CeX Reviews

3.54 Rating 76 Reviews
64% of reviewers recommend CeX
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email, Live Chat
communication channels

How would you rate CeX ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"My son bought a xbox 1 on 4/8/18 @16.03pm and some games and a lead for box, after taking it home and spending time setting it up it would not work properly so on 10/8/18 he taken it back to the shop and asked for a refund which they refused and said they would test it for 2 days under warranty, when he picked it back up they said nothing wrong with it so he brought it home to find it was still broken and once again they refused him a refund as it was faulty goods, so he asked myself his dad to come with him as he felt the manager was aggressive and intimidating as i am an ex-police officer and used to these situations, Today i taken my son to the shop at approx 10am to gain a refund and i seen what he meant, the manager refused a refund, i quoted consumer act and right to refund under faulty goods..he still refused and got aggressive with me threatening to call the police, so i asked for him to call the police and carried on insisting that he refunds over a period of approx 30 minutes with the customers listening, it was only when i posted on facebook and threatened to put it on spotted and called trading standards that he eventually after a battle agreed, but then he refused to refund the £15 for the lead for the box and 1 hour later he was refusing to refund for the xbox1 game £18! even though it was bought with the console, he offered £9, again i quoted the act to him and threatened small claims court, what a horrendous experience it was and surely are not being legal, i am going to trading standards and spotted in every town and a website, horrendous behaviour!!!! over an hour of stress caused by this so called manager. avoid company at all costs!! just received a response from them 15/8/18 so basically they do not care at all....so looks like trading standards now and ombudsman.....dreadful company ….run by franchisees who do not care.....following response received..... Hi Andy, Thank you for writing back with the details. With the help of the details you have provided, I was able to locate the store involved in this order. We aim to always give our customers a pleasant shopping experience, and we hope that their visit can encourage them to positively share their experience with other prospective customers. I have forwarded a feedback to the store management team so that the necessary training can be given to the staff to avoid these instances in the future. I apologise for the inconvenience caused to you in this matter. If there is anything else I can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact us. Regards, Sumeet"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"So grateful to Danni, his customer care was excellent, had bother with an I phone 5 that I bought for my son, got this replaced and now he’s happy and I’m even more happier!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
"Rude certon members of staff ,company policy not exactually made clear on refunds on to a gift card only and if not returned 2 days they will reduce value for what payed for felt dispite i got a full refund on to a gift card with the argument of the goods was in exerlant condition n i work long houres i dont find the customers rights is quite there if there were 0 stars id rate zero sorry"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"IF I could give no stars I would! Do not I repeat do not order online from this company! I have no choice but to keep ordering until I get a right item as I have a voucher I have to use. I have emailed the managing director directly it’s so appalling and I have had no help for the 3rd time I have had to place an order to get a correct item that works! 1st one cancelled, fair enough, 2nd GoPro wrong one, 3rd one A grade faulty and missing a vital part on camera And so back to local store again for refund!4th told by online service to order again and they would help to ensure what is being sent is correct etc and guess what? Nope they didn’t aNd have dispatched it anywAy! I have lost money in car parks and petrol and time wasted and I have a special needs son who came with me and it upsets him to queue and have to wait for them to check an item I just received in the post by them! I then had to get family help to have my son as he was upset and didn’t want to go! I have no doubt I will be there again to refund my 4th order as it hasn’t been checked! I paid more for an A grade to ensure this didn’t happen but there was no point! No response to messages or emails in time either. No phone number and now I see why! Help my latest order number is 5007769 but I should all too late! Have had it now and wish I never bothered as it’s stressing me out now!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I lost all the data, pictures, videos and work files I had on my phone because the staff member forgot to tell me they wipe phones when checking them. I was not offered any format of genuine apology, the manager didn't even try and attempt to show me how to restore my phone after me repeatedly telling them it wasn't backed up. I am disgusted that they watched me stand there crying over the loss of irreplaceable memories without being able to show any care."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I bought the Samsung A5 for £125, I had to take it back because the battery didn't last 12 hours, also the reception was awful. I then bought a Samsung S5 for £130, the phone will not register my sim card. I got a new card, initially it worked then same thing happened to the card. Now the S5 refuses to charge. I'll take the S5 back tomorrow."