Economy Energy Reviews

1.10 Rating 161 Reviews
2% of reviewers recommend Economy Energy

Write Your review

Tell us how Economy Energy made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
customer service
Returns & Refunds
Difficult
refunds process
"I officially left Economy Energy on the 8th of October. I spoke to them several times and was assured that no more money would be taken out of my account. On the 1st of November -59 pounds was taken from my account. Without going into too much detail, - i have literally spent hours speaking to Economy Energy regarding my refund, to no avail. they owe me over 200 pounds in total and have totally messed me around. I have been told contrdictory information, lied to, fobbed off and treated with absolutely no regard. I have wasted so much time trying to get the money i am owed. It is coming up to Christmas and I am 200 pounds down. I can't describe the upset and stress I have had dealing with this company. I have dealt with many energy companies in the past and I have never in my life had any issues with them. This is an absolute joke. I have never complained before, however the way i have been dealt with and the fact that they are avoiding refunding my money is just a complete joke. Anyone who signs up with them is only going to be faced with an ongoing nightmare. AVOID AT ALL COSTS"
Posted 6 months ago
Are you Economy Energy? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"Upped debit and refused to refund 140 pounds credit.been with them 5mths.cant wait to leave.im not a moneylender.contacted police ofgem bank and energy ombudsman."
Posted 9 months ago
"Switched from economy energy July 2018, thank goodness. Waited ever since for my credit to be refunded. Liars and constantly fobbed off. Have been sent threatening letters and a letter before action. So distressing for pensioners. In the end I clawed back my direct debit payment via my bank which left them owing me approx £1. Just knew that a company could not trade as bad as this and carry on. I had a lucky escape."
Posted 5 months ago
"Best news i have heard today. Got what they deserve they are a total waste of time including all staff a load of morons total liars. Was with them only 6 months and left them. Yes they owe me money but i have had some back. Feel sorry for the people who are owed loads good luck. My problem is now with the ombudsman not holding my breath. However take my advise my new company Bristol Energy excellent."
Posted 5 months ago
"If i could leave zero stars i would certainly do so. Economy energy have owed me approximately £110 since early November 2018 when i moved to Eon. Three phone calls later to them and 3 lies from them about receiving the refund and i am still waiting for the money . Please stay well away from this company if you want ever to receive any credit back on your final bill. And as the other reviewers have noted the customer service is dreadful."
Posted 5 months ago
"Do not change to this supplier. I switched from them and they confirmed a credit balance on switch over. It took weeks of letters emails abd eventually a ccj being issued to get repaid truly awful admin and customer service. DO NOT DEAL cheap for a reason. If a supplier already carefully watch payments against usage"
Posted 5 months ago
"Please avoid this company at all costs no matter how tempting it's low prices may be. When something goes wrong they do not care. For the past 2 weeks myself and my 2 young children have been left with no hot water or heating. It's the middle of winter and it's also Christmas so as you can imagine it's been a horrendous time for us It all started when we couldn't get our boiler to come on. We rang a plumber who came out and instantly said it's not the boiler it's the gas meter. We then rang economy energy who are responsible for the meter. They refused to send an engineer out and simply said it's not our problem it's your boiler. This went on for a few days. Eventually we had no option but to ring an emergency gas engineer out who instantly condemed the meter as it was a danger to use !. Finally economy agreed to send an engineer out who installed a new meter and ensured a card to credit the meter would be with us shortly. A week later and after our Christmas being ruined and 2 children full of cold no card arrived. When I rang them they said they would send someone out....surprise surprise no one came. They then order a temporary card for us to collect from a local shop. Upon collected card and putting money on it we discovered it was invalid ! Now we are not only out of gas still but are out of pocket until the money we put on the card is returned to the bank. This company is ran by utter idiots. They have no idea what they are doing."
Posted 5 months ago
"If I could give them nothing I would. Been waiting since beginning of October for my refund. I've now contacted the energy ombudsmen. They've said it may take 8 weeks but at least I know that my money will be coming back to me. So if you've complained and you've been waiting over 8 weeks I recommend you do the same"
Posted 5 months ago
"We moved from Economy Energy at the end of October 2018 due to them raising the amount for next year by at least £600. At the beginning of December I contacted them. They stated that I owed them £140, which I paid immediately and then told me that THEY owed me £133.70. Today, I have contacted them again and they claim it is now with the finance dept. and I will receive a rebate shortly!!! If I had been waiting for the money to pay for Christmas presents etc., I would have been in trouble. They were quick to bank my money - it would be nice to receive theirs!"
Posted 5 months ago
"they are a very very bad company they put up payments when customer is in credit and hold on to that cash as long as possible tell lie after lie and have a could npt care less attitude"
Posted 5 months ago
"I switched from economy energy on the 4 October 18 with £524 credit on my account. They then took direct debits out on the 15/10/18, which were immediately cancelled. Contacted them on 4/11/18 to be told that my refund had been sent to the finance team and would receive an email 3 days before being credited with monies owed. Still awaiting the email. Started the complaints process on 9/12/18 to be told it was with the finance team and the complaint was closed. Will now complain to the ombudsmen. Don't touch them with a barge pole and if you are unfortunate enough to be with them and have credit on the account cancel your direct debits and run it down before leaving."
