Walks in Africa Reviews

5.00 Rating 94 Reviews
100 %
of reviewers recommend Walks in Africa
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read Walks in Africa Reviews

About Walks in Africa:

Specialists in tailor-made holidays in Southern and East Africa, aimed at walkers - we cover mountain and coastal trekking, walking safaris, and other travel experiences around these

Visit Website

Phone:

01285850909

Email:

angus@walksinafrica.co.uk

Location:

Hill Oak Farm
Ampney St Mary

Write Your review

Tell us how Walks in Africa made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Walks in Africa 5 star review on 16th October 2019
Ann T
Walks in Africa 5 star review on 11th October 2019
Nic G
Walks in Africa 5 star review on 6th May 2019
Carol K
Walks in Africa 5 star review on 23rd November 2018
Clyde L
Walks in Africa 5 star review on 10th November 2018
Robert N
Walks in Africa 5 star review on 10th November 2018
Robert N
Walks in Africa 5 star review on 9th November 2018
Lynne C
14
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Angus at Walks in Africa was instrumental in creating the itinerary for a 'holiday of a lifetime'. He put forward many recommendations and ideas which really enhanced the whole experience. We cannot thank him enough for suggesting a visit to the Gorah Elephant Camp at Addo. Absolutely fantastic. The holiday comprised walking in the Cederberg Mountains, Cape Town and a tour of the Garden Route to Addo. Would highly recommend Walks in Africa to anyone thinking of travelling to this part of the world.
Helpful Report
Our group did a guided Drakensberg Mini Traverse. It was wonderfully arranged from start to finish. The traverse was customized by Walks in Africa to suit our abilities and desires to perfection. All accommodations and transfers, arranged by , were high quality and well organized. Our guide was a dedicated veteran who was knowledgeable and engaging. It was a pleasant experience from the preplanning stage all the way to completion. We highly recommend Walks in Africa.
Helpful Report
My party of walkers thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Everything worked very well and all arrangements were first class and on time. Our two guides in the Cederberg mountains looked after us very well during our sometimes challenging rock scrambling and producing some great meals in the evenings. I’d have no hesitation in recommending Walks in Africa to any if my friends. Thank you for a memorable holiday Ann
Walks in Africa 5 star review on 16th October 2019
Helpful Report
As experienced travellers we usually travel independently but we recognise there are some holidays in which specialist travel advice is required. Our Wilderness Trail hike and ascent to the Amphitheater in the Drakensberg were such and we were delighted to find Angus,who apart from the bookings, the provision of guides et cetera was also a mine of information as to other aspects of our trip and accommodation ideas. We would heartily recommend him !.
Walks in Africa 5 star review on 11th October 2019
Helpful Report
A perfect honeymoon itinerary - two varied, luxurious and exciting game parks in SA (Ngala Tented Camp and Phinda's Vlei Lodge), followed by a blissfully relaxing spell by the sea in southern Mozambique at the White Pearl resort, with seamless transfers in between.
Helpful Report
We have just returned from the best holiday in Southern Africa. We discussed our plans with Angus who made suggestions and recommendations- we then left everything to Angus and so glad we did. Itinerary and accommodation was excellent and everything ran so smoothly. This is the 2nd trip Angus has organised for us - each trip was very different but equally memorable. Angus was a pleasure to deal with and we have no hesitation in recommending Walks in Africa to organise hiking and/or safari holidays in Southern Africa.
Helpful Report
I can’t recommend Angus and Walks in Africa highly enough. His personal knowledge of South Africa means that the places he recommends to stay, the guides he uses for hiking and the routes he provides for driving from place to place, are fantastic. He takes the time to find out what matters to you and what your budget is, before coming up with an itinerary that is perfect for you. Whatever you THINK you want to do, I would recommend listening to what Angus suggests as you will have wonderful experiences that you didn’t know existed! Our holiday was at VERY short notice and he created a wonderful itinerary that we couldn’t have hoped to put together without his specialist knowledge. A huge thank you from us both Angus.
Walks in Africa 5 star review on 6th May 2019
Helpful Report
Highly recommended! Well organised and they think of all the details that matter which makes for a great trip. Efficient and reliable throughout. From beginning too end it was a fabulous experience for my daughter and me. The trip itself was really well put together against the criteria we supplied. Spot on for what we wanted. Great guide in the Drakensberg mountains, accommodation more than satisfactory, trekking routes stunning and with just the right amount of challenge we wanted. Thank you Walks in Africa!!
Helpful Report
Walks in Africa is a top-notch, very personalized thoughtful travel service. And Angus tailored every part of our trip to fit with our specific needs. I'm an avid hiker and backpacker and my travel companion, while very fit and interested in the outdoors, had not yet been on a multi-day backpacking trek. Every step of the way Angus was there to support us and create an experience just for us (not some boilerplate package he reuses like most other travel agencies would use). Also, he shares a passion for Africa and the outdoors and genuinely was interested in our experience there. I highly recommend Walks in Africa to anyone looking for an outdoor experience where you get to see the real Africa and not just make stops on a tourist circuit. Moreover, while I was looking for a more extreme high elevation trip, Angus is very tuned into all levels of adventure and would be great at creating a less aggressive more day walk oriented trip (while still not putting you on an itinerary with hoardes of tourists).
Helpful Report
