CeX Reviews

3.10 Rating 96 Reviews
53% of reviewers recommend CeX
1106 Review Views (past 24 hours)
11PM - 1AM
22 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
42 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
77 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
42 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
62 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
58 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
191 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
56 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
154 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
238 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
80 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
84 Review Views
11PM
11PM
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how CeX made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Courier, Postal Service
delivery methods
Customer Service
Email, Live Chat
communication channels
"The price was good and good condition"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Are you CeX? Reply to this positive review and show your potential customers that you care about the feedback CeX receives. Reply Free
"Just had one of my worst shopping experiences ever at the Northallerton branch with an ignorant and rude lady that cost them over £270 worth of sales. I was so embarrassed by her tactless behaviour I walked away wondering what just happened"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
"When customers take things in to the shop there are refusing to take things in Windsor store that is not how to run a store and when customers take things in to sell there say we can't take that coz it has some damage what does it matter it still works I am disgusted by the staff at Windsor store there don't have any customers services and there are rude I will never be shopping there again"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Order number EQ230081 18th Nov made a visit to Cex East Ham, was served by Hammad, I had 6 brand new unlocked mobile phone which I wanted to sell price was agreed and a form was filled out. I thought instead of cash I would get the payment as bank transfer so I wouldn’t have to come back to the shop. Hammad had advised me that by the 20th Nov latest I would have the money in my account, I waited until the 21st and got nothing so on the 21st I went to Cex East Ham and had spoken to a young Asian girl who told me the phones have not been checked and she doesn’t know why but it will be check today and yet another form was filled out and that I would get the bank transfer in my account by 22nd nov but of course still nothing no payment so I went back to Cex East Ham a third time on 22 nov and had spoken to Hammad again and he was unsure why this wasn’t proceed but whilst I was in store at the counter he had proceed it all and I will get the money in my account by 23rd nov and he was 110% sure about that, those were his words. So today is 23rd Nov and still no money has been paid into my bank account? Wonder if anyone can help as in store they don’t seem very professional and obviously don’t care about their customers and don’t know how to provide customer service and are good at lying this proves. I have patiently waiting but after the third time this is getting ridiculous and really annoying me and wasting my time."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"TERRIBLE experience at CEX Cowley. Such a RUDE member of staff acting as if she wanted to start a fight! I was only trying to understand why it says there are 3 of my item in stock at that branch but nothing in when i arrive. AVOID!! Customer care isn't their specialty!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Took a faulty item to Bletchley branch,they tested item and stated nothing wrong,tested item again at home,definitely faulty,took it back again to be told the same thing even with someone else noting the problem. The alleged manager was a total waste of space(put politely). He obviously has no clue how to handle customers correctly.couldn't check water temperature correctly,left and took item to MK centre branch,Funny thing, They checked the item on the same day.Found the fault straight away,solved my issue,fixed the problem quickly easily and proffesionaly,Bletchley branch useless."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"SCAMMERS! SCAMMERS! SCAMMERS! Do not buy anything from them, especially phones. They would find thousands excuses not to accept the item back under the warranty. I bought iPhone from them in August and it stopped working after 3 months. I could not switch it on, it went completely black. I went to the Hounslow branch in London and wanted them to repair it, or give me replacement/refund but they refuse it. First thing they said to me is that I could have brought a different item as they cannot prove it it's theirs. The phone was not switching on so they were unable to check IMEI number. It was my word against theirs. I lost £400 and they did not do anything to help me. If they are selling the phones they supposed to have a way to prove it it's theirs. Why should I prove it? I brought the phone in the original box and receipt from them. What kind of business it is? They are making money cheating on people. They will give you 24 months warranty but would do anything just not to accept the faulty item back. Liars. Also, when I said I paid £400 the blondie said to me I didn't pay her so I said I paid the business you are working for and you must be getting a salary, she just laugh at my face. When I said I want to talk to a manger they told me he's not there and would not provide me with a number. They told me to email headquarters. Horrible, horrible customer service. I ended up with a faulty item and £400 out of my pocket. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY. CONS"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"I took my console to the west bromwich store to be told to wait 45 mins to then be told they wouldnt take it because they couldnt take off the profile and reset it. I got home and reset it in less than 2 mins after catching a taxi there and having to walk home because of their incompetence, the staff clearly dont know what they are doing and it cost me money. Chimps would have been more apt."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Avoid buying stuff online from them! My boyfriend ordered some light bulbs online from them b22 twice and every single time we receive the wrong ones. We have also mentioned in the first email we sent, to double check the package they send you the 2nd time. Also they don't ever respond to your emails, ignoring you completely until you go into the store to get a refund. My boyfriend had returned all the light bulbs to them and we won't ever consider buying anything from them ever again."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"these people suck balls tried to return a ipad within the stated period for a full refund they lied about the return period and tried to fob me off with a store credit like i would ever buy from these muppets again aaAVOID AVOID AVOID at all cost do not use this company"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I have purchased a few items from CEX online. While the items do arrive in a timely manner on multiple occasions now I have received the wrong item, each time a far cheaper item has been sent. Upon returning one of the wrong items to the local store I was met with a bad attitude and told I would be required to wait 40 minutes while the item was tested. I found that highly amusing seen as it wasn’t even the correct item, I don’t see why there was any relevance in checking the item, working or not it wasn’t what I ordered. The attitude of the sales staff in the shop was less than welcoming (downright rude); I will never set foot in the Kilmarnock branch again as a consequence. After my first experience I was gifted a £10 voucher for my troubles. But alas yet again more incorrect items were sent. There appears to be no interest whatsoever in answering any queries in a timely manner. It’s a complete and utter joke that items cannot be checked prior to being shipped yet need to be thoroughly checked before they are refunded. I still await any form of response to this. Pay good money in good faith only to be sent incorrect items. If you enjoy the lottery then purchase an item from CEX online and you never know you may hit the jackpot and actually receive the correct item. If 0 stars was an option then this mob would be getting zero stars. The time and effort required for me to return the garbage they sent is not worth it so I effectively wasted my money."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"In the space of 4 days, I have had to re-visit CEX in Reading - on friar street, 4 times! Firstly I went to trade in an in-expensive camera valued at roughly £40. The member of staff called 'Sean E' (taken from my receipt) actually snapped a piece of the casing when he was doing the checks and then had the audacity to tell me they wouldn't take it because it was broken, and denied breaking it after doing so infant of me! 'Sorry dude we're not taking that' I was absolutely fuming. After telling him to get his manager and explain the situation, he came back and told me they would rightfully be giving me the money - instead of apologising, he said nothing and I was on my way. I also wanted to trade in my iPhone 6 which had a cracked screen and scuffing on the back, I was told to pay to get the screen replaced elsewhere and bring it back by one person, who said the scuffs weren't an issue as they were cosmetic. Then upon returning, they forgot to test it over the weekend - so I had to make 2 trips in one day back to the shop. When I got back (again) they then said they wouldn't take it because of the cosmetic scuffs??? Eventually after complaining for a while and to 3 or 4 different members of staff that were sent over to me, I got some money for it. The work done by these staff is absolute guess work, there are no guidelines at all in CEX. I was also given 3 different valuation prices for the phone by 3 different members of staff, one for every time I visited.... It'll be music to their ears that I'm not coming back after the amount of complaining i've done, there definitely needs to be more training done at this shop, staff were so un-professional... 'dude'."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Sent off my wife's Samsung galaxy s5 to them as they graded it as good condition on website and £70 to sell to them. Eventually got reply to say it was regraded to not working as back cover was damaged. The back cover was in good condition as it was always kept in a case with no cracks or bits broken off which was the case when it was returned to me as their new offer of £10 was not acceptable. Looks like they will damage your phone to lower the price as previously noted in other reviews (wish I had noticed this first). So I now have to buy new back cover before sending it off to a reputable company. So avoid like the plague. You have been warned."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Take my old phone into store asked for cash to b told ill have to wait up to 4 days to get my money as they don't have any. What shop buys stuff and doesn't have money😠 . Wen asked for the fone back they said we will keep it and ring u wen we have the money. Wo t b going again"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"It is not worth the risk of purchasing from this company. I received a damaged camera lens worth over 500. The company requested I return the item for investigation. They then returned it to me in an even more damaged condition and advised they would be honouring the warranty as their records show it was in working order when it was sent. I literally took this lens out the box and put it on my camera and it broken through no fault of my own. Do not risk buying from them. They cannot be trusted."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I was asking for a refund and they want to wait for 45 minutes because they should check the Magic Mouse after a 20 minutes queue . They say this is the policy ,but when I was buying I didn’t sign any policy and nobody was checked that Magic Mouse to show me if is working . They say to come next day because I didn’t have time to wait to them procedure on my time . Also I got many policy’s like trading my time to wait to have my money back . Is the first experience with cex , I will never come back and I will never recommend this . Tomorrow I will go back and I am very curious of the answer ? Cex Swindon"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I am pleased to pass on my thanks and gratitude to Guurpal your Store Manager at CEX WALTHAMSTOW for the impeccable service he provided. I personally appreciate his hard work, diligence and desire to meet my needs on Saturday 18th August 2018. He was very prompt, professional and able to produce an excellent outcome for me. I currently work for the NHS but I also have come from a retail background so I know exactly what to expect as a team member as well as a customer. The service Guurpal provides demonstrates that he is always willing to put the customer and their needs at the forefront of his mind. I also monitored his enthusiasm and his ability to motivate his team members as they all behaved considerate and mannerly. It is not an exaggeration to say that Guurpal should be promoted to Area Manager for his great dedication and admirable work ethics. I am so please to have received such an extraordinary service. I will 1000% come back to shop again with my whole family! Kind regards, Chezelle"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Brought a Samsung GALAXY S4 for £105 in May 2018, hardly used the phone as it was for work. in August 2018 the phone then stated out of the blue that it had no sim. the sim card was in place and hadn't been touched. I took the phone back to the CEX shop in Guildford Surrey where i purchased it as it had a 24 month warranty. They took the phone and sent me away for 40 minutes while they checked it. When i came back they said the warranty was void as there was a tiny crack in the rear external case of the phone. I explained that this has nothing to do with the Sim card not registering and then they showed me some bent pins where the sim card goes and said that i have bent the pins and that is why it doesn't work. I was furious as i had not bent the pins, I hadn't touched the sim card - why would I? Anyway the store manager basically called me a liar and said the phone will not be covered as it is accidental damage. there is no customer service phone number to contact CEX, i will never use this company again, this is the one and only experience that i have had with them."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Don't be fooled into thinking that you will get decent money for your old Orange phone sending it to CeX. Their website allows you to specify what network the phone is on and I was offered £5-7 for my phones and sent them in. Tracked my order on line (as they did not e-mail me) to find that the phone values were now 1p as Orange no long exists in UK and so phones graded as "Not Working". Complained twice, that online values were not being honoured but got generic answer that totally ignores the point."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"My son bought a xbox 1 on 4/8/18 @16.03pm and some games and a lead for box, after taking it home and spending time setting it up it would not work properly so on 10/8/18 he taken it back to the shop and asked for a refund which they refused and said they would test it for 2 days under warranty, when he picked it back up they said nothing wrong with it so he brought it home to find it was still broken and once again they refused him a refund as it was faulty goods, so he asked myself his dad to come with him as he felt the manager was aggressive and intimidating as i am an ex-police officer and used to these situations, Today i taken my son to the shop at approx 10am to gain a refund and i seen what he meant, the manager refused a refund, i quoted consumer act and right to refund under faulty goods..he still refused and got aggressive with me threatening to call the police, so i asked for him to call the police and carried on insisting that he refunds over a period of approx 30 minutes with the customers listening, it was only when i posted on facebook and threatened to put it on spotted and called trading standards that he eventually after a battle agreed, but then he refused to refund the £15 for the lead for the box and 1 hour later he was refusing to refund for the xbox1 game £18! even though it was bought with the console, he offered £9, again i quoted the act to him and threatened small claims court, what a horrendous experience it was and surely are not being legal, i am going to trading standards and spotted in every town and a website, horrendous behaviour!!!! over an hour of stress caused by this so called manager. avoid company at all costs!! just received a response from them 15/8/18 so basically they do not care at all....so looks like trading standards now and ombudsman.....dreadful company ….run by franchisees who do not care.....following response received..... Hi Andy, Thank you for writing back with the details. With the help of the details you have provided, I was able to locate the store involved in this order. We aim to always give our customers a pleasant shopping experience, and we hope that their visit can encourage them to positively share their experience with other prospective customers. I have forwarded a feedback to the store management team so that the necessary training can be given to the staff to avoid these instances in the future. I apologise for the inconvenience caused to you in this matter. If there is anything else I can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact us. Regards, Sumeet"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
CeX is rated 3.10 based on 96 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support