Wharton Goldsmith Reviews

4.89 Rating 100 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend Wharton Goldsmith
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service
on-time delivery
100%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
Read Wharton Goldsmith Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01727849524

My wedding ring, now 43 years old, was a Christopher Wharton design. Over the years my husband has bought me two more which match the square design of the first. All these years later I have arthritic fingers and on a number of visits they have expanded all three to fit over my enlarged knuckles. On every occasion the work has been done beautifully and it is never possible to tell that they have been altered. The staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful (including a recommendation of lunch in St Albans) and the work is always completed quickly. Many, many thanks.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Attentive staff without being pushy, fantastic range of high-quality jewellery, the best place to go in St Albans when a special present is required.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Excellent customer service from knowledgeable, friendly staff. Thank you
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Good company. This is my second purchase from them. There was a delay on delivery of last item, ut they kept me in touch. Good price.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
A huge thank you to Sam! It was such a pleasure to meet him. A really nice guy. I went into the shop and new exactly what i want. He helped me find the most beautiful diamonds for my very special stud earrings! Even he liked them so much that they made a second pair for their stock! I enjoy wearing them soooo much! Thank you Sam! Xx Elisabeth
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience. We really enjoyed working with you and the studs are beautiful.
Posted 1 month ago
I inherited a stone from my late father. I had in mind that I wanted to make a ring with it. After visiting a few jewellers (with abysmal and hostile customer service) I felt I was getting nowhere. I spoke with my partner about what I would like to have done with the stone, but could not find the right place to take it to. Without hesitation my partner mentioned that he knew a place that we should visit.  For many years I had walked passed Wharton, but for one reason or another I never went in. However I had often stopped to appreciate the beautiful collections in the window. We visited the shop and met Sam & Chris, they were very approachable and well-informed. We explained what I would like to have it done. I asked all the questions I had in my mind, Sam responded to them all giving clear ideas and thoughts. I had some unwanted gold and asked Sam if he could value it, which he did and offered a fair price. The entire experience was great. Within days, I got an email with the CAD designs of how the ring could look.  At first I could not believe my eyes, it was like Sam had managed to get the picture I have had it in my mind and put it down on paper. In the same conversation Sam mentioned the possible risks I could have with the ring as the stone was very delicate and he felt he needed to make me aware of this.  I asked Sam what else I could have if the ring was not an option and he mentioned a pendant. With that said, it was only right to give Sam the free will to design a pendant using the stone and I was right in doing it so. Within a few days I received an email with the CAD drawing of the pendant and the attached chain. The design was beautiful. It had details I would never have thought of.   It was hard to decide as both CAD designs were striking. However I commissioned the necklace. A few weeks later, we went to collect it.  When I saw it I was lost for words. It was a gorgeous creation. So faultless. Way better than I imagined it would be. Furthermore it was a piece of fine art. I was over the moon that a few tears were shed. Me, my mum and my brothers are confident that my father would have approved of the necklace.  Myself and my partner were blissfully happy with the quality of the work, the craftsmanship is outstanding.  We can only applaud the service in this jeweller. They provided a creation beyond my expectations Furthermore we have decided that any future designs will unquestionably come from Wharton.  
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Many thanks Eliana, i'm so pleased your happy with your new pendant, enjoy wearing it. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Sam
Posted 2 months ago
Many thanks Eliana, i'm so pleased your happy with your new pendant, enjoy wearing it. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Sam
Posted 1 month ago
Enjoyed browsing through Wharton Goldsmith website and ordered designer jewellery which was on offer. Had to collect from delivery office as I was at work and not able to sign for it as it was special delivery.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for choosing Wharton Goldsmith and taking the time to share your experience.
Posted 1 month ago
Excellent service quickest delivery ever and the goods were beautiful.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience. We are delighted you are pleased with your choices.
Posted 1 month ago
I was recommended to Wharton Goldsmith by my daughter and I have not been disappointed. They redesigned my engagement ring which I was unable to wear after 50 years! I could never have imagined it would have turned out as well as it has. So similar and yet so different. I can now wear it with pleasure after a gap of a number of years. Nothing was too much trouble for Sam to ensure we were happy with it.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. It was a pleasure to redesign your engagement ring and hope you enjoy wearing it again as much we enjoyed creating it for you.
Posted 3 months ago
We have shopped at Wharton's for many years now, and have always been very happy with the items purchased and the outstanding service received. They are one of the few shops locally where you can get genuine expertise, and the design workshop has produced some beautiful and truly unique jewelry for us in this time. Highly recommended.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We really appreciate it.
Posted 3 months ago
Wharton Goldsmith is a long established, exceptionally fine jewellers in St Albans, who are known for their superb craftsmanship. If you are searching for the perfect piece of jewellery, look no further. The bespoke yellow sapphire and diamond ring which Wharton's have recently made for me, is utterly exquisite! In truth, it has surpassed all expectations. I highly recommend this family fun business... it simply won't disappoint! Kay
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Wonderful customer service from Marc at Christopher Wharton jeweller - patient and absolutely spot on with his recommendation. Superb local independent shop and would always recommend. Thank you for helping us choose a beautiful piece of jewellery!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted you were pleased with our Service and now have a beautiful piece of jewellery.
Posted 3 months ago
My experience of choosing some earrings for my wife was made very easy by Marks professionalism and guidance. First class experience and first class product.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Gosh! I placed my order on Sunday evening; it was confirmed on Monday morning and the Georg Jensen “Beak” thermojug arrived first thing this morning. So top marks for service. The jug itself was well wrapped up, in its box, swathed in bubble wrap, then a sealed bag so it was well protected. The stainless steel finish is glossy and gleaming, I’ve already made a jug of coffee, which is the reason for my purchase, as I can’t always get up to make myself repeated drinks. I did this at 10.00 following the instructions, and the last mug I just poured (3.45 pm) is still piping hot, 1 litre of coffee kept at the right temperature. So well worth the expenditure. Thank you Nicola, for answering my question about delivery very promptly and pleasantly. I’m very pleased with the jug, which will make a big difference to my life. Merry Christmas to you all. I’m sure Father Christmas will easily find some special gifts in your store!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you so much for your order and for your wonderful review. It. means a lot to us that our clients are happy and we love to hear your experience.
Posted 3 months ago
I’ve always loved this shop, and the service. But unfortunately when I spent A LOT of money on a watch and took it in after just a month to say it wasn’t splash/waterproof, the service I received from one employee was unforgivable. The initial reaction being I must have done something, as they’ve never had an issue with a brietling before... lo and behold, brietling admitted it was faulty as it hadn’t been sealed properly. This same employee contacted me with “good news” - they were going to repair it. Err, I don’t want a waterlogged watch back thank you. So I had to push to get it replaced. The owner ended up giving me a voucher as a gesture of goodwill but such a shame the individual had no regard for me and made the experience so upsetting. All of the other individuals I’ve met are lovely and the shop does have lovely products but I must admit this experience has put me off going again.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
After further investigation we do agree that your complaint could have been handled in a much better way and although everyone did their best at the time, certain aspects of staff interaction with you were not up to our usually high standards, for which we once again apologise.

