The Event Academy Reviews

4.5 Rating 128 Reviews
86 %
of reviewers recommend The Event Academy
4.5
Based on 128 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Read The Event Academy Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

+44 (0)20 7183 5129

Email:

lorne@eventacademy.com

Location:

Business Design Centre
52 Upper St
London

Write Your review

Tell us how The Event Academy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
I always knew I wanted to work in the exciting world of events but was unsure what course would be right for me. I have done the intensive diploma and just finished the postgraduate course, which I enjoyed every step of the way. You get to see all type of events and what is really required for each role. In January, right in the middle of my course, I was lucky enough to be offered an event coordinator role for a catering company at Kew Gardens! This course has changed my life, I felt bad for not continuing my studies after high school but the Event Academy has given me all the insight I would ever need. I would recommend anyone who has intrest in events to join this course and they will not only build your confidence and grow your network but they will continuously support you and make you entirely ready for the events industry.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We are so thrilled for you Rina! Good luck with your new role at Kew and stay in touch!
Posted 1 month ago
The Event Academy gave me so many opportunities to meet people in the industry, and people starting out in the industry. I was lucky enough to do the Foundation and Diploma course in person, which was really enjoyable and it allowed us to actually put on real life events, where I gained so many tips and experience and met so many wonderful people in the industry who I am still in touch with now. I then decided to complete my post graduate online alongside my full time job. By taking part in the online course I didn’t just meet people in the U.K., I had the opportunity to meet people all over the world and learn about different events over the globe. The lecturers were really supportive and helped with any questions I had and offered lots of advice from their experience in the event industry. I couldn’t recommend the Event Academy enough!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your feedback Laura and congratulations again for The Wedding Industry Award for Best Event Team in the country last month!
Posted 1 month ago
The Event Academy gave me the confidence, knowledge and skills I needed to begin my career. The postgraduate course covers all aspects of the industry, allowing you discover a sector in which you strive the most. After completing the course I was able to begin working in a role that I wouldn’t have thought possible at such a young age. Since leaving the academy I am still in contact with some of the amazing lecturers and cannot thank them enough for the support they provided me while at the Academy. My success is due to them and their passion for the industry. Taking the course was the best decision I’ve made and I am so grateful to the Event Academy. If you are thinking of doing a course with them, I highly recommend it to anyone!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your feedback Sophie - you were a wonderful student and your success is all down to your determination, hard work and sheer talent. We so enjoyed having you on the course! Good luck for the future!
Posted 1 month ago
My experience with The Events Academy was great. I completed the online Postgraduate level 7 diploma in Events Management for Marketing and Communications. The projects we get to work on are real client briefs, they give you all the tools and knowledge you need to fullfil them, learn everything you need to learn about event management and prepare you for your next working experience. In my opinion some of the modules could be updated as some of the content feels a bit out of date, however is still useful. I do recommend their courses if you want to step up in your career, work on your skillset and have a better understanding of events in general.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your review Alicia - you really were an outstanding student and your distinction was WELL DESERVED! Good luck in your new role at Meta!
Posted 1 month ago
During the first lockdown, I took the level 4 diploma 2-week intensive course at the event academy, and it was one of the best things I could have done. I was still very new to the sector, having only worked in it for about six months in Nigeria, but studying the event academy gave me a new perspective on it. I was able to learn about many aspects of the industry as well as meet fantastic industry professionals, professors, and invited guests. Apart from the educational knowledge you get, the instructors, administrative personnel, and owners of the event school are incredible; they are really kind and personable. It's been two years since I received my certificate, but I still feel like I'm a student at the event academy; everyone is just as friendly and helpful as they were before. Despite the fact that I completed my degree two years ago, I am still in contact with the school since they keep in touch with me and offer me invitations to valuable event seminars. I've also been invited to current student activities, which provides me the opportunity to meet people who want to work in the sector. My experience at the event academy has been one of the most rewarding of my life, and I would strongly suggest it to anyone interested in learning more about the profession!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your feedback Teni - it's great to hear from you!
Posted 1 month ago
I loved the course! My first international certification couldn't have been in another place. The online diploma is a great course for anyone looking to get into the events industry.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you Julio! So glad you enjoyed our new content on the Online Diploma!
Posted 1 month ago
