Tesco Finest Bathrooms Reviews

1.33 Rating 12 Reviews
0% of reviewers recommend Tesco Finest Bathrooms

How would you rate Tesco Finest Bathrooms?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"In hindsight a very poor decision to put trust in Tesco Finest Bathrooms. The "designer" failed to make an adequate design for one bathroom with wet floor (we unfortunately had 2 bathrooms and a downstairs cloakroom fitted by them). The contract small print is in the favour of the actual supplier Mark Two, trading under the Tesco banner. The tradesmen employed are on very tight budgets and do not get paid well, hence they rush and do not clean up adequately. Inferior materials are used ie no water resistant plasterboard and no cement backer boards. Tradesmen were flexible to inevitable changes that occur in any major refurbishment, however, Mark Two as an organisation are not flexible. One bathroom should have been re-surveyed and redesigned, due to cost savings by company, poor management of the work, this allowed the workforce to cut corners. One bathroom had the floor laid twice, an ensuite bathroom with wet floor resulted in the water running the full length of the bathroom and pooling in a far corner. The Mark Two manager tried to convince me that the 5deg slope in the wrong direction on the floor was "within tolerance" The floor was taken up and replaced, though far from perfect. Work took two months scheduled for 2 weeks. Ensuite wet room floor failed after 9 months, took another 7 months to get Mark Two to repair. Repair was still not ideal. Other faults such as failing lights and bathroom mirrors and extractors replaced at the same time. Floor failed for a second time and began leaking into surrounding chipboard flooring, above kitchen that had just been replaced. Knowing that Mark Two had been declared bankrupt, I had little choice but to rectify the problem myself. Whilst carefully removing the many layers of the floor I discovered to my horror the fatal flaws in the design and execution of the previous work. The tiles were laid on over 20mm of adhesive, laid on top of tanked 10mm marine ply screwed to the original chipboard. The wet floor area in the shower was a hotpotch of marine ply, 18mm loft board (instead of 22mm water resistant chipboard) and a fiberglass wet floor insert of inadequate size, in the wrong place and and supported on 10mm plywood instead of 22mm chipboard. The enter shower area was inadequately supported, and was always going to fail. In addition to the poor workmanship, I had to remove several large containers of waste and rubble from under the floor, left by tradesmen who were too time pushed and too uncaring to remove their own waste. After paying for bespoke replacement parts and contacting reliable local tradesmen, I contacted Tesco. They obviously are on a damage limitation exercise with what was left after the collapse of Mark Two. I supposedly have a 25 year guarantee for the hardware and a year guarantee for the work. Since the floor has failed 3 times in 3 years I pointed out that this would constitute a 1 year average life of the workmanship. Tesco were were very polite but firmly refused to help. I will have spent approx £2500 to rectify the failed work and this includes 10 days of my own time. I have considered taking legal action, however, such action against bankrupt Mark Two would be fruitless. However, I consider Tesco culpable for enabling Mark Two to trade under their banner, offering "Tesco promises" and "Tesco guarantees" in the sales literature which are worthless. I will take legal advice as to the possibility of taking Tesco to the small claims court. I would be interested to find others in my position."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Visit Website
"http://youtu.be/ouvovTZUYf0 Says it all..."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"This has been the worst time of my life since employing what I thought was Tesco Finest Bathrooms to fit my en suite bathroom. We had it fitted three years ago and have just finished litigation. We have had two floods because the fitter who we had trouble with from day one, did not fit the soil pipe under the tiled floor, properly and therefore had sewage flooding through the kitchen ceiling. We still have trouble with the bathroom. For our sins, we took Mark Two Distributors to court and finally, two days before court, they admitted liability. However, due to their being in administration we will only get part of the settlement and will have to go after their administrators for the rest! I got paid £650 for distress and inconvenience. I have had untold problems, not been able to use the bathroom for more than three weeks, have a environmentally unclean kitchen cupboard which i still can not use and loads of other stuff and yet over three years, they consider the aggravation and upset only worth £650. Always, when signing a contract, check the registered address and see who the company is because we thought we had signed a contract with Tesco, but it transpires that because the registered address was that of Mark Two, it was them with whom we contracted. I am now going to contact the Evening Standard or someone and see if they will do an article on it as we have all beeen cheated. Mark Two Distributors Limited stink!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Had bathroom totally ripped out 3 times from February to end of March last year, was a total joke, was told telco finest bathrooms, but got mark two. First fitter made such a mess I refused to let him come back in my house, second fitter no much better, had inspectors and was ripped out again. Now I have horrible mould under silicon, been trying to get in touch NO ANSWER. Can someone give me a phone no SO MUCH GOT LIFE GUSTANTEE"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"we had our bathroom ripped out and a shower put in along with a high rised toilet and new sink. Biggest mistake was going through Tescos, I am registered Disabled which is why we had a new bathroom fitted with a shower so that I could have a bit of independence. From the start it was a shambles, they had this sub contractor come out he ripped everything out laid the marine wood floor but run out do used odd bits of wood which looked like a patch work quilt. After a few months we had a leak that came through the kitchen ceiling and down the back of the kitchen cupboards, after loads of phone calls they sent a guy out and the first guy hadn't snapped the pipes on properly. Did this fix it no, in the end I rang the company and insisted that they send some sort of manager out. The guy turned up about a week later all the flooring on the bathroom floor was lifting, his answer for that was its where it's stretched. I said to him it's where the water from the leak is running but he insisted that it wasn't. He told myself and my husband that he would send somebody out by the end of the week to get it sorted, guess what it took another two weeks before anybody came out and then another month for the floor and everything to dry out. Eventually they fixed the problem, we now have a problem with the toilet it has a leak. Tesco Customer Services telephoned me and said they would send some paper work out, I was to fill it in send what they needed and they would pass it on to the claims team. They are asking for a quote, how can I get a quote when if somebody was to cone out they would have to take tiles etc off as its a floating toilet and all the works are in the wall. I think the whole thing is a joke, we were told that our guarantee for the bathroom was with tescos. I think tesco's should step up to the plate and get these problems sorted because surely they made enough money out of people that have had bathroom and kitchens fitted."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
"Engaged Tesco Finest Bathrooms to completely renovate two bathrooms - paid top money for it (the quote was twice as much as some of their competitors) because we felt that the brand Tesco was going to give us a better quality finish. To our horror, while we dealt with Tesco during the initial process, we were quickly handed off to Mark Two (a subcontractor to Tesco) for the actual work. It has been more or less two and half years but all of this time has been a hell for us. Uneven tiles, leakages in both bathrooms, incompetent and unreliable Mark Two, and lots lots more. We must have had 500+ contacts with Mark Two via email, phone etc. The situation now is that one of our bathrooms is half ripped apart waiting for a fitter to come and fix it. Mark Two has now gone into administration. We called Tesco and were told that the earliest they can get back to us is in feb - we only have one functioning bathroom. The other one has been dug up since August and with no end in sight.... It is such a nightmare with Tesco. We have been nice so far just hoping that things will get fixed and we can move on. However, it just does not seem like the ordeal is coming to an end."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"We got our Bathroom when the Company was called Tesco Luxury Bathrooms but, unbeknown to us, Contracted to a company called Mk 2 who contracted the work to another builder who, intern contracted the work to a small 2 man building firm who were clearly not up to the job and who we wouldn't have entertained given choice. When the problems started Tesco weren't interested and haven't been despite letters directly to the Company Secretary. Everything was passed to MK2. Some remedial work was carried out to bring the bathroom up to spec. but in the end we decided enough was enough. We really didn't want the builders doing any more work in our bathroom. It is now about 16 months since Tesco's partners left our house and the bathroom is a long way from being as we want it or as ordered. Probably all a bit academic now as it seems Tesco have seen the light and severed links with MK2. All a bit late. We were Tesco fans but that has all gone a little sour now."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"I have has a leak in my bathroom over the last week and have called twice. I have been promised 2 phone calls and am still waiting to hear back from them! This is extremely disappointing considering I've paid £9100 for a £5000 job! Disgusting service!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"AVOID TESCO BATHROOMS AT ALL COSTS!! They are only concerned with getting your business. Aftercare is very poor! I ordered my bathroom in Apr 2013. By the time it was fitted it was July 2013. Everything was ok for 6mths until the heated floor stopped working. After this the shower started leaking. I sent an email to Tesco Customer service who ignored it and never bothered to reply! I'm sure if it was to order a new bathroom an instant reply or even several phone calls would have followed to secure your business! I then phoned them and their response was to send someone out to look at the faults within 7 days. Doesn't matter if water was leaking! Doesn't matter if your water bill goes up. Anyway in the meantime the leaking problem worsened. I rang them again but still asked to wait! I finally called my own plumber out who had changed my shower & in the process of repairing the heated floor. Amidst these problems the toilet flush became faulty. Avoid Tesco bathrooms at all costs! They are not FINEST!! But CHEAP!! They use cheap Mark II bathroom materials & charge you a ton! Aftercare service is nonexistent!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"My small bathroom which i was assured would take 4 working days to complete, actually took 6 workmen 7 months to complete to a satisfactory standard. The floor was laid a total of 3 times, due to the floor not being levelled or stable. This resulted in the floor tiles and grout cracking and breaking. 1 particular workman thought the beast way to fix a wash basin and a toilet cistern to the wall was to use large blobs of mastic. I had the hot and cold plumbed in the wrong way on the wash basin and the feed overtightened so there was a continuous leak through to the kitchen, hence i now have kitchen cupboards smelling of damp. Due to some plumbing inconsistency between the bath and the boiler i had no hot water downstairs for a fortnight. I was left without a toilet then moving on to having one which could be flushed through with buckets of water from downstairs. The quality or the standard of service is certainly not Finest* it is appalling, unsatisfactory, shoddy and totally unacceptable. To compound my feeling the compensation i received adds insult to injury, If I with this review save someone an experience similar to mine I have achieved my aim. Please avid, avoid, avoid Tesco Finest bathrooms otherwise known by the name of Mark Two."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"Planning and Installation were excellent. Well handled and organised and delivered as agreed. The only thing that I suppose is a little disappointing having lived worth the bathroom for a year is the quality of the actual"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"Only 2* sorry Tesco but, the discolouration of the grout in my bathroom is not acceptable although it's been re-done twice it is of poor quality and not fit for the purpose, BAL products are supposed to be guaranteed for years. We keep the grout clean, scrub it with the spray recommended by BAL but it looks ugly next to large glossy tiles. The bathroom cost just short of £10,000 and it's heartbreaking. Don't get me wrong about the workmen they are very efficient and tidy, but the materials -rubbish. But, Salesman Mis-lead us saying that the white tiles/grout will not discolour as it's treated and "we use all the best materials ..." that was after I expressed my concerns he was a bit quick with his response, this bathroom was fitted last June, and we have not resolved this problem yet. I don't like being a nuisance but given the price and quality I'm not very satisfied. If you're thinking of going ahead with a new bathroom please choose dark tiles/grout or you'll end up in my situation."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Tesco Finest Bathrooms is rated 1.33 based on 12 reviews