Battery, Westco, MX5 Mk1/2/2.5 Reviews

4.06 Rating 129 Reviews
Read MX5parts Reviews

We are pleased to now offer the ledgendary WestCo sealed battery for the MX 5 (and Eunos). This battery is superior to the original Panasonic unit. It uses the very latest absorbed glass mat technology, this advanced battery has no free liquid electrolyte - unlike the Panasonic "wet gel" battery. It also has a higher 'amp hour' (31) and a higher 'cranking amp rate' (475).Designed specifically for the MX-5, this battery is a direct replacement for the original Panasonic battery, and is also 30% more powerfull with a cranking rate of 475 amps.The main features are:Sealed and maintenance freeAbsorbed Glass Mat construction, not a comventional 'flooded' batteryLiquid-free, no gassing and zero terminal corrosionDirect replacement for the factory Mazda MX-5/Eunos battery (no modifications)Quick and simple to installOEM correct polarityVenting attachments for proper venting hook upProper channel for factory mounting bracket2 years warrantySize: L-197mm W-130mm H-170mm H with terminal 178mmFits all Mk1, Mk2 & 2.5 models, 1989>2005.Care Instructions, Click HereBattery Charger designed specifically for Gel and Glass Mat batteries We would also highly recommend the use of a battery cut off swtich if your car is not used on a regular basis.Please Note: Due to airline regulations concerning the transport of dangerous goods, we are unable to send these batteries outside of Europe by air. If you are in any doubt as to whether you are affected by this, please contact us before placing your order. 

Visit Product Page

Phone:

02392 644588

Email:

sales@mx5parts.co.uk

Location:

1 Orion Court, 5 Rodney Road,,

Richard Green
>
Tried to start my wife's MX-5 Saturday. hardly a click from the starter relay (My bad - should have charged the battery over the bitter winter we've had!). Ordered new Westco battery Sunday: it arrived today (Tuesday morning) very well packed. My wife now speaks to me, thanks MX5parts for your usual excellent service!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
Aaron Bond
>
Placed an order for this unit as a replacement battery on my 2004 MK2 Artic as the battery from my nearest Mazda dealer was £155.00 & noticed there stock battery had a lower out put rating. As some of you may have found out the MX5 battery is a custom size meaning you can not purchase this from Halfords, Wilco ect.This battery is a good replacement, has a better out put & fitted my MK2 with no problems.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
Brian Pike
>
I would like to add a few words to my review of 11 February 2009. When I purchased this battery I did not know how long it was going to last. It has lasted just under 4 years. Considering that the original battery supplied with the car lasted almost 9 years this is very disappointing. While it is true that the Westco battery is much cheaper than the official one it costs about £24 a year to run as against about £17 a year for the original equipment. Both batteries have just a two year warranty.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
Paul Prince
>
Battery won't hold a charge for more than a few days, and from the other reviews this seems normal. I fitted mine on a Sunday, and next tried to drive the car on the Thursday. The battery was totaly flat. I bought the battery to replace one that wouldn't hold a charge for more than a few weeks, I wish I'd hung onto it now!MX5Parts sugest sending it back for them to charge it, but thats not the problem. The problem is that once charged it won't hold the charge for more than a few days. Also you cannot charge this with a battery normal charger. I've now had to buy a £50 charger to go with it, and need to keep the car on charge constantly.I use a Bosche in my Elise, and that will hold a charge for 3-4 weeks without starting or a charge. That battery was about £60.A lot of the 5* reviews of this battery are for the delivery, which was fine. The battery itself appears to have a design defect, and is not fit for purpose. Avoid it unless you use the car every day.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
Peter Herbert
>
Very powerful battery, which does need special care. My MX5 regularly stands still for a couple of weeks between driving. After having this battery in my car for about half a year, I found it "completely dead" one day. My regular battery (trickle) charger refused to charge the Westco and ploclaimed it dead. I tried the Optimate 4 dual and that revived the battery within 48 hours with its advanced charging programme. The battery has been fully restored to its original capacity. I now keep the Westco on the Optimate charger when the car is parked in the driveway with the extension included with the Optimate. Westco + Optimate = reliable MX5! (no, I don't own shares in Westco, nor in Optimate!)
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
Toby DuPont
>
I bought this battery about 18 months ago to replace the original in my \'92 mk1 which was getting a little tired.Like other 1 star reviewers, I use my MX-5 sparingly and often leave it for a week between drives. During this period the battery goes flat and then, as per the instructions, takes a week to charge up again on a trickle charger. The only way therefore to ensure that my car will start when I go to drive it is to keep the battery on permanent charge. I could have done this with the old battery and saved myself £94!The documentation and editor\'s comments on other reviews appear to suggest that this behaviour is to be expected and is reasonable and I have no doubt that if I fully charge the battery for 7 days and then return it to MX-5 parts it will get a clean bill of health.My advice therefore is, unless you drive your MX-5 daily, DO NOT BUY THIS BATTERY.The 5 star reviews for this product all rave about the service from MX-5 parts and, as a regular customer, I would strongly agree, they are excellent, however I do not think this accurately reflects the quality of this particular product.Editors Note: Sorry to hear you have experienced problems with this battery. We sell literally hundreds of these every year and suffer very few problems with them. As you say, being glass mat batteries they do require regular charging when not being used for protracted periods of time but the extra power they give is well worth it. A member of our customer services team will be in touch soon to discuss the matter and arrange for the battery to be collected and returned for testing and if necessary replacement.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Howard Banks
>
Fast delivery as usual, couldn't find a battery the right size anywhere locally, all too tall.Highly recommended.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
David Hogg
>
I have a 1998 Mk2 MX-5 that I have owned for 6 years. After 12 years of use the original Panasonic battery finally became too weak to continue and I decided to buy the WestCo battery as a replacement in May 2010. Frankly this battery has been a huge disappointment and it was clear from when it was only months old that it was not going to be reliable. I have followed the guidance notes to the letter and only used a trickle charger to charge in winter but the battery will not hold its charge. I have called MX5 Parts on two occasions to report the problems (logged my last call on 8/3/11 when the battery was not even 10 months old) but the only feedback is that these batteries are different and require to be charged for 4 to 7 days on trickle charge to maintain performance. This is not at all convenient and nor have I found it to be effective.I have limped through 2 winters with this battery and I permanently keep jump leads in the boot as a security. If used merely for day trips, it's OK but leave it for 3 or 4 days without use and the battery will have lost charge to the point where it no longer has the power to turn the engine.Despite the hype there is NO comparison between this battery and the original Panasonic. After a lot of frustration, I am resigned to giving up after just 2 years.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago