Weekend a la carte Aurora Nights Reviews

4.87 Rating 364 Reviews
99% of reviewers recommend Weekend a la carte Aurora Nights

Write Your review

Tell us how Weekend a la carte Aurora Nights made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email
communication channels
5
Beverly Lindsay
"Absolutely fantastic holiday which was a surprise to celebrate my husband’s 60th. Attention to detail and itinerary excellent. Wilderness cabin was magical and to top it off we experienced a wonderful display of the Northern lights. Thank you so much for your very professional organisation."
Report
Posted 2 days ago
5
Timothy Cooper
"We had a brilliant 4 nights in Iceland, incredible country with scenery that blows your mind. Both hotels were great, especially Ranga and the tours were amazing to experience, especially if you see the northern lights like we did."
Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Howard Ingleson
"We had a great break in Iceland. Sadly no Northern Lights, but the scenery was stunning, good accommodation, and some excellent meals, particularly in Reykjavík. The highlight was the Superjeep tour, our guide Stefan was great fun, both on the Northern lights evening, and the glacier trip, which was combined with the river tour and ended up as a whole day out. We avoided the Blue Lagoon, partly due to flight timing, and partly due to wanting to avoid the tourist trail, and we were glad we did this, and enjoyed a relaxing evening in Reykjavík instead."
Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Absolutely fantastic holiday which was a surprise to celebrate my husband’s 60th. Attention to detail and itinerary excellent. Wilderness cabin was magical and to top it off we experienced a wonderful display of the Northern lights. Thank you so much for your very professional organisation."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Dear Beverly Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I'm so thrilled you had such a wonderful time and your husband had such a memorable 60th. It really is lovely to hear how it all went. Regards Abigail
Posted 1 day ago
"This was one of the best weekends we have ever experienced. Perfectly organised and scheduled by Weekend a la carte. Big thanks to South Coast for their personal attention and great trips - we had an absolute blast and will certainly be returning to Iceland for another adventure. Thanks all :-)"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"We had a brilliant 4 nights in Iceland, incredible country with scenery that blows your mind. Both hotels were great, especially Ranga and the tours were amazing to experience, especially if you see the northern lights like we did."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Dear Timothy
So delighted you had such a great time and thanks for taking the time for your kind review. Great shot too! Regards Abigail
Posted 2 weeks ago
"We had a very enjoyable break, even though the bad weather led to a number of cancelled trips. The hotel was very nice and the food good. We especially enjoyed the Super Jeep trip up to the glaciers. And Omah was a terrific guide - very knowledgable and good company. The only downside was that the name that my flight was booked in did not match my passport, which led to a prolonged conversation at passport control in both directions. Otherwise a good experience that I would recommend. Steve"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Dear Steve
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and I am delighted you had a good time despite the cancelled activities due to poor weather. I have just double checked and the flights were booked in the exact names as you supplied to us on your passenger form. Very pleased it did not cause a real problem for you and that you were allowed to fly. Thank you again for taking the time to Review us. Regards Abigail
Posted 2 weeks ago
"We had a great break in Iceland. Sadly no Northern Lights, but the scenery was stunning, good accommodation, and some excellent meals, particularly in Reykjavík. The highlight was the Superjeep tour, our guide Stefan was great fun, both on the Northern lights evening, and the glacier trip, which was combined with the river tour and ended up as a whole day out. We avoided the Blue Lagoon, partly due to flight timing, and partly due to wanting to avoid the tourist trail, and we were glad we did this, and enjoyed a relaxing evening in Reykjavík instead."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Dear Howard, Thank you for your kind review and delighted you had such a good time. The photo is gorgeous so you obviously had some great weather. Disappointed for you that you didn't get to see the Northern Lights - I just wish they were on a switch as it would make my life a lot easier! Thank you again for taking the time to write in. Regards Abigail
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Action- packed adventure taking in all the wonderful experiences that Iceland offers"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your kind rating of 5 stars and delighted you had such a great time- it certainly is an incredible country. BTW epic photo! Regards Abigail
Posted 1 month ago
"We planned this trip as a joint celebration of our 50th Birthdays and it was utterly memorable in so many fantastic ways. The Wilderness Cabin is in an amazing location, beautifully designed and appointed and with a sense of isolation and space that we've rarely come across before. The huge windows allow you to experience the full daytime and night-time views, out of the wind and from the comfort of underfloor heating. We found ourselves walking around the house with the lights off on clear nights, using moonlight as our only light source. On our self catering nights and breakfasts, the food stocking the fridge and cupboards was plentiful and varied so we never lacked for anything. It was such a relaxing place to be in. On arrival at the house on the first night we were greeted by our guide Stefan (from Southcoast Adventure) who had cooked for us, and yes the local lamb is something else. He picked us up the following morning for our Golden Circle Tour and with just the two of us in the car, we spent the entire day entranced by the landscapes unfolding before us. Stefan was great company, huge fun to be around, relaxed but knowledgeable and allowed us to explore at it all our own pace. He also took us in a larger group on a Super Jeep tour to Ejyafjallajokull and Porsmork the following day - an incredible trip with stunning views that will last long in our memories. Stefan and the other staff we met from Southcoast Adventure were relaxed yet professional, and all enthused to share their amazing homeland. Heading to toward Reykjavik via the Blue Lagoon, we stayed in the very handily situated and comfortable Hotel Centrum before an early morning flight back. It was an incredible trip, effortless in terms of the planning and organisation from Weekend a la Carte and both of us were stunned by what Iceland had to offer and can't wait to go back."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Dear Alan
