Weekend a la carte Aurora Nights Reviews

4.87 Rating 489 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend Weekend a la carte Aurora Nights
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone
queries resolved in
2 - 3 Hours
Read Weekend a la carte Aurora Nights Reviews

Write Your review

Tell us how Weekend a la carte Aurora Nights made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Brilliant trip to Abisko in Swedish Lapland! Scenery was absolutely stunning and wonderful views of the Northern Lights. Accommodation at Abisko mountain lodge was first class....food was excellent, staff very helpful. Weekend a la carte were very friendly and helpful with the organisation and quickly sorted out an admin error which occurred when we arrived out our destination...we would thoroughly recommend them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Despite flight delays, a wonderful week in a fabulous place. 10/10 for Camp Ripan and its staff. All activities were well organised and thoroughly enjoyable. A few points for Weekend a la Carte - Lots of conflicting times on the travel plan provided. Also timings given to us by Petri did not fit with actual pick ups so that we were waiting around in the hotel a couple of times and we had to re arrange trip to Ice Hotel with him ourselves. Set menu at the hotel not ideal for children. Time booked for our visit to the spa was only for 2 people (not all 4 of us) as children not allowed in after 4pm. Snowmobile/fishing day - lunch was not cooked in the wild or cooked on a fire.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Mattarahkka Lodge was perfect for our 3 night stay. If the Northern Lights are out it is a real plus that you only need to step outside the lodge to see them (which we were lucky enough to do so)! The excellent food and ambience was enhanced by the staff and Mikko who whilst busy was always helpful. The night time snowmobiling was fun and the husky sledding really enjoyable (especially the post ride massaging of the dogs). I would definitely recommend the lodge and activities.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Fantastic company and fantastic communication. Everything was handled and we didn't have to worry about a thing. They even made the northern lights come out 3 times for us!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
We booked Northern Lights in Iceland with Weekend a la carte. The service was excellent from the start. Our trip was impacted by the two storms in the UK and Iceland. Abigail took care of the entire rescheduling of our trip without us worrying about it. Thanks for all your help. Our trip was brilliant and we will use Weekend a la carte again.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
We had a lovely trip to Swedish Lapland. We stayed at Mattarahkka Sami lodge which was in a beautiful location. The standard of food was very good but the fact there was no choice as to what we could eat at meal times was difficult as we don’t eat beef and my husband doesn’t eat fish and we had no way of purchasing any other food. It would have also been nice if we had more of an opportunity to see the native wild life and I would have liked it if on the bbq evening if we could have gone to see if we could see the northern lights in more than one location. It felt like because we had seen the lights once we should go home, when it would have been nice to have attempted to see more as it is a once in a life experience for us and it wasn’t late in the evening.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
The organization of this trip was excellent - everything worked like clockwork (except for the snow...). We managed to see and do a lot in a short space of time but also had time to relax and enjoy ourselves. A few observations: Management at the Ice Hotel was a bit slow. We had to queue for about 30 minutes for check in - which seems a little surprising as they knew we were all coming in! The welcome we had at the Abisko Mountain Lodge was superb - Nicolas was much fun. However the bedroom walls are very very thin so it is hard not to hear your neighbours conversations The dog sledging team were wonderful. They way they look after and treat their dogs is so lovely. Our guide was particularly welcoming and looked after us so well. Thank you for organising such a wonderful trip.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
The organisation and communication was flawless from start to finish and the team on the ground also brilliant and rearranged things where the weather was against us etc. We even got the lights on our photography evening so big bucket list box ticked. Abisko Mountain Lodge was a perfect location with fabulous food and hospitality but above all a great team who went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. We would not hesitate to use Weekend a la carte for another break and thank you again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
We absolutely loved our trip - thank you! The itinerary was executed perfectly by experienced local people who went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect. We booked with Weekend a la carte on the back of a recommendation and wouldn’t hesitate in sending others your way (in fact, we already have!). Amazing. Thank you so much.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Fantastic tour! Had an absolutely wonderful time. Kevin and Jan and the team at Weekend a la Carte were excellent. Complete tour was organised so well, we had an absolutely stress-free holiday. Great company, very easy to deal with, good tour and good service. Thank you all so much.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
