ISSOS Reviews

4.89 Rating 133 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend ISSOS
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Email
Read ISSOS Reviews

About ISSOS:

The exclusive ISSOS summer school program offers high school students from over 70 nationalities (aged 13-18) the opportunity to combine learning, creative enrichment and action-packed adventure in one of three amazing, historic and picturesque university towns of St Andrews, Cambridge and Yale. Our three week program welcomes students from all over the world, mixing native and non-native English speakers and limits the number of students from one nationality to 10% in order to guarantee a truly international experience.

Visit Website

Phone:

03300777247

Email:

georgienicholson@issos.com

Write Your review

Tell us how ISSOS made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
ISSOS has been an amazing experience. I had the opportunity to attend to Cambridge and Yale´s summer courses. It is amazing how you incorporate with people from all over the world, how the staff treats you is absolutely amazing. "An experience of a lifetime" could not be more accurate, those six weeks I spent on the course were one of the best days of my life. Unfortunately I am turning 18 in May, so I won´t be able to attend to St. Andrews. But if I had the opportunity, there would be no doubt I would participate again. I had recommended friends to participate in ISSOS, and most of them are willing to do the same courses I did when I had the opportunity. ISSOS was totally an experience of a lifetime, there isn´t any moment I don´t smile when I see my certificate of my two courses. I am really thankful that I had the opportunity to attend, I really hope that people who may attend to your summer school don´t hesitate on their decision. This is a 100% go situation. I am still in contact with my friends I made, it is amazing how you can establish a lasting friendship in just 3 weeks. I am very grateful that I had the opportunity to attend, I will never forget this experience whatsoever. When I grow up and have my own kids, it is certain they will attend the three courses, 100% guaranteed. To conclude, I am very thankful to all the staff members both in Cambridge and in Yale, they were absolutely amazing. I really hope there will be a chance to see you again in the future, I would have loved to attend ISSOS one more time. I had the experience of a lifetime, THANK YOU. Hope to see you in the future.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My daughter had the privilege of attending the International Summer School of Scotland at St. Andrews University for three weeks during the summer prior to her junior and senior year. I can say, that ISSOS was one of the most amazing experiences she has ever had. During her time there, she met numerous students from all over the world. Meeting students from various religious and cultural backgrounds opened her eyes to ideology and issues that were once foreign to her. It was intriguing how she learned to see what they had in common and not just focus on the apparent differences. With a balanced program of academia and culture, ISSOS provided her with an environment where she could learn within an encouraging and supportive environment. During her time there, she studied youth leadership, debate, film, and tennis. The experience provided her with unique developmental, educational and cultural benefits that would not be able to be replicated in a traditional classroom. In particular, the debate class combined the building blocks of argumentation and presentation with an introduction to basic political and philosophical theory necessary to debate a wide range of issues. Her ability to debate topics outside her comfort zone improved dramatically. As a freshman in college, this exposure has given her great confidence in many of her speech and international business classes in college. Twice a week, she had the opportunity to explore parts of Scotland, getting to know the culture and history. Meeting students from over 70 nationalities was truly a valuable and life changing experience. The relationships she formed with these students gave me a better understanding of international issues and conflicts. She still stays in touch with many of the students she met during her time there. The program taught her so many valuable lessons and experiences that she will carry with her forever.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The 3 weeks in St-Andrews were very useful for my son. He discovered the manner to debate on many different subjects, combining that with his favorite sport and with a lot of funny activities. But on top of that he created a network in the world and continues to meet his friends in different countries. I recommend ISSOS to all students.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
It is very well organized. Children are coming from many countries. They really enjoy their stay and make very good friends.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
the kids loved it ,they improved their social skills ,enhanced their confidance but more importantly to them had fun and made life time friends
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
ISSOS offers great Northern summer short courses for young people, situated in beautiful historic universities, with plenty of variety and fun thrown in! It is a well organised and safe program which gives young curious minds an experience of a life time.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had my sun at ISSOS (St. Andrews ). It was an excellent experience to learn English and socialize in an international environment. He made friends and memories for life. I suggest ISSOS to everybody..
