Economy Energy Reviews

1.17 Rating 64 Reviews
3% of reviewers recommend Economy Energy
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in

How would you rate Economy Energy ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"Simple problem on their part. Easily resolved. Becomes massive problem 6 emails and texts and calls a DAY for nearly a month can’t wait to leave such a shoddy organisation"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"Please take real care before doing any business with company, their mathematical skills leave a lot to be desired and seems to be wholly manual and open to typos, arithmetic errors and numbers put in the the wrong boxes, so you may end up having to do lots of your own maths and accountancy if you want a fair and correct bill! When I left, I got a bill for over £500 for the last 20 days electricity. This was clearly an error on the invoice where someone input the starting reading for the whole contract, not the carry forward from the previous bill...! On further investigation, every bill included free mistakes. It then took a further 6 weeks with lots of red bills, text messages and calls/emails to customer services to get it sorted. As fast as you agreed things with one person, another was resending or demanding payment for the original incorrect bill. The customer services, complaints and debt recovery departments, all work with information which is weeks out of date and do not seem to be able to communicate. The final solution was for them to tear up every previous bill and start again.... and even then it took 2 attempts."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"Totally lack of communication, every single advisor tells different things. Waiting for 3 months for my refund of £240, apparently have to request my own money and wait for another 28 days after request, had to call them at least 6 times for my final bill, every single time they apologise that they c=have issues with billing department, then issues with refund department, there is always a problem at some description. AVOID!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"The list gets longer. Bills 100's of units in excess of usage. Provide meter reading which is ignored. Account in credit, is turned to a debt using invented guesstimate. If they call wanting more money. No correct statement, no payment. I hope this helps. Below is what I will be watching if they contact me to repay debt. What counts as harassment by a creditor Contacting you several times a day, or early in the morning or late at night. Using more than one debt collector at a time to chase you for payment. Not telling you in writing if the debt has been passed on to a debt collection agency. Putting pressure on you to pay all the money off, or in larger instalments when you can't afford to. Ignoring you if you say you don't owe the money. Falsely claiming to work for the court or be a bailiff. See CITIZENS ADVICE for full list. Type in Citizens Advice harassment by creditor. You should point out in a recorded delivery letter that harassment is a criminal offence and you can take further action if your creditor doesn't stop. CONTACT CITIZENS ADVICE BEFORE TAKING ANY ACTION."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
"Changed supplier on 4th Sept and final meter reading was sent. I am due £170 approx. as they overcharged me and put up my direct debit without my consent. I have not yet had a final bill although they sent me a bill dated 1st Oct. Have been advised that it takes 6 - 8 weeks to generate a final bill. {Nonsense of course} and then a futher 28days to refund moneys due. Have phoned and used online chat without any success. Note from other comments that I not alone in having these problems. Have ticked Not applicable as I have not received refund. Not a good company to deal with and would not recommend them even when original process to change to them went OK."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
"Changed electricity to a different supplier beginning of August 2018. Its now 16th Octobet 2018. Still no final bill. Waiting for £41 refund. Gave up ringing their customer advisers and put in formal complaint. Promised refund within 3 - 5 working days but it never appeared. Put another formal complaint in and still waiting. l wouldn't recommend this supplier."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
"The worst company I have ever dealt with. Absolutely useless at every level of their service. Zero communication within the company and god help you if you have an issue because it will never be dealt with. Had to take my problem to the energy ombudsman, 4 months later it’s still not resolved and no one in the company will help. I’ve switched to another supplier and they’re still making my life a misery, chasing me for a bill with an estimated start and end date. I’ve never had access to my online account to keep track of my bills and when I brought this up with a senior complaints advisor, I was told it would take a very long time to resolve the problem. That was 3 months ago. Avoid this company like the plague!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
"Economy Energy have blocked my switch THREE times. I have spent hours trying to resolve this issue. PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"My experience is the same as everyone else's. They are simply theifs disguised as an energy company. Time to report them to the Ombudsman."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"Update. EE are contradictory with response. One CS agent says the opposite of another. They increase DD, in my case, GAS by OVER 2.6X. My DD with a big 6 supplier was less than EE were expecting me to pay with their DD increase. Getting account credit refunded is another example of EE unacceptable practices. A visit to the County Court will resolve this issue. My meter readings supplied are different from the estimates they use to extract money from my bank. BEWARE WHEN LEAVING EE. My account balance was adjusted and backdated by increasing the tariff by 10p, this being an extra invented £380 to pay. This lot are a MINUS 10 at best."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
