The Event Academy Reviews

4.48 Rating 94 Reviews
85 %
of reviewers recommend The Event Academy
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Read The Event Academy Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

+44 (0)20 7183 5129

Email:

lorne@eventacademy.com

Location:

Business Design Centre
52 Upper St
London

Write Your review

Tell us how The Event Academy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
The Event Academy 4 star review on 13th July 2017
Olawumi Alabi
More Photos & Videos
The Event Academy 5 star review on 11th April 2017
Freda Francis
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Advanced (level 4) course AMAZING!!!

During the COVID-19 Pandemic I decided that I would use the time to work on setting up my own Event organisation.
I am a previous student of the event Academy and I completed a Live (classroom based) diploma in Event management in 2017, having compleated the course at a distinction level ,I decided that freelancing was what was best for me.
Now that that work has slowed down and I have a bit more time on my hands I wanted to work on my own project of setting up small events company. I felt that I could do with REFRESHING what I already knew and making sure that I am current with what is going on in the event industry in terms of requirements.

Woooooow, I made the RIGHT choice AGAIN, this course is Fantastic. I have always been apprehensive about doing online courses but I am sold! the classes are delivered immaculately, consistently and precisely with lashings of information which is gold dust to anyone starting out in the industry or wanting a taster of what's to come.

The lessons are structured to make you interact with the online teaching at a pace that works for you and when I say at a pace that works for you, you can log in anywhere at any time and pick up where you left off.

The support which comes with the course is breathtaking, there is someone there to support you through the course at all times.

I feel as though I have gained far more than I signed up for, giving me exactly what I needed to make sure I am utalising the knowledge the Event academy has provided.

This is a choice which I will never regret Thank you to the whole team.

I recommend this course to anyone who is interested in pursuing an event career this is the way forward.
Posted 1 week ago
I am an on line student studying for the Diploma and I can only but recommend this course. With regards to the course itself, it is logically set out and the lectures are given by experienced event professionals. The course materials are clear and easy to follow. The course help desk is very efficient and get back to students in a timely manner. The volunteering opportunities are diverse and excellent learning curves. The staff at the Event Academy are professional, friendly and care about their students. There are many events courses on line but don't waste your time, this is the only C I M recognised one and excellent value for money.
Posted 3 weeks ago
I recently studied the two week intensive course and with not having much experience in the events industry and wanting to move forward with a career change in events, this was the best thing I could have done. The course was intense but so worth it, the course was well structured and the lectures are very supportive! I have finished the course feeling confident understanding the key values from an event start to finish. I highly recommend the Event Academy if you want to pursue your career in events and learn the key logistics.
Posted 3 months ago
Since starting my course with the Event Academy, I haven't looked back once. The course is so interesting and very well structured, and alongside the volunteering opportunities available, students are given the best possible chance of breaking in to the Events Industry. I am learning from industry experts in a relevant and up to date course, and I couldn't recommend the Event Academy enough.
Posted 6 months ago
I cannot stress enough how important and relevant The Event Academy have been in my break through into the events world. I learnt so much from up to date and in the know lecturers/event professionals, whilst being presented with the correct practical knowledge to thrive in the events industry. Impeccable course and structure, highly recommended.
Posted 6 months ago
The Event Academy - Wow! I thought I knew a bit about event management but I learnt so much more... The pace was fast and engaging, the project was intense and really made me focus on what I needed to do, I met some fabulous people and found out a lot about myself and how to manage people when under pressure. The content was varied and relevant and the lectures have so much industry knowledge I cannot begin to know a fraction of what their experience brings to the lectures. Thank you The Event Academy for giving me invaluable tools to take on with me in my career.
Posted 6 months ago
Great team, great lecturers and classes. Loved the venue.
Posted 6 months ago
Really disappointed to have chosen, paid for and invested my time into the Event Management Diploma Course.
I have, on multiple occasions expressed it in the surveys while on the course (I think it was 3 or 4 times) and I always explained that the course and all lessons felt rushed, badly structured and I was generally disappointed.
I was however only contacted in regards to my feedback 2 month after completing my course. The academy's principal Claire suggested we had a call to discuss my disappointment and mentioned a possibility of taking another 18 months course (for free) or a refund she would need to discuss with the "board".
When I thanked her for the course offer and kindly declined explaining that having invested my savings and time into the course once, I just don't see myself doing it again - I don't have time and honestly I am not 100% sure I'd enjoy it.
The principal then changed her attitude completely and I was never offered any gesture or discount taking into consideration the original wording from Claire:
"I understand that you are unhappy with a great deal of the course - something that worries me considering this is the first time I've heard a complaint from you since you started training with the Event Academy.
We wouldn't want to see anyone unhappy or unsatisfied with the course".
What a shame, waste of money and time..
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Maria,

