Battery, Westco, MX5 Mk1/2/2.5 Reviews

4.06 Rating 129 Reviews
Read MX5parts Reviews

We are pleased to now offer the ledgendary WestCo sealed battery for the MX 5 (and Eunos). This battery is superior to the original Panasonic unit. It uses the very latest absorbed glass mat technology, this advanced battery has no free liquid electrolyte - unlike the Panasonic "wet gel" battery. It also has a higher 'amp hour' (31) and a higher 'cranking amp rate' (475).Designed specifically for the MX-5, this battery is a direct replacement for the original Panasonic battery, and is also 30% more powerfull with a cranking rate of 475 amps.The main features are:Sealed and maintenance freeAbsorbed Glass Mat construction, not a comventional 'flooded' batteryLiquid-free, no gassing and zero terminal corrosionDirect replacement for the factory Mazda MX-5/Eunos battery (no modifications)Quick and simple to installOEM correct polarityVenting attachments for proper venting hook upProper channel for factory mounting bracket2 years warrantySize: L-197mm W-130mm H-170mm H with terminal 178mmFits all Mk1, Mk2 & 2.5 models, 1989>2005.Care Instructions, Click HereBattery Charger designed specifically for Gel and Glass Mat batteries We would also highly recommend the use of a battery cut off swtich if your car is not used on a regular basis.Please Note: Due to airline regulations concerning the transport of dangerous goods, we are unable to send these batteries outside of Europe by air. If you are in any doubt as to whether you are affected by this, please contact us before placing your order. 

Visit Product Page

Phone:

02392 644588

Email:

sales@mx5parts.co.uk

Location:

1 Orion Court, 5 Rodney Road,,

Jean Paul BERNARD
>
Hi, I ordered on September 13, 2011 a Westco battery in order to replace the old, tired, but always alive Panasonic (11 years old). This new Westco battery , quickly delivered, worked well during the first month . Then I garaged the car for two months with the battery disconnected. I have just reconnected this battery last week but it refuses to fire on the engine . I tried to charge this new battery as recommended on your web site (trickle charger / 2 amps/ 6 days) with absolutely no success . Voltage seem to be good but fall down when I turn the key . Next, in order to check the circuit, I changed again the new Westco for the old Panasonic - fortunately kept aside - and the engine ran almost immediately. I\'m a bit disappointed with this new Westco !!Editors Note: Sorry your having trouble, we sell hundreds of Westco\'s per year with few problems, if you would like toreturn the battery we will check out its performance and replace or refund if faulty. All our products are covered bya full 12-month warranty for your protection.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Frank Mc Evilly
>
I got my westco battery 1 year ago and if i do not start the mx5 for 3 days it will be flat. Did call mx5 about the battery 2 year warrenty and was told to put it on a 5 day slow charge and if it does not charge by then i could return it.Any Battery after a 5 day charge will of course work but for how long in my case 3 days which is no good for me,i got 10 years out of the pasasonic and for a few £ more its the one to go forEditors Note: Sorry you have had problems with this item. We ask for customers to try and charge the battery in the first instance because Gel batteries do require charging for longer periods of time and it would be an inconvenience to you to return the battery unnecessarily. If after charging the unit it is still not working properly then as it is still under warranty we are of course more than happy to replace it for you.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 years ago
Mark Lines
>
Im afraid it was time to replace my panasonic battery (20 years old!) it still started the car as long as it wasnt 5 below freezing or the car had been parked up for more than 3 days...replaced with the excellent Westco battery, easy job and took 10 minutes to replace. If it lasts as long as the old one I will be well chuffed! Top service from MX5 Parts as always
Helpful Report
Posted 10 years ago
Jan Steen
>
I purchased the Westco Battery in januari 2009. Since I don't drive on a daily basis I use a battery charger Optimate 4.But now after just a few months more than the 2 year warranty, unpossible to charge the battery.If I put in the battery of my other car, the MX5 starts immediately.So, no other solution than order another one and hope that this one lives longer than 2 years.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 years ago
Mike Moss
>
It seems this is not the best battery for a car which is not used regularly. Twice this battery has discharged itself completely after 7-10 days without being used, and recharging is a right pain (or indeed, seemingly impossible now). Maybe OK if you use your MX5 every day, but we don't. And we need a battery that stays up!
Helpful Report
Posted 10 years ago
Mark Lawrence
>
Smaller, lighter, not leaking sulphuric acid. All pluses in my book!As is typical of MX5parts delivery was next day, and in some of the most robust packaging ever.I only use my car Friday-Sunday and have no issues with the rapid discharge that some other reviews may mention. Good bit of kit if a tad pricey.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 years ago
Mike Moss
>
Having previously given this battery a miserly single star for going flat on me twice within 18 months, and then refusing to recharge the second time, I've now revised my rating upwards to three stars. The reason? Yes, it did finally recharge but that took a full week using an expensive (~£200) digital charger. So, to me this battery is OK so long as you can do without the car for a week while a flat battery decides whether or not to be recharged.There has to be a better way!
Helpful Report
Posted 10 years ago
Simon Atkins
>
Had this battery for just over two years and it will no longer hold any charge. I have an expensive electronic multi stage charger which has been used to trickle charge the battery when the car is not in use. I\'d expect to get more than a couple of years from a battery, the one I\'m my Jaguar is 7 years old and still going strong.It seems I\'m not the only one with this issue as I have seen various reports on forums saying the battery stops holding charge after a year or two of use.Editors Note: Sorry to hear you have had problems with this item. A member of our customer services team will be in touch soon to discuss the matter and if necessary arrange for the battery to be collected and returned for testing.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 years ago