The AA Reviews

3.49 Rating 712 Reviews
62 %
of reviewers recommend The AA
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
1.68 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Read The AA Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 085 2721

Email:

customer.services@theaa.com

Write Your review

Tell us how The AA made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Worst customer service 40 min wait to attend the call and recovery wait 6 hours, they expect people to sleep in their car in cold weather....
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Called at 20.45 as car broke down at side of road, I was told 22.30 bit annoyed as it was very cold, dark and deserted as park at 1 side warehouses at the other of me. Then I logged into the link they sent me and the time had went up to 00.05. I took a taxi home called AA breakdown they gave me an estimated time of 18.00 next day but I can wait a lot longer. Awful company tried to complain but can't until they attend my car tonight, I explained I'm disabled and care for my disabled son i need my car but been told it's possible for the same awful service again tonight. I am away to see if a garage can get someone to help me as AA breakdown won't
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Fabulous service by the AA on Saturday 7th December myself and 6 friends broke down on a roundabout in Cardiff, Keith came to our rescue in 15 minutes and took us to a safe area in a car park, the car couldn't be fixed so he took it to a Garage near our home in Pembrokeshire while we continued our stay in Cardiff, he messaged me to say he had dropped it at the garage, fabulous service thank you Keith and the AA
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
I put Petrol in a Diesel, I was a member of the AA, they tried to charge me £220 claiming it was my own fault, when I contested the £220 they knocked it down to £185, it took him 20 minutes, a very simple operation, when I asked my local garage they said they do it for £60. 300% because you are stuck at the side of the road & you are fool enough to be a member of the AA.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
I am just happy with the AA !
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 1 week ago
Still Awaiting the quote !
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 1 week ago
If you are thinking about taking up an AA policy with the £500 cover, think again. Don't do it! Not only will you be on the roadside, but you'll be arguing the toss with AA. They will worm out of paying for your repairs in any way they can. I am currently in such a situation. I have spent the last 5 days solid on the phone to AA and garages trying to get a breakdown resolved. I'm about to slash my wrists. Please, whatever you do, DO NOT use AA. What I'm saying is use them if you wish, but beware and be warned. They will do their utmost to wriggle out of their commitments. I have paid them several thousand pounds over the years. Now that I need to make a claim, they have literally told me to f++k off. I have cancelled my cover today. NOT WORTH THE PAPER IT'S WRITTEN ON!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Not impressed with the service I received I broke down at midday and ten hours later after no amount of lies I got home it was freezing cold I'm a diabetic I asked the company who finally rescued me to take me to a garage for a hot drink as had nothing to drink eat all day the answer I got was no but it was ok to be taken 20 miles extra out of my way so the moody driver could have his truck back I complained the next day to be offered out of the blue £200 I refused this I've now been offered £250 to end my complaint what an absolute joke lucky for them I didn't go into a diabetic coma or worse
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I’m waiting in my dead car as I write this. I was driving along and my car lost all power and gave out a huge cloud of blue smoke. I ground to a halt. It’s obviously terminal. I rang the AA and told them the problem and that I’ll need recovery. After 2 hours a patrol man turned up in a little van. I told him the same as I’d told the office. He said ‘you’ll need recovery, rang his office and left. I’ve now got another 2 hour wait for a recovery truck. Not happy.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I ran out of petrol last night. Got through to AA within a minute. Advised to leave car. I was ten minutes from home. AA called two hours later to meet me back at car. The patrol man was very efficient, which took more than just putting his petrol in my car. He was very polite got car started eventually and off I went.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I found them very friendly, and explained everything clearly to me. They made the whole process very straight forward to me. I was very happy with their se.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 1 week ago
Been a member since December 2018, I have the full cover including parts and labour and onward travel, a few months ago I was refused breakdown from 200 miles away from home on the basis that I have no mot and tax even though I did, I put in a complaint and after a few weeks I got told I did have mot and tax and got sent a measly £50 compensation cheque even thought it cost me over £400 to recover myself and my vehicle home from over 200 miles. A couple of days ago I broke down again and called the AA, they advised to send my car to a garage for repairs, once car was in the garage a independent technician came out who didn’t know how to do his job and probably was instructed by the AA find any issue not to pay out! They then rejected my claim on the basis that the issue was of wear and tear but prior to rejecting on that basis they advised me that the issue was ongoing when I put the car on the policy which is absolutely ridiculous as I did around 4000 miles since putting my van on this policy. Instead of renewing my policy this December I decided to take out another policy with a family member and they used the excuse that I used my new policy to make this claim on when in fact I used my old policy to make this claim on, which again they later confirmed that I used my old policy to make the claim on. After confirming With me on recorded phone calls that I used my old policy to make the claim on they brought up a new issue of wear and tear and that they won’t be paying out, ANY EXSCUSE NOT TO PAY OUT!! the issue was my turbo actuator, which snapped off the bolts and hinges and they are putting this down to wear and tear which is completely ridiculous. THEY JUST DO NOT WANT TO PAY OUT! STAY AWAY BEWARE! STICK WITH OTHER MAJOR RELIABLE BREAKDOWN SERVICES AS YOU WILL ONLY GET TROUBLE ONTOP OF TROUBLE WHEN DEALING WITH THE AA!