"I transfered over to Economy Energy in Oct 2017, after going on a comparison site which said it would save me £200 a year to move. I was paying £84.11 a month for gas and electricity and paid off a balance of £69.04 at the end of the contract in Oct 2017. I was give new direct debits set by you of £42 a month for gas and £14 a month for electric. This seemed all it was promised to be and a big saving going from £84.11 a month to £56 a month. Over the year I read the gas meter 3 or 4 times. Tin Sept I get a letter from them offering me discount tarif for the following year and the' number to ring' I thought great I'll do that. After waiting an hour on the phone I gave up. Then I went on the website onto the live chat. Same problem again. 45 minutes I waited to talk to someone and then they told me I needed to ring the 'number'. So I tried again and was just told someone would ring me. Great, but I am a teacher and can't answer my phone most of the time during the day. They rang twice, but I was unable to answer my phone both times. So I thought this is ridiculous and changed supplier. Then I get a text from them saying I owe £561.61. I'm thinking how could I have possibly accumulated such a big bill when a direct debit is supposed to spread the cost over the year. With my last supplier I owed £69.04, which tells me they have done that. Luckily I am in a position where if this amount is correct I can pay it, but I’m sure for some people it would be devastating. Do not touch this company with a barge pole. It's disgusting that you can tempt people to change to you with promises of a lower payment when in fact it's about £220 more than the year before. Then I had a phone call from a very rude member of your staff who demanded payment of the balance. This is a few hours after recieving the text. Giving me no time to check my bank balance, do some sums and recover from the shock of such a big bill. She would not listen to me, she kept talking over me, she was not interested in anything I had to say. She just kept saying are you refusing to pay. I kept replying 'no' I'm not refusing. I asked to speak to a manager and she said she would ring me after 5pm and hand me over to a manager, but no one rang me. You can not reply to any of their texts or emails and the only way to complain is on their website, where there is no evidence of you contacting them. They are supposed to reply to emails with 5 days, it has now been 6 and I haven’t heard from them. A lesson I have learnt the hard way, do not touch companies with low ratings, they are deserved."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"This must be the worst energy co. Been in dispute over incorrect bills since meter change 6months ago.made complaints by phone and emails and have never had a reply which is in direct contrast to there so called complaints procedure.Avoid at all cost"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Left on 13th May. Still no final correct gas bill. Owed about £ 115 And i tried every possible method of contact . Most times not even a reply. Just starting contact with onbudsman as they've had 8 weeks to reply but nothing. They need closing down. AVOID AT ALL COSTS."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Incorrect bills. Incorrect corrected bills. 50 minutes waiting for call to be answered. Don't return calls as promised. Don't answer emails. Request of account credit money to be returned ignored. And this published by MSE which customers and potential customers should be aware and understand the cost. The hike hits on Sunday 7 October. Economy Energy is hitting thousands of customers with an astonishing £300+/year rise. Guy Anker, deputy editor at MoneySavingExpert.com, said: "A hike of £300+/yr is, quite frankly, ghastly. Everyone who took up the variable tariff, you can leave penalty-free, so the message is clear: get out quick."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Economy energy have blocked my switch 2 another supplier twice this year. I have emailed them 3 times and after 7 weeks have had no response. They were unable to produce a final bill but we're able to ring me several times a day for weeks asking me to pay this bill! Do not use this company."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Still waiting for my refund from June..ive been promised I will get it back next week after the phantom 28 days which was upped from 10 days at the end of August.. How are they legally allowed to keep our money surely the authorities know what's happening and can step in and stop these guys from stealing peoples hard earned money. Lets see what excuse they come up with next week when the deadline ends."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"So, having worked for a utility company myself (yes one of those people) I can only apologise for all the advisors that actually WERE doing their job. [Here is a quick summary because the two stories are long]: - 6-8 weeks for a final bill to be produced, used predicted despite being given actual - rang so many times it was beyond a joke to be told the previous agent hadn't done what they were supposed to have - chasing a refund for essentially 2 months AFTER the final bill - Total of 3/4 months to POTENTIALLY get what is owed to me (if this had been a customer their credit file would have been shot) - Rude "floor support", no managers in sight. Unable to help in general. -Being lied to over the phone by 3 advisors -Staff unaware of their own bill changes and do not give any warning to customers -Now ridiculous "estimated" prices. Were going to be paying for the equivalent of a 5 person household for just 2 people. (Increase of bills for £50 a month to £95) - Refund issues again, the advisors have no idea on what they are advising DO NOT GO WITH THIS COMPANY THEY ARE ABSOLUTELY SHOCKING. *An old account* My