Edinburgh Watch Company Reviews

5.00 Rating 175 Reviews
100% of reviewers recommend Edinburgh Watch Company
5
Anonymous
"Jonathan’s watches are of the highest standard, the Breitling I bought from him was advertised as mint condition, and it didn’t disappoint the price was excellent also, his service is second to none, I would definitely buy from him again Thanks for the Beautiful watch"
Report
Posted 1 month ago
5
Jim Paterson
Jim Paterson
Verified Buyer
"I had been looking for a Bremont Codebreaker limited edition for some time, and came across one completely by surprise at the Perthshire Classic Car Festival, in April 2018, where the Edinburgh Watch Company had a trade stand with one of these watches on display. I already knew much of the history and special features of this watch, and I was pleasantly suprised that Company owner Jonathan Gilbert had also researched this timepiece thoroughly, sharing his knowledge and the provenance of this particular piece. This limited edition timepiece celebrates the work of Bletchley Park during WW2 in breaking the German Enigma Code. I too worked occasionally at Bletchley Park in the 1980's and early 1990's, when it was owned by British Telecom. My own career included work on cypher and coding systems in use by our armed forces in the 1980's, so my association with this place was epitomised in this watch. Jonathan made me feel confident that I was dealing with a reputable company, and with someone I could trust. My follow-up meeting to collect the complete watch, presentation wallet and boxes, associated papers and certificates, was not just a handover, more an exchange of experiences of our world of watches, and other common interests. Though my collection is modest Jonathan knew the history of some of my timepieces. It is amazing what you find in common when you meet this man. I would not hesitate in buying another timepiece from this company, or recommending them. You too will receive the special attention that makes buying that special watch an experience, not just a purchase. The photos added are from a recent visit to Bletchley Park, to some of the places I had worked and relaxed, and the equipment that is recreated in the Bremont Codebreaker"
Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Several characteristics jumped out at me when dealing with Johathan (proprietor at EWC). I was searching for a discontinued Yachtmaster size for my wife and seen one when coming across one of his reviews on Youtube. EWC web site was clear and video helped confirm the watches suitability. Buying online of expensive timepieces is not to be taken lightly. Fortunately we were were within driving distance and I opted to view in person. Jonathan was a delight to deal with, very accommodating and willingly met up to suit my particular needs just before Christmas holidays. Meeting Jonathan at a local hotel he secured a private lounge which was nice as I was with wife and 2 children. He took the time to show us several timepieces I had inquired about and over a coffee we concluded our purchase smoothly and in comfort of the Yachtmaster. The watch itself was as described (if not better). A warm and relaxing experience and would recommend meeting Jonathan if its with your scope. Otherwise I have no reservation in validating EWC as a trusted company you can purchase from. Thanks again Jonathan and I wish you every success in your business."
Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Delightfully personal service. Our son has wanted a Rolex Submariner for some time. He had identified a watch that he particularly liked which was being sold by the Edinburgh Watch Company. The only problem was that he lives in Tanzania and we live in Rutland. This wasn’t a problem once I had contacted Jonathon. We were able to arrange a date to meet when we were in Scotland and Jonathon brought the watch to our hotel. The watch was in immaculate condition and was presented in the same way as it would have been by Rolex, perhaps with more technical and historical knowledge. We are delighted with the whole process and in particular with the watch."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
Visit Website
Phil Williams
Verified Buyer
"Just purchased a Rolex sky dewller first class service , very helpful and excellent service , would happy to recommend this company"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Scott Sharkey
Verified Buyer
"Jonathan was simply brilliant. I asked him to get me a very difficult watch to find and he did exactly that. He was a complete professional and a pleasure to deal with. He is quite unique and gives you that personal service that is hard to find. Great Service ...Thank you"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"We met Jonathan very informally and in a relaxed manner where there was no pressure to buy. He told us the history of each watch being offered and we felt after having confirmed new prices earlier in the day that we were getting great value. My son had really done his homework on the watches and knew all the strengths and weaknesses of each. Payment was easy to make and in fact Jonathan suggested I could switch my decision if I felt I had made the incorrect decision ."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Kirsty Johnstone
Verified Buyer
"I contacted Jonathan at the Edinburgh watch company to help me find a Franck Muller watch as a surprise for my husbands 50th birthday. At that point Jonathan could not help me however several months later he contacted me to give me first refusal on a beautiful immaculate boxed Franck Muller timepiece that had come his way, he had remembered me and my request. It was not quite what I was looking for however the watch blew me away as it was so beautiful and well presented. Jonathan was knowledgeable and helpful and he is an absolute delight to purchase from. He is incredibly patient and has a very kind manner. I nervously made the purchase however there was nothing to be nervous about. My husband is absolutely over the moon with the watch. Jonathan thank you so much for everything you have done for us and we will be back to purchase from you again soon. I cannot recommend Jonathan at the Edinburgh watch company enough. Incredible professional service."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Adam Barry
Verified Buyer
"Great service from start to finish. Couldn’t recommend highly enough and will definitely be back."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Dan Freeborn
Verified Buyer
"A pleasure to buy from. Personal service from Jonathan was excellent. Will definitely buy from EWC again!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Anne Cuthbertson
Verified Buyer
"Liked the personal service . Watch was beautifully presented . Jonathan made absolutely sure the bracelet fitted well , and was comfortable. I was shown how to alter time and date . All in all a very pleasant experience. I am delighted with my watch ."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Barry Cranmer
