Walks in Africa Reviews

5.00 Rating 74 Reviews
100% of reviewers recommend Walks in Africa

About Walks in Africa: Specialists in tailor-made holidays in Southern and East Africa, aimed at walkers - we cover mountain and coastal trekking, walking safaris, and other travel experiences around these

Visit Website

Phone:
01285850909

Email:
angus@walksinafrica.co.uk

Location:
Hill Oak Farm
Ampney St Mary

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
5
Richard J
Richard J
"Great itinerary ideas - the service which included many discussions felt very personal. A big favourite of ours was the guided walk in the Drakensburg - spectacular trail with a very experienced guide up to Tugela Falls. Every stage of the journey was detailed including driving instructions, country dossiers etc so being well informed allowed us to enjoy Africa. A varied trip which we thoroughly enjoyed, we would recommend Angus highly and hope to revisit in the future - Many thanks"
Report
Posted 1 month ago
5
Tracy J
Tracy J
"Extremely good communication from start to finish, clear & timely. Had lots of knowledge of not only the country but also of the people, customs etc which was very helpful in the dossiers. Great itinerary ideas on the website - we were not disappointed with any aspect of the trip. The information allowed us the confidence to travel by car etc which we felt totally enhanced our trip and gave us a feel for real Africa. Thankyou Angus - we will look you up again !"
Report
Posted 1 month ago
Michael C
Michael C
"Angus has great suggestions and excellent communication. We enjoyed all the hiking routes and all of our accommodations. Fantastic documentation with detailed itinerary and travel directions. Wonderful trip."
Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Angus quickly understood the sort of thing I wanted and came up with imaginative suggestions. When it was agreed everything (big stuff and small) was quickly and perfectly organised. And once in South Africa just how perfectly it had been done became clear. Nothing went wrong. He has great local knowledge and loads of experience. I couldn’t have have done it without him. He’s a rock star!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Visit Website
"Good advice, great accommodation options"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We received an excellent service that I would recommend to anyone planning a holiday in Africa!!! From the beginning Angus was extremely helpful, proactive quick to respond. He gave us excellent suggestions from planning our route, activities, offering options, helping with preparations and packing. We had an amazing time and were truly able to unwind as Angus provided us with all the helpful tips and suggestions including driving routes and good stops to refill and buy food. I can't thank enough for making our South African dream come true starting with an amazing hike in Drakensberg with very good and entertaining guides, a recommended stop over in Howick with lots of nice shops and a Waterfall and finally an unforgettable primitive trail experience with a final sleep in lovely St Lucia. For our hiking experiences we did not see any other tourists but lots of nature and wildlife so this has been a real gem. We will certainly use this company again should we ever be lucky enough to come back to Africa. Thank you!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We had an excellent tripl Angus made some great recommendations of places to stay + things to do. The Drakensberg trek was a highlight - quite challenging but worth every minute for the views. Would definitely use Walks in Africa for another african adventure."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Great itinerary ideas - the service which included many discussions felt very personal. A big favourite of ours was the guided walk in the Drakensburg - spectacular trail with a very experienced guide up to Tugela Falls. Every stage of the journey was detailed including driving instructions, country dossiers etc so being well informed allowed us to enjoy Africa. A varied trip which we thoroughly enjoyed, we would recommend Angus highly and hope to revisit in the future - Many thanks"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Extremely good communication from start to finish, clear & timely. Had lots of knowledge of not only the country but also of the people, customs etc which was very helpful in the dossiers. Great itinerary ideas on the website - we were not disappointed with any aspect of the trip. The information allowed us the confidence to travel by car etc which we felt totally enhanced our trip and gave us a feel for real Africa. Thankyou Angus - we will look you up again !"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Angus has great suggestions and excellent communication. We enjoyed all the hiking routes and all of our accommodations. Fantastic documentation with detailed itinerary and travel directions. Wonderful trip."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Walks in Africa arranged a 12 day itinerary for me in the KwaZulu-Natal area of South Africa. Their attention to detail and their empathy with their client's (my) wishes, was bar to none. I trekked in the Drakensberg for three days and then I moved on to walk the Anglo-Zulu Battlefields over a period of four days, followed by four more days walking in the iMfolozi Game Reserve. The entire trip put together by Walks in Africa was a most memorable and magical experience! Thank you. November 2017"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"We had a fantastic trip to South Africa through Walks in Africa. It was superbly planned, based on excellent local knowledge. Thoroughly recommended!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Jennifer V
Verified Buyer
"No glitches whatsoever. Everything went so well. All exceeded our expectations. Namibia amazing. Very safe for us travellers. Accommodation fab as were the safaris, desert walks and mountains. Walks in Africa were brill and I couldn't recommend them more highly. Go for it!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Everything in the Drakensberg went as planned - apart from the weather! - but when the snow fell our brilliant guide chose a safer route & we still had a great time."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Great knowledge of the area visited and the accomodations. Meticulous preparation and advice and information. And a good sense of humour."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Dr Robert O
Verified Buyer
"Angus was simply superb. His choice of accommodation was perfect - we stayed at Nottens Bush Camp, Garonga Safari Camp and Chundukwa River Lodge (Victoria Falls), all of which were the most wonderful places to stay. His attention to detail was second to none - our itinerary was planned almost to the minute and the directions we had when driving across South Africa were accurate to the yard. His recommendation of activities was similarly spot on - it was well worth the expense of a helicopter flight over Victoria Falls. Dealing with him was easy and stress free. Overall I couldn't recommend Walks in Africa highly enough."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"Very informed and attentive service, and a great experience."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"The attention to detail, depth of knowledge of their specialism and respect for authenticity of experience are all outstanding."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"Angus is a man with attention to detail and a passion for delivering. He does not fail you, he is there by your side. We had family difficulties shortly before departure, Angus took over everything for us. In every area Walks in Africa deliver - in the UK and in Africa. A bespoke service. You will be thrilled!"
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
"The advice given and accommodation options presented were very good. Knowledge of the area we were travelling to was excellent; local contacts and guides, whether arranged privately, or through the places we stayed, more than met our expectations. We would not have had as good a holiday without Walks in Africa's advice and planning."
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"Angus Maclaren at Walks in Africa has put together a holiday itinerary for us every year since 2010, in fact, he organised 2 holidays for us in 2013. This review is of our most recent trip to Africa and I can only say that it was just brilliant! We had been to the South Luangwa National Park in a previous holiday that Angus arranged for us. That was in the dry season. After that trip, Angus recommended that we try the same location in the rainy season. So, that is what we did in January 2017. We had 8 nights in 3 lodges run by one of the top local safari specialist companies followed by 3 nights in a boutique hotel in Johannesburg. This was another fantastic holiday. Angus does much of his research in person by visiting the locations that he subsequently advises upon. He uses only the best local agents to match the superb attention to detail in his own planning and, as with all the others, this holiday went exactly according to plan. We were very well treated everywhere. Our guides were exceptional and I cannot muster a negative out of the whole trip. Even the rainy season weather was relatively kind to us! Highlights: 1. An elephant up a tree – well, sort of! 2. Following a female leopard and her year-old cub along a track 3. The beauty of the location of Luangwa River Camp 4. The walking safaris in the lush, green bush landscape 5. Dinner on the riverside Nsefu 6. Sundowner at Nsefu while watching the most beautiful sunset over the river 7. My full English breakfast out in the bush near Nkwali 8. The sighting of “Ginger”, a huge male lion with a ginger mane Thank you again, Angus, for putting together a terrific holiday for us . . . ."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Angus helped us plan a wonderful holiday to this amazing country and made great recommendations based on a good understanding of our expectations. He was accessible and helpful and everything was arranged beautifully. Even the directions and recommended reading list were spot on! A true expert and highly recommended"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"I had a fantastic experience with Walks in Africa. Angus was very quick to respond to my inquiry and extremely knowledgeable about the options I was considering. The walk itself was fantastic - Angus had organised for a very knowledgeable, experienced guide, and the hike we took was beautiful. I am looking for every excuse to use Walks in Africa again, it was an excellent experience and a memorable hike."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Walks in Africa is rated 5.00 based on 74 reviews