Firstly, may we say how sorry we are that you are feeling this way about your experience with us. We understand that the course is a challenging one and there is a lot of content for students to absorb. If you'd like to talk further with a member of the Board about the outcome of your request, please contact Student Services and we can arrange this. In the meantime we'd like to congratulate you on the excellent grade you achieved having completed the course.
Posted 6 months ago
I highly recommend Event Academy!
Before enrolling on my Online Diploma course, I compared Event Academy with the other UK accredited event management Institutes. I did a lot of research and spoke directly with many of the Institutes to find out more than just what was available their websites. Event Academy was the one that appealed to me the most, not only because it was accredited by the Chartered Institute of Marketing, but because the online teaching material was presented as audio and video recordings by real lecturers who were practitioners, not just theorists. I am a Students that remembers and recalls information better when it is represented both visually and verbally. Watching and listening to the online material was just like attending real lectures, but comfort of my own home. (There’s are free samples available, give it a go and you’ll see what I mean). Additionally, the support I received was phenomenal, I could call and speak with the lectures when I had any questions. When I completed my diploma (distinction achieved), Event Academy managed to put me in touch with an Events Company local to where I lived, that offered me a job!
If you’re looking to get qualified in Events Management, Event Academy is definitely the right choice!
Posted 8 months ago
Hi Andrew
What a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to write about us! We really love to hear from our students and congratulations on your hard work which has been rewarded with a Distinction.
The EA Team
Posted 7 months ago
Simply amazing! Since the beginning the teachers encourage you to develop a event manager mind set. We had classes in different types of venues which was great to better understand the market and how to face this market. Besides that, they teach you skills that will be useful for everything in your life, not only in events. I have grown so much during this period.
Posted 1 year ago
HI Yan, it was such a pleasure to have you as a student on our Postgraduate course. Good luck in your future career!
Posted 8 months ago
I have learned so much doing this course. Even stuff I thought I already knew. I would encourage even persons with experience to still do this course. I enjoyed every step of the way. And what really surprised me is that regardless of the time difference (i live in the Caribbean) there is always someone who responds quickly.

I enjoy the webinars a lot as well. I feel like I am actually there in England. everything was just simply amazing.
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you Kemoy! We really appreciate your kind words and glad you enjoyed the course.
Posted 1 year ago
This was an incredible "event journey" and experience for me. In the PG online program, students are exposed to practical, real information and experiences, that can be readily applied and that will bring that added level of excitement and interest to an event project. Existing creativity is stimulated and excited... or developed; it is like a nice warm sauna as you submerge and engage in the projects...that require hard but enjoyable and exciting work! The Academy facilitates students every step of the way with learning resources, webinars from industry practitioners and a staff that is accessible and accommodating. I have no hesitation or reservation in recommending this program as a great launch into the events industry or enhancement of skills for existing practitioners. Information is current and relevant...and you will even concur your fear of figures and social media as I have! This was the right decision and with good timing for me personally.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Vilya
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review - your feedback is much appreciated and we wish you every success in your career.
The EA Team
Posted 1 year ago
The Event Academy helped me every step of the way throughout all of the courses, and the lecturers really cared about me which created such a positive atmosphere to work in and to have fun in! I learnt so much secured an excellent placement, I definitely made the right decision not to go to university.
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks Lucie- Stella - we are so pleased you enjoyed your course! Good luck for the future!
Posted 1 year ago
I have always been in the event industry, however I wanted to gain a credited qualification to take me to the next level and build a better report for myself when working with new clients. I was fortunate to hear about the Event Academy and after attending the open evening, it was an easy decision to enrol.

I took the course at the end of last year and after finding out recently that I was awarded a distinction, I can clearly say that course was the best educational decision I could could have made. It is perfect for someone who wants to get a first hand experience and better understanding of all sectors of the industry.

The course itself was a incredibly well balanced. From theory to practical classes, the thought and time that has gone into the course structure to ensure there is enough diversity is very apparent and impressive.

Having mentors and teachers who are at the top of their game themselves in the industry and always happy to provide one on one support and advice consistenly makes the whole experience very personal, comforthing and well worth the investment.

From reading the other reviews there is clearly a consistent message being portrayed that the course is superb and worth doing... Despite this being the case I think the most important thing I can tell you is where I am now and how my life has changed since finishing the course.

I did my placement at a company called Made Up Ltd. I am still a freelance LIVE Event and Project Manager with them. They were a perfect fit for me which The Event Academy advised me on. They knew my interests and aspirations well and also listened to the sector of the industry I wanted to go.