Verified Buyer
"Excellent xxxxx service and could not be more helpful, I would buy from him again, many thanks for all your help. From barry"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Blair Fisher
Verified Reviewer
"What a delightful buying experience start to finish also loved the personalised video comparing the two watches i was interested in, to finally help me come to a decision on buying a rolex GMT II . Thanks again Jonathan !"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you Blair. So pleased to read that you love your GMT. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. All the best Jonathan
Posted 1 month ago
Tim Hunter
Verified Buyer
"THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE FROM MEETING JOHNATHAN AT THE BOAT SHOW AT INVERKIP CONTACTING HIM IN EDINBURGH AND JOINING HIM AT THE BRAIDS HOTEL TO PURCHASE MY NEW WATCH WAS FUN AND INFORMATIVE. NICE MAN TO BE AROUND ERUDITE AND WITTY."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Kevin Crawford
Verified Buyer
"Simply by supplying a perfect time piece."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Jonathan’s watches are of the highest standard, the Breitling I bought from him was advertised as mint condition, and it didn’t disappoint the price was excellent also, his service is second to none, I would definitely buy from him again Thanks for the Beautiful watch"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you very much for sharing your experience. So pleased to read that you are happy with you Breitling. All the best Jonathan
Posted 1 month ago
Jim Paterson
Verified Buyer
"I had been looking for a Bremont Codebreaker limited edition for some time, and came across one completely by surprise at the Perthshire Classic Car Festival, in April 2018, where the Edinburgh Watch Company had a trade stand with one of these watches on display. I already knew much of the history and special features of this watch, and I was pleasantly suprised that Company owner Jonathan Gilbert had also researched this timepiece thoroughly, sharing his knowledge and the provenance of this particular piece. This limited edition timepiece celebrates the work of Bletchley Park during WW2 in breaking the German Enigma Code. I too worked occasionally at Bletchley Park in the 1980's and early 1990's, when it was owned by British Telecom. My own career included work on cypher and coding systems in use by our armed forces in the 1980's, so my association with this place was epitomised in this watch. Jonathan made me feel confident that I was dealing with a reputable company, and with someone I could trust. My follow-up meeting to collect the complete watch, presentation wallet and boxes, associated papers and certificates, was not just a handover, more an exchange of experiences of our world of watches, and other common interests. Though my collection is modest Jonathan knew the history of some of my timepieces. It is amazing what you find in common when you meet this man. I would not hesitate in buying another timepiece from this company, or recommending them. You too will receive the special attention that makes buying that special watch an experience, not just a purchase. The photos added are from a recent visit to Bletchley Park, to some of the places I had worked and relaxed, and the equipment that is recreated in the Bremont Codebreaker"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hell Jim
What pleasure to read your testimonial. Thank you so much for doing this and for sharing your own history with our readers. You have a truly wonderful Bremont and a wonderful addition to your collection. Best wishes Jonathan
Posted 1 month ago
Brian Williams
Verified Buyer
"Jonathan provides - what is somewhat unusual today - a quality service providing quality watches at most competitive prices. His knowledge, combined with his personality make it a pleasure to do business. He provides a most accurate description of his products - I have been delighted with the watches that I have purchased."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you Brian. It's great to hear you are enjoying another EWC watch. Thank you for your much valued friendship any loyalty. Jonathan
Posted 1 month ago
John McDonald
Verified Buyer
"johnathon has fantastic knowledge on the watches it was a great experience he made me feel special thank you so much."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
John. My sincere thanks for your repeat business and so pleased that there beautiful Datejust was a success. You'll be allowed to go to plenty more car events now! Best wishes Jonathan
Posted 1 month ago
Ernie Kinnaird
Verified Buyer
"Good knowledge of products with plenty of experience and enthusiasm."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
My sincere thanks Ernie for sharing your feedback. All the best Jonathan
Posted 1 month ago
Stuart Lees
Verified Buyer
"Stunning watch, excellent price and excellent service. What else is there to say? I'm very happy, thanks Jonathan!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you very much for sharing your experience Stuart. So pleased to read that the Striking blue Panerai has met with your expectations. All the best Jonathan
Posted 1 month ago
Simon Shear
Verified Buyer
"Jonathan offers a very personal service which is sadly lacking elsewhere in today’s way of life when purchasing from basics to luxury brands or goods His knowledge is excellent and he has great social skills and patience He will give you guidance if you feel your knowledge is lacking in his field and sales of watch retailing For me personally he connects with you and made me feel valued and the desire to use his company again I would have no hesitation in doing more business with him and feel very confident buying watches from his firm Edinburgh Watch’s and find him a very trustworthy individual together with excellence with the watch brand he supplies He is obviously in business to make a profit but is not pushy or pressuring which says so much and he is more concerned with your satisfaction rather than financial gain or making a sale You won’t be disappointed and I will use him for repeat sales Five Stars ***** Thank you Jonathan Best wishes Simon..."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hello Simon. Than you very much for taking the time to share this review. I am so pleased to read that the watch has been such a success for you. All the best Jonathan
Posted 1 month ago
"Johnathan is a genuine , trustworthy gentleman who made purchasing my watch a absolute pleasure, his knowledge and hospitality is second to none ! I will not hesitate in recommending Edinburgh Watch Company , thank you once again Johnathan."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you very much for sharing your testimonial. I am so pleased to read that you have had am enjoyable experience dealing with EWC. All the best Jonathan
Posted 1 month ago
Edinburgh Watch Company is rated 5.00 based on 175 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This