“I contacted RF Solutions to acquire a back up remote control for a system that had been professionally installed a few years ago. I was assisted by Simon Anscombe of the technical department who provided fantastic advice and service. Not having much technical knowledge myself he was extremely helpful. I would recommend this company for anyone who may seek advice and friendly service. Thank you.”
“The device (TMAS 3G GSM MODEM) failed to function and the software provided failed to communicate with it so the factory default settings could not be changed.
I failed to get any help from the firm, simply told "Sorry we do not do technical support on this product as we are just a distributor for it."
Still trying to return it.....
The return process demands an account number and invoice number, which as a pre-payment customer I didn't have so the alternative online form was completed but not transmitted/accepted - reason unknown.
Not a happy transaction and a vast amount of time and effort spent trying to get anything out of it - but failed.”
Posted 1 year ago
We understand you have tried to integrate this Modem within a heating system located in another country, but were unable to get it working because of a lack of knowledge on the system.
We are always happy to help, in fact we have a team of Tech support engineers who support our products, and how to interface them, within the limits of the product itself. (We are unable to provide additional support for an unknown heating system)
Although this product was originally purchased just short of a year ago, we have received your return, our system asks for your receipt of purchase (just as when you return a product to any seller) and I can confirm that having received and checked it, the modem, we have found that the product has been damaged beyond economical repair. If you would like to discuss this further please contact our support/returns team on 01444 227909 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
RF Solutions Team
“From initial contact via their website right through to delivery the customer service has been great. The product I ordered is also really solid and well made. The remote control buttons seem to be really well designed and are a LOT smaller than the item this has replaced.
Overall I would highly recommend this company.”
“Just tested the ZPT-8RD with two FOBBER-8T4s.
I needed to mount the ZPT-8RD to a piece of veroboard so I could use longer pins to push fit it to a breadboard (ok, so not the best RF set up). I also wound my own helical antenna.
Pairing works fine and is easy to understand, as is the erase cycle.
I really love the self test function. It'll come in handy checking the free space range.
I now need to check a) Range, b) Current consumption.”
“RF Solutions were able to help with my initial query, and when wrong product was ordered by a family member on my behalf, the company was able to professionally provide details of how to return the product. After receiving the product at their office, a refund was authorised in the time frame as indicated on their website.”
“These transmitter units are not for all year round use as stated in the description, unless you use them for indoor use only! They are not watertight and will fail very quickly (3months ) as ours did with no recompense from RF solutions.The rear battery compartment on the later models is the culprit and cannot be made waterproof by the waterproof kit which incidently should be included with every other transmitter sold if they are to be used outdoors ,this is the worst pennypinching I have ever come across.”
Posted 2 years ago
I am sorry you feel this way in particular after the conversation we had on Friday where you acknowledged that you did not purchase the waterproof kit that is available for the product and that you had left the transmitter out the product to rain.
We have other versions of the same product which are waterproof, rated to IP68 (pressure washer proof) which should you chose would provide you with a waterproof transmitter.
To repeat our conversation if you wish to order the correct product to meet your requirements we would, as a gesture of good will offer a discount.
RF Solutions Team
“I have an Ezetext which I use for switching runway lights on and off. I have occasionally had set-up problems and sometimes password problems, and the technical help has been second-to-none, and very patient with me. Thank you.
Posted 4 years ago
Glad to hear the EZTEXT is working well for you - nice application.
I will pass on your kind feedback to our Tech Team!
The RF Solutions Team!
“Great.. until something goes wrong. I've used these in the past even given them a 5 star review but that's when everything goes smoothly any slight change and it all fell apart. When you're buying something off the shelf and a simple system they are great, fast delivery and good support on the phone but not cheap there's loads of alternative company's that sell the same stuff when it gets to something a bit specialist it went wrong very quickly for me. And funnily enough they only sent me a link to review them when it went well...
Recently I've been trying to arrange a system from them and its taken over 4 months now and still isn't sorted. Was sold half a system I intended to pair up with my existing system without being told it doesn't match and no info on website to suggest it wouldn't but in fairness partly my fault as i didn't explicitly say that's what I was doing, it arrived an additional 3 weeks after its 3 week lead time. Then i ordered the correct receivers which took again 3 weeks longer than the 1 week lead time, and to top it off when it arrived the system didn't work correctly. Ordering was slow via email waiting a day for each response and having to pay by direct debit and wait for them to confirm payment since there was no way to buy on the website or pay over phone. I call them and they say they will call back and never do, when I finally got the right guy on the phone and complained about the delays and problems they basically told me they have bigger fish to fry so I had to wait that's why it took so long. After telling them what the issue was and having a fairly good idea what was wrong they refused to believe it was faulty and that I must have made a mistake, then they wanted a few days to learn about their own system and call me back... again never happened and when I rang a week later they told me to return it obviously at my cost as I've already given them over £500 for nothing so far so why not pay more. Anyways currently waiting on another phone call to see the progress of my repair but who knows, and i might even be allowed some money back for return postage. Hope the system is worth it hopefully be ready for summer 2018 since I missed 2017, If you want something for clay shooting in future id stick with the likes of Promatic etc, I get they're likely just selling on someone else system re-branded but at least they can manage customer service.”
“Wrong items sent which took a week of technical support emails to sort. In the end I discovered the problem myself: I had been supplied the 'telemetry' version of the KAPPA module instead of the 'modem' version that I ordered (there are no marking to distinguish between versions). Even though I clearly explained exactly what was happening (I even sent oscilloscope traces), they were still unable to diagnose the problem. Having glanced at the 'telemetry' version datasheet I quickly realised that my modules were behaving exactly as those versions.
The modules were sent back for a refund as I had since bought the correct modules from a distributor as I was on a tight timescale. Just over 1 month later I received the modules back - presumably re-programming to be a 'modem' version - although there is no explanation as to what they have done to them. So I didn't get a refund, just the 4 modules back which I now have no use for!
In the future I think I will buy from a distributor as they seem to handle their stock better than the manufacturer themselves!
“Better than average service from a company I have had dealings with. The remote control equipment I ordered was delivered promptly, albeit at quite a high delivery charge. Not your fault but it might be an idea to explore other forms of delivery. Biggest letdown was receiving the equipment with no fitting instructions whatsoever. My friend Mr Paul Fieldhouse who was fitting the equipment for me tried to fit it but could not. Your knight in shining armour Simon in the technical dept did us proud sending out the instructions needed by email. Due to the size of the receiver box it had to be fitted quite low down inside the boat wheelhouse so the signal was not very good. I asked for an extension aerial and was sent an unsuitable one- it wouldn't connect to the receiver. I bought and extension cable locally and extended the distance between box and aerial with fantastic results. About 250 feet range. On the return you refunded all my costs for the unsuitable aerial. A very happy customer who will recommend you to all who ask where I got the gear from. Thank you.”
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Don, thank you for your review and such lovely feedback about out Technical Team. It is great to hear that they were able to help you, I will pass on the feedback to Simon. Kind wishes, the RF Solutions Team!
“Great products and support but documentation could be better.”
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Steve, thank you for taking the time to review RF Solutions. Lovely to hear that you are pleased with the product and our service. If you have any suggestions for improving the documentation we are always looking at ways to improve it. Kind wishes from the RF Solutions Team