Swytch Brompton Kit Reviews

4.75 Rating 72 Reviews
Anonymous
The perfect answer for my lightweight folding bike! I had struggled to make the hills before and thought I would only be using the bike around campgrounds and flat trails. Now I can ride all the bike paths I love. I am an 80+ year old woman and put the kit on all by myself! Getting the magnet disk on was a little tricky and I had to get a 2.5 MM hex end to remove the disk arm which I did not need. Other than being held up by that, the kit went on easily. Fun ride!
2 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Anonymous
Overall, I am really pleased with my Brompton Pro Swytch kit. Like many there was a slight delay in delivery due to the surge in demand for ebikes but this wasn't an issue for me as I bought the kite to convert my work commute bike and due to the ongoing Covid situation, I am still not back in the office. The Brompton Pro kit initially suffered from some vibration issues, however they have managed to fix this with a software update to the controller. Drawing a line on all of that I now have a Brompton kit which I love. It allows me to do 20mile rides without turning up looking all hot a sweaty. It has also opened up certain routes which were to advanced/tough for me, i.e. really steep hills no longer a problem. Overall I would recommend. The initial supply and performance issues were all resolved and over time I am sure the company will iron out things like this. I am left with a product I really enjoy riding.
2 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Mike Henry
Excellent kit, great service with a few probs I had, but solved super quick! Thanks guys.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Leonard Smith
There was a long wait, bad luck to order during Covid19 outbreak, and their communication during this period was not good. When the kit arrived I was impressed and the installation was pretty easy and well explained. I unfortunately had one of the Pro packs with the judders. Customer service was responsive initially offering to send a complete new kit. Nothing arrived so on contacting them again I was informed that no not a new kit but a reprogrammed controller! Unfortunately this was also defective. Finally a 2nd reprogrammed controller arrived and it worked. 12months after the order I am now satisfied. Being in Australia meant long waits. The kit itself and its implementation is fantastic, so good that I have ordered second kit for my touring bike. I have learnt to be patient, Good things come to those who wait!
3 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Stuart Garner
I received the Swytch conversion kit for my Brompton 6 months after ordering. This wasn’t a problems as I expected a long wait as that’s how their business model is set up. The kit was very well packaged and I found the fitting instructions very clear and so didn’t have a problem installing the conversion kit. Riding the converted Brompton is great. I have a throttle and tend to ride the bike with zero pedal assistance and then just use the throttle when necessary. I recommend Swytch.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Jon Waddy
My experience of Swytch is that they have a good solid product and excellent support and after sales service for the product. the Kits are easy to install plus any issues and they quickly offer online support and Zoom chats. I personally waited 8 months from ordering in march 2020 to delivery but in fairness this was in 2020 so they were many small delays that just added up. (this is the only reason i havent given 5 stars) From talking to others that ordered in October 2020 they have been receving theirs in around 3 months, so much has improved. I would deffinately recomend this product. To go better you will pay a lot lot more.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Jevon Huang
I'm the one of Swytch royalty customers from 2018 .We called "Swytchers".I'm so luckly to have this kit,i ride it to work everyday until now.Approx 2300 Miles no any problem with it.Thank you so much Swytch!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Lee Sibley
After much research I ordered two Swytch kits (pro) for our two Bromptons. I ordered in March 2020 and the kits duly arrived in December 2020. Nine months, but to be fair COVID was right in the middle, which nocks three months off, and probably another month for getting back into operation again. All in all I was very happy with the time frame. Being Brompton specific, the kits fitted very easily, even coming with Brompton specific PAS sensors, giving ample choice of which sensor fitted best. The fitting guides and videos were a great help. The hardest part for me was fitting the handlebar mount, as on Bromptons the cockpit is rather cramped, but it did finally fit. If you own a Brompton with sport (straight) handlebars, there will be no problem whatsoever. I had an initial problem with some defective parts, but after a couple of emails and a zoom meeting with an engineer, the replacement parts were duly dispatched and arrived quickly. I found customer support to be good, all communication is by email. Not being able to phone is unusual, but thinking about it, it makes sense as everyone has copies of what was said and it allows Swytch’s representatives to operate efficiently. Warranty registration is straight forward and online. The kits work really well, and are much more powerful than I imagined they would be. Simple to operate and do not seem to affect the handling of the bikes. There is on option for a Brompton mount that utilises the Brompton luggage mount, thus removing any weight from the handlebars. However for us this was not an option as we have Brompton bags that cannot be used if the mount is used for the battery. Overall we are very happy with the kits, they blend well into the bike and most importantly, the bikes can be used as normal if the battery goes flat. The biggest difference for myself is that my wife has changed from being a “I want to cycle somewhere flat” or “not that way, there’s a hill” to a “ooh look, there’s another hill, lets try that one!”, cyclist. Priceless!
2 Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago