Sport Lived Reviews

4.58 Rating 81 Reviews
94 %
of reviewers recommend Sport Lived
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Read Sport Lived Reviews

About Sport Lived:

Sport Lived is a gap year company which arranges for young people to play and coach sport in Australia, New Zealand & South Africa!

Visit Website

Phone:

0115 822 9999

Email:

info@sportlived.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Sport Lived made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Sport Lived 5 star review on 15th July 2020
Flo Campbell
Sport Lived 5 star review on 13th May 2020
Juliet Huddart
Sport Lived 5 star review on 13th May 2020
Juliet Huddart-Ouabdesslam
Sport Lived 5 star review on 24th July 2017
Clare Davies
Sport Lived 4 star review on 5th September 2017
Julie Walsh
Sport Lived 4 star review on 5th September 2017
Julie Walsh
Sport Lived 4 star review on 5th September 2017
Julie Walsh
2
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
My time out in Australia with sports lived was wonderful. I rowed for Mercantile where I experienced the Ozzie way of rowing. Despite not being able to race at Nationals due to COVID I made some lovely friends from the rowing club who I wish to visit again. Not only was the rowing great but the friends I made who were also part of the sports lived programme are friends for life. Living out in Australia for 6 months at the age of 18 was made so much easier by Kathy (part of sports lived) and Karen & Matt (in charge of where I stayed). They were extremely kind and made me feel a part of an Ozzie family. Kathy arranged many social events, my favourite being surfing and stroking Kangaroos. This experience is great for any athlete or coach who wants to travel but also keep up their sport and most importantly have a tonne of fun.
Posted 8 months ago
I can honestly say that this was one of the best experiences of my life. The trip itself was amazing but the people I met along that way just made it that extra bit more special. For me living with other athletes and coaches made it so much easier to settle in as we were all going through the same emotions of nervousness and excitement. All of the rowing coaches at my placement were nothing but welcoming from day one and they helped me settle into my new way of life really quickly. I had the opportunity to coach all year levels at the high school which allowed me to build strong relationships with all of the girls on the rowing team. My favourite part about my placement, although challenging, was all the races I go to, I really made me feel part of the team and valued as a coach. I was also able to do more exploring of Australia such a going so Sydney for New Years, visiting Adelaide, going down the Great Ocean Road with other members of Sport Lived and my final trip was to Mt Oberon with one of my friends from my coaching placement. Kathy and Karen were nothing but lovely from our first day in Melbourne and I really miss our little catch ups. I can honestly say that I’ve made life long friends and I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. Thank you so much to Sport Lived for such an amazing trip!
Sport Lived 5 star review on 15th July 2020
Posted 9 months ago
Although I was nervous of going across the world for the first time without knowing anyone, I couldn't have had a better 6 months swimming in Aus! From the first day I was made to feel welcome by my swim team and everyone at sport lived. I had an amazing experience swimming in melbourne, training outdoors is something that doesnt happen often in the UK! I got to experience the best facilities Victoria has to offer as well as training with a lovely team and coach. Living with other athletes in Quest, prahran was the best part for me. I've made friends for life and lived in a great location! Outside of training and everyday life the sport lived socials were a great way to all be together and experience everything melbourne has to offer. From the Melbourne cup to the Australian open! Thanks to the sport lived team for making my experience so amazing! X
Sport Lived 5 star review on 13th May 2020
Posted 11 months ago
Although I was nervous of going across the world for the first time and not knowing anyone, I couldn't have had a better time in Aus! My swimming programme was amazing. From the first moment in Australia I was make to feel welcome, by my swimming team and everyone at sport lived. It was great to have the experience of training and racing in the best facilities victoria has to offer, as well as regularly training in outdoor pools which is not something that happens often in the UK! Living with other athletes in Quest, Prahran would be the best part for me, I've made friends for life and we were in such a great location. Sport lived socials also gave us more opportunities to socialize and enjoy ourselves outside of training and everyday life. From the Melbourne Cup to the Australian Open! Thank you sport lived for making my experience so amazing! X
Sport Lived 5 star review on 13th May 2020
Posted 11 months ago
First of all, I would like to say how amazing the whole Sport Lived team were, from the initial planning of the trip and for the entire time I was in Melbourne. The months I spent out there were the best couple of months of my life, spent with some amazing people. Playing cricket down under was a great experience and the club were so good to us Sport Lived players. Would massively recommend Sport Lived to anyone considering playing sport over seas. Thankyou Sport Lived !x
Posted 1 year ago
Sport lived were fantastic! I don't have a bad word to say. I did the 3 month half a season program and wish I did the 6! Had the time of my life and would recommend this to any sport loving person! They provide plenty of support before and during your trip and are always keen to keep in touch after. Thanks sportlived!
Posted 1 year ago
As a parent I think it was a great way for a young person to explore, have an adventure, develop their love of sport, meet new friends, become more independent in a safe environment. Excellent opportunity. Great support from Sport lived.
