Independent Cottages Reviews

4.98 Rating 605 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend Independent Cottages
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Independent Cottages Reviews

About Independent Cottages:

We're passionate about holidays in the UK, and promote independently owned, self-catering holiday accommodation. Our independence means that we don't charge hidden commissions to owners, or booking fees to holiday makers, and we aim to keep it that way.

Visit Website

Phone:

01474 816660

Email:

sarah@independentcottages.co.uk

Location:

The Willows,Wood Hill,Meopham

Independent Cottages 5 star review on 3rd August 2021
K Beresford
Independent Cottages 5 star review on 18th May 2021
M Cairney
Independent Cottages 5 star review on 1st February 2021
B Lawson
Independent Cottages 5 star review on 30th January 2021
J Leather
Independent Cottages 5 star review on 21st January 2021
R Winfield
Independent Cottages 5 star review on 21st January 2021
R Winfield
Independent Cottages 5 star review on 21st January 2021
R Winfield
81
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
This (2022) will be my third season advertising with Independent Cottages, and their customer service has been excellent. this last two years, almost all my bookings have come from them. With the other larger companies, I had been getting more and more frustrated with the increasing restrictions on being able to have direct contact with potential guests, and fees and charges both to owners and guests having increased with the large companies, I was getting more and more enquiries via Independent Cottages. This has been helped, frankly, by a huge switch to domestic bookings as opposed to international bookings during the Covid pandemic, but the contrast between Independent Cottages' friendliness and the impersonal, algorithm-driven approach and unhelpful attitudes of the other larger companies and their poor service is stark. I shall continue to use Independent Cottages - I probably won't use any of the others in future.
Helpful Report
I have always had excellent service and help from them. the site is easy to use and update even for the non computer literate like me
Helpful Report
We have advertised our three cottages for more years than I can remember; it is, by far, our most successful advertisement and always has been. When we first started letting we used a large agent to organise our business, but soon realised the downsides of this arrangement: we knew very little about visitors before they arrived and they knew very little about our set up and the agent’s charges made holidays with us very expensive leading to unrealistically high expectations from visitors. We are now able to establish a good relationship with Independent Cottages visitors before they arrive: the prior communications between us ensure that we are all happy and fully informed. We receive a fair payment and the visitors get good value for their money - a win, win situation!
Helpful Report
We have advertised our two holiday cottages in Cumbria with Independent Cottages for many years. It has become increasingly difficult for cottage owners to find advertising options without recourse to the big agencies with their high commission rates. IC is a key source of enquiries about our cottages - which we value highly.  Any queries we have about the content of our adverts are quickly answered. The facilities offered on the adverts are continually under review including the recent option to add a "Book Online" link and update prices via a feed from the owner's own website. Furthermore the advice provided by IC since the outbreak of Covid has been reassuring and realistic. We would have no hesitation in recommending IC to other cottage owners and wish Sarah and Steve Jarvis ongoing success.   
Helpful Report
I have always had a great experience with Independent cottages. Sarah and the team are always super helpful, even pointing out ways to improve our listings. We receive a lot of enquiries from Independent cottages which is great as we know that holiday seekers are seeing and interested in our properties.
Helpful Report
Independent Cottages has a user friendly website . I'm sure this appeals to both owners and visitors . I like my guests to feel comfortable and secure and to be able to contact me directly . This helps me to provide the sort of holiday visitors look forward to. I've received a very professional service from Sarah Jarvis and a great write up for my accommodation. High praise for their Independent approach .
Helpful Report
I love working with Independent Cottages because they are friendly, efficient and professional and offer exactly what I need which is an online window to promote my cottage but allows the guests to book direct with me. I very much like being able to maintain this personal contact - and the website has worked well for me, finding me lots of guests for my cottage.
Helpful Report
This is my third year as a member of Independent Cottages and I've been really pleased with the results. So far this year I have had three direct bookings via my profile on their website. Not only that but their customer service is responsive, efficient and friendly. They have a wealth of information available to owners and are always willing to help and support with specific queries. In a hospitality world full of monolithic, impersonal corporates, it is more vital than ever to support an independent company that in turn has small independent businesses at it's heart.
Helpful Report
I have been with Independent Cottages for only one year but am happy to report a noticeable increase in bookings for my cottage The website is managed in a friendly yet professional manner. Queries are answered promptly and helpful advice and support is readily available I would not hesitate to recommend them.
