British Gas Reviews

1.46 Rating 384 Reviews
10% of reviewers recommend British Gas
804 Review Views (past 24 hours)
1PM - 3PM
123 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
74 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
59 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
43 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
123 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
19 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
64 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
40 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
99 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
57 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
39 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
64 Review Views
1PM
1PM
Visit Website

Phone:
0800 980 6005

Email:
customerservice@britishgas.co.uk

Location:
PO Box 4805

Category:
Business & Office

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how British Gas made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Over a week
customer service
1.36 out of 5
"I use 5o be with British gas any issues always connecting me to south Africa how can you call a company British gas by doing that RIP off will never use them ever again so glad I use utilita now standing dailey fas charges sick and it's not penny pinching its RIP off prices be gone with u for good"
Posted 2 months ago
Are you British Gas? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"Annual Homecare check yesterday. After about 10 minutes, engineer went to boiler controls (upstairs)to get boiler to fire up. Came back to boiler in kitchen and announced that the boiler would not ignite and he had to over-ride with switch on boiler. Said that ,meant over-heating but switched on and as it ran for another 10 mins. decided it was OK. When the auto control should have come on in the evening, nothing happened. I checked the digital control upstairs and found that he had switched all controls to "off". No wonder he couldn't get the boiler to flash up."
Posted 2 months ago
"Crazy company. I’ve never been a BG customer yet I was billed for gas usage when I was paying another company. I contacted them to clear things up and they turned it into a can of worms. Repeatedly they attempted to take over my supples without my consent from another big energy supplier. What a mess. In the end I submitted a complaint and escalated it to the ombudsman. It was then corrected but not after repeated communication with the ombudsman as they didn’t quite understand what had happened. In the end BG was at fault. They kept on saying not their fault right upto the end. What a nightmare! An expensive company that does not listen to anyone as they believe they are always right. I can’t understand what they are so big TBH!"
Posted 2 months ago
"I’ve never wrote a bad review , but this is by far the worst service I’ve ever had , I, I’d been paying my bills for 3years and on the day after Christmas I received a bill off £1150 , they admitted there responsible ,4 months later they gave me explanation that there automated system didn’t click on so they hadn’t charged me for my usage , since then British Gas have been no help charging me up , whilst me and my boy have been freezing not useing our heating , I’m now going to my Solli , wouldn’t Evan give you one star ,"
Posted 2 months ago
"British gas have excelled themselves , they are now banning , the disabled or anyone on a low income from downloading the new app , i have had a message from british gas , stating that un less i agree to pay , by direct debit or bankers payment , that i cannot download the app , this obviously includes , anyone who is on low income and pays by payment card , or any other method , shame on bg"
Posted 3 months ago
"I am payi g more than the bills state yet still over drawn! It just doest tally up! When I called they suggested I pay more a d didn't address the issue, I pay £160 a month combined Gas and Electric for myself and husband, we both work full time, and are often away at our caravan! Seems an awful lot! We have a smart metre that we try not to go over £5 a day so most days it gets to around £3.50, when I told a gas representative, she said the smart metres are only a guide and British gas still guesstimate!!! I'm going crazy over this stupid system!!!"
Posted 3 months ago
"I've been a customer for 30 years. I over paid my gas bill by £900+ . I've been trying to get my money back for over a month now. What a joke after 3 hours on the phone over 4 phone calls still no joy . No one knows what they're doing and have no idea how to treat a customer. Lie after lie not knowing what to do asked to speak to a manager but apparently all are to busy . But on the plus side thanks to there incompetence I am now changing to Scottish power not sure how they are can't be as bad as British gas . O ye still no money after nearly a month"
Posted 3 months ago
"I highly recommend a different company for electric or gas. British Gas is unprofessional and cannot be bothered about their clients. I’ve disputed my bill and was told that I will get a call back. For a week I called twice a day and on ever call I was told that someone will call me back. The 1st few consultants didn’t even make a note of the query on the account so my 1st 4 calls, I had to repeat the myself and what the issue was but every time I will get the same answer, we will call you back but 2 weeks later. I’m still waiting for the call back. I’ve logged a complain via their website but still nobody got back to me. Instead late payment fees and debt collecting charges was added even tho I’ve been waiting on British Gas to get back to me. I never said that I wasn’t going to pay but the bill is disputed and they cannot explain why the bill was so high but continue to put late payment fees even tho I’ve been waiting on them to get back to me. Extremely poor customer service. This is now been escalating to trading standards but yet even informing British Gas that I will escalate this issue they still couldn’t be bothered to get in contact with me, instead I just received an statement via email with more fees added. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY. THERE IS ALLOT OF OTHER COMPANIES THAT WILL GIVE YOU BETTER SERVICE."
