Sport Lived Reviews

4.58 Rating 81 Reviews
94 %
of reviewers recommend Sport Lived
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Read Sport Lived Reviews

About Sport Lived:

Sport Lived is a gap year company which arranges for young people to play and coach sport in Australia, New Zealand & South Africa!

Visit Website

Phone:

0115 822 9999

Email:

info@sportlived.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Sport Lived made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Sport Lived 5 star review on 15th July 2020
Flo Campbell
Sport Lived 5 star review on 13th May 2020
Juliet Huddart
Sport Lived 5 star review on 13th May 2020
Juliet Huddart-Ouabdesslam
Sport Lived 5 star review on 24th July 2017
Clare Davies
Sport Lived 4 star review on 5th September 2017
Julie Walsh
Sport Lived 4 star review on 5th September 2017
Julie Walsh
Sport Lived 4 star review on 5th September 2017
Julie Walsh
2
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
*Sport lived charge double the money and give back nothing more than you would get organising your trip yourself* This review is about the company and not my trip overall trip as I had the best time of my life out in NZ with some quality lads playing top level football. Tanaya (your sport lived coordinator) was brilliant and is the only reason this isn’t a 1 star review! She helped me out finding a job, getting tickets for events, getting me in contact with my club and organising great socials on very limited budget. I have made so many memories and have loved every second and would recommend coming to play your sport in New Zealand on a gap year to anyone and everyone! However very little of this was down to sport lived... I definitely feel that the amount of money I paid was not reflected in my programme as not very regular socials (1 every 3 weeks) that were relatively cheap and my price was highlighted to include stuff like kit (which I was given for free by the club) and gym membership (which was just £45 for my entire programme!!) Taking this into account with the £1200 in Accomodation (going off their current weekly rate which INCREASED is higher than what it was when I paid) and my subs to my club which would be around £200-300 and adding on, at the very most £200 in total for all socials, it would seem I received around £1800 worth (being generous) of the £3495 I paid. This means about about half of my money has just been taken as profit!! I appreciate the company need to make money and that they do need a large profit margin, but that cut being taken from each customer is extortionate and so I would never reccomend anyone to do a sport lived programme purely due to the extortionate price for the little you get in return. I also want anyone looking into Sport lived to know that their advertising is very good and promises everything but in reality is very inaccurate or even a blatant lie in some cases. A prime example of this is their Instagram where they post photos of customers who have gone on trips that they have paid extra to do and organised on their own, but sport lived make it appear as it’s all included in your programme when it isn’t. Also, the photos we were given of ‘our accomodation’ were not even of our accomodation! The ‘examples’ they then claimed to use where not even close! Their excuse for this is that it would COST US MORE TO UPDATE THEIR OWN WEBSITE! When the simple taking and uploading of photos (or even posting a link to the website of the accomodation) takes no cost and no serious effort and can be done by anyone! To clarify, my 3 months in New Zealand was the best time of my life and I would reccomend it to anyone! However I could have done everything I did without sport lived and saved myself half the money! Anyone wanting to do a sport lived programme I reccomend just doing a bit of research into clubs in the area you want to travel to and organising it directly with them or even getting in contact with previous sport lived customers to get some contacts and accomodation options. By doing this you will save a lot of money and have just as good a time! (You can even stay in the same accomodation as sport lived customers and get to meet them and live with them and have the exact same experience) If you want an amazing sporting gap year in New Zealand but don’t want to through your hard earned money away, just drop a comment on here and I’ll try get back to you with stuff like clubs and accomodation options.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Thank for taking the time write a review on your Sport Lived Football programme in Christchurch. I am sorry if you were disappointed by your Sport Lived trip. I set up Sport Lived to help young people to have a fantastic time playing and coaching sport overseas and I apologise if this has not been your experience in New Zealand. I also apologise if you don’t think that your Sport Lived programme represented value for money. We endeavour to set programme prices that are fair, that provide us with the resources to deliver quality programmes and employ good overseas staff that can provide customer’s with emergency support for the duration of their trip, whilst also ensuring that we can run a commercially viable organisation. I take on board your comments regarding the social events we organised in Christchurch. We always arrange social events every few weeks but we could have arranged slightly larger activities similar to the Hanmer Springs trip we organised for your group in May. I am pleased that you enjoyed your football club in Christchurch. As you played a high level of football in the UK, we spent time liaising with regional football governing bodies and with several clubs before finalising the team that you played for in New Zealand. I am also pleased that you found Tanaya, the Sport Lived Coordinator in New Zealand, to be helpful and she was able to provide you with assistance with items such as finding work in Christchurch. We endeavour to provide prospective customers with accurate information on any Sport Lived trips they are interested in taking part in. Operations staff call customers 26 weeks and 16 weeks prior to departure to answer questions they might have about their forthcoming programme. Our overseas staff also send customers introductory emails before they head off where they can answer any last minute queries. I don’t believe that we deliberately misled customers regarding any aspect of their trip. For example, most of the photos on our Instagram page are taken by professional photographers who attend Sport Lived social events in Australia and New Zealand. Thank you for taking a Sport Lived football programme in New Zealand. Very best wishes for the future Ian Dodd Director Sport Lived Limited
Posted 1 year ago
I do not believe that my Sport lived trip to CHCH was worth the money I paid. The promises made in the uk over the phone did not match what I received and the prices they have tried to justify for socials are laughable. As I was part of the rugby academy in NZ I do not feel that the hostel accommodation suitably accommodated my needs as I was unable to cook when I wanted to as the kitchen was poorly equipped for the number of guests (4 jobs for 100+ rooms). My coordinator, Tanaya, was lovely and a great help which is why I cannot give this a 1* review. However, without Tanya and the rugby academy then I would certainly be requesting a refund for the false information I was sold over the phone.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Finlay Thank you for your feedback. I am extremely sorry that you were disappointed by your Sport Lived rugby programme in Christchurch. We are actively exploring other accommodation options in Christchurch and have raised feedback regarding the cooking facilities with our current accommodation provider. We plan a 7 month calendar of social events for customers playing Winter sports in Christchurch between February and August. In hindsight we would have arranged some of our larger social events earlier in the year so you would have had the chance to experience them during your 6 weeks in Christchurch. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Rugby Academy training and that you found Tanaya to be helpful in Christchurch. It is a shame that you were injured whilst in Christchurch and you didn’t play as much rugby as we would have hoped during your programme. Very best wishes Ian Dodd Director Sport Lived Limited
Posted 1 year ago
Sport Lived is rated 4.58 based on 81 reviews