At the time of the watch fault two years ago we did provide a £200 voucher as a gesture of apology and goodwill and also had the watch replaced for a new model.

We do hope to be able to serve you in the future.
Kind Regards
Chris Wharton
Posted 4 months ago
I would thank all staff that my wife and I encountered, for there friendly helpful knowledge and courteous service.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased you were happy with our service.
Posted 4 months ago
I came to Wharton Goldsmith to look for an engagement ring. From the moment I walked into their establishment I had a good feeling. This was only emphasised when I met Chris to discuss designs. Other jewellers made me feel pressured into buying something quickly there and then without really listening to what I wanted. Chris took time, listened to what I had to say whilst drawing designs as I was explaining. At the end of my first meeting I hadn’t made any concrete decision into what type of stone I would pick. But I knew I wanted Chris and his staff to design and make it. Once I made my decision Chris had bought in a range of sapphires for me to choose from. He even commented on his favourite (which wasn’t the most expensive one). Chris was patient with me and took all my ideas I wanted in the design. Chris and his team even managed to get the ring designed and made in a short space of time for when I wanted to “pop the question”. It was the most beautiful ring and everything my fiancé could dream of. A couple of weeks later I took my partner to the jewellers to see where I had designed the ring and where it had been made. Chris was not in that day but his staff seemed to know who I was and invited me into the staff area where you could see the jewellers hard at work making these stunning rings. We were even fortunate enough to to meet one of the jewellers to have made our ring. I’m so glad I picked Wharton Goldsmith, it was the best decision I ever made and would wholeheartedly recommend them to everyone and anyone. Thank you again guys! Mark Wallington
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Wharton GoldSmith experience. Our clients are part of the Wharton Goldsmith family and we are thrilled to have been part of your story.
Posted 4 months ago
Professional and speedy service.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Posted 4 months ago
I’ve always found Wharton Goldsmith an excellent place to shop for jewellery in St. Albans.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Nice shop, great range of lovely products, nice friendly staff.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Wharton Goldsmith is rated 4.89 based on 100 reviews