Weekend a la carte Aurora Nights Reviews

4.87 Rating 326 Reviews
99% of reviewers recommend Weekend a la carte Aurora Nights

How would you rate Weekend a la carte Aurora Nights?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need a working email address to verify that your review is genuine.

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

5
Anita Carthew
Anita Carthew
Verified Buyer
"Fantastic service, and the holiday delivered beyond expectations - I couldn’t recommend Aurora Nights highly enough. When our flight back to Stockholm was delayed we missed our flight home - Aurora Nights sorted in under 5 minutes and got us on the next available flight - really impressive"
Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
5
Catherine Bennett
Catherine Bennett
Verified Buyer
"Absolutely amazing holiday. Evrything went as planned, all pick ups on time, no issues whatsoever"
Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Javier Puertolas
Javier Puertolas
Verified Buyer
"A few days ago we returned from our trip to Swedish Lapland, and I am writing to thank you for your work. The trip was great. Everything (reservations, trips, activities ...) worked perfectly. And the weather also behaved very well, with completely blue skies (or stellate), and without any wind. Of course the temperatures were low, but well equipped we did not experience anything cold. The guides on the dog sleds, the snowmobile, the nights of photography of the auroras, the staff of the hotels ... were lovely and you can convey our thanks. And the auroras visited us the two nights of observation, so the trip allowed us to fulfill absolutely all our objectives. Thank you very much, from your Spanish travelers. Muchas gracias Javier and Mariaje"
Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Lynda Mead
Verified Buyer
"Everything ran really smoothly. The transfers from airport and hotel were there on time and all the drivers were friendly. The staff at Mattarahkka lodge were very helpful and knowledgeable. Whilst the rooms were small they were very clean and the constant supply of drinks and biscuits went down well. Meals were good quality but could have been more plentiful. Usually there was only one course for lunch (soup/stew) and for evening meal although we had dessert on 2 evenings. However, there was a good selection for breakfast."
Helpful Report
Posted 18 hours ago
Victoria Nixon
Verified Buyer
"Everything well organised, hire car was good, both hotels good (although sound proofing between rooms is not good, can hear people walking above you in Reykjavik centrum and in both hotels, people using wall sockets) especially hotel Rangá, the setting and hospitality were fantastic, loved the hot tubs outside. The scenery was amazing! The superjeep tour was fantastic, unfortunately due to the weather, we could not visit the crater of Eyjafjallajökull, but the tour around porsmork was still fabulous and Magnus from south coast adventures was very friendly and knowledgeable. Sadly, again, due to the cloud and supposed weak aurora activity, our other superjeep tour for the northern lights never went ahead, although the second night we should have gone (and was cancelled again) they did show, albeit not vividly, at hotel Rangá, but enough to get a couple of photos. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our trip."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Thank you for your very kind rating and feedback. I am delighted you had a great time despite some quite challenging weather conditions, and even saw a glimmer of the Northern Lights. February has been the worst month weather wise for many years so I am so pleased that despite this you had a good time. Regards Abigail
Posted 4 days ago
Brian Ramsey
Verified Buyer
"We cannot praise Weekend a la carte enough for their magnificent organisation of our wonderful Aurora Nights holiday. Not only did we have the most incredible experiences but every detail of our trip was planned and executed to perfection. The service provided by each of the organisations involved was exceptional and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Weekend a la carte for arranging such a memorable adventure. Brian and Faye. Australia."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Mark Norton
Verified Buyer
"From start to finish our trip with Weekend a la carte was fantastic. The trip was well organised making us feel special, having small groups for all the activities and giving us plenty of time to enjoy them. All the staff involved in our trip were friendly, enthusiastic and helpful."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Philip Hendy
Verified Buyer
"I must write to thank Kevin and Jan for arranging and organising such a wonderful holiday for us. Everything ran smoothly, good accommodation, excellent food and wonderful excursions all supplied by a great team in Sweden who could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The loss of the Chair Lift up to the Sky Station was, of course, disappointing but on the night we were offered 2 spare places on a snowmobile pulled sledge that took us from the Sky Station out through the forests onto a frozen lake where we had hot drinks and cake in one of the Mountain Huts on the Kings Trail. Unfortunately, no northern lights that night but quite an exciting ride through the forest. However, we did see some northern lights on other nights and brought some pictures home along with our memories. Please pass my thanks onto Mikko at Mattarahka who found some size 50 boots for me when the largest they originally had were only 48’s. I think he must have gone off and bought a new pair especially, he could not have been more helpful. The only thing that could have improved our experience would have been to have the use of a suitable camera, correctly set up for taking pictures of the northern lights, with us for the whole time we were in Sweden. The cameras supplied by Mikko at Mattarahka were ideal, they were pocket size and had been set up so that we inexperienced photographers, could point and shoot. These cameras also showed a continuous image on the screen, so you could see what you were about to take a picture of unlike the larger cameras supplied at Abrisko by the Lights over Abrisko organisation. Their cameras did not show an image on the screen until after the picture had been taken, so it was very much a “point in the general direction and then see what you have taken a picture of”. Both of these ‘supplied’ cameras produced good images. However, on a couple of nights when we were not supplied with cameras, we did see the aroura, but my own digital camera was not really up to getting good pictures. In hind sight I would have been very happy to pay a bit extra to hire a suitable camera and tripod for the week. Perhaps this is something that could be added to the available options in the future."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Mark Reneerkens
Verified Buyer
"The holiday exceeded our expectations and all the activities were amazing. The whole experience went seamlessly apart from the journey home: the plane in Kiruna was delayed which meant we missed our connection. SAS rescheduled us on to the next available flight. Thoroughly enjoyed Snowmobiling, Dog Sledging, Sami experience, Ice Fishing and briefly seeing the Northern Lights. Mattarahkka Lodge is very homely and comfortable. The staff made us very welcome and all the other guests were friendly and like-minded."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Lorna Gibb
Verified Buyer
"All information was provided promptly and booking was so easy. The package was perfect for us as all flights, including internal flights, transfers, accommodation and excursions were arranged in advance. All we had to do was turn up and enjoy our holiday at Abisko Lodge. We cannot praise the accommodation, superb cuisine and all the staff enough for making sure we had a holiday to remember! The staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for any of them. exceptional (Nicklas gin & tonic with cucumber and black pepper was amazing!). The lodge had a real family atmosphere and even when we had last minute changes to plans due to adverse weather and sky station problems we were quickly and efficiently given alternatives. Every day was an adventure and if I could go back tomorrow and do it all again I would, been back for over a week and am still buzzing. Could I recommend this holiday. Absolutely! A big thank you to everyone at Abisko lodge and Kevin and Jan for giving us the holiday of a life time."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Tina Mehta
Verified Buyer
"We were after a luxurious trip to celebrate a 40th birthday in our party. They sold us exactly what we asked for!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
So pleased you had a great time and it met your expectations. Regards Abigail
Posted 1 week ago
John McKay
Verified Buyer
"The organisation was superb. Everything that we dreamed of was achieved. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"everything went according to plan and was better than I expected, the only problem was out of Weekend a la carte's hands and even then they sorted out a compensation package without any problem at all and I would definitely recommend people to the company and to stay in an "Ice Room""
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Anita Carthew
Verified Buyer
"Fantastic service, and the holiday delivered beyond expectations - I couldn’t recommend Aurora Nights highly enough. When our flight back to Stockholm was delayed we missed our flight home - Aurora Nights sorted in under 5 minutes and got us on the next available flight - really impressive"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Blake Brooks
Verified Buyer
"Every question I had from the very beginning was answered promptly and thoroughly, and I felt very well prepared for my trip. It could not have been more stress-free, and after having such a wonderful experience I also think it's excellent value for money."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Sarah Midwinter
Verified Buyer
"We had a great time in Iceland even though we didn’t see the Northern Lights! The itinery and arrangements made for us were spot on. Hotel Centrum was ok and functional but Hotel Ranga was excellent. Would recommend and use Weekend a la carte again"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Geoff Vande Velde
Verified Buyer
"The tour guides are amazing! We had four different ones over the course of the break. They were so welcoming and friendly we felt like we were leaving our friends behind. It's surprising that we only met these people from a such a brief period. Sæli who welcomed us into the Wilderness Cabin was brilliant company. He shared some great stories about Iceland and folk law on the past. We believe in elves now too, hard not too. Our tour guide Árni for The Golden Circle tour was brilliant, tours in these small groups are the best. The weather forecast for seeing Northern Lights was not good, and they offered to reschedule our evening tour. Neither day was looking good so I asked if they could still take us out. Clear skys of not, a camp fire is always good. Stefán and Einar picked us up and took us hiking up an ice gorge with crampons for the walking boots, what an amazing experience. Then we had a fire in the mouth of cave with some hot beverages. The clouds cleared and we could see all the stars, so we just lay there watching shooting stars fly by. On our way back, the Northern Lights came out, and we pulled over to watch and photograph them. They know what's important and went the extra mile for us. The super jeep tour up the volcano was brilliant, we couldn't get to the top due to weather but the guide was able to take us to a ridge where we could watch the sunrise. Reykjavik on our final days was brilliant, sadly no sight of whales on the tour but we did see a huge pod of dolphins leaping out of the water. One of the best holidays I've ever had."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Dear Geoff

