Swytch Brompton Kit Reviews

4.75 Rating 72 Reviews
Alex Dawson
Brilliant solution, top quality, easy to fit and works perfectly on our Brompton bikes. Makes cycling up steep hills a doddle!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Alex Dawson
Author didn't leave any comments.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Richard Jones
My Swytch Brompton is working very well now and I'm loving the transformation! I live up a hill and so the help climbing is welcome! I've added a thumb throttle which is great in traffic, as it gets me quickly off the line at lights etc. I've owned a big expensive German e-bike for over a year and have ridden more than 4000 miles on it but, I must say, I often prefer to ride the Swytch Brompton! The level of assistance is similar but the Brompton is much easier to ride in traffic and, of course, it folds up to take on the train or bus! I've rated it with 4 rather than 5 stars because I've experienced several "teething" problems - which are happily sorted now, with the help of the support team. 700 miles on the clock and rising fast!
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
John Yamashige
Awesome e-bike kit! Easy to install, no issues on the fold and fun to ride!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
James
I bought the Brompton 25 mile Version Pros -Great Value -Fits 2010 Brompton -Moderate experience required to install. -Configurable to set my desired acceleration -No speed limit power drop off aka the cliff. -It can maintain 16 mph. -Good customer support if you can visit their HQ in Hackney -10 miles on full motor assistance Cons -Cannot link Acceleration to Cadence -Requires conductive grease to maintain stable battery to motor connection -Does not come with a torque arm. -Pedal sensor requires a harder rubber support to stay put. -Battery requires wiggling to pull out of the hub -Battery does not charge iPhones
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Chantal Pugin
The Swytch Brompton kit gave me the opportunity to convert my Brompton to an electric one. I loved the fact that I can change my mind at anytime and revert my bike to a muscular one. The installation is pretty easy but some parts need a little bit more of attention like the pedal sensor (you need to find the best place to put the sensor and the right alignment with the magnets). It was my very first electric conversion and my very first wheel change ! I love having an electric bike so my commuting is a lot easier.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Mike Grundy
My wife and I both ride Bromptons so we bought two kits. Swytch seem to be the only supplier for Brompton kits that doesn't require irreversible engineering. This means the kits can be removed and the bikes sold as original should you want to do that. Their pricing makes it a worthwhile upgrade when compared to other upgrade kits or even trading in your existing bike for new. I’ve had no significant issues fitting the kits and the usability of the bikes with them fitted is very good, although we have still to do any really significant mileage. Folding is unaffected which was significant for us as we wanted to have bikes where we can get both of them into the car boot (mid sized family car). Some care is required in routing the existing front brake cable and gear cable around the battery. One word of caution, fitting the pedal sensor can be a little fiddly and requires some care but once you work that out the rest is straight forward. Overall I’ve been very pleased with the installation and find riding the bikes quite easy. The power setup options are many and varied and if I was truthful could do with some simplification but that’s a minor thing. Overall very happy.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Richard Jones
Author didn't leave any comments.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago