Walks in Africa Reviews

5.00 Rating 67 Reviews
100% of reviewers recommend Walks in Africa

About Walks in Africa: Specialists in tailor-made holidays in Southern and East Africa, aimed at walkers - we cover mountain and coastal trekking, walking safaris, and other travel experiences around these

Visit Website

Phone:
01285850909

Email:
angus@walksinafrica.co.uk

Location:
Hill Oak Farm
Ampney St Mary

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
"Walks in Africa arranged a 12 day itinerary for me in the KwaZulu-Natal area of South Africa. Their attention to detail and their empathy with their client's (my) wishes, was bar to none. I trekked in the Drakensberg for three days and then I moved on to walk the Anglo-Zulu Battlefields over a period of four days, followed by four more days walking in the iMfolozi Game Reserve. The entire trip put together by Walks in Africa was a most memorable and magical experience! Thank you. November 2017"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Visit Website
"We had a fantastic trip to South Africa through Walks in Africa. It was superbly planned, based on excellent local knowledge. Thoroughly recommended!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Jennifer V
Verified Buyer
"No glitches whatsoever. Everything went so well. All exceeded our expectations. Namibia amazing. Very safe for us travellers. Accommodation fab as were the safaris, desert walks and mountains. Walks in Africa were brill and I couldn't recommend them more highly. Go for it!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Everything in the Drakensberg went as planned - apart from the weather! - but when the snow fell our brilliant guide chose a safer route & we still had a great time."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Great knowledge of the area visited and the accomodations. Meticulous preparation and advice and information. And a good sense of humour."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Dr Robert O
Verified Buyer
"Angus was simply superb. His choice of accommodation was perfect - we stayed at Nottens Bush Camp, Garonga Safari Camp and Chundukwa River Lodge (Victoria Falls), all of which were the most wonderful places to stay. His attention to detail was second to none - our itinerary was planned almost to the minute and the directions we had when driving across South Africa were accurate to the yard. His recommendation of activities was similarly spot on - it was well worth the expense of a helicopter flight over Victoria Falls. Dealing with him was easy and stress free. Overall I couldn't recommend Walks in Africa highly enough."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Very informed and attentive service, and a great experience."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"The attention to detail, depth of knowledge of their specialism and respect for authenticity of experience are all outstanding."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Angus is a man with attention to detail and a passion for delivering. He does not fail you, he is there by your side. We had family difficulties shortly before departure, Angus took over everything for us. In every area Walks in Africa deliver - in the UK and in Africa. A bespoke service. You will be thrilled!"
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"The advice given and accommodation options presented were very good. Knowledge of the area we were travelling to was excellent; local contacts and guides, whether arranged privately, or through the places we stayed, more than met our expectations. We would not have had as good a holiday without Walks in Africa's advice and planning."
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"Angus Maclaren at Walks in Africa has put together a holiday itinerary for us every year since 2010, in fact, he organised 2 holidays for us in 2013. This review is of our most recent trip to Africa and I can only say that it was just brilliant! We had been to the South Luangwa National Park in a previous holiday that Angus arranged for us. That was in the dry season. After that trip, Angus recommended that we try the same location in the rainy season. So, that is what we did in January 2017. We had 8 nights in 3 lodges run by one of the top local safari specialist companies followed by 3 nights in a boutique hotel in Johannesburg. This was another fantastic holiday. Angus does much of his research in person by visiting the locations that he subsequently advises upon. He uses only the best local agents to match the superb attention to detail in his own planning and, as with all the others, this holiday went exactly according to plan. We were very well treated everywhere. Our guides were exceptional and I cannot muster a negative out of the whole trip. Even the rainy season weather was relatively kind to us! Highlights: 1. An elephant up a tree – well, sort of! 2. Following a female leopard and her year-old cub along a track 3. The beauty of the location of Luangwa River Camp 4. The walking safaris in the lush, green bush landscape 5. Dinner on the riverside Nsefu 6. Sundowner at Nsefu while watching the most beautiful sunset over the river 7. My full English breakfast out in the bush near Nkwali 8. The sighting of “Ginger”, a huge male lion with a ginger mane Thank you again, Angus, for putting together a terrific holiday for us . . . ."
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"Angus helped us plan a wonderful holiday to this amazing country and made great recommendations based on a good understanding of our expectations. He was accessible and helpful and everything was arranged beautifully. Even the directions and recommended reading list were spot on! A true expert and highly recommended"
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"I had a fantastic experience with Walks in Africa. Angus was very quick to respond to my inquiry and extremely knowledgeable about the options I was considering. The walk itself was fantastic - Angus had organised for a very knowledgeable, experienced guide, and the hike we took was beautiful. I am looking for every excuse to use Walks in Africa again, it was an excellent experience and a memorable hike."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"The comprehensive itinerary and the clear Instructions on the driving route and the unique accommodations plus the local guides are all the elements for completing a memorable and happy holiday. Thanks to Angus Maclaren 's thoughtful planning and good communication .This company is highly recommendable."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Our trip to Southern Africa was fabulous. Angus really helped in planning the trip. He took care to tailor the trip to our needs and answered all our questions without hesitation. It was very well organised and went smoothly. We had a great time and would happily use Walks in Africa again."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"We had a great time in Zambia as everything went very smoothly, and our transfer to Botswana went like clock work, also the flights to and from Walks in the Delta. Also had a great time in Cederburg two great hikes getting to the top of the Sneeuberg Mountain then Wolfberg Crags on to Wolfberg Arch so a good time had."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"We had a wonderful 2 weeks. Every destination was a "must see" . The hiking was glorious, the hotels were top class and the guiding was equally excellent."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Diarmaid O
Verified Buyer
"Just back from a walking trip to South Africa . In a word , superb! From pickup in joburg airport to drop off 16 days later Angus organised everything ; driver , guides- excellent, hikes - superb, hotels - varied from very good to luxurious. Highlights; great hikes in drakensbergs, climbing cathedral peak (tough), game walks in rhino ridge , walking in Swaziland. Downsides ; some long drives , some long nights (well the wine is very good !) Couldn't recommend Walks in Africa highly enough . Angus' attention to detail and local knowledge was amazing ."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"This was quite a complicated trip to organise: multiple accommodations and sites and activities, booking local guides and also varied transport. Everything went very well, everyone was expecting us and there was good local knowledge. People knew Angus personally, which gave a "hand picked" feel. Some of the transfers took a bit longer than indicated but that was more due to the "long acre", i.e. cattle at the roadside! All in all: very well put together and I can highly recommend this company."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Fantastic trail and it felt a little bit like a survival course at times, with the elements we experienced. Getting chased by a hippo and a black rhino, crossing a swollen river after the downpour, and watching a pack of wild dogs rip apart an Impala were some of the highlights. The park was filled with White Rhino and although we didn't see any wild cats, we certainly heard them at night. A word of caution, if you are expecting a 'Walking Safari' you will be disappointed as this is more of walking trail whereby we walk a set path and any wildlife we see is a bonus. I would definitely recommend it to others. A once in a lifetime experience and superb value for money, considering especially all the detailed support 'Walks in Africa' gave us."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Walks in Africa is rated 5.00 based on 67 reviews