Campervan Tours Reviews

4.78 Rating 107 Reviews
98% of reviewers recommend Campervan Tours
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email
communication channels
"the service and friendliness from all staff was fantastic. the van was clean and reliable. very happy to use the company again and refer to friends."
Posted 1 week ago
Visit Website
"Actually, there should be a 6th star for EXCELLENT! I have twice hired campervans (two different models) from this company & driven them great distances & through a variety of conditions. I found them to be terrific! The vehicles are clean & well maintained, providing many extras in one up-front cost, & at a very reasonable price. The staff too (esp. Martin & Kesh) have been wonderful & extremely helpful. I cannot fault this company or their product, & can highly recommend them to other travellers. I will happily return to the UK in the future to hire campervan number 3. (Aussie Traveller)"
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I would like to thank Campervantours, Martin and Kesh for the wonderful and easy way it was to book with your Company. The "Customer Service" and meeting with Kesh following Norway/Europe Cruise at Heathrowe (Bus transport from Southampton) at Terminal 2 was excellent. Just had to "Text Kesh" when nearing Terminal. Just told him our exact position within Departure Area, and he located us. Then went to Travel lodge Central at Heathrowe and obtained camper van. He explained how things worked and suggested a Caravan Park (close by) as we needed to familiarise ourselves with vehicle and obtain Supplies. Our hire went from 1 Sept to 30 October 2018. The vehicle was a Peugeot Boxer it performed perfectly travelling over 4200 miles and averaging 32 MPG or 9 litres per 100 Km. Used both Camping and Caravan Club Sites along with free camping. Also joined Caravan and Motorhome Club. A mobile phone with Local Sim was supplied with hire and it was handy to contact Kesh to ask questions regarding Heating and Cooling System in the Camper. GPS in vehicle was good and easy to use, however took my own as familiar with it and on a couple of locations it was more up to date. Travel Lodge Central, Heathrowe, which was drop off point for camper, prior to flying out of UK. Thanks again for your Service and Kesh for his suggestions and concise explanation of Vans workings. Another trip in the Pipeline and will use your Service again. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Neil & Bev"
Posted 1 month ago
"Simply awesome! Easy to deal with, adjustments to our booking dates was done quickly, and communication was brilliant. Kesh was beyond amazing - super helpful and great to work with. Our vans were easy to drive, clean, and a great home away from home. Will definitely hire with Campervan Tours again and have already recommended them to others!"
Posted 1 month ago
"Extra bedding and cushions were not included after being ordered months in advance. Our first night on the road and the heater didn't work (either on gas or electric).....was a bitterly cold night too. Kesh was very helpful and organised us a motel room for the next night as we didn't want to drive on unfamiliar roads at night. Had to change our itinerary to go to pick up the second van. The second van was smaller than the first, but suited us driving on narrow roads through many villages and towns. 6 weeks later.......heater in van No 2 packed up. Kesh to the rescue again delivering van No 3 to us. (3rd time lucky??) We were very disappointed that our plans got changed again, as we had been really interested in visiting the Spitfire Museum that day - so we packed down instead making the swap over easier. Van No 3 lasted the rest of the holiday (2 weeks) with no problems. The 2nd and 3rd vans were very economic and ran well. Kesh went above and beyond to help us with any teething problems via phone calls or sms messages, (incl replacing vans etc). Tip for management:- Before hiring vans out at anytime during the year, a more hands on approach to regular maintenance (heating and cooling) should be undertaken, because it certainly is not being done at present."
Posted 2 months ago
Dear Kevin,

Thank you for your review. We were devastated to learn that you were not entirely happy with our service, especially as you seemed very happy whilst you were over here. Our policy has always been to rectify any problems quickly as not to affect somebody's holiday. Kesh did indeed come out to your van when you called in about not being able to get the heating to work. Regarding the reported heating issue in the smaller van that you requested, kesh did come out to your location but the heating was not faulty as it functioned perfectly. However, just in case he gave you another van because if the unit was faulty then we would not leave you with a van that did not have heating. It is better to be safe than sorry. As I am sure you and other people will appreciate, central heating systems can go wrong. We get them serviced every year and tested before going out on rental. You reported a heating problem 6 weeks into your rental and it turned out that it was a user error and not a faulty unit. Nonetheless, we came out to you with the replacement campervan (just in case) so that your holiday was not affected as much as possible. Insofar as the bedding is concerned, there is no limit on what you can take at the start. If you wanted 3 sets we would give you 3 sets for no extra charge. This is all done at the handover stage.