I have thoroughly enjoyed my time at The Event Academy. After graduating from University, I was unsure about the direction I wanted to take my career. Having always had an interest in the events world, I decided to undertake the Postgraduate course to learn more, and I can truthfully say, I'm so pleased that I did! All of the lecturers on the course are in the industry and are successful in their own right, making for not only great teachers with a wealth of knowledge, but also amazing contacts to have when stepping into the events industry. On this course, you learn about all sectors, from festivals to weddings to exhibitions! Not only are you given the opportunity to exchange creative ideas with your coursemates day-to-day, but you are also given the chance to respond to live client briefs. I started the Postgraduate course as a very nervous public speaker and, as this course comes to an end, I feel a lot more confident in this area. The Event Academy give you numerous opportunities to take yourself out of your comfort zone and this definitely enables you to develop and grow. Finishing the course with our live event was the perfect end to this 6-month course. It was an incredible experience to work alongside 20 others to come up with an event concept and then turn it into a reality. I have met some really lovely people and I now feel I have much more of an idea about what direction I want my career to go in. I am certain the events industry is where I want to be! :)
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Good luck in your career Maddie - you will go far!
Posted 1 month ago
To the future prospect, Events academy is one of the rare companies that challenges you but also makes you feel capable of stepping up at all times. The core team and the event industry leaders that come to teach have all been very inspiring and helpful. At events academy, their values reflect the event industry as kindness, trust and creativity goes a long way in developing your career. If you love events and you want to learn more, everyone in the class room wants the same thing. It is an incredibly energetic environment and your classmates will motivate you to do your best. You will meet friends and colleagues for life here and you the highs and lows you experience together really puts you in a community feel amongst students. I am more sad leaving this small 6 month course than I did leaving my Biology undergraduate course. You don't need to a degree or a masters in events management, you just need this course. The traditional university format does not provide enough practical opportunities to put what you learnt into practice. Every single lesson at the end puts on a practice brief where you pitch what you learnt in a professional way. By the time you finished the course you would have pitched around 42 times including for clients for briefs that are happening in that year. The feedback you get from real clients is one of the most valuable take aways from the course. I would certainly the biggest take away from the course (reflecting upon myself) is that if you didn't know who you were or wanted before the course, you'll be far more certain about the direction you want to go afterwards. good luck Adrian
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Adrian - you have really been such a superstar student and we KNOW you are going to go far. Good luck on your work placement at Clarion Events and stay in touch!
Posted 2 months ago
Wish I didn’t sign up for the course. I studied the online diploma in 2020 and will now take my exam this year. I suffer with GAD and Depression and found it very hard during my down days. You’d think the online experience would be the same as what you’d get in person but wasn’t the case. Felt the online content wasn’t engaging at all. I’ve not enjoyed it at all. If I could go back I wouldn’t have signed up and rather have used the money on a course that would guide you better. I’m just looking forward to putting it behind me and looking into other ways to progress in the event industry. They should have a longer return policy as not everyone would complete the course at the same rate. I struggle with retaining information and only realised closer to my exam that I couldn’t use my notes now I’m dreading it.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Kyrah We are very sorry to read your feedback on the course. When our team were in contact with you in 2020 we understood you were finding the course challenging - getting a good balance between maintaining your health alongside completing a year long course can be hard. We hoped that the 6 month time extension we gave you would help? We are very sorry to hear that you felt that the Online experience wasn't the same as our in person classes. We do replicate the content exactly but being an on demand / online version of courses there are differences with the delivery. Looking at our Student Hub, I can see you've managed to complete the course - brilliant! Plus you've achieved more than 80% on 4 out of your 5 Test Your Knowledge sections of the course. We'd really encourage you not to give up! Please contact us if there's anything more we can do to help. You are so nearly there now and we've got some fantastic opportunities to get real experience in the industry on our Jobs Board. Tania The Event Academy Team
Posted 3 months ago
I did the level 7 postgraduate diploma and I had a fantastic 18 month journey with the Event Academy ! I was looking for a diploma that could provide in-depth content about the event industry, but being at the same time "practical", so to prepare me to change industry efficiently. Now that my postgrade is completed, I feel I made the best decision to choose this course over other options I had in mind. On the theorical side, I learned in depth about the whole event journey and all the different types of events. I found that the content was very comprehensive, and I appreciated to have different professionals presenting each topic. On the practical side, I learned how to prepare an event proposal, as well as how to pitch for it. We had to prepare 4 projects, 2 of them in groups. It was a lot of work, but totally worth it, as I could then put into practice the academic knowledge and understand how to organize and plan each aspect of the event. It was also a great learning in getting organized and work in a team remotely. The online format worked for me very well as I enjoyed studying at my own pace. The fact that the whole class met virtually on many occasions for clinics with our tutor, and that we had weekly virtual meetings with our group project was great: it added an esteemed Live aspect to the program. In addition, we had the possibility to assist to monthly webinars on very interesting topics from event professionals. When not able to assist – which was my case due to time zone – a replay was available. I loved listening to all these webinars and learned tons of valuable information and tips. Furthermore, it is a great way to connect with other people in the industry and to network. Great added value to the course for sure! Finally, I will end up this review with the people aspect: the whole Event Academy team is very friendly, helpful, and supportive, and it was a delight to be part of a group of thoughtful and enthusiastic students from around the world. My experience in a nutshell: excellent & comprehensive content, challenging practical projects to work on, tons of precious advice from inspiring event professionals, multiple opportunities to network, great classmates, and a very supportive & considerate academy team!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your amazing review! We love a happy student! Tania
Posted 2 months ago
The event academy level 4 diploma 2 week intense course is exactly what it says on the tin. Intense. You get out what you put in and you are given thorough support and help throughout from the academy. You are provided with a wealth of knowledge from a wide scope of experienced people working in the industry, and it is really up to you to establish those relationships and network. Throw yourself in at the deep end, their is lots of knowledge and new things to learn and in depth insights on the day in the life of someone from a wedding planner to live events at stadiums. Their is so much content provided on the portal to read up on so soak it all up and make the most of it! I had a brilliant time meeting new people from different walks of life on the course. People who are starting a career in events to people like me who want to move industry’s. I would recommend this course to others and make sure most of all to enjoy it! Thanks again to the Event Academy for their help!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thanks Sarah James! You were such a brilliant student and we wish you lots of luck for your future career.
Posted 2 months ago
I'm an Events Manager myself and needed formal training during the pandemic. Came across the EA online and felt confident to have found the right course as it is accredited by CIM. The online learning was an additional plus. Unfortunately, my experience wasn't great for the following reasons: - The learning environment is more entertaining, light-hearted, and school-like. I understand this is an evening class but I was after a corporate and business orientated events management course. The quality of sessions & material is very basic. - You're allocated to a team and have to produce an events proposal. Sadly, my team didn't get along. Constant tensions, tantrums, disinterest, and xenophobic remarks made the coursework highly unpleasant for me. I assume this was partly down to inexperience & level of expertise in course participants. Some members felt overwhelmed by the workload. I feel this could be easily prevented if the EA would be consistent in their branding. A model that would allow individual homework mixed with occasional team exercises would make for a more balanced & fair marking to reflect individuals' work, rather than grading an entire group (esp. when work ethics & motivation differ tremendously). - No transparency in the grading or feedback on the exam. This makes it hard to understand any tangible criteria for marking and what an individual could have done to achieve better results. There's no learning here. - The production of an entire, highly detailed events proposal for a "live brief" and client didn't sit right with me. This is unpaid work after all - not something any professional will do and I feel the wrong message has been sent out here.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Thank you for your honest feedback - we always want to hear from our students. Sadly, as you haven't left your name, I can't see more of your student history and help to understand your feedback. Our Part Time Diploma course is aimed at people who have some experience in the events industry and want to formalise their knowledge with a CIM endorsed course that covers the complete event industry from weddings to corporate to fashion, sport, event tech, marketing, sustainability and much more. All of our sessions are taught by practising experts in their field - for example Sacha Cullen is a highly regarded expert in weddings who was Head of Weddings at the Savoy in London, Josef Jammerbund ran London Fashion Week and Rosie Ham who teaches corporate was at Goldman Sachs. I can see that the teamwork exercise was frustating for you and you experienced some distruptions - it's a shame you weren't able to share this with your Course Tutor so we could resolve the issues there and then. Teamwork is an essential part of event management and the ability to manage situations like this is crucial to success within our industry. On another note, you mention xenophobia - I'd like to address this directly as this is completely and utterly unacceptable. We would deal very strongly with any complaint of this nature and again, we only wish you had brought it to our attention. You mentioned the grading and coursework transparency. Our Principal Claire regularly does 121 sessions with students when they have queries - whether is grading or exam questions. Maybe you'd like to arrange one with her? You have also mentioned your live brief - the final project where you are given the opportunity to work directly with a client answering a real event brief. This is such valuable experience for all our students of answering an event brief and pitching your ideas to clients. Working in event management I am sure you will know that this is the heart of what every event manager does in order to win clients and so it's an essential skill. We'd love to talk to you directly about your experiences and do more. We never want a student to leave us with a negative experience - it rarely happens. Please get into contact with us. You can email me directly - tania@eventacademy.com Tania
Posted 2 months ago
