Swytch Brompton Kit Reviews

4.76 Rating 70 Reviews
Leonard Smith
There was a long wait, bad luck to order during Covid19 outbreak, and their communication during this period was not good. When the kit arrived I was impressed and the installation was pretty easy and well explained. I unfortunately had one of the Pro packs with the judders. Customer service was responsive initially offering to send a complete new kit. Nothing arrived so on contacting them again I was informed that no not a new kit but a reprogrammed controller! Unfortunately this was also defective. Finally a 2nd reprogrammed controller arrived and it worked. 12months after the order I am now satisfied. Being in Australia meant long waits. The kit itself and its implementation is fantastic, so good that I have ordered second kit for my touring bike. I have learnt to be patient, Good things come to those who wait!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Stuart Garner
I received the Swytch conversion kit for my Brompton 6 months after ordering. This wasn’t a problems as I expected a long wait as that’s how their business model is set up. The kit was very well packaged and I found the fitting instructions very clear and so didn’t have a problem installing the conversion kit. Riding the converted Brompton is great. I have a throttle and tend to ride the bike with zero pedal assistance and then just use the throttle when necessary. I recommend Swytch.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Jon Waddy
My experience of Swytch is that they have a good solid product and excellent support and after sales service for the product. the Kits are easy to install plus any issues and they quickly offer online support and Zoom chats. I personally waited 8 months from ordering in march 2020 to delivery but in fairness this was in 2020 so they were many small delays that just added up. (this is the only reason i havent given 5 stars) From talking to others that ordered in October 2020 they have been receving theirs in around 3 months, so much has improved. I would deffinately recomend this product. To go better you will pay a lot lot more.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Jevon Huang
I'm the one of Swytch royalty customers from 2018 .We called "Swytchers".I'm so luckly to have this kit,i ride it to work everyday until now.Approx 2300 Miles no any problem with it.Thank you so much Swytch!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Lee Sibley
After much research I ordered two Swytch kits (pro) for our two Bromptons. I ordered in March 2020 and the kits duly arrived in December 2020. Nine months, but to be fair COVID was right in the middle, which nocks three months off, and probably another month for getting back into operation again. All in all I was very happy with the time frame. Being Brompton specific, the kits fitted very easily, even coming with Brompton specific PAS sensors, giving ample choice of which sensor fitted best. The fitting guides and videos were a great help. The hardest part for me was fitting the handlebar mount, as on Bromptons the cockpit is rather cramped, but it did finally fit. If you own a Brompton with sport (straight) handlebars, there will be no problem whatsoever. I had an initial problem with some defective parts, but after a couple of emails and a zoom meeting with an engineer, the replacement parts were duly dispatched and arrived quickly. I found customer support to be good, all communication is by email. Not being able to phone is unusual, but thinking about it, it makes sense as everyone has copies of what was said and it allows Swytch’s representatives to operate efficiently. Warranty registration is straight forward and online. The kits work really well, and are much more powerful than I imagined they would be. Simple to operate and do not seem to affect the handling of the bikes. There is on option for a Brompton mount that utilises the Brompton luggage mount, thus removing any weight from the handlebars. However for us this was not an option as we have Brompton bags that cannot be used if the mount is used for the battery. Overall we are very happy with the kits, they blend well into the bike and most importantly, the bikes can be used as normal if the battery goes flat. The biggest difference for myself is that my wife has changed from being a “I want to cycle somewhere flat” or “not that way, there’s a hill” to a “ooh look, there’s another hill, lets try that one!”, cyclist. Priceless!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Mark West
Very pleased with my Swytch kit so far. It was easy to install on my MoultonTSR Alfine 11 which I use for day rides in the country and local fitness rides. It has proved easy to ride and now most hills are a rewarding achievement instead of hard labour. I'm considering ordering another kit for my 1965 classic Moulton bicycle which would make an excellent town and shopping machine with its large luggage racks.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Chris Green
After a lengthy Covid-induced wait, got my Swytch conversion fitted to my Brompton in about an hour or so. The only bit that takes real care and improvisation as all bikes seem to differ is the fitting of the Power Assistance Sensor to the bike's pedal crank and the nearest bit of frame. The rest is more of a 'bolt it on and wire it together' affair. Even the connectors can't be mixed up. The only niggle I had was that with the battery box in place at handlebar level, my wireless speedo stopped working - OK it's only a Halfords basic job but I'm not alone and some other users have more exotic 'computers'. It now works fine down on the crossbar out of the line of fire of what I assume is radio interference. Riding an assisted bike for the first time makes you smile - you can't help it. It will only assist whilst you're pedalling so you can't cheat and use it like a moped - well not on the UK's roads you can't although other countries allow for a throttle to be fitted. You can here too as long as you stay off road, although this is not that likely with a Brompton! As you'll see from my MapMyRun stats below, it has helped me tackle a short and very steep 800' climb that I couldn't even complete on my mountain bike. I had to use level 5 on the power pack (it's the smaller Eco version) and used up 40% of the battery, but as you can imagine, I didn't use ANY on the way back! Glad I waited - you bet!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
John Megoran
I ordered the Brompton kit in May this year, this to fit on my Dahon Boardwalk Folding Bike and despite the various problems caused by Covid 19 the kit arrived on the 9th October, Fitting did not take long and apart from fitting the front wheel the wrong way round initially, which was soon rectified, ( I had put the bike upside down to facilitate installation. ) Overall it took me about 2 hours to get everything sorted and ready for the test photos and video for the warranty. Once completed I did a short test ride to check everything was working correctly and the put the battery onto charge again. I have subsequently carried several minor modifications such as repositioning the pedal sensor, wrapping and rerouting cables. My longest ride to date is only just over 10 miles and I returned with 2 bars left on my Eco battery, I expect I'll improve my mileage and battery life as I get fitter. As a septuagenarian, I doubt whether I'll achieve the fitness level of my youth but the Swytch Kit has got me out on my bike again and enjoying the ride. Overall I'm very pleased with the kit, but in hindsight, I think I should have bought the Pro Battery
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago