Weekend a la carte Aurora Nights Reviews

4.87 Rating 429 Reviews
99% of reviewers recommend Weekend a la carte Aurora Nights

Write Your review

Tell us how Weekend a la carte Aurora Nights made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email, Telephone
communication channels
5
Cheryl Davies
"Our Weekend a la carte Aurora Night adventure was a rousing success. We were thrilled by all aspects of our journey from the flight to Kiruna to our return to Stockholm. The accommodations at both lodges were spectacular with great comfort and staff that was always nearby to care for our every need. The guides were well - trained, personable, and shared very interesting information about the area and the way of life in Lapland. The food was delicious and plentiful. I especially enjoyed the dog sledding driving and meeting their wonderful trainer, Ilva. Bjorn was a wonderful guide at Mattarahka. Our Sami experience was a terrific night of learning about the life of the reindeer herders in that area. In Abisko, all transportation was handled with supreme efficiency. The lights, being our main focus, did not disappoint. Thank you to all our hosts and guides, and expecially to Weekend a la Carte for such a well - planned, seamless program to make our adventure of a lifetime a great success!"
Posted 8 hours ago
5
Valerie Edmonds
"Fantastic - once in a lifetime experience Local staff absolutely amazing - Mikko, Ellen etc really went the extra mile Never had personal service so good Ice hotel brilliant Mattarraka amazing Everything went like clockwork, heavy snow at Kiruna Airport meant we missed our connection at Stockholm and had to stay an extra night but we didn’t min about that!"
Posted 2 days ago
Kerry Corcoran
"The most memorable, enjoyable and expertly organised trip we have ever experienced. Weekend a la Carte are an exceptional company with the expertise to tailor make fabulous holidays. Highly recommend Northern Lights Iceland trip, especially in winter. Fantastic!"
Posted 1 week ago
"So much packed into 6 days, it's taken us time to recover from our trip to Sweden. All the arrangements worked very smoothly and we were delighted with our drivers. Thomas was a mine of information on the way between Lulea and Harads and in Kiruna, Petri took us on an adventure across the frozen river. The Hotel Rival in Stockholm was very well situated for walking to see the sights, staff were friendly and helpful, rooms very clean but much too warm for us. We really loved the Tree Hotel. We had 2 nights in the Cabin and watched sunsets and dawns from our bed. Staff were delightful and food excellent. Our Husky trip with Kim was an great experience. What a nice guy! The Ice hotel was not what we expected. It was so big and commercial. Although it was well organised, it didn't have the personal touch we experienced elsewhere. The ice structure and sculptures are, of course, amazing and the sleeping bags did their job, but the warm accommodation had little character. We much preferred the atmosphere at the Lodge when we went snowmobiling and felt that that would have been a better place to stay. All in all a great trip. We'll be back"
Posted 5 minutes ago
"Our Weekend a la carte Aurora Night adventure was a rousing success. We were thrilled by all aspects of our journey from the flight to Kiruna to our return to Stockholm. The accommodations at both lodges were spectacular with great comfort and staff that was always nearby to care for our every need. The guides were well - trained, personable, and shared very interesting information about the area and the way of life in Lapland. The food was delicious and plentiful. I especially enjoyed the dog sledding driving and meeting their wonderful trainer, Ilva. Bjorn was a wonderful guide at Mattarahka. Our Sami experience was a terrific night of learning about the life of the reindeer herders in that area. In Abisko, all transportation was handled with supreme efficiency. The lights, being our main focus, did not disappoint. Thank you to all our hosts and guides, and expecially to Weekend a la Carte for such a well - planned, seamless program to make our adventure of a lifetime a great success!"
Posted 8 hours ago
"The Abisko mountain lodge is perfectly located with literally a couple of hundred metre walk to get a good viewing spot for the lights, which we saw three nights out of four. The food is top class fine dining. The staff very friendly, informative and helpful. The room is as described, basic but functional. The organised trips are amazing, it all runs very smoothly. The clothing provided is the best and essential for staying out for hours aurora watching. The information provided by weekend a la carte is invaluable and accurate, we were VERY well prepared. No hesitation whatsoever in recommending Weekend a la carte and the package we took."
Posted 1 day ago
"Fantastic - once in a lifetime experience Local staff absolutely amazing - Mikko, Ellen etc really went the extra mile Never had personal service so good Ice hotel brilliant Mattarraka amazing Everything went like clockwork, heavy snow at Kiruna Airport meant we missed our connection at Stockholm and had to stay an extra night but we didn’t min about that!"
Posted 2 days ago
"Mattarahkka is a homely, intimate place, where the staff are interested in you and very friendly. Abisko Mountain Lodge is a bit bigger and a little less personal, nevertheless the staff where very helpful. I did have some concerns about the menu, as there was not a choice, but all food was good. Excursions were all well organised and offered what was promised, we didn't get the most spectacular of aurora shows, but we did see it. Thank you for organising a great, packed and interesting few days."
Posted 3 days ago
"The short break was better than we expected, the first Hotel Ranga , you could not wish for a better location , the hotel facilities were excellent along with all the staff we came in to contact with , everyone was pleased to help in any way they could . The location for our two nights in Reykjavik was also fantastic , if we would have changed anything it would have been to stay an extra night at Ranga as there was a lot more activities we could have done on the third day . The Blue Lagoon is a must visit . The two trips which were organised for us again the staff were great and very knowledgeable, unfortunately we did not see the northern lights but this means we will have to do it all again . Recommend when driving hire a GPS this is about €5 per day . Sign of a good tour company was that they contacted us by email when they saw the report of bad weather coming in to check all was ok with us ."
Posted 3 days ago
Dear Neil
Thank you for your kind review and I am so delighted you clearly had such a wonderful time - despite the weather !. I have of course passed on your feedback to the local team. Regards Abigail
Posted 3 days ago
"The most memorable, enjoyable and expertly organised trip we have ever experienced. Weekend a la Carte are an exceptional company with the expertise to tailor make fabulous holidays. Highly recommend Northern Lights Iceland trip, especially in winter. Fantastic!"
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you Kerry for such kind words - I am so thrilled you had such a superb time in Iceland. It certainly is a magical country. Regards Abigail
Posted 6 days ago
"A very special holiday for a special occasion - all aspects of the trip met our expectations apart from the Abisko Sky Station, even the Aurora appeared on several occasions!"
Posted 1 week ago
"Fantastic holiday. Very well organised with welcoming hosts and activities. Due to weather was unable to go to Sky Station but was prepared that there would be no refund in event of weather conditions , so it surprised as others were. We were lucky enough to see Aurora. First class trip. Only scary bit was getting from one terminal to another fir connecting flight especially as first flight delayed. Thankfully found out there was a bus to take us to connecting Terminal. Thanks for everything ."
Posted 1 week ago
"A really good trip. Activities well organised and just right. Hotel basic but friendly helpful staff. The rooms and public areas could have been warmer. Everything went to plan and of the nights we were there, we certainly chose the best night for the photographic evening."
Posted 1 week ago
"This was our first ever 'winter' holiday and was booked to celebrate a very special occasion in our lives. Our 4 days away were great with the organised events really well executed (Even though they were all on different days from our published itinerary). The hostel staff and guides had lots of knowledge which they were only too glad to share with us. We will certainly remember our planned experiences on this trip with very fond memories all topped off with seeing the fantastic Aurora My only criticism is that I do feel Weekend A La Carte could be more open about the level of accommodation when booking. Customers need to be aware that it is very basic Hostel accommodation with single beds, not necessarily next to each other, and no hanging space for clothing so that you have to live out of your suitcase. We were shocked and disappointed at the level of our room, thankfully the great staff and events made up for this What makes a good company a great company is going that little bit further for their customer. I would have thought that by asking the reason for your trip when booking it would have meant that something may have been said/done e.g. celebratory glass of wine!"
Posted 1 week ago
Dear Michael
Thank you for the feedback and I take note of your comments.