This has to have been one of the best trips we have ever been on and we have travelled as a couple and family to many different places around the world. From the minute we landed in Lulea airport and were met by our lovely taxi driver Tomas. He was so friendly and chatted the whole way to the Tree Hotel and was very informative about the area and Sweden. We stayed in the Mirrorcube and the Cabin in the Tree Hotel and what an experience. The staff there were great and again so friendly. The trip organised for our first day was with the fabulous Anna Kuhmunen a Sami reindeer herder who as it happens had once lived in the village next to ours in Ireland and still had friends there that we also know. Anna gave us a super afternoon and we learnt so much from her about the Sami traditions. We travelled by train to Kiruna and the next 2 nights were in the Ice Hotel. While it is a much bigger hotel the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our two evening meals there in the Restaurant were great with lovely food, wine & service. We did snowmobiling here with Mikko and Dog Sledding with Evelina and again they really looked after us and gave us a great time. After the Ice Hotel we headed up the the Abisko Mountain Lodge for our final two nights. We were greeted by Peter who gave us a great welcome. Our activity that night was the Photography up on Abisko Mountain with Rob and another lovely guide. Both evening meals here were top class. I could go on and on about this trip and the great people we met both staff and fellow travellers but I would be writing for a long time. Finally just to say that Weekend a la Carte had every detail covered and the whole trip ran extremely smoothly.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Very easy booking process. By booking a tour that included everything it allowed me to sit back and relax. Flights, accommodation, food and activities all within one price. Great information received by email and post. The staff at the lodge were amazing as were the staff at Weekend a la carte when booking. I am so glad I booked this trip with this company, brilliant.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Every guide , driver etc exemplary. Abisko Mountain Lodge excellent. One point which is nothing to do with Weekend a la carte is that if you go to sky station the cold weather clothing the station supply is compulsory and as we already had clothing on supplied by Abisko Mountain Lodge we struggled getting the suits on. I think you should be advised of this so you can wear your own gear (ski suit) and then put sky station gear on. We had a fantastic time (didn’t see lights) and would not hesitate to use Weekend a la carte again in the future
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Great holiday and full of amazing experiences. Everything was well organised and all the activities and pick-ups went exactly as planned. Abisko Mountain Lodge was lovely - staff exceptionally helpful and friendly, food was excellent every night. Highlights were the photography evening and the dog sledding. Realise there's a lot of activities to fit into the time, but not having a 9.30 start after the late visit to the sky station the evening before would have been good. Only gripe was the snowmobiling activity - we were complete novices, but we didn't get any chance to practice trying out the snowmobile before we were off at some speed across sometimes tricky and rough terrain - we often lost sight of the activity leader as she speeded off ahead of us, as we tried to keep control of the snowmobile at a slower pace. Perhaps offering an alternative to snowmobiling would be possible?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
An amazing few days that lived up to everything it promised!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Fantastic holiday packed full of amazing activities. Particular highlights included the dog sledding and snowmobiling in Kiruna and the wilderness photography tour in Abisko. A no show for the Aurora, but it didn't matter because the whole experience was truly magical. Lots of memories for future years to come for my Dad and I. Thank you to Weekend a la carte for organising such a fantastic trip and to both the lodges in Kiruna and Abisko for making us feel welcome, cosy and relaxed from the start.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Just returned from a fantastic northern lights experience in Kiruna (Mattarahkka). Can’t commend the trip highly enough and in particular the arrangements for the activities and the staff at the Lodge who were so helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone wanting to experience an arctic experience - we did snowmobiling, dog sledding (twice) visited the Ice Hotel and a enjoyed a Sami evening. We saw the Northern Lights twice during the 5 days we were there which was the icing on the cake.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Our travel arrangements were well organised, we even had help when the rail link was closed due to repairs and the road was closed with snowdrift. The hotel accommodation was was good and the food available was delicious. The activities were well organised and great fun. There were daily opportunities to see the Lights and we succeeded with a magnificent display. Even if luck had not been on our side we thoroughly enjoyed our trip.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Customer service from start to finish was excellently
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
We had a great stay at the Abisko Mountain Lodge. The food was great, the activities were perfect [weather helped here as others in the lodge weren't so lucky] and the service and staff at the lodge were fantastic [they made the holiday an experience we will never forget and can't be praised highly enough]. One issue was the size of the room which is tiny by anyone's standards and the lack of noise insulation which affected our ability to get a decent nights sleep. The transfer through Stockholm airport going out wasn't as easy as it could have been and coming back was chaotic with only 20-25 mins from when our plane landed to when the next flight was due to take off. With no clear direction to the connecting bus [which we couldn't find] we had to rush the whole length of the airport going back through security and only just made it on to the connecting flight to Heathrow [we were not the only ones forced to do this and we believe at least one person missed the flight]. The time slot was so tight that our baggage didn't make it on to the flight and we had to wait until the next day to get it back. It was a shame as it spoiled what had been a perfect break [clearer direction from SAS staff that matches the printed itinerary is a must for what is a very tight connection if there is any delay with the flight from Kiruna]. This holiday deserved a Very Good rating but was let down by the accommodation and the connecting flight arrangements.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Weekend a la carte Aurora Nights is rated 4.87 based on 489 reviews