A superb holiday which was expertly arranged for us. My wife and I only decided we definitely wanted to go to South Africa a month before we actually left, and we were most fortunate to have Angus on hand, who helped us finalise a very varied itinerary. We had a six day trek in the Drakensberg, a tour of battle sites, a safari and then looked at the Blyde River Canyon and nearby waterfalls. Everything worked perfectly, and the trek (Northern Drakensberg traverse) was one of the most amazing things we’ve done, with an expert team guiding us. All the other parts of the trip dovetailed beautifully together and made for a wonderfully relaxed holiday.
Helpful Report
Excellent in all regards - Angus was very helpful and the planning of our trek was done very efficiently. The Trek itself - 6 day Northern Drakensberg Traverse - was very well organised. The guide was exceptional and the whole experience really exceeded my expectations. I can thoroughly recommend Walks in Africa.
Helpful Report
Our 5.5 day trek in the Drakensberg Mts of S. Africa was very well planned and the supporting documents gave very complete information on what to expect as well as what to bring. Everything ran very smoothly and the friendly and easy going local female Zulu guide kept us very well informed about all the local flora & fauna we encountered as well as going over the trek plan for each day. The team of porters gave excellent support and made sure we arrived at a fully set up camp each afternoon, with a hot drink ready and waiting. The fine weather was an added bonus that made the trip even more special and memorable.
Walks in Africa 5 star review on 23rd November 2018
Helpful Report
Angus of Walks in Africa provided a personalised service to provide a wonderful Trek in the Drakensberg for my wife and I which we were able to combine with our own independent travels in S Africa. His practical counsel and detailed information was invaluable. All logistics worked smoothly. The trek with our mountain guide, Zee, and her crew was a superb adventure. Highly recommended!
Walks in Africa 5 star review on 10th November 2018 Walks in Africa 5 star review on 10th November 2018
Helpful Report
The whole trip was totally excellent! Angus was very patient with all our questions and worked hard to satisfy our requests. All the logistics worked very smoothly; the car, plane boat was always on time, ready to take us to the next destination. The accommodations were all excellent, very comfortable and with outstanding service. The food was amazing! My special requests (vegetarian, no onions) were scrupulously honored. There was excellent variety in the food, generous quantities and excellent quality. We were amazed at the delicious meals baked in the underground ovens! But really the most outstanding feature of the trip was the high quality staff, especially the guides. They all knew the area really well and were very patient identifying birds for us non-birders. Jason Alfonsi especially was amazing in his ability to track animals, identify insects, lead us to interesting plants and encourage us to try new things, like eating bits of trees and sneaking up on lions. Everyone we met was very friendly, encouraging, well-informed and professional. Probably the best indication of our enthusiastic satisfaction is the fact that we have already signed up to travel again in 2019 with Walks in Africa.
Walks in Africa 5 star review on 9th November 2018
Helpful Report
I had a wonderful trip with Zee in the Drakensberg mountains. My mother and I hiked the Mnweni circuit and it was absolutely beautiful! We spent 4 days on trail with plenty of delicious snacks and gourmet meals with the best company we could have imagined. Angus was very helpful with planning this trip down to the final details. I highly recommend this company and will use them for my next guided adventure.
Helpful Report
Thank you, Walks in Africa, for helping us find a great walk on the Fynbos Trail. You understood our interests, time constraints, and saw to every detail.
Helpful Report
My daughter and I were lucky enough to be guided by Zee into the Drakensberg Mtns. There is not sufficient words to describe how amazing our trip, and guide, were. My time with my daughter and Zee will be forever in my memory. I would hike in those mountains, and with those women, again and again. Thanks to Angus for a thorough, well planned trip. All our needs were met and our expectations exceeded.
Walks in Africa 5 star review on 6th September 2018
Helpful Report
We recently went on two hikes in the Cape. the first in the remote Gamkaberg mountain range in the Western Cape and the second in the Cedarberg Mountains 2-3 hours north of Cape Town. They were both expertly tailor made by Angus at Walks in Africa .... the organisation was exceptionally good and everything ran like clockwork....couldn't fault anything at all. We had two South African guides Mike and Frank who both were very attentive and great company, with an extensive knowledge of the area, the wildlife, flora and fauna and indeed South African history. We were extremely well catered for and would highly recommend both hikes for those seeking a taste of the wilderness.
Helpful Report
Angus was an absolute pleasure to deal with from beginning to end. All queries were responded to very quickly. He put together a fantastic itinerary for us - Drakensberg hike with a great guide and porters, Imfolozi wilderness trail and the unforgettable Leopard Mountain. from what to pack to, what weather to expect, detailed directions and driving times - everything was covered. we had the best holiday and would have no hesitation in highly recommending Angus to anyone considering travel in Southern Africa.
Walks in Africa 5 star review on 29th June 2018 Walks in Africa 5 star review on 29th June 2018
Helpful Report
Angus was extremely helpful with his knowledge of South Africa, advising on different ideas, once I had given him an outline of what I wanted to do on our holiday. We spoke on the telephone at length about options available and suggestions. Angus responded to emails very quickly. He provided an excellent trip dossier, car directions, tips whilst travelling, suggestions of places to see whilst driving between locations and general information regarding South Africa. Whilst in South Africa he responded via Whats App to any questions I had when confirming some details. I would have no hesitation in recommending Walks in Africa for any tailor made holiday.
Helpful Report
Walks in Africa is rated 5.00 based on 94 reviews