I did the 3-month Diploma. The lecturers were high-level experts with profound expertise in their field and it was great to be able to learn from them. The Academy team were always helpful and engaged and I felt I was guided through the course really well. I did think twice if it’s worth the investment before I signed up, but found that it absolutely is, it was such a motivating and inspiring experience overall. Even if you already have a bit of events experience, you’ll be surprised how much there is to learn!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Thanks Steffi, I know we are more expensive so glad you agree we are worth it for your CIM Accredited Qualification! Good luck in the future!
Posted 2 months ago
The Event Academy has prepared me perfectly for a long-term career in events. The industry expert-led lectures are the ideal blend of academia and practical application to assist a wide range of learners. The level of support provided by lecturers and student services is outstanding and makes you feel heard and appreciated at all times. Having had to adapt the course to adhere to the lockdown guidelines, they truly made every penny worth it; my only regret is that I did not find the course sooner!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Thank Verity! You were utterly brilliant and will be a huge addition to our industry!
Posted 2 months ago
The Event Academy opened up an opportunity for me and pushed me to challenge myself. They saw my potential and really supported me in achieving my Diploma and Degree to result in me landing my dream job in events. The lectures are incredible and have all got experience in events which just adds to the reality of what you are studying. The courses are so worth the money for the education you learn and what you can take away as it creates such a solid starting point for the industry, even if you start with no experience. The best part is creating events for real clients and the course helps you every step of the way to best prepare to produce a real event for a live client. I would absolutely love to relive my event Academy journey all over again as I thoroughly enjoyed it and I am so thankful that I took this opportunity.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Thank you Jemma! And massive congratulations on your full time role at McClaren F1 Racing!
Posted 2 months ago
I studied for an online event management diploma with The Event Academy. Each subject was really fun and interesting and I loved that I could study in my own pace. Student services team was super helpful and lecturers responded to my queries and questions really fast! On the other side, I had to wait for long time to get my results and there was no breakdown on the project assessment and the multiple choice questions - I would love to have the exact breakdown of my grades. Also, due to COVID-19 I didn’t have the change to attend any classes or events but we all have to deal with the situation! Thank you all for your support and help!
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hello Rodothea, thank you for your review. We're glad that you had a good experience while studying with us. Sorry that you had to wait a long time for your grade. Our robust systems mean that once we've marked your assessment it then goes to the CIM for ratification - a process that can sometimes take a while. We hope that you'll keep learning with us by attending our free webinars - follow us on social media and you'll get all the information about these as and when they happen.
Posted 10 months ago
I studied the virtual Level 4 Diploma in Event Management and Marketing Communications. There was limited, if any, support and guidance from lecturers. It felt like the virtual students were forgotten about. Several of the online lectures and resources were not available and I had to email multiple times asking to have resources made available to me. After paying a substantial amount for the course I was disappointed with the lack of support. Waiting for my final grade was a very poor experience, I was very much left in the dark waiting to receive my grade. When I did finally receive my grade there was no breakdown of my units, no feedback and no percentage.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Thank you for your comments about your online course. We are sorry to hear that you felt you had little support. Our distance learning courses are designed to be flexible for students who wish to study independently but still have access to support when they ask for it. We'd love to have a chat about your experience so that we can improve our service to others. Please contact Student Services to make an appointment with the Principal.
Posted 10 months ago
Being an Alumni student, its truly incredible that 3 years on to have support from the lectures. They are extremely friendly and approachable. I recently was involved in coordinating a virtual Seminar event in South Africa and cannot have organized the event without the useful and informative assistance given by Claire Derrick. Thank you!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Always happy to help Tova!
Posted 10 months ago
It’s been nearly a year since I finished my level 3 foundation certificate (online) and I can’t wait to do another course, the support is great, the lectures are fantastic and I learnt so much!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks Emily - we'd welcome you back with open arms!
Posted 2 months ago
I completed my Foundation certificate, Intense Diploma and Post-Graduate courses on the Event Academy and cannot think of a better academy I would have done it with. The team are amazing! I struggled on the Post-Grad course as being one of the youngest and the team checked in on me and gave me all the encouraging words I needed! They never gave up on anyone and made sure we all reached the best potential inside of all of us (15-20 students). I achieved a Distinction in Foundation project (Awaiting exam results), Merit on Diploma and awaiting results for post-grad. Even though it was a shame we couldn't all attend the lessons live, they made everyone welcome online! Thank you Event Academy!! Couldn't recommend them enough x
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
JESS! You superstar...congratulations on your amazing overall Merit grade!
Posted 2 months ago
The Event Academy is rated 4.48 based on 128 reviews