I am so delighted you clearly had such a wonderful time. The cabin is indeed very special and the local team are excellent, and I have of course passed on your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to give us such detailed feedback. It really makes all the difference to us. Regards Abigail
Posted 1 month ago
"I booked a long weekend to Iceland for my parents and they could not have spoken highly enough about every element of it, from all their excursions to the hotel! They were particularly impressed with their tour guide Gisli Pall who worked for mountain taxi’s with the super jeeps, his knowledge was second to none. For me booking was such an easy and stress free process, there was always someone who would promptly reply to my emails if I had any queiries. Thank you!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Dear Jacqueline, Thank you for taking the time to feedback and we are so pleased that your parents had such a super time, and clearly enjoyed Iceland so much. Thank you for letting us know - it's always a lovely start to the day! Regards Abigail
Posted 1 month ago
"What an amazing place! Everything arranged by Weekend a la carte was fantastic. The team at South Coast Adventure were brilliant - it was great to spend the days with them on the tours, and they were really helpful when the hire car had a flat battery and would not start on our last day. The meal cooked by the guide on our arrival was superb - the best lamb I have ever had...The house is incredible and really well stocked - there was plenty of food! The Northern Lights didn't appear so we will just have to visit again. Shame! Can't wait."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Dear Andrew, Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted you had such a great time. Sorry to hear you did not see the Northern Lights , but it clearly did not spoil your trip and as you said leaves an excuse for another visit ! Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us. I have of course passed onto the local team. Regards Abigail
Posted 1 month ago
"Our break to Iceland was mixed. Unfortunately, the Northern Lights were a no show. All of our hotels were very good. The excursion to see the Northern Lights in my opinion should have been cancelled as the weather was bad and the prediction of any aurora activity was low. The glacier excursion had to be significantly changed due to the weather but the guide did the best he could, consequently, both trips did not meet our expectation."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Dear Peter, thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent trip. The weather has really been a challenge the last 10 days and has sadly affected people's trips. We always try to go ahead with the trip if we can, but sometimes we cancel when it is obvious that there really is no chance of seeing the Northern Lights and so no point going out. Ironically I have had another client complain that the activity was cancelled without us at least going out to try ! It is tricky and we rely on our local partners expertise to judge the situation. I am sorry that you did not see the Northern Lights and so as a result are disappointed. Thankyou again for taking the time to feed back. I have passed on in full your feedback to our local partners. Regards
Posted 1 month ago
"Great experience from start to finish. The Weekend a la Carte team were really helpful during the booking process and right up to when we travelled answering questions and providing information on the trip. The in country team from South Coast Adventures made our stay so memorable and special with their extensive local and national knowledge and personal service. I would highly recommend this trip and the organisers both at home and in Iceland"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Dear Elizabeth

Thank you for your kind lovely review - the first of this season ! Delighted you had such a great time. Regards Abigail
Posted 2 months ago
"A little trepidation before we went with thoughts of freezing temperatures and lots of physical activity. Both in our 70's and not as fit as we could be. Result : Best weekend in a long time. We do get away a fair bit but usually to the sun. Everyone involved seemed to know what we were doing better than we did. Organization was incredible, activities well planned and executed, everyone friendly and helpful. Johann, our host at the wilderness lodge, is an excellent chef ( from someone who lives with 2 of them) and great guide on the snow mobiles. Apologies to him as he had to dig me out of deep snow twice. Dog sledding was magic. Sami cultural evening thoroughly enjoyable. And then the lights... As if you had planned that as well, last minute but right on time !! Great weekend, how did we pack so much into 3 days ? Can't stop talking about it. Very happy."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"We had a fantastic bucket list trip to view the Northern Lights. Not only were the lights spectacular, but we had a wonderful time doing all the many other activities that were booked too, e.g., dog sledding, snowmobiling, learning about the Sami culture and reindeer sledding. The accommodations were great, as was the service and food. Thank you, Weekend a la Carte, for exceeding our expectations and for the memories of a lifetime!"
