Walks in Africa Reviews

5.00 Rating 77 Reviews
100% of reviewers recommend Walks in Africa

About Walks in Africa: Specialists in tailor-made holidays in Southern and East Africa, aimed at walkers - we cover mountain and coastal trekking, walking safaris, and other travel experiences around these

Visit Website

Phone:
01285850909

Email:
angus@walksinafrica.co.uk

Location:
Hill Oak Farm
Ampney St Mary

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
5
Richard J
"Great itinerary ideas - the service which included many discussions felt very personal. A big favourite of ours was the guided walk in the Drakensburg - spectacular trail with a very experienced guide up to Tugela Falls. Every stage of the journey was detailed including driving instructions, country dossiers etc so being well informed allowed us to enjoy Africa. A varied trip which we thoroughly enjoyed, we would recommend Angus highly and hope to revisit in the future - Many thanks"
Report
Posted 5 months ago
5
Tracy J
"Extremely good communication from start to finish, clear & timely. Had lots of knowledge of not only the country but also of the people, customs etc which was very helpful in the dossiers. Great itinerary ideas on the website - we were not disappointed with any aspect of the trip. The information allowed us the confidence to travel by car etc which we felt totally enhanced our trip and gave us a feel for real Africa. Thankyou Angus - we will look you up again !"
Report
Posted 5 months ago
Michael C
"Angus has great suggestions and excellent communication. We enjoyed all the hiking routes and all of our accommodations. Fantastic documentation with detailed itinerary and travel directions. Wonderful trip."
Report
Posted 5 months ago
"We recently went on two hikes in the Cape. the first in the remote Gamkaberg mountain range in the Western Cape and the second in the Cedarberg Mountains 2-3 hours north of Cape Town. They were both expertly tailor made by Angus at Walks in Africa .... the organisation was exceptionally good and everything ran like clockwork....couldn't fault anything at all. We had two South African guides Mike and Frank who both were very attentive and great company, with an extensive knowledge of the area, the wildlife, flora and fauna and indeed South African history. We were extremely well catered for and would highly recommend both hikes for those seeking a taste of the wilderness."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Visit Website
"Angus was an absolute pleasure to deal with from beginning to end. All queries were responded to very quickly. He put together a fantastic itinerary for us - Drakensberg hike with a great guide and porters, Imfolozi wilderness trail and the unforgettable Leopard Mountain. from what to pack to, what weather to expect, detailed directions and driving times - everything was covered. we had the best holiday and would have no hesitation in highly recommending Angus to anyone considering travel in Southern Africa."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Angus was extremely helpful with his knowledge of South Africa, advising on different ideas, once I had given him an outline of what I wanted to do on our holiday. We spoke on the telephone at length about options available and suggestions. Angus responded to emails very quickly. He provided an excellent trip dossier, car directions, tips whilst travelling, suggestions of places to see whilst driving between locations and general information regarding South Africa. Whilst in South Africa he responded via Whats App to any questions I had when confirming some details. I would have no hesitation in recommending Walks in Africa for any tailor made holiday."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Angus quickly understood the sort of thing I wanted and came up with imaginative suggestions. When it was agreed everything (big stuff and small) was quickly and perfectly organised. And once in South Africa just how perfectly it had been done became clear. Nothing went wrong. He has great local knowledge and loads of experience. I couldn’t have have done it without him. He’s a rock star!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Good advice, great accommodation options"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"We received an excellent service that I would recommend to anyone planning a holiday in Africa!!! From the beginning Angus was extremely helpful, proactive quick to respond. He gave us excellent suggestions from planning our route, activities, offering options, helping with preparations and packing. We had an amazing time and were truly able to unwind as Angus provided us with all the helpful tips and suggestions including driving routes and good stops to refill and buy food. I can't thank enough for making our South African dream come true starting with an amazing hike in Drakensberg with very good and entertaining guides, a recommended stop over in Howick with lots of nice shops and a Waterfall and finally an unforgettable primitive trail experience with a final sleep in lovely St Lucia. For our hiking experiences we did not see any other tourists but lots of nature and wildlife so this has been a real gem. We will certainly use this company again should we ever be lucky enough to come back to Africa. Thank you!"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"We had an excellent tripl Angus made some great recommendations of places to stay + things to do. The Drakensberg trek was a highlight - quite challenging but worth every minute for the views. Would definitely use Walks in Africa for another african adventure."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Great itinerary ideas - the service which included many discussions felt very personal. A big favourite of ours was the guided walk in the Drakensburg - spectacular trail with a very experienced guide up to Tugela Falls. Every stage of the journey was detailed including driving instructions, country dossiers etc so being well informed allowed us to enjoy Africa. A varied trip which we thoroughly enjoyed, we would recommend Angus highly and hope to revisit in the future - Many thanks"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Extremely good communication from start to finish, clear & timely. Had lots of knowledge of not only the country but also of the people, customs etc which was very helpful in the dossiers. Great itinerary ideas on the website - we were not disappointed with any aspect of the trip. The information allowed us the confidence to travel by car etc which we felt totally enhanced our trip and gave us a feel for real Africa. Thankyou Angus - we will look you up again !"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Angus has great suggestions and excellent communication. We enjoyed all the hiking routes and all of our accommodations. Fantastic documentation with detailed itinerary and travel directions. Wonderful trip."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Walks in Africa arranged a 12 day itinerary for me in the KwaZulu-Natal area of South Africa. Their attention to detail and their empathy with their client's (my) wishes, was bar to none. I trekked in the Drakensberg for three days and then I moved on to walk the Anglo-Zulu Battlefields over a period of four days, followed by four more days walking in the iMfolozi Game Reserve. The entire trip put together by Walks in Africa was a most memorable and magical experience! Thank you. November 2017"
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"We had a fantastic trip to South Africa through Walks in Africa. It was superbly planned, based on excellent local knowledge. Thoroughly recommended!"
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"No glitches whatsoever. Everything went so well. All exceeded our expectations. Namibia amazing. Very safe for us travellers. Accommodation fab as were the safaris, desert walks and mountains. Walks in Africa were brill and I couldn't recommend them more highly. Go for it!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"Everything in the Drakensberg went as planned - apart from the weather! - but when the snow fell our brilliant guide chose a safer route & we still had a great time."
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"Great knowledge of the area visited and the accomodations. Meticulous preparation and advice and information. And a good sense of humour."
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"Angus was simply superb. His choice of accommodation was perfect - we stayed at Nottens Bush Camp, Garonga Safari Camp and Chundukwa River Lodge (Victoria Falls), all of which were the most wonderful places to stay. His attention to detail was second to none - our itinerary was planned almost to the minute and the directions we had when driving across South Africa were accurate to the yard. His recommendation of activities was similarly spot on - it was well worth the expense of a helicopter flight over Victoria Falls. Dealing with him was easy and stress free. Overall I couldn't recommend Walks in Africa highly enough."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Very informed and attentive service, and a great experience."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"The attention to detail, depth of knowledge of their specialism and respect for authenticity of experience are all outstanding."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"Angus is a man with attention to detail and a passion for delivering. He does not fail you, he is there by your side. We had family difficulties shortly before departure, Angus took over everything for us. In every area Walks in Africa deliver - in the UK and in Africa. A bespoke service. You will be thrilled!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
"The advice given and accommodation options presented were very good. Knowledge of the area we were travelling to was excellent; local contacts and guides, whether arranged privately, or through the places we stayed, more than met our expectations. We would not have had as good a holiday without Walks in Africa's advice and planning."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Walks in Africa is rated 5.00 based on 77 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This