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"The minecraft special edition console can be produced NEW from most sainsburys /Tesco for £220. My children saved and bought one as they wanted the console but already own the minecraft and the story mode and as clearly stated in the description online. It does not come with the game or DLC's. Fine we thought , £40 saving might come with a couple of scratches on it as its discounted . What isn't made clear is that unless your buy it in MINT CONDITION! There give you any controller! Even a 3rd party! And that the pictures shown don't represent what I'm really buying. The only reason I know this is because I live not to far from a Cex so I emailed them asking them if I could swap the controller I'd reserved for the minecraft and was given a link to there T&C and told no and that I should take it from my kids and return it. They didn't ask what controller I'd been given and if they did they might have released it cost more then the minecraft one I wanted and was expecting when buy. Very disappointed and feel cheated. Will not be using there online service again"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I placed an order online with CEX for a £530 MacBook pro on Tuesday evening. Nothing was heard from them apart from the automatically generated email (stating delivery would take place between 3-5 working days) until Thursday. The email stated the item had been dispatched and gave me a UPS tracking number. The tracking number did not work at all and on Friday morning I contacted customer service by email about this issue. I also later contacted them by Facebook messenger as they hadn't responded to my email. It's not possible to phone CEX customer service, only email, Facebook & Twitter and they don't respond quickly to any of those either. I was then informed that the store hadn't shipped my item as reported and they would do so today (Friday). It would definitely go out today. I was given a new tracking number and using this I found that the item hadn't shipped on Friday. Saturday morning I contacted them again. After a long wait I was informed the item now wouldn't ship until Monday. No apologies. The item now won't arrive for a further 5 days, making the total shipping time 10 days! No apologies from anyone. I was just "thanked for my understanding". I requested to pick up the item from the store but was told I could not for "security reasons". Dont understand what security risks there are if i bring the appropriate ID. So I asked if I could cancel the order, get a refund of my in store voucher and buy one myself from another store. I was told this would take 3 working days to process! Now I am between a rock and a hard place as I have no quick solution to getting my voucher or my laptop. Customer service take ages to respond to communications and are unwilling to do anything quickly to resolve the situation. Contacting CS by electronic means is not acceptable. We really need a phone number to call in situations like this, but CEX don't want to give us one. Terrible service. Avoid buying on line from them at all costs."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Unprofessional staff, awful customer service line, constantly refused a refund for my faulty item after nearly a month of persistence and talking to five different people in the company. Still being refused a refund. It's like they're trying to refuse until my 30 days legal refund time is up. Don't expect your money back. Useless. Wont ever buy or sell here again and I'll be accusing others to do the same."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I paid a smaller amount for my Nintendo switch"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Buying and selling made easy"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"The price is right so is the quality of the products sold!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"bought a second had iphone 6 from a CEX store. I had it for 6 months and then one day it stopped turning on. I took it to the CEX store with all of my receipts and was told they could not try to fix it or refund the warranty because it had been water damaged. While in my possession, the phone never got wet and was not taken into humid areas. I was very careful with the phone because I do not have enough money to purchase another one. I found the absolute refusal of the staff to help as unacceptable, even if the phone had somehow been water damaged it is clear that this did not cause the phone to break. I will never shop here again - I lost over £300."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"THE place for pre loved stuff. Massive range on the website and very cheap delivery charges."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I bought a 500GB drive and upon trying to use it, Found that it was faulty. When I attempted to review the product on the CEX site, I discovered it was impossible to post my (one star) review. -submission after submission were rejected. Here are two examples of the submissions that were rejected:- 1. "I don`t recommend this item as it was faulty. The local store confirmed this and issued me with a voucher which I used to buy a larger drive." - REJECTED. 2. "I do not recommend this drive as it did not work at all." - REJECTED As you can see, there was nothing derogatory or bad about the submissions, I simply posted the truth about my purchase, - (it was faulty). As you can see, apparently you are not allowed to post negative reviews HOWEVER they are worded. I can`t recommend (or respect), any company that censors customers opinions in this way, it displays a really negative attitude and disrespect for honesty on CEX`s part."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"They are not responding or paying me."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Store damaged my items then had the cheek to blame me. Glad I had pictured from before I took them in. Avoid at all costs"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Very good service"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Never Again - sham warranty Never Again - I bought a phone - was told I had a 2 year warranty - the phone was faulty after 2 weeks (just got round to using it) - I took it back and they told me that the warranty was invalid because of 'screen bounce' - was purely an excuse to get out of supporting what they had sold me - based on my experience walk on by and dont enter this shop - defintely do not trust their sham warranty - CEX, do the right thing, step up and fix this issue!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Order cancelled within 10 mins due to the following "unable to source the item" but showing plenty of stock online."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
CeX is rated 3.54 based on 76 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This