The Event Academy Reviews

4.5 Rating 128 Reviews
86 %
of reviewers recommend The Event Academy
4.5
Based on 128 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Read The Event Academy Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

+44 (0)20 7183 5129

Email:

lorne@eventacademy.com

Location:

Business Design Centre
52 Upper St
London

Write Your review

Tell us how The Event Academy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Wish I didn’t sign up for the course. I studied the online diploma in 2020 and will now take my exam this year. I suffer with GAD and Depression and found it very hard during my down days. You’d think the online experience would be the same as what you’d get in person but wasn’t the case. Felt the online content wasn’t engaging at all. I’ve not enjoyed it at all. If I could go back I wouldn’t have signed up and rather have used the money on a course that would guide you better. I’m just looking forward to putting it behind me and looking into other ways to progress in the event industry. They should have a longer return policy as not everyone would complete the course at the same rate. I struggle with retaining information and only realised closer to my exam that I couldn’t use my notes now I’m dreading it.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Kyrah We are very sorry to read your feedback on the course. When our team were in contact with you in 2020 we understood you were finding the course challenging - getting a good balance between maintaining your health alongside completing a year long course can be hard. We hoped that the 6 month time extension we gave you would help? We are very sorry to hear that you felt that the Online experience wasn't the same as our in person classes. We do replicate the content exactly but being an on demand / online version of courses there are differences with the delivery. Looking at our Student Hub, I can see you've managed to complete the course - brilliant! Plus you've achieved more than 80% on 4 out of your 5 Test Your Knowledge sections of the course. We'd really encourage you not to give up! Please contact us if there's anything more we can do to help. You are so nearly there now and we've got some fantastic opportunities to get real experience in the industry on our Jobs Board. Tania The Event Academy Team
Posted 2 months ago
I'm an Events Manager myself and needed formal training during the pandemic. Came across the EA online and felt confident to have found the right course as it is accredited by CIM. The online learning was an additional plus. Unfortunately, my experience wasn't great for the following reasons: - The learning environment is more entertaining, light-hearted, and school-like. I understand this is an evening class but I was after a corporate and business orientated events management course. The quality of sessions & material is very basic. - You're allocated to a team and have to produce an events proposal. Sadly, my team didn't get along. Constant tensions, tantrums, disinterest, and xenophobic remarks made the coursework highly unpleasant for me. I assume this was partly down to inexperience & level of expertise in course participants. Some members felt overwhelmed by the workload. I feel this could be easily prevented if the EA would be consistent in their branding. A model that would allow individual homework mixed with occasional team exercises would make for a more balanced & fair marking to reflect individuals' work, rather than grading an entire group (esp. when work ethics & motivation differ tremendously). - No transparency in the grading or feedback on the exam. This makes it hard to understand any tangible criteria for marking and what an individual could have done to achieve better results. There's no learning here. - The production of an entire, highly detailed events proposal for a "live brief" and client didn't sit right with me. This is unpaid work after all - not something any professional will do and I feel the wrong message has been sent out here.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Thank you for your honest feedback - we always want to hear from our students. Sadly, as you haven't left your name, I can't see more of your student history and help to understand your feedback. Our Part Time Diploma course is aimed at people who have some experience in the events industry and want to formalise their knowledge with a CIM endorsed course that covers the complete event industry from weddings to corporate to fashion, sport, event tech, marketing, sustainability and much more. All of our sessions are taught by practising experts in their field - for example Sacha Cullen is a highly regarded expert in weddings who was Head of Weddings at the Savoy in London, Josef Jammerbund ran London Fashion Week and Rosie Ham who teaches corporate was at Goldman Sachs. I can see that the teamwork exercise was frustating for you and you experienced some distruptions - it's a shame you weren't able to share this with your Course Tutor so we could resolve the issues there and then. Teamwork is an essential part of event management and the ability to manage situations like this is crucial to success within our industry. On another note, you mention xenophobia - I'd like to address this directly as this is completely and utterly unacceptable. We would deal very strongly with any complaint of this nature and again, we only wish you had brought it to our attention. You mentioned the grading and coursework transparency. Our Principal Claire regularly does 121 sessions with students when they have queries - whether is grading or exam questions. Maybe you'd like to arrange one with her? You have also mentioned your live brief - the final project where you are given the opportunity to work directly with a client answering a real event brief. This is such valuable experience for all our students of answering an event brief and pitching your ideas to clients. Working in event management I am sure you will know that this is the heart of what every event manager does in order to win clients and so it's an essential skill. We'd love to talk to you directly about your experiences and do more. We never want a student to leave us with a negative experience - it rarely happens. Please get into contact with us. You can email me directly - tania@eventacademy.com Tania
Posted 1 month ago
I have been disappointed with my experience at the Event Academy. After spending a substantial amount of money on the Level 4 Diploma I found several lectures to be missing, listed learning resources unavailable and very limited support. The brief for the coursework was very vague and offered little help or support from lecturers. When attending the online live events lecturers would greet the students they knew, making the remote students feel very isolated and neglected by ignoring them. The content has been good on some of the lectures, but a lot is common sense and therefore not worth spending money on. A real shame online remote students have no support or interaction with lecturers other than pre-recorded videos.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Steph, We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with your course, but thank you for your feedback. This comes as something of a surprise and we'd really like to understand more about your experience. We welcome all comments from students, as it allows us to constantly improve our courses, so please contact us directly to give us more information. Thank you.
Posted 1 year ago
Felt certain class members were favoured over others. Staff not supportive to my concerns regarding gossip and bullying throughout the course and I felt very judged.
Helpful Report
(Scarlett Entertainment) - Posted 5 years ago
Thank you for your review. At Ashdown Academy we always strive to make our courses the best that we can, so your feedback is valuable to us and it is all noted.
Posted 5 years ago
The course is geared towards people with no events experience - its an overview and not in depth enough for people who have experience and want a deeper dive into marketing, business development and strategy development. The lecture content levels and tutors' ability to answer questions was very disappointing. The structure of the group assignment is also unfairly allocated and judged. I would not recommend this Ashdown Academy course to any industry professionals.
Helpful Report
() - Posted 5 years ago
Thank you for your comments. At Ashdown Academy we strive to make our courses the best that we can, so we welcome your feedback and take all of it on board.
Posted 5 years ago
The course sounded really good but didn't really go into enough detail. and the group project took up so much more time than said it would. The very mixed level of experience (and proficiency in English - spoken & written ) meant myself and one other from our group of six had to do around 90% of the work on it including rewriting everyone else's parts of the report & presentation so they were actually coherent. I learnt a few new things but not enough to justify the high price tag. The course leaders 'screened' us at the Open Day to see if we were right for the course but it seems it was more for our ability to pay, than our ability to contribute to or learn from the course. Might be worth doing if your employer can pay for the course, you know very little about events and are yet to choose the type of events you would like to work on.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Thank you for your review on your Diploma at Ashdown Academy. Your feedback is welcomed as we always strive to make our courses the best that we can at Ashdown Academy and therefore it is all noted for the future.
Posted 5 years ago
The Event Academy is rated 4.48 based on 128 reviews