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I ran into ISSOS on the internet by chance, I thought I had found an amazing summer school, but it was a lot more. With ISSOS I joined a world. A world of people with wonderful experiences to share, incredible ideas, dreams and belief. Thanks to ISSOS I achieved a new and more aware prospective on the world. Moreover Issos teachers and counselors helped me to developed some skills and quolities I didn’t even know I had. At Issos I made friends from every country, friends that I know will be for life. I went back home with a much stronger faith in future generations.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I went there a summer and had a lot of fun. There was no time to be bored: both the activities more "academic", if I may, and the sports evenings were really cool for a teenager. I would very much recommend this Summer School if I were asked!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Both of my sons attended ISSOS at St. Andrews and loved it. We are US citizens but the boys grew up in Hong Kong. I think it was the first time outside of Hong Kong they were surrounded also by so many third culture kids, or at least kids interested in meeting other international students. I love the rule that no more than 10% of any nationality is admitted - a true global community!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My son attended ISSOS at St Andrews several years in a row - he always looked forward to "his" summer school. The culture at ISSOS is something unique, it is not only very positive and powerful but also truly inspiring. It is a great learning experience and provides the students a window to the world and an international network. Highly recommended.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Last Year my son went to ISSOS program in Cambridge. He did Business Studies and Fencing as an elective. He loves the program and had a great experiences in academic, sports, cultural and friendship. This year he will go for St Andrews and ready to explore more with his buddies in ISSOS. Thank you ISSOS which brings him lots of great memories and Highly recommend this program to other parents and students!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Our son attended ISSOS n St. Andrews, Scotland when he was 15 and 16. He had a fantastic experience and we were so comfortable that he was in great hands with Jen and the staff. He loved the programs and the golf was incredible. He is in college now and we often say that ISSOS was such a confidence builder and important prerequisite for college and life. He made friends with people from different parts of the world and still keeps in touch with several. We also had two students visit our home. We cannot recommend the experience highly enough. Thank you, ISSOS!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
They took great care of my daughter over the three weeks. She has made life long friends that she still keeps in touch with and always brings up activities and moments from that summer.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Before enrolling our daughter (15 ½ years old) to ISSOS’s summer camp at Yale (debate & tennis) we were aware of ISSOS’s reputation and of the high standards of its programs. Upon her arrival at Yale our daughter e-mailed that “everything was perfect, the coaches were hilarious and the daily schedule full and challenging”. And we are now delighted to write about the tremendous benefit she gained in her debating skills. In our view, the blend of ISSOS’s global approach (with the presence of bright young men and ladies from all over the world) and of Yale’s ivy-league culture gives students the right incentives to pursue academic excellence and become citizens of world.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had two sons at ISSOS (St. Andrews and Cambrigde). For both of them it was an excellent experience to learn English and socialize in an international environment. They made friends and memories for life. I have one more son (11 y) and he will also attend ISSOS when he becomes older.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My daughter and son who are three years apart went to ISSOS when they were 15 and loved it. Beautiful surroundings, stimulating international atmosphere and enough structured activities to make it fun. They enrolled in the golf program and the Speech and Debate Course which were great experiences. The counselors were outstanding.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My daughter Lea went to St Andrews . She did Youth leadership and chose film as an elective. Both were fantastic choices and she learned a lot. I really would like to thank ISSOS for that fantastic summer! I recommend ISOS to everyone! Marie
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My two teenage nieces went to ISSOS program in St Andrews, Scotland and they thoroughly enjoyed the experience. ISSOS's program is academic, cultural, sportive, and also adventurous. It's a right blend for my nieces and I am glad they learnt in such a fun and enlightening environment with brilliant students and teachers from all over the world.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had a fantastic time at ISSOS (St Andrews) in 2012. All the staff were amazing, very helpful and always there for us. There was a wide range of fantastic activities and day trips and the lessons were very interesting as well. I made friends from all over the world and I returned home much more confident. I highly recommend it!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
ISSOS is rated 4.89 based on 133 reviews