story starts 16th July (2018) when i moved out and gave in my actual meter readings. I lived in a house-share with 4 other people so they were relying on me to communicate any credit or debt they owed me. I expected maybe 1 week wait (if any) for a final bill. I was told it can take 6-8 weeks. That was my first shock. This is my first gas/electric company having dealt with so I didn't question it (despite water being able to do it there and then over the phone). I rang up multiple times within that time frame just to check if anything had been produced, nothing. Time frame coming to a close I finally got told that they had produced the bills, but based on "predicted readings, as I had not supplied them with actual". I had a picture in front of me with the actual and told them they were incorrect. They said they would re-process (thankfully not taking another 6-8 weeks). I ring up again, "Oh your electricity bill has been produced, but for some reason not your gas, I shall try to force that through and will email the team"... right. So I request the refund for the electric, get told 3-5 days (standard). Okay. Eagerly tell my 4 old house mates. (At this point we are in the back end of August). I ring up again, end of the week, get told gas has now been created, refund shall take 3-5 day. Again, okay. But I get told for some reason electric still hasn't gone through, why? "No idea, I shall put it through again this time with the gas for you". Fab. I ring up again, still no refund. When will I get this? "Oh for some reason neither have been accepted, give me 72 hours I shall get this sorted for you and will get someone to call you back". Awesome... No call back. Ring them again. "Oh they didn't put it through, I shall for you now, it will take 10 working days". So we have gone from 3-5 days, to 72hr, to 10 days. I am annoyed. I just want it over with, so do the 4 housemates. I ring up near the end of the 10 days (no longer trusting ANYTHING I am told). Get a lovely agent (she's drawn the short straw sadly). She tells me that "The gas hasn't even been put through yet and sadly we now have a backlog so it will take up to 28 days for a refund"... 28 days... TWENTY. EIGHT. DAYS. I HAVE BEEN CHASING THIS DAMNED THING FOR CLOSE TO 3 MONTHS NOW. Ask to speak to a manager, apologise to the lovely agent, completely not her fault. Get given "floor support" who says "Why do you want a manager, I can deal with any request, I am a senior member of the team", because my dear, i no longer believe any of your agents, much less their support. She tells me there is nothing they can do but advises because the electricity was initially requested on the 6th of September, and according to their new (and recent) promise they need that to get refunded to me by the 5th of October (28 days folks...). So here we are. *Soon to be old account* Despite all of the early stages of above Economy energy (we are now in were still the lowest cost for gas and electric so in my new house with just the two of us decided to swap to them again (what a mistake). Swap was no hassle. They took their strange 2 double first payment (not met any other company that does that) again. I ring up to get the DD date changed, here is when the party started. I ring up, get a very tired gentleman (who can blame him, Monday) who yawns on the phone (we've all been there bless him). He tells me he will do that for me today and change the pay date from the 8th to the 22nd, and would call me back. He calls me back (shocker!). And says that has all been done and not to worry. I ask him 3 times just to make sure, The. Price. Will. Not. Change. Confirmed 3 times. Awesome. Next day I get an email saying Electric DD date has changed. Perfect! But then I notice it says "This price has increased from £32 so £52". [WHAT]. Ring up get an advisor "Oh this is due to an industry wide increase". But I was told it would stay the same? "Nothing we can do, the prices have increased". Okay, I have had no email about gas, will that change, has it changed? "No, everything should stay the same, I can see on your account nothing will change". Good. Okay, I can accept a £20 increase, not happy, but will accept. 2 hours late. TWO. HOURS. I get an email 'We have changed your gas DD and have increased the price". Fuming. Absolutely fuming. I get the fella to ring because I am ready to rip a head off at this point, which will get us nowhere. Bloke says "Oh yeah, company increase, practically double the charges". So we have increased by almost £40 a month and am now paying £95 a month for 2 people, whereas my previous account with 5 people was £90 a month, and we were owed a pretty big refund. Same day I rang up Bulb and immediately transferred. DO NOT GO WITH THIS COMPANY. ABSOLUTELY BLOODY SHOCKING."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Still waiting for my refund 4 months after leaving them - crooks !"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Why would anybody want to join a comedy energy when they are treated so poorly I have joined another energy supplier back in April but still have not got the money that a comedy energy hold in there bank and now it's 5 months on should it take this long to give Back money that is held in there account that is owed to the customer and why can't they issue me with a proper bill a proper paper bill to show what my account is as they cannot work out my bill and give me back the money they owe. this is why I'm writing a review is to warn other people not to join a comedy energy until they can become better at what they do."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Billing system is a shambles, customer service is practically none existent as they don't respond to phone calls, e mails or recorded letters, Worst of all its practically impossible to get a refund of credit when you leave them. Steer well clear of these crooks"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Economy Energy is rated 1.17 based on 64 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This