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback - and for such wonderful feedback! I am delighted you clearly had such a great time! Iceland is a special place and I agree the guides we work with are exceptional. Thank you so much again. Regards Abigail
Posted 3 weeks ago
Neil Jordan
Verified Buyer
"They delivered exactly the itinerary promised, with some quite complex logistics handled without fuss which meant that we could relax and enjoy a superb break."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Yvonne McCulloch
Verified Buyer
"We had a wonderful trip, we were very happy with everything; the organisation, the information provided, the excursions, food, accommodation and transfers. All staff were outstanding and couldn't do enough for us. Was the trip of a lifetime and think Weekend A La Carte did an outstanding job - definite 10/10. Hard to pick one highlight from so many, the dog sledding was fantastic, but the Northern Lights photography was essential to see the northern lights at their best. Thanks for everything, look forward to booking with you again. Yvonne and David"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Catherine Bennett
Verified Buyer
"Absolutely amazing holiday. Evrything went as planned, all pick ups on time, no issues whatsoever"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Javier Puertolas
Verified Buyer
"A few days ago we returned from our trip to Swedish Lapland, and I am writing to thank you for your work. The trip was great. Everything (reservations, trips, activities ...) worked perfectly. And the weather also behaved very well, with completely blue skies (or stellate), and without any wind. Of course the temperatures were low, but well equipped we did not experience anything cold. The guides on the dog sleds, the snowmobile, the nights of photography of the auroras, the staff of the hotels ... were lovely and you can convey our thanks. And the auroras visited us the two nights of observation, so the trip allowed us to fulfill absolutely all our objectives. Thank you very much, from your Spanish travelers. Muchas gracias Javier and Mariaje"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Nicola Little
Verified Buyer
"From our initial enquiry to the holiday itself - transfers, trips, etc - the team looked after us so very well, and answered all of our (sometimes silly) questions promptly. Travel documentation arrived with a comprehensive itinerary, and once in Sweden the guides and team at the Mountain Lodge couldn't have been more cheery or helpful. We were lucky enough to see the aurora on all three nights of our stay which was really the icing on the cake as the trips were excellent and the food just marvellous. Highly recommend!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We had an amazing time. The team who looked after us was awesome and the lodge was very comfortable. All activities were well planned and very enjoyable. It was a great experience. Loved it !!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Weekend a la carte Aurora Nights is rated 4.87 based on 326 reviews