To summarise the heating in all 3 of the vans that you had worked perfectly and no faults at all were found. We came to you very quickly to fix reported problems. You did not need to wait or come to us. You can take as much bedding as you like with you at the point of collection. Even if you didn't we could have easily have brought you extra bedding in our subsequent meetings.

Thank you for writing in and I hope that my response does highlight that all the heating systems work perfectly but it is not unheard of them to go wrong and if they do our response is to sort it out quickly.

Martin
Posted 2 months ago
"Booking online from Australia with only our own research to go on was a bit nerve wracking so having Martin actually call us to answer all our queries was a huge plus for us and really made us feel comfortable with our choice. The meet and greet went perfectly, Kesh was professional and informative and he was terrific at handover as well. The van was roadworthy, clean and was well stocked with essentials. We had a worry free wonderful time without incident We would highly recommend this company to anyone wanting a camper van experience. Thank you. Sharon & Jan Roth. Western Australia."
Posted 5 months ago
"We arrived at the designated meeting point after a 23 hour flight to be greeted by the friendly and helpful Kesh who gave us a very comprehensive run down on the Roller. He had all the paperwork ready on the spot which was clear and simple and away we went. The next 15 days we gave the Roller a good workout on motorways, tight country lanes and 1 in 6 inclines. The vehicle was right up to the job and we felt safe and secure sleeping in her at night. The comfort factor was very good as we would have frozen to death if it had not been for the gas heating system which kept everything just right overnight. We made use of the free camping membership on a few occasions and had no problems, welcome everywhere. On return to Heathrow, Kesh was there to meet us and quickly did the final inspection and release of the paperwork back to us. The security deposit was returned to us in full in Australia within a reasonable time. Our first email enquiry was promptly answered by a phone call from Martin who was reassuring and professional from start to finish. We would deal with Campervan Tours again and recommend them to anyone wanting a really good, reliable campervan for their holiday in the UK."
Posted 5 months ago
"My wife and I have just completed a 12 week tour of France, Belgium and UK in a Campervan Tours Roller Team 695 motorhome. This was an excellent vehicle for our extended journey and the assistance we were given by Martin and his team and the all inclusiveness of the package offered, meant this couple from Australia had a hassle free experience. Thank you Campervan Tours for a very memorable holiday."
Posted 5 months ago
"Excellent service, used the van for nearly three months and found Campervan Tours had provided almost everything we needed to enjoy our holiday. Highly recommended."
Posted 6 months ago
"Very happy with the service Kesh supplied. Everything we needed in the van was there. The Fiate based Tribute performed well with plenty of power and economy If we ever get back to the UK we would do the same again. Everything was done in a friendly and efficient manner G and H Australia"
Posted 6 months ago
"EXCELLENT before using campervan tours we checked our several others but. Were not impressed with the reviews. Campervan tours were very helpful with any questions we wanted and even raised issues about our plans relating to where we intended going and right van for roads we were possibly using. They gave us phone numbers so while overseas we could keep in touch about our plans. Due to timing for pickup being outside office hours they happily worked in with us and the agent even came in on day off to complete handover. Van was just what we needed and went perfectly with no problems. When we returned van the agent was happy with condition and even dropped us off where we needed to go. WELL DONE CAMPERVAN TOURS We have no problem recommending you to anyone we know or find out are going to the united kingdom. THANK YOU HEAPS"
Posted 6 months ago
"We hired a campervan for a 18 day trip around England and Wales. The campervan was great, Martin and Kesh's service and responsiveness was timely and efficient and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The van was comfortable and easy to manage and was fitted out with almost everything we needed. We appreciated the SatNav and the map book although the satnav has a bit of a speech impediment!! We managed to maintain our marriage despite the close quarters! Martin processed the insurance refund very promptly. Highly recommended Carmel and Rob, first time campervanners"
Posted 6 months ago
"Upon picking up camper the good experience started.Great handover from Kesh.Then the holiday started with a vehicle that fitted all its purposes very well.Only used main power 3 times and that was to shave,useing Pub Stays was a great experience with a lot of very nice people to deal with. Anyone thinking of this type of holday can't go past Campervantours.Thanks to both Kesh and Martin. Kesh, who we dealt with, was friendly & very helpful & efficient. John and Maggie Newbold Australia"
Posted 6 months ago
"We were very impressed with our van , it's condition and the service we received by Kesh . Even the one small problem we had was dealt with very promptly and professionally w.by Kesh with his repairer. The phone was a great idea and also the Britz Stop membership and the caravan club membership ,made life so easy and simple .will be certainly recommending this company to all we speak to . Thank you"
Posted 6 months ago
"A very helpful team at Campervan Tours. Good advice on getting around UK & Ireland, provided everything we needed, even things we didn't know we needed. I would certainly recommend this way of seeing the country, and Campervan Tours as the people to do it for you."
Posted 6 months ago
"A pleasure to deal with Martin and Kesh, And the van l( Transit) behaved well. Bert Manning Australia"
Posted 7 months ago
"We were extremely happy with the dealings with all staff at Campervan Tours. Emails were responded to quickly, both handovers were completed stress free, all equipment in the van was of high quality and sufficient for what we needed to travel around the UK and Ireland. We would recommend this company to anyone wanting to travel and experience the great places these countries have to offer.It gives you the freedom to do what you want when you want. This certainly is your passport to freedom."
Posted 7 months ago
"Hi While we thoroughly enjoyed our trip. There are a couple of things we think could have improved our experience(we have used campervans over many years). Cupboards have a couple of shelves. Mirror fixed to the inside of the toilet door. A hook for coats in the toilet. Outside chairs while comfortable a foldup slightly higher one would be much easier to eat your meal. A small windbreak. A set of instructions to take with you re water, fridge, heater, gas, toilet, while Kesh was very good at giving instructions it is a lot to take in at the time. A rear vision mirror. Advising the hirer that you have an arrangement with the Camping Club before they collect their van(we had arranged an overseas subscription with them and had we known would have joined the Caravan Club to cover all bases). Kind regards and many thanks, sorry we did not get to Cambridge. Gerry and Helen Hugglestone"
Posted 7 months ago
"Kudos Campervan Tours, we've just completed a three month Ford Transit van hire. Everything we needed was there, we were totally satisfied with all aspects of the arrangement. Mechanically sound, good fuel economy, fabulous holiday, thank you."
Posted 8 months ago
"Whilst the on-line booking process, e-mail contact and Kesh's delivery and drop off service was exemplary, the vehicle itself was only adequate. Lack of automatic transmission, reversing camera, air conditioning and cruise control are features I would expect to find in a modern vehicle and made driving somewhat stressful from time to time. The interior layout also proved tiresome over the month of hire with the inability of two people being unable to pass from front to back of the vehicle without much pre-planning (and we are both of slim build!). I'm pleased we didn't hire in the summer period as ventilation at night would have been an issue."
Posted 8 months ago
Hi David,