Firstly I am delighted that you got to see the Aurora and the activities were enjoyable. Abisko is world class on both these fronts.

I hope you don't feel we overplayed the description of Abisko Mountain Lodge's bedrooms. We do give clients the ability to upgrade to superior rooms at the time of booking for guaranteed double beds and extra comfort.

The standard rooms are 3 star, the deluxe rooms 4 star and the hospitality and food is 5 star.

Your thoughts on a welcome drink or equivalent if you are celebrating a special occasion is a point well made and will be acted upon.

Thank you for traveling with us and best wishes
Kevin Collins
Managing Director
Posted 1 week ago
"A brilliant 8 day adventure in Stockholm, Kiruna and Abisko. Everyone at the hotels were friendly and helpful. The scenery was beautiful. I had a great time."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Brilliant holiday, loved every minute, comfortable Lodge and friendly staff. Food was delicious, eating dinner in the restaurant is 'fine dining' and the breakfast buffet was really good too. Activities were exciting and ticked another box for both of us, staff who led the activities were very friendly and helpful regarding answering any questions and offering to take photos of us during our activity. As a grand finale the Aurora showed itself on our last night, treating us to a spectacular Corona Aurora, this really made out holiday!! Going up to the Sky Station that evening was even better as we had a display of lights whilst on the chair lift, spectacular! We were very glad of the arctic clothing that we borrowed as it made a big difference and we were not cold at all despite the minus temperates. Flights were good and on time, nothing to complain about except it was over all too quickly!!"
Posted 2 weeks ago
"A first class trip with faultless and highly efficient organisation both from Weekend a la Carte and from all of the local Swedish staff at the Abisko Mountain Lodge who are all very good at their jobs. The rooms are basic but it is a Mountain Lodge 200 miles inside the Arctic Circle! The food there was fabulous and the arctic clothing was absolutely superb. All the activities were run by enthusiasts who are engaging, cheerful and very professional. We were lucky enough to see the aurora on 3 of the 4 nights which was as movingly spectacular as you could wish for and the Abisko area itself has to be seen to be believed. We have been back for a week and are still slightly stunned by the whole experience."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"An easy and straightforward booking process, great communication from the weekend a la carte team and an amazing holiday packed full of great sights and brilliant experiences. Couldnt of asked for more."
Posted 2 weeks ago
Dear Michael
Thank you for your kind feedback and delighted that you clearly had such a wonderful time in Iceland. Regards Abigail
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Everything ran like clockwork. Easy car hire, wonderful hotel in Ranga, great superjeep trip. Unfortunately no Northern lights but a truly different and exciting break."
Posted 2 weeks ago
Dear Kim
Thank you for taking the time to review and I am so pleased not you had a great time. Sorry you didn't get to see the Aurora's- maybe next time?! Regards Abigail
Posted 2 weeks ago
"An amazingly well put together The hotels were of excellent quality and being a family with dietary requirements the hotels were so accommodating with all meals being made to requirements. The trips were excellently executed A very memorable holiday"
Posted 2 weeks ago
Dear Jo
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and i am thrilled you had such a great time. I will pass your comments on to the team in Lapland. Thank you for traveling with us

Warm regards
Kevin Collins
Posted 2 weeks ago
Kevin meant Iceland!
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Wow! An amazing holiday, in an amazing country with amazingly people! Kevin and his team set up the perfect break. As explained, a couple of the experiences changed days but that was to enhance the holiday (our photography evening moved to the night when the northern lights were at their best in conjunction with clear skies). The Mattarakka lodge was a special place indeed and all the staff made us feel very welcome. We will be highly recommending Weekend A La Carte packages to our friends and family."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"The tour group is very organized and informed. The entire Aurora Nights trip went very smoothly with perfect logistics. I would use them again for another trip."
Posted 2 weeks ago
Dear Kevin
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and i am thrilled you had such a great time. I will pass your comments on to the team in Lapland. Thank you for traveling with us warm regards Kevin Collins
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Absolutely brilliant!..Everything so well organised. Loads fitted into a short trip with lovely accomodation and food. A real personal touch from all the staff at all locations and even happier at seeing the Northern Lights!!..Highly recommend to any potential customers and friends. Many thanks to all at Weekend A La Carte for such a memorable trip...worth every pennyx"
Posted 3 weeks ago
Dear Joanne
Thanks for the review and i am thrilled you had such a great time. I will pass your comments on to the team in Lapland.
Thank you for traveling with us
warm regards
Kevin Collins
Posted 3 weeks ago
Weekend a la carte Aurora Nights is rated 4.87 based on 429 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support