Posted 3 months ago
"Some of the worst service I have ever experienced. The staff are rude, unhelpful. I have been hung up on multiple times (not through my tone.. simply they hang up!) I have spent hours on hold and then the system cuts you off with a 'fault message' it would bring me joy to see them fall and rejoin humanity I have since moved to BULB and its been bliss!"
Posted 3 months ago
"British Gas your another one whose service has gone down hill.This pre pay meter is absolutely ridiculous high priced greedy greedy infact .was told we had qualified for a winter grant of 140.00 paid before 31st march 2019 never received any rebates at all for even the 30 pounds you gave customer s yearly you 've got greedy will be looking at other resources that are more economical."
Posted 3 months ago
"have chosen BG as they were offering a good deal and being a reputable organisation I feel you can trust them"
Posted 3 months ago
"As a home owner currently wondering why one still maintains a Home Care contract with such a dysfunctional and inept service provider, my wife and I have yet again had another appalling experience with a company which one could never in all honesty recommend. As usual the communication with the company reflected a standard of organisational ineptitude which is staggering. To underline the standard of customer care which one now has come to expect from a company whose central philosophy is not to put the customer first, we were told this morning by their "planning department" and one uses the term advisedly, that we could always take our business to a third party. We have now cancelled the electrical work on our kitchen lights and placed our business with a trusted electrician. The standard of British Gas customer care has in our opinion been evidently declining over the last year or so. We have experienced their regular ability to cancel arranged call outs at the last moment. On one occasion I recall waiting for a call out (Which required me to take the morning off work) only to find that the job had been independently cancelled because they didn't have the staff. Significantly, I had to contact them to elicit the information after waiting in and re-organizing my office schedule to accommodate their failure. Naturally my wife and I have enjoyed their compensation terms on a regular basis but that only reflects the quite staggeringly poor service. I am now of the opinion that entering into a British Gas Home Care contract is a waste of money, at that one would be better advised to make regular monthly savings into one's own bank account to call out reliable professionals as required."
Posted 3 months ago
"Wish I'd never switched to BG. Having switched only 2 weeks ago I am now on my 4th complaint. Account says I have HomeCare 100 which includes a boiler service. When I tried to book one they said it is not included as I am on a different tariff (than the one my account quotes!) and need to google different T&C's! I could book a service through my HomeCare but they will charge me £99 pounds. If I didn't have the HomeCare it would be.... £79!!!! I had a smart meter fitting cancelled on the day due to overrun on the previous customer - OK, stuff happens. They said they would compensate me (£30) for having taken the day off work (daily pay £240!) and rescheduled my appointment. Another day off work and the engineer arrived but said he would not do the work as it was raining! No mention of this when booking the appointment and - had they called me beforehand as they say they will I could have gone to work. Again another £30 compensation offered. No compensation has appeared on my account. I cannot raise another complaint as I already have one open - BG limits people to only one complaint at a time... that keeps the numbers down for OFGEN! All I now want them to do is waive the early cancellation fee (if they actually paid all the compensation they said they would it is less than the cancellation fees anyway!) so I can switch to a decent provider. AVOID British GAS!"
Posted 3 months ago
"absolutely the WORST customer service I have ever had the misfortune of enduring. Tried to resolve an issue with erroneous transfer via chat 3 weeks ago and was assuered it was sorted, now my account has been closed in error, called to sort out again, kept on hold for 24 minutes then put through to another person that had no idea of my call. I will be leaving after this appalling customer service. Should be ashamed to have British in your name!"
Posted 3 months ago
"Lazy and incompetent. They ask for meter readings by email, but cannot be bothered top get their site working. Customer service - they don't know the meaning of the phrase !"
Posted 3 months ago
"BRITISH GAS LIARS,SCAM AND RIP OFF British Gas both supply and maintenance is a total rip off and they are scamming customers. They state that they service and check your boiler with an annual service and they check that your central heating is in good working order. This is totally untrue they don't check your central heating at all. That makes it a scam because they falsely advertise it as part of the annual service. Mine was supposedly checked and signed off by them however 3 valve leaks occurred in a very short time one the same leak twice causing considerable damage to a newly decorated kitchen. They try to say they are not responsible, but the damage was caused by sheer incompetence of their lazy engineer who did not check the central heating system at all. Their policy also states accidental damage is included. I would like to know how they are checking a central heating system is in good working order without so much as turning it on and checking each radiator is hot and does not need bleeding. This is false advertising by them and a scam to con people out of money. Many people have stayed with them years because they think it is a hassle to change but it is very easy to change suppliers. It’s actually very easy and can be done with a simple phone call to any