Despite working for them I also set my own company up which is continuing to grow. The foundations are set. I just secured a massive client in Park Lane, with others in the pipeline. This would not have not been possible without the information, guidance and support I received from The Event Academy.

I am now fully immersed in the industry, my biggest client being The BBC. I am currently working on The BIGGEST WEEKEND - All four sites across the UK. A couple months ago I was working at BBC Asian Network LIVE in Birmingham and last month I was working at Tobacco Docks on a major day music events. Enough said really.

Looking back a year ago I never imagined I would have found myself being involved with the BBC as much as I am. I am now involved in major boardroom meetings, site visits all over the UK, and dealing daily dealing with Radio 1, Radio 2, The One Show etc...

There are some negative reviews on here which I am totally gobsmacked about. As the saying goes 'the proof is in the pudding'. Without this course I would not be where I am today.

The course is intense at times and there is a lot of information to take on, however this has only gear me up and prepared me for how the industry is on a day to day basis. If you are complaining about the level of work and time the course takes, then you might as well choose a different industry! Try babysitting... Welcome to the real work of events.

Thank you Event Academy for all you have done. Never loosing contact.


x
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Charlie, thanks for your message. Great to see you having so much success and working on Radio 1 events!
Posted 1 year ago
I do not feel as though this course has been particularly beneficial for me.

For the group project, we were put in a group with someone with little to no spoken English skills. It was baffling as to how they were let on the course in the first place, considering that everyone is required to speak for equal amount of time in the pitch with little to no notes. The attendance of this group member in addition to the language struggles was poor, and after frequently informing our course leaders about this, there was little help or support for us. It meant that we were all doing twice as much work for the pitch, which was extremely tiring considering we all worked full time.

Some of the lecturers were fantastic - their in depth knowledge of the industry was often inspiring. Other lecturers, despite being nice people, should definitely not be teachers. Just because someone has been incredibly successful in the events industry does not mean they make a good teacher - this could be said for a few of the lecturers.

Materials for the exam were not released until the week of the exam, and no details about the content/layout were given prior. To be honest, after all of the late nights of hard work for the pitch, I felt somewhat deflated and lacked motivation for the exam.

I do think this course has fantastic potential, but feel as though the leaders need to take time to reflect upon feedback from students - and certainly more formal assessment of spoken English is something that should be considered immediately when accepting international students.
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so sorry your experience with us wasn't all you'd hoped for, and we've shared your feedback with the team. We wish you the best of luck in your future career.
Posted 2 years ago
I am so glad i decided to study with the event academy, i had just come back from working abroad for the summer and wanted to take a course to kick start a future career in events for myself - and i am so pleased that i did!
Claire and all of the staff at the event academy have been so helpful, whenever i had a question about the project or about one of the lectures, they were just a call or an email away and nothing was ever too much trouble.
I have found the content and layout of this course to work very well for me, each lecture is full of information and sources to further my learning and has been thoroughly enjoyable - So again a massive thanks!
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Shannon, masses of luck in your future career! We believe you are going to go onto to do some amazing things!
Posted 1 year ago
What should i say? Simply amazing. I come from Italy, and I was completely new to the UK events industry. But that wasn't a problem because at the EA they teach you all you need to know to be a great Event Manager. It worth all the money spent, lectures are made by experienced professionals that led you to gain the necessary knowledge to work at a high level. I'm currently having my placement into a fantastic agency central London-based where I'm learning and growing a lot.
Priceless! Strongly recommended!
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Alessandro! We so enjoyed having you as a student on our course! Congratulations on your position at Avant Garde - it's an amazing events agency!
Posted 1 year ago
Appropriate content but not well elaborated. No hands on, basically theory. Some lessons was dry saturated and rushed.
Was upset that no proper graduation ceremony and no proper lay out and update on final project despite we won the pitch. Wished things was nicely spread and furnished clearly. But volunteer opportunities was nice. Did a few during and after the course.
Posted 2 years ago
The Event Academy was incredible! Very very challenging, but very fun and worth all the hard work! I highly recommend if you're ready to jump start your career in events.
Posted 2 years ago
The Event Academy was a brilliant experience and taught me so much. I couldn’t thank the lecturers enough for what they have done and how attentive they all are to the entire class but also to individual ‘worries’, questions etc..! It truly was an amazing experience and was a great opportunity to practice and digest just what goes in to receiving a brief, to pitching and then to delivering a live event.
Posted 2 years ago
The Event Academy is rated 4.48 based on 94 reviews