Posted 1 year ago
Sport Lived was excellent in its organisation of my daughters 6 weeks swimming with "homestay" trip to Melbourne. Every query I had was dealt with quickly and professionally and I had no concerns at all over the trip and Holly being well cared for and safe. Kathy was on hand whilst Holly was over there and with her contacts added value to her trip with not only making it possible for her to assist in some swimming coaching but also visit and have some work experience in a nursery there too. Despite it being winter it was more like spring in the UK than winter so still a great time to visit Melbourne and enjoy indoor and outdoor swim training. Holly got to compete in a couple of galas and the H20 swim club that she joined and trained with were fantastic alongside her host family in the support they gave her throughout the trip - definitely made friends for life and enjoyed every minute. Thank you Sport Lived.
Posted 1 year ago
Great experience in Melbourne. Essentially to play netball, but had a great experience working as a swimming instructor and a sports coach. Sport Lived arranged for me to undertake the Australian swimming qualification in my first week. This opened greater opportunities of work for me. I played a very good standard of netball for Melbourne University with a great team and fantastic coach. My own game has improved more than I can say. On days where I wasn’t working or playing my time was spent at the pool (5 mins walk) or the beach (20 minutes by train from Quest accommodation). Five minutes walk to chaple street. The social event organiser Kathy, organised some great events including the Australian tennis open, formula 1 and surfing. My favourites were kangaroo sanctuary, surfing and AFL. The most important the eating and drinking socials. In other spare time I travelled around Australia, funded mostly by the work I undertook there. I would recommend the company and experience to anyone who wants to play in Australia in whatever sport.
Posted 1 year ago
I couldn't have a bad word to say about my 3 months in Melbourne with SportLived. I had an unreal time, making memories and friends for life. Hockey-wise, the programme was perfectly set up with a hockey club whose members love embracing every SL member, while having teams for all abilities. Melbourne life can be as busy or as chilled as suited; I travelled around Australia in free time, while developing my coaching regularly in the many job opportunities I was given. While having the independence to live the Aussie life, support was always available from the wonderful Kathy, who acted as our 'Australian mum'. The highlights of the arranged social events included a trip to a sold-out MCG and a surf day. While the cost looks scary for a year 12/13 student, I found it wasn't anything a hard-working gap year couldn't manage... and worth every penny!
Posted 1 year ago
I can honestly say that I had some of the best times of my life in Melbourne during my Sportlived Programme. The 3 months I spent down under was so much fun and I met some amazing people, definitely made some friends for life over there. I am so glad I had the opportunity to play a high level of competitive hockey in a new country with a new team. My skill level has definitely improved by playing for Powerhouse & St Kilda HC, as has my coaching ability. Sportlived helped me secure coaching work at a number of schools as well as Jessie personally securing me a coaching job at Powerhouse with one of the Ladies Teams, an opportunity I would likely not have got without the help of Sportlived and their Melbourne team. Speaking of which, I cannot speak highly enough of Kathy who was our Social Coordinator and regularly went above and beyond to organise amazing social events for us which added to the great time I had. A particular highlight for me was the surf trips we went on, as well as the Anzac Day AFL match at the MCG! Kathy was always happy to help with any questions we had regarding work or life in Melbourne as well as just being around to have a coffee or lunch with. The accommodation was great and in a perfect location for me to easily get to my hockey club as well as into the city. Some people may say it is quite expensive but I would say that it is worth every penny for the experiences you have and would urge anyone considering it to definitely go for it, you won't regret it, I'm already planning to go back to Melbourne after uni!
Posted 1 year ago
The 6 months I had in Melbourne playing Netball on the Sport Lived Programme were better than I could have ever imagined. I’ve made the most amazing friends in my flatmates and the other SL customers as well learning so much from playing Netball. I was able to play for Melbourne Uni club as well as social netball games which take place all over the city and are a great way to meet new people. SL also made it so easy for me to find coaching/umpiring jobs as well as other casual jobs which meant earning money to live off wasn’t a worry. The social events that were organised were always so much fun and Kathy who organises them is always there if you need help or just want a chat! Although the programme is expensive I would say the memories and experiences I had in Melbourne made it worth every penny.
Posted 1 year ago
Harry went to Melbourne to play cricket for three months inJanuary 2019. he was a little apprehensive at first, going so far away, but that lasted about one day once he had met Jessie and his team . He loved every minute of it, his cricket game improved and he made lots of new friends, including all the players at the club and other Sport Lived people. He said he would do it all over again if he could and was genuinely sad to leave!
Posted 1 year ago
