Battery, Westco, MX5 Mk1/2/2.5 Reviews

4.06 Rating 129 Reviews
Read MX5parts Reviews

We are pleased to now offer the ledgendary WestCo sealed battery for the MX 5 (and Eunos). This battery is superior to the original Panasonic unit. It uses the very latest absorbed glass mat technology, this advanced battery has no free liquid electrolyte - unlike the Panasonic "wet gel" battery. It also has a higher 'amp hour' (31) and a higher 'cranking amp rate' (475).Designed specifically for the MX-5, this battery is a direct replacement for the original Panasonic battery, and is also 30% more powerfull with a cranking rate of 475 amps.The main features are:Sealed and maintenance freeAbsorbed Glass Mat construction, not a comventional 'flooded' batteryLiquid-free, no gassing and zero terminal corrosionDirect replacement for the factory Mazda MX-5/Eunos battery (no modifications)Quick and simple to installOEM correct polarityVenting attachments for proper venting hook upProper channel for factory mounting bracket2 years warrantySize: L-197mm W-130mm H-170mm H with terminal 178mmFits all Mk1, Mk2 & 2.5 models, 1989>2005.Care Instructions, Click HereBattery Charger designed specifically for Gel and Glass Mat batteries We would also highly recommend the use of a battery cut off swtich if your car is not used on a regular basis.Please Note: Due to airline regulations concerning the transport of dangerous goods, we are unable to send these batteries outside of Europe by air. If you are in any doubt as to whether you are affected by this, please contact us before placing your order. 

Visit Product Page

Phone:

02392 644588

Email:

sales@mx5parts.co.uk

Location:

1 Orion Court, 5 Rodney Road,,

Dave Mcgregor
>
Bought this battery in November 2008 and it was fine when car was used on a daily basis, but after a year my wife stopped work and car was used less often. If left for 3 or perhaps 4 days the battery is flat and will not start engine. I have followed the instructions for recharging to the letter and still the thing goes flat after a short period ie 3/4 days. For a battery of this price the performance is actually pathetic and we have resorted to a much cheaper (less than half the price) conventional maintenance free battery which (at least so far) will start the car after being left a few days. Meanwhile I have tried charging the old (3 1/2 years!!) Westco as per the instructions,leaving it on my workbench and then checking it, and lo and behold when newly charged we see 13.3 volts and four days later 11.5v. Anyone want a three and a half year old Westco battery?
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Dean Cramp
>
I cant say much about the battery itself as I've only just fitted it but what I can say is that the service received must be the envy of every retailer. Ordered 2PM yesterday, arrived 10AM this morning......honestly, I've waited longer for a bus!!!!!!*********** 1st CLASS***********
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Sten Bjerre
>
Hats off to MX5 Parts, for their usual superb srvice. The first battery delivered, had been dropped on it's corner and the battery case had cracked. After a quick phone call, I emailed a few pics of the damage and a new battery was dispatched straight away. Its beyond fantasy how that team manage to deliver in Copenhagen, Denmark in just 48 hours. JUST INCREDIBLE !
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
David Valentine
>
I first attmepted to buy a replacement standard battery locally.Having the old battery and bracket for size meant I could easily check stockists shelves instead of relying on catalogue descriptions.There was nothing available that would be an easy fit. some would even leave a bulge in the boot floor.The Westco fit was similar, but not exactly as the original battery (05 reg MK2.5).But a slight bend on the battery bracket and a couple of spacer washers sorted everything.After few months of use I can confidently report that a charger is essential if you do not regularly use the car.The self discharge rate is very high.As for the battery life? Ask me again in a year or two.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Ken Macdonald
>
The original Japanese battery supplied as new with the car ( not Panasonic ) lasted 6 before refusing to hold a charge. I replaced with one of these WestCo batteries and Optimate charger just under 4 years ago. WestCo battery does not like being left unused for more than a few days and needed an out of car week long conditioning charge about a year ago. Finally gave up ghost this month, and after searching around for something better, decided, because of cost, to buy another WestCo and hope this one lasts longer. It now costs 35% more than 4 years ago so time will tell. I wish I could fit a lead-acid battery to my MX-5 as I could replace it very year for the same cost.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Graham Thompson
>
After some great advice from MX5 Parts staff I ordered at 4pm and the battery arrived at 10am the next day. This battery fits directly into the car but the vent pipes are in a slightly different position to the original battery. This was pointed out to me before purchase. You can either cut a small piece off one side and attach this to the other side, or as I did buy a short length of 4mm dia black tube, cost £1.52 for 1.2 metre which I got from ebay. Saved at least £50 over the mazda dealer battery price. Thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Frank Mc Evilly
>
i that to return my battery as it was not holding its charge but the reason i am now given 5 stars is because how mx5 parts do stand over the two year warranty and had a new battery in less than a week, Thanks.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Bev Marshall
>
I have also bought this battery and unfortunately I to have had nothing but problems with it. I would say I have had mine now for over 2 years and the thing has given up. I too have the trickle charger and it just does not Hold charge. As this item along with its charger is not a cheap option I would expect a better product. Had to go and buy a new battery as I needed it for the festival of speed at goodwood.Very very disappointed.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago