate!). Overall, he had a great experience - we would recommend SL to any sport loving individual who is interested in combining travel and sport for their gap year.
Posted 3 years ago
Brisbane was amazing, playing with the red heavies was exactly what I needed. Everyone at the club was friendly, and made me feel at home. The quality of coaching and players really pushed me to work hard and become a better player. Sport lived was well organised and John was an absolute legend taking us surfing and to see a few reds game amongst other activities he organised for us.
Posted 3 years ago
My son enjoyed his stay in Brisbane and was looked after well
Sport Lived 4 star review on 5th September 2017 Sport Lived 4 star review on 5th September 2017 Sport Lived 4 star review on 5th September 2017
Posted 3 years ago
I went on the Sport Lived rugby union academy programme in Brisbane and had a fantastic experience that will stay with me forever. The coaching I received over there from both the Academy itself and the University of Queensland Rugby Club was top class. Unsurprisingly many professional players and even Wallabies have come from the setup at UQRFC. There were a few inconsistencies in what was advertised as included in the Academy, for example there was no nutritionist but there were sports psychology classes. The sportlived contact out there, John Mitchel, was brilliant, helping out with anything and everything along with organising some excellent socials. The premium accommodation I stayed in whilst I was there was very high quality and I would definitely recommend it. I would strongly recommend a Sport Lived programme to anyone thinking about going on a high level sporting gap year!
Sport Lived 4 star review on 4th September 2017
Posted 3 years ago
Just being able to have a once in a lifetime opportunity that perhaps not many people will get to experience coaching and refereeing abroad in their chosen sport or activity.
Posted 3 years ago
To live in the most liveable city in the world got better and better and was an experience never to forget. Loved the football team I was playing for and the different approach they take to back home along with all the people involved. There is a level of ability for everyone and that could be promoted more as I enjoy playing at a lower level. I also had the benefit of training with higher teams which worked well in pushing me on further. Playing away at other grounds was interesting and the coordinators do what they can to make social events as good as they can be. Gym access at the Australian open park was cool and something I wasn't expecting to get. Improvements I would suggest are to increase the numbers of people taking part in each particular programme and find a way to make the football available in more times of the year. Perhaps doing 5-a-side during times when the football season isn't running. I didn't regret many things but it would've been nice to be there when the grand prix was on (1 day before I arrived) which could've easily been done.
Posted 3 years ago
Sport Lived was abosultely amazing at making us feel so welcome to Australia, especially being an 18 year old moving to the other side of the world. The location where I was based was right in the city so prefect to experience Melbourne life. I learnt a lot from the swim teaching program and it really helped me develop my skills. Overall a life changing experience.
Posted 3 years ago
I loved my sport lived experience and met some lovely people. The hockey club I played for were so welcoming and all so nice, the gym was amazing, the accommodation was good, and the socials were so much fun. Had some exceptional extra hockey sessions and gym PT sessions. Plus Melbourne is an amazing city!!
Posted 3 years ago
Loved the sport lived program in Melbourne. The hockey and tennis clubs I played at were brilliant and happy to help with anything extra I wanted.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Evie Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your Sport Lived programme. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your programme & liked your hockey & tennis clubs in Melbourne. Thanks so much for undertaking a Sport Lived trip. Very best wishes for the future. Kind regards Ian Dodd Director Sport Lived Limited
Posted 3 years ago
It was an amazing way to experience a different country. The standard of sport was amounts some of the highest I've ever played and really pushed me to physical peak.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Chris Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your Sport Lived programme. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the standard of sport you played in New Zealand and this aided your development. Thanks for undertaking a Sport Lived trip. Very best wishes for the future. Kind regards Ian Dodd Director Sport Lived Limited
Posted 3 years ago
Sport lived was so much fun the staff in Melbourne were so helpful and the hockey was great.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Rachel Thanks for writing a review on your Sport Lived programme. It's excellent to hear that you found our staff in Melbourne helpful & and enjoyed the hockey. Thanks a lot for undertaking a trip with us. Very best wishes Ian Dodd Director Sport Lived Limited
Posted 3 years ago
I had an amazing time and met lots of great people. Cricket training was good and I loved the socials!
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Sam Thanks for writing a review on your Sport Lived programme. It's really good to hear that you enjoyed your training at the cricket academy & liked the social events we organised during your trip. It's also great that you met lots of good people whilst on the programme. Hope you have lots of happy memories from your time in Melbourne. Thanks for undertaking a Sport Lived trip. Very best wishes Ian Dodd Director Sport Lived Limited
Posted 3 years ago
This is the 3rd sport lived programme I have done and 2nd in Melbourne it has got better and better each time! I was really pleased with the cricket club I was matched with as I got on with all the boys and they made me feel very welcome. We were all lucky enough to have really good socials arranged for ourself by Kathy which everyone enjoyed!!
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Ed Thanks for writing a review on your Sport Lived trip. I’m delighted to hear that you feel our programmes have improved over the last few years. It’s great that you enjoyed the cricket club we arranged for you to join & liked the Sport Lived socials in Melbourne. Thanks so much for undertaking another programme with us. Very best wishes Ian Dodd Director Sport Lived Limited
Posted 3 years ago
Awesome hostel in an awesome city
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Thanks for writing a review on your Sport Lived programme. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed the accommodation we arranged for you and liked the city where you were based for your programme. Thanks for undertaking a Sport Lived trip. Very best wishes Ian Dodd Director Sport Lived Limited
Posted 3 years ago
Sport Lived is rated 4.58 based on 81 reviews