other supplier. British gas also is ripping people off on the cost of gas and electric. Standing charges and unit charges are much cheaper with other suppliers there are now many. Don’t think they treat loyal customers of many years any different because they do not British gas is a rip off company who could not care less about their customers. According to the press British gas are losing nearly 100000 customers a month as people wake up to better service and prices from other suppliers. British Gas are totally useless and a waste of space . My report now goes to the financial ombudsman . My assessment of the situation is exactly what happened. British Gas was given every opportunity to sort the situation out amicably and after dealing with them locally they failed to even respond to a complaint letter sent to head office. The sheer arrogance of this company is unbelievable and don't be fooled by there false advertising. My advice is keep clear of this scam company. They also after 2 weeks still have not returned an overpayment of £160 if next week l still don't receive it l will issue county court debt proceedings against them. I terminated both my accounts with them and changed suppliers on 25th March. 2weeks ago they said I would receive a cheque in 3 -5days MORE LIES! I spoke to these incompetent fools again today they have not even processed my refund they just told me it will be another 10 days. The way this company now operates is totally beyond belief. What a totally ridiculous reply from British gas had the incompedent engineer tested the system to be be in a safe working condition as per British Gas advertising he would have found the leak but as he failed to check the system was in a safe working condition he did not find it .As previously stated how is BG checking a Central heating system properly without even switching it on ?lt is a ludicrous reply which by the way is also supposedly covered for accidental damage so either way British Gas are responsible.The amount of bad reviews this lousy company has just goes to prove how bad they really are."
Posted 3 months ago
"Home Care Boiler Plan Bookings cancelled at last minute on scheduled time slot .. Happened to me three times the third today although I have taken a day off . British Gas do not state this at time of the booking that there is a chance your booking will have to be rescheduled on the booking slot you are making as other emergencies may arise Boch take priority over your broken boiler .."
Posted 3 months ago
"Have a Hime care plan with British Gas and I booked an engineer out as my boiler was not functioning and kept switching off with a fault ..I phoned for an appointment and was asked if anyone had a medical condition and he was informed that my husband had a bad chest infection at the moment but this was not thought of an emergency call out and do was offers a booking for two days later .iI booked for an appointment today between 12 and 6 pm . I had two missed phone calls within 20 minutes on my mobile around 2pm and upon ringing the number back the number had a recording advising it was ‘British Gas ‘and it’s not urgent and will call soneother time . I myself then rang up British Gas to find out why I had a call whether it was to do with my repair and was told ‘yes ‘it was to do with a reschedule as other people took priority over my appointment as they had medical conditions ,so we have been without heating four days with my husbands chest infection ongoing yet that’s not counted as someone who is a priority but on the scheduled appointment have been kicked off to ‘reschedule ‘the appointment after having taken time off work . There is a bank holiday so my appointment would have been rescheduled for when I could get time off again in a weeks time . After complaining I have been offered £30 for broken appointment and an engineer has been rescheduled again for today don’t know what time for an emergency as I have now told them again husband still has chest infection and has medical condition .The reason why I have been cancelled and rebooked as emergency is I failed to tell them that he also had a medical condition apart from his chest infection .The chest infection on its own is not a ‘high risk ‘according to them . This is not the first time they have done this either to me ..It’s happened before so saying it only happens occasionally does not sit with me . My complaint is why when I have taken time off work have I been cancelled at the last minute to make appointment for somebody else ? Surely this should be pointed out at the time of booking the appointment that although ‘we are booking this appointment your appointment may be cancelled at the last minute due to an emergency elsewhere ‘ When one takes a homecare contract out with them one should be informed of this then as well . For this I have to award British Gas ‘one’ star and am sure it will keep happening .I am not the first and the last to happen to . The engineers themselves are excellent it’s just the office staff making these appointments that are to blame and the management for letting it happen . British Gas is a large company and can afford to employ enough engineers to do the emergency call outs . I am paying an excess of £60 a repair as well so it’s not like it was a free repair . Head Management need to listen to the customers to avoid making changes to these last minute reschedules ."
Posted 3 months ago
"British Gas engineer called Rob Cooper came out to our house last week. We live in a Georgian house with a system inherited from the previous owners. Rob was so efficient, not only solving the problem quickly, he was so informative and explained in depth certain problems. Well done British Gas and well done Rob! Excellent service."
Posted 3 months ago
"what's up with you all? british gas give me energy totally free of charge! I've set up 2 dd's, tried to pay online and even offered them a bribe to accept payment but for over a year they've refused to take my money. so I'm going to use the money to buy a headstone for my wife who passed away."
Posted 3 months ago
British Gas is rated 1.46 based on 384 reviews