Posted 5 months ago
"this is the 3rd time I have had to leave a bad review on economy energy. still trying to get my refund since the 25 September been given all sorts of promises but never any refund, it seems now they have run out of excuses and don't reply to my emails, if you read this kara will now reply and let me know what is going on with my refund."
Posted 5 months ago
"Oh dear, having read the review above - I have that sinking feeling. We terminated with them on 23rd November having overpaid by about £300. No reply to email, so spoke to CS today - saying up to 8 weeks for final bill and statement. God knows if we will get a refund. I'll have to take this up with the Ombudsman. Is this company going bust?"
Posted 6 months ago
"Why don’t all of us ripped off by this conniving deceitful company get together and make one massive court claim against the EE crooks! Would give zero stars if possible. Left EE when my tariff expired end Oct 2018 and despite emails promising me my money back (£184) still no money or even a date for it being repaid.For the small amount it costs to take this to the Small Claims Court, I am about to submit the last of the paperwork to get my money back, plus interest, plus damages for the damage the stress (I suffer from an anxiety and depression disorder) this has caused. They also had the bloody cheek to take more money from my bank and then complained when I cancelled the Direct Debit. I have warned them that I only have patience enough to last for the Xmas/New Year fortnight before 1) Small Claims Court, then 2) When they still don’t pay the High Court Sheriffs (you’ll have seen themon tv in “The Sheriffs are Coming” and “Can’t Pay? We’ll take it away!” They are like bulldogs- they do NOT give up! ) will be asked to take the matter further by confronting them-cost £70 which I will get back in addition to what EE already owe. All of those of us ripped off and fobbed off by EE should join together and make a massive claim against this charlatan company and do so before they decide to wind up the company or declare themselves bankrupt and thus are a) able to get away with not paying a penny and b) are allowed to set up another energy company in a different name"
Posted 6 months ago
"I left economy energy early October and my final bills were calculated and they owe me over £300, I was advised that it could take up to a maximum of 28 days to be refunded, we are now in December and I have contacted them several times but just keep getting fobbed off about the new system they have in process, they can not give me any idea as to when I will get my money back. I have even emailed there complaints team and was told the same thing and my complaint was closed down again with no idea as to when I will receive my money back. I have now taken this to the omnibusmon to investigate as I feel i am getting no where and feel I will never see my £300+ again. Please avoid this company and cancel any direct debits as soon as you leave the company."
Posted 6 months ago
"This is easily the worst company Inhace ever had the misfortune to deal with! DO NOT touch them with a barge pole! Despite moving to another supplier over 8 months ago and closing my Economy Energy account, Imwas bombarded with further exorbitant bills and threatened with legal action if I didn’t pay. I finally, after 2/3 months of extreme anxiety over these threats, I managed to speak to a senior manager, Emma Banister, who promised that I would receive £40 compensation for the worry and trouble they had caused. This was over a month ago, and I still haven’t received the money into my bank account. I have tried calling several times, but have had to wait over 20 mins without getting through, and I am still awaiting a reply to my email."
Posted 6 months ago
"This is the worst utility provider we have ever dealt with. They lure customers in with favourable rates but in the time that we have been with Economy Energy they have increased our monthly direct debit by 53% without reason. Even worse, after they increased our monthly payment they also took over £300 from our account without warning or reason. Since September 2018, we have been been in a constant battle to have our account updated with the correct usage and meter readings as they are incompetent at doing their job. We have been informed that we have over £900 in credit on our account which they are dragging the feet in returning. It is our money! It's ok from them to steal from their customers, but they are infuriatingly slow at refunding customers money. The complaints team submitted a request for refund over a month ago and still we have not had an update. We have switched providers since and after ringing yet again yesterday, we have been informed that our final bill will not be issued for another 6-8 weeks and only then will our refund be considered. This is fraud and theft! They are incompetent, unhelpful and atrocious at customer service. We will keep fighting this with legal help and have submitted a case to the Ombusman."
Posted 6 months ago
"Still waiting fro a refund. Left in August 2018 and it is now December 2018"
Posted 6 months ago
"Economy Energy offer poor service and are very difficult to get money back from if you are moving cancel your direct debit and make sure you owe them money before leaving.I moved on oct 1 2018 they took 28 days to put the bill together and said it would take up to a further 28 days to get my credit back. I have sent several emails and made lots of calls there managers wont speak to you as its about a refund POOR SERVICE BE AWARE!!!!!"
Posted 6 months ago
"Same as everyone else on here, they are basically thieves, overcharging people and then refusing to refund the money. It’s been 2 month since I switched and they owe me £305.00 and I just keep getting fobbed off. I’ve lost hope at getting the money back reading these reviews. If a someone on the street stole money off me they’d be headed to prison. How can companies be allowed to steal from us??!!"
Posted 6 months ago
Economy Energy is rated 1.10 based on 161 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support