Thank you for your recent review and compliments on our booking process and campervan handover. From reading your comments, it is clear to see that you would have preferred a higher grade model than the model that you booked. We do indeed offer automatic vehicles with air conditioning and cruise control but not at the price point that you booked and paid for. It's no different to booking your flight in that if you book business class (which costs more) then you will get wider seats and more refinements. Our campervans are all clearly advertised with accurate descriptions and photographs. We offer top of the range models for those who want everything and more basic models for people who want great reliable campervan at the best possible price. The more basic vans cost us less to buy and we can hire them out at much lower prices than the more expensive models. The deluxe models cost much more to purchase and whilst we offer great deals on these too, they do cost more to hire.

I am not sure if you have used campervans in the past but unless you go for a large "A" class motorhome, which is like a medium size bus, you will always have the width and length restrictions. Most of our more scenic backroads are not suitable for large "A" class motorhomes (which also need a special driving licence) so we don't offer the very large vehicle option, which I believe is where your expectation might have been.

Our campervans are very carefully designed and always built on vans that are known for their reliability and serviceability. We cater mostly for Australian and New Zealand couples on long duration tours, who need the type of service that we can provide.

Thank you hiring your campervan with us and for your valued feedback. I hope that my explanation has clarified that we provided exactly the option that you booked and also that more expensive options could have been chosen at the time of booking, which would have had the extra refinements that you mentioned.

Very best regards,

Martin
Posted 8 months ago
Campervan Tours is rated 4.78 based on 107 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support