My time rowing in Melbourne was the best year of my life! Not only was I perfectly matched to my club (mercantile) but I also made life long friends in my flat. Our coordinator Kathy was beyond amazing and organised so many great socials for us which were so much fun and great to see more in Melbourne! My rowing club was amazing and a really great intro and foundation for my senior rowing career to develop. I made some great friends there and got to travel so much of the country for races. For any rower looking to have fun whilst doing the sport they love this is the best way to do it. Be aware that the sport lived programme does not include a lot of rowing expenses (which most rowers know anyway as its an expensive sport!!) but you do get to travel all over Australia and within Victoria with your team which is a lot of fun! Leaving Melbourne isn’t easy but that is great testament to sport lived for pairing me with the perfect club and some great housemates. Book your programme nowww!!!!!
Posted 1 year ago
My daughter (Carrie) has wanted to play netball in Australia since as far back as I can remember. As her parents we were concerned about doing this on her own. She started talking about Sport Lived in her second year of university. Originally she was thinking of going straight after university but decided to work for a couple of years to get some money behind her. Once she was serious about going she contacted Sports Lived again. Again as parents we were concerned not having heard too much about the company. As a result Ian Dodds agreed to meet Carrie and myself in person half way between them and us. Having met Ian I was able to ask several questions about the company and more importantly how safe Carrie would be, in addition to what would be provided in the price. Following this meeting Carrie booked her place and is still out in Australia coming to the end of her programme. Any questions that came up about arrangements were answered quickly by either Ian or Elaine in a very friendly and professional manner. Due to Carrie’s travel arrangements she needs her accommodation about a week earlier from when her programme started. It took just a quick email to the company to enquire about the availability of accommodation, and the extra cost of her accommodation and her insurance. This was sorted out in a couple of days at the latest and all we had to do was to make the extra payments via Carrie’s account of the company web site. Having arrived early Sport Lived helped Carrie to obtain her Australian swimming qualification to enable her to work as a swimming coach as the English ones are not sufficient there. They also helped with setting up a bank account, giving advice on obtaining a Medicare number and her tax number. Initially we thought that it was quite expensive, however when taking into account the type of accommodation and the socials that Carrie has been on I think it was money well spent. Carrie has worked as a swimming and netball coach/umpire in addition to playing for Melbourne University. She has said that her fitness has improved as has her overall game. She has also made some great friends and memories including trips on the great coast road, Sydney for her birthday and now in Cairns for the Great Barrier Reef and the rainforest. She has been able to fund these trips by the work she has undertaken there which has been a great experience in its self, always with the knowledge that company staff are always available for help if required. Even the managers of the accommodation were on hand to take Carrie to hospital when she badly burned her hand. It actually feels like Carrie is back at university rather than the other side of the world. We have kept in touch by WhatsApp messages and video call as well as text and emails so have not missed her too much. If you are thinking of your child going abroad to play sport I would thoroughly recommend Sports Lived. They have definitely made things a lot easier for us all. Apart from the staff here keeping in regular contact in the weeks leading up to Carrie’s departure we had a few video calls from a member of staff based in Melbourne who was collecting her on her arrival. It was so easy. We would received contact about arrangements etc and all we had to do was pay. Carrie has enjoyed it so much she is already planning to go back. I hope this doesn’t come across as to gushy but fantastic experience all round.
Posted 1 year ago
Two of my sons have now experienced the Sport Lived cricket programme in Melbourne. As a parent I have been very impressed by Sport Lived and while it is an expensive route to a gap year I feel that SL fulfil all their commitments and both boys had an unforgettable experience. Communication with SL was excellent while the trips were being planned and both boys appreciated the support available locally from Kathy and Jessie. Highly recommended!
Posted 1 year ago
Unbelievable experience meeting a great bunch of people throughout my trip, the sport was class, the people were incredible in CHCH and i cant thank my co-ordinator enough for being such a legend throughout my time. Id like to think ive made some lifelong friends :) THANKS!
Posted 2 years ago
Not only did Sport Lived offer me the chance to pay Premier cricket in Victoria, but it also laid the foundations for me to make amazing friends. On the regular socials, we were taken for lunch at the beach, to surf, to visit the kangeroos and koalas in Ballarat, and to go for sunset drinks on the river. It exceeded my already high expectations. I would highly recommend to any cricketer that wants to combine lifestyle with sport.
Posted 2 years ago
Sport lived provided me with a fantastic experience which also allowed me to play the sport I love. Not only that but they helped me set up a fantastic support base in a city where I knew nobody. I’ll never lose contact with the friends I’ve made during my time away and I will remember all the events (e.g. Australian open, Formula 1, Boxing Day test, Melbourne cup) that they have organised for me to see. All in all, a fantastic experience which I’d recommend to many.
Posted 2 years ago
Everyone you meet in the programme are really friendly with Jessie and Kathy offering help whenever you need it
Posted 2 years ago
Sport Lived is rated 4.58 based on 81 reviews