Swytch Brompton Kit Reviews

4.77 Rating 64 Reviews
Mark West
Very pleased with my Swytch kit so far. It was easy to install on my MoultonTSR Alfine 11 which I use for day rides in the country and local fitness rides. It has proved easy to ride and now most hills are a rewarding achievement instead of hard labour. I'm considering ordering another kit for my 1965 classic Moulton bicycle which would make an excellent town and shopping machine with its large luggage racks.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Chris Green
After a lengthy Covid-induced wait, got my Swytch conversion fitted to my Brompton in about an hour or so. The only bit that takes real care and improvisation as all bikes seem to differ is the fitting of the Power Assistance Sensor to the bike's pedal crank and the nearest bit of frame. The rest is more of a 'bolt it on and wire it together' affair. Even the connectors can't be mixed up. The only niggle I had was that with the battery box in place at handlebar level, my wireless speedo stopped working - OK it's only a Halfords basic job but I'm not alone and some other users have more exotic 'computers'. It now works fine down on the crossbar out of the line of fire of what I assume is radio interference. Riding an assisted bike for the first time makes you smile - you can't help it. It will only assist whilst you're pedalling so you can't cheat and use it like a moped - well not on the UK's roads you can't although other countries allow for a throttle to be fitted. You can here too as long as you stay off road, although this is not that likely with a Brompton! As you'll see from my MapMyRun stats below, it has helped me tackle a short and very steep 800' climb that I couldn't even complete on my mountain bike. I had to use level 5 on the power pack (it's the smaller Eco version) and used up 40% of the battery, but as you can imagine, I didn't use ANY on the way back! Glad I waited - you bet!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
John Megoran
I ordered the Brompton kit in May this year, this to fit on my Dahon Boardwalk Folding Bike and despite the various problems caused by Covid 19 the kit arrived on the 9th October, Fitting did not take long and apart from fitting the front wheel the wrong way round initially, which was soon rectified, ( I had put the bike upside down to facilitate installation. ) Overall it took me about 2 hours to get everything sorted and ready for the test photos and video for the warranty. Once completed I did a short test ride to check everything was working correctly and the put the battery onto charge again. I have subsequently carried several minor modifications such as repositioning the pedal sensor, wrapping and rerouting cables. My longest ride to date is only just over 10 miles and I returned with 2 bars left on my Eco battery, I expect I'll improve my mileage and battery life as I get fitter. As a septuagenarian, I doubt whether I'll achieve the fitness level of my youth but the Swytch Kit has got me out on my bike again and enjoying the ride. Overall I'm very pleased with the kit, but in hindsight, I think I should have bought the Pro Battery
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
James Leung
I own the original Brompton Swytch kit and now the Brompton Swytch Pro Kit. Their designers and engineers took feedback from the original kit to make refinements that made the new kit easier to install and more robust. For example the PAS disc clamps onto the pedal crank and the rest of the ring floats. The torque washer is thicker. The Brompton block allows you to place the battery where the brompton carrier block sits. The ride experience is customisable. I tuned it to give me a natural feel, the right amount of boost needed to keep up with London traffic or to overcome 45 degree hills in Hampstead Heath. My partner, who used to shy away from cycling, because of the mentioned barriers, now feels confident and asks me to go cycling with her. Their customer support has improved tremendously. You can book video calls to get help with installation and if there’s anything wrong they will send you new parts with express mail. I saw on their job board that they are hiring bike designers and customer support, 6 new hires total. This company is growing. I definitely prefer riding my Swytch Brompton as my main mode of transportation. It's fun and it cost a lot less than the official e-Brompton.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Lynne Barnes
I ordered my Brompton Swytch Kit during the Indigogo crowdfunding campaign and was delighted to receive it in November 2020. Fitting the kit was easy and the installation instructions and videos were very clear and straightforward to understand. I've tried out the Swytch kit over the past few weeks and as I live in the hilly South Hams of Devon it had some rigorous testing. It proved to be as versatile as my full sized Shimano Steps crank engined bike, just as capable of aiding an overweight pensioner up very steep hills thanks to the motor and wonderful gearing of my Brompton. The motor and battery are so lightweight it is just as easy to cycle without power as it was before conversion. I was intending to swap out the motor wheel to the original wheel for unpowered cycling but it feels so light even with the motor wheel and battery attached that I'll not bother swapping the wheel in and out. The only thing I am still wishing for is a battery rental scheme for when we go to New Zealand on holiday so we can use our Swytch motors when we fly abroad on holiday. Great value for money and a worthwhile upgrade to my Brompton which will enable me to enjoy cycling for many years to come.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Oliver Vessey
Took a while to arrive, but was good value for money. Kieran in support was a great help via email & video call when one component was found to be faulty. Replacement parts were expedited promptly and now the issue is resolved the ride experience is excellent - like a permanent tailwind!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Candra Samekto
Just got the Swytch PRO Kit for my Brompton, installed it, and had a test ride. I have to say I Love it ! It's a good option to upgrade your brompton. It will give you a bit boost to climb in a hilly outback area :)
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
K.C. Au Yeong
Swytch team & Owners , Have a wonderful festive season ahead !
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago