Campervan Tours Reviews

4.84 Rating 190 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend Campervan Tours
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Read Campervan Tours  Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 6889688

Campervan Tours  5 star review on 23rd July 2021
Carri
Campervan Tours  5 star review on 23rd July 2021
Carri
Campervan Tours  5 star review on 23rd July 2021
Carri
Campervan Tours  5 star review on 23rd July 2021
Carri
Campervan Tours  5 star review on 23rd July 2021
Carri
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Extra bedding and cushions were not included after being ordered months in advance. Our first night on the road and the heater didn't work (either on gas or electric).....was a bitterly cold night too. Kesh was very helpful and organised us a motel room for the next night as we didn't want to drive on unfamiliar roads at night. Had to change our itinerary to go to pick up the second van. The second van was smaller than the first, but suited us driving on narrow roads through many villages and towns. 6 weeks later.......heater in van No 2 packed up. Kesh to the rescue again delivering van No 3 to us. (3rd time lucky??) We were very disappointed that our plans got changed again, as we had been really interested in visiting the Spitfire Museum that day - so we packed down instead making the swap over easier. Van No 3 lasted the rest of the holiday (2 weeks) with no problems. The 2nd and 3rd vans were very economic and ran well. Kesh went above and beyond to help us with any teething problems via phone calls or sms messages, (incl replacing vans etc). Tip for management:- Before hiring vans out at anytime during the year, a more hands on approach to regular maintenance (heating and cooling) should be undertaken, because it certainly is not being done at present.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Kevin, Thank you for your review. We were devastated to learn that you were not entirely happy with our service, especially as you seemed very happy whilst you were over here. Our policy has always been to rectify any problems quickly as not to affect somebody's holiday. Kesh did indeed come out to your van when you called in about not being able to get the heating to work. Regarding the reported heating issue in the smaller van that you requested, kesh did come out to your location but the heating was not faulty as it functioned perfectly. However, just in case he gave you another van because if the unit was faulty then we would not leave you with a van that did not have heating. It is better to be safe than sorry. As I am sure you and other people will appreciate, central heating systems can go wrong. We get them serviced every year and tested before going out on rental. You reported a heating problem 6 weeks into your rental and it turned out that it was a user error and not a faulty unit. Nonetheless, we came out to you with the replacement campervan (just in case) so that your holiday was not affected as much as possible. Insofar as the bedding is concerned, there is no limit on what you can take at the start. If you wanted 3 sets we would give you 3 sets for no extra charge. This is all done at the handover stage. To summarise the heating in all 3 of the vans that you had worked perfectly and no faults at all were found. We came to you very quickly to fix reported problems. You did not need to wait or come to us. You can take as much bedding as you like with you at the point of collection. Even if you didn't we could have easily have brought you extra bedding in our subsequent meetings. Thank you for writing in and I hope that my response does highlight that all the heating systems work perfectly but it is not unheard of them to go wrong and if they do our response is to sort it out quickly. Martin
Posted 3 years ago
Whilst the on-line booking process, e-mail contact and Kesh's delivery and drop off service was exemplary, the vehicle itself was only adequate. Lack of automatic transmission, reversing camera, air conditioning and cruise control are features I would expect to find in a modern vehicle and made driving somewhat stressful from time to time. The interior layout also proved tiresome over the month of hire with the inability of two people being unable to pass from front to back of the vehicle without much pre-planning (and we are both of slim build!). I'm pleased we didn't hire in the summer period as ventilation at night would have been an issue.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi David, Thank you for your recent review and compliments on our booking process and campervan handover. From reading your comments, it is clear to see that you would have preferred a higher grade model than the model that you booked. We do indeed offer automatic vehicles with air conditioning and cruise control but not at the price point that you booked and paid for. It's no different to booking your flight in that if you book business class (which costs more) then you will get wider seats and more refinements. Our campervans are all clearly advertised with accurate descriptions and photographs. We offer top of the range models for those who want everything and more basic models for people who want great reliable campervan at the best possible price. The more basic vans cost us less to buy and we can hire them out at much lower prices than the more expensive models. The deluxe models cost much more to purchase and whilst we offer great deals on these too, they do cost more to hire. I am not sure if you have used campervans in the past but unless you go for a large "A" class motorhome, which is like a medium size bus, you will always have the width and length restrictions. Most of our more scenic backroads are not suitable for large "A" class motorhomes (which also need a special driving licence) so we don't offer the very large vehicle option, which I believe is where your expectation might have been. Our campervans are very carefully designed and always built on vans that are known for their reliability and serviceability. We cater mostly for Australian and New Zealand couples on long duration tours, who need the type of service that we can provide. Thank you hiring your campervan with us and for your valued feedback. I hope that my explanation has clarified that we provided exactly the option that you booked and also that more expensive options could have been chosen at the time of booking, which would have had the extra refinements that you mentioned. Very best regards, Martin
Posted 3 years ago
Campervan Tours is rated 4.84 based on 190 reviews