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Been a member since December 2018, I have the full cover including parts and labour and onward travel, a few months ago I was refused breakdown from 200 miles away from home on the basis that I have no mot and tax even though I did, I put in a complaint and after a few weeks I got told I did have mot and tax and got sent a measly £50 compensation cheque even thought it cost me over £400 to recover myself and my vehicle home from over 200 miles. A couple of days ago I broke down again and called the AA, they advised to send my car to a garage for repairs, once car was in the garage a independent technician came out who didn’t know how to do his job and probably was instructed by the AA find any issue not to pay out! They then rejected my claim on the basis that the issue was of wear and tear but prior to rejecting on that basis they advised me that the issue was ongoing when I put the car on the policy which is absolutely ridiculous as I did around 4000 miles since putting my van on this policy. Instead of renewing my policy this December I decided to take out another policy with a family member and they used the excuse that I used my new policy to make this claim on when in fact I used my old policy to make this claim on, which again they later confirmed that I used my old policy to make the claim on. After confirming With me on recorded phone calls that I used my old policy to make the claim on they brought up a new issue of wear and tear and that they won’t be paying out, ANY EXSCUSE NOT TO PAY OUT!! the issue was my turbo actuator, which snapped off the bolts and hinges and they are putting this down to wear and tear which is completely ridiculous. THEY JUST DO NOT WANT TO PAY OUT! STAY AWAY BEWARE! STICK WITH OTHER MAJOR RELIABLE BREAKDOWN SERVICES AS YOU WILL ONLY GET TROUBLE ONTOP OF TROUBLE WHEN DEALING WITH THE AA!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
automated telephone service is a nightmare ,makes me so angry having to wait for 15mins just for automated messages
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Wonderful service from the AA today. The engineer followed me to the nearest garage since he was worried my other tyre was not road worthy
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
AS the other driver admitted fault we were advised to go thro claimfast instead of co-op. They produced a hire car which we did not want , took car for inspection and informed it was a write off due to age of car. When told we wanted to keep the car, they said would have to go thro our own insurance instead. The car was eventually repaired but we had to pay £350 excess. WE HAVE STILL NOT RECIEVED our monies after almost 6 months. AA legal team keep passing the buck back to claimfast. We will not re-new with the AA or the roadside assistance which we have had for 30 years.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 1 week ago
I don’t know how the AA car insurance company gets above 1 star rating because it’s a total disgrace l cancelled my car insurance early after selling the car and the AA charged me £153 for the privilege disgusting I will definitely not be using the AA insurance company again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Had a breakdown last night, neaded to be relayed, I have relay plus apparently, relay plus is actually relay less, they only take you 15 miles, I needed to go 17 miles. Long and the short is it cost me £93 to upgrade to national recovery, £45 upgrade the rest was admin charge. Tried to find relay plus online, no mention what so ever only national recovery. I've obviously been mis sold a product. Be very careful if you upgrade there and then to national recovery cos you're stuck, they will only take you 50 miles, anything above this will be charged at £2.50 per mile.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
the AA is a RIP OFF, VERY LONG story short one of my sons called them after hearing some strange noise and he was concerned it would damage the engine if he continued to drive it, he was advised he could drive it the 10 miles home, the engine blew up less than 3 miles away from where he had called them, the AA with there top dog lawyers, have managed to escape responsibility for the blown engine, leaving him with out a much needed car not to mention the wasted cost of believing you are covered, then today son number 2 breaks down -1)cant fix it 2) tow truck has to stop less than half way home because he will go over permitted driving hours, cant get another truck till 3 am, 3)AA driver suggests they kip in car until it arrives, he has work in the morning, yet again, FAIL on both occasions it would have worked out to be a quicker response using local services, and cheaper in the long run than the WASTED aa membership
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Having been the member of AA for 51 years l had to continue my relationship with them especially the deal was brilliant!
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 2 weeks ago
The AA is rated 3.49 based on 712 reviews