Helpful Report
We are delighted that we signed up with Independent Cottages—is such a relief to find a reliable and proactive online platform that supports direct contact between owners and renters prior to booking — contact that gives peace of mind to both parties, as well as considerable savings gained by booking direct with the owner (no high commissions/booking fees that inflate the rental when booked through other online booking platforms). Sarah and her team were great in answering queries, crafting fresh copy, and getting our page for Barnfield House Kent up and running. We were delighted to receive our first enquiry through the site literally within minutes of going live, and impressed with the quality of enquiries and bookings since joining two months ago. We highly recommend Independent Cottages to other holiday let hosts, as well as to anyone looking to book accommodation directly with the owner.
Helpful Report
We have had a really good experience advertising through Independent cottages, right from our original enquiry about listing where the communication was 1st class through to listing the property. We have also been successful in letting our holiday home out through Independent Cottages, and have been lucky to be fully booked from May through till the end of September. Hopefully this will continue. Thank you for a great service. Highly recommend to anyone who is considering coming away from some of the larger companies who charge extremely high fees.
Helpful Report
I have long been unhappy about On Line Travel agents who not only charge cottage owners a commission on each booking, but charge guests a hefty booking fee, thus inflating the price of a cottage holiday. Some also micro manage the bookings, leaving owners little flexibility over the number of bookings they want to take. On the other hand, sites that charge a fixed annual fee for direct contact between owner and guest often put little energy into search engine optimization - resulting in few bookings. So I was really pleased to find Independent Cottages high up on listings when looking for a new advertising medium to replace a "direct contact" website that was closing down. The website is also incredibly user friendly for the cottage owner and I got my first booking within 2 days of going live. Sarah and her team are also very helpful and friendly to deal with. I would recommend Independent Cottages to any owner who wants to manage their own affairs.
Helpful Report
In 2017 I discovered Independent Cottages. So delighted, fabulous site, Sarah and Steve are so helpful. The enquiries just keep coming…. I’ve been pretty much fully booked since joining Independent Cottages. Definitely recommend to anyone with a holiday let. Thank to all the helpful staff also.
Helpful Report
I am happy to list my holiday property on Independent Cottages- it gets great results for me and the customers are lovely- bonus! It’s important to me that I’m paying solely to advertise the house, no bookings involved so there are no costs to the customers. They give a helpful and efficient service- job well done.
Helpful Report
We have been so pleased to be advertising our property through Independent Cottages. The staff were really helpful in setting up the web page, and really quick at making the changes we wanted. We had 2 paid up bookings within 36 hours of going live, which has been an encouraging start.
Helpful Report
We listed our new one bedroom barn conversion with Independent Cottages less than a week ago and already have 4 bookings. We were particularly impressed with the way that they craft an excellent and unique description of the property rather than copying from our own website. We look forward to more bookings rolling in and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Independent Cottages.
Independent Cottages 5 star review on 3rd August 2021
Helpful Report
We have just signed up to Independent cottages to promote our holiday accommodation. The setup phase has been very easy and Sarah has been very helpful during this time and has made sure that we are totally happy with the outcome. We only went live yesterday and have already had a booking. Would highly recommend to other accommodation providers.
Helpful Report
Very pleased with Independent Cottages Indeed. They tick all the boxes for this holiday home owner. Excellent service from sarah and her team. The portal works very well delivering consistently with good quality new enquiries. Would definitely recommend.
Helpful Report
From the outset I was struck by the enthusiasm and expertise of Sarah and her team at Independent Cottages. A great deal of care went into ensuring that our listing accurately reflected what we had to offer; and it has paid off. The well designed website has attracted many enquiries and some firm bookings in just ten days. I'm very pleased with the outcome and would heartily recommend Independent Cottages to other owners.
Helpful Report
As first time Owners of a holiday let, we signed up with Independent Cottages less than three weeks ago after researching our marketing options. By the end of our first week, we had secured several bookings and were welcoming our first guests. The advert created for us by the Independent Cottages team is excellent, and the system which owners use for bookings is excellent, suiting all of our needs and very straightforward to use. I can honestly say that this service is well worth the money we paid and we highly recommend it for other owners of holiday lets!
Helpful Report
Independent Cottages is rated 4.98 based on 605 reviews