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"Great Service and attention to detail"
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"Superbly organized aurora and arctic activities agenda The tour organizers, Kevin (owner) and Jan, provided a lot of personalized attention, including some fine tuning of the agenda to meet our desires. This tour is really a managed agenda, with accommodations, dining, transportation and activities arranged and coordinated. This isn’t a group tour, with a lot of fellow travelers and a lot of bus time. Weekend à la Carte knows the good places to stay and eat, and fun ways to spend the daylight hours in the arctic. Everyone we met along the way was charming, upbeat and helpful. While there were activities planned each day, there was also a nice amount of unscheduled time for relaxation. Our top objective was to experience the northern lights. By track record, Kiruna and Abisko, in the far north of Sweden, are among the optimal accessible viewing locations in the world. Of course both terrestrial and solar weather have to cooperate. We are happy to report that we did have two nights of aurora sighting, one of which was particularly ample and exciting. The leaders of our two organized aurora hunting outings were fantastic: enthusiastic and helpful (especially for the outing with provided aurora-friendly cameras). We encountered temperatures between -4 and -26C. The nighttime aurora watching times were the coldest. We are happy to report that the provided arctic clothing, along with Weekend à la Carte’s clothing guidance, meant that we were comfortable even in the cold. In fact, it was a pleasure to be out in the stunning landscape without any distraction from the cold. It was actually fun to be outside. We were surprised how much fun all the daytime “filler” activities were: Time with reindeer and their Sami (Lapland indigenous people) owners: We fed and harnessed the reindeer, and then enjoyed a long sled ride (with one of us “driving” and the other enjoying the ride) through the beautiful snowy arctic countryside. Upon return to the reindeer home base, we learned how to throw a lasso Sami-style, and then enjoyed lunch (of reindeer meat) and coffee in a lavvu, which is the traditional teepee-like Sami all-purpose structure. Our host taught us with charm about the fascinating and difficult history and current life of the Sami people. Snowmobiling: We enjoyed a generous amount of time snowmobiling through the snowy forests, over frozen lakes, and atop all-white mountains. Dog sledding: Another day out in the gorgeous landscape, this time pulled by six dogs per two-person sled. The leaders, and owners of the dogs, told us to wait until the dogs were silent before calling out to them to start. The dogs are so eager to run that they jump, bark and yelp in anticipation. The owners want to ensure that the dogs associate quiet and order with the pleasure of running. At one point during the outing, we all stopped in an open snow-covered spot. Suddenly many of the dogs, including “ours,” started pulling to the left and barking. We held the sled in place while the owners coerced the dogs back onto the track. Apparently, a vulnerable reindeer was standing in the nearby woods, attracting the eager attention of the dogs. Once back at home base, we were instructed to give “our” dogs a post-run massage; it is important to help relax the dogs’ muscles after the exertion and assist their circulation from feet back to heart. We were instructed to massage the front legs from feet up, then down the back from head to tail, and finally the back legs from feet up. The dogs were in heaven! They nuzzled us, licking, tails wagging furiously."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"The trip was simply the best and more! The beauty of the Lapland scenery, the exhilaration of Husky sledging with such beautiful dogs, and to top it all, fantastic food. And then the bonus - the Northern Lights put on a display."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"Excellent short break. Even though nature never allowed us a view of the whales or northern lights, the golden circle jeep tour more than made up for this. (Thanks Kate @ superjeep). Blue lagoon is also a brilliant and relaxing experience. Hotel Centrum was great and staff really helpful. Will be visiting again"
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Thank you so much for your kind review though am sorry to hear you did not get to see everything you wanted to. I wish the Northern Lights were on a switch as would make my job a lot easier! I am pleased you had a good time despite not seeing them. Regards Abigail
Posted 8 months ago
"We had a wonderful trip to Swedish Lapland with Weekend a la carte. The Lodge was perfect and the staff friendly and helpful. We saw the Northern Lights twice during the stay. A magical experience which we will never forget. Dog sledding with Ylva and Peter (and Leo age 3) was fantastic, we really felt like guests of the family rather than clients. Andreas took us Snowmobiling for a morning, which was great fun. All of the experiences we had with Weekend a la carte over the four days had an exclusive feel, These are not mass-market excursions along with lots of others. Bjorn and the rest of the staff were excellent. If you are thinking of making this trip, don't,.... just do it. You won't regret it."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"The trip was very well organised, we had a great time. Wouldn't hesitate to use again"
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"The best organised trip we've ever been on, from the booking to the choice of hotel and activities and even the planning of the activities so they were nicely spaced over the holiday - it was all fabulous."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Weekend a la carte Aurora Nights is rated 4.87 based on 364 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support