Selfridges Reviews

2.38 Rating 128 Reviews
33% of reviewers recommend Selfridges

How would you rate Selfridges ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"This company is a SCAM!!!!!!!! I have seen some people have been waiting 5 month for a refund! AVOID!!!! Sent back an item worth over £600 over a week ago. They sent a courier 4 times as they failed to collect (... after I told them that I didn't trust it). Now calling and writing to selfridges every day since it was received and the order is still showing as ready to collect. Customer service is useless! When you call they don't even know that it was collected and propose to arrange a courier. Will make a freaking scene on Saturday to the store I collected it. I better receive my money by tomorrow!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"My online return was processed smoothly and fast, they communicated regularly and were proactive in answering my queries , I would definitely shop with them again ."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I have ordered gifts for friends from the selfridges website, both times paying for the highest delivery option to ensure the parcel arrives on time and in good condition. Both times I have been horrendously disappointed. Exceptionally poor customer service. The Box along with the PURSE were smashed up and crumpled. The box was a state, torn and stamped on! Definitely will not be recommending ordering online from Selfridges to anyone, unless they want a botched parcel and item. Ridiculous that this has happened twice and by such a supposedly “reputable” company. Absolute jokers and terrible terrible service, considering I paid £8 for delivery. Will definitely not be ordering from here again!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Just Shocking, The customer Service not a word I would use is laughable. We received a gift that was to small, we have rang 6 times to try and understand how to get an exchange to re-purchase a bigger size on line. The only option travel on the train to London to exchange or refund the Auntie who bought the gift with the correct sizing but as we know with clothes they do not follow UK sizing. But in the 6 phone calls we have now ran over the 28 Days as it was a gift she had it delivered two weeks before her Birthday. So we know sit with a very expensive top that we cannot do anything with, and surprisingly Selfridges will do nothing to assist. They wont even give me a surname so I can ring and talk to the same representatives. Unfortunately you are destroying your own business with terrible service out of principle I will never purchase from Selfridges again, and suggest you save your sanity and purchase from a reputable retailer that puts customers first"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I will share my honest opinion of this shower. DO NOT PURCHASE FROM SELFRIDGES ON LINE UNLESS YOUR LIFE DEPENDS ON IT!! If I hadn’t been backed by PayPal, I would still be in the situation whereby I spent a significant sum for a watch for my partners birthday, but only received an empty box. Don’t get me wrong, it was a very nice Longines box,, but I was expecting a watch to be in it, as was my partner when she opened it. Apparently, because they count the boxes in their stock, this means they don’t have a thieving b?@&$rd in their warehouse, and I must have nicked it from the unopened box I gave her. As soon as they realise they may be at fault, they go into deny it mode. Customer service is the biggest joke out there. Just read the reviews on Facebook. Most have one star, so god only knows how they have an average 4.2 rating! I received perfectly undamaged packaging, delivered from the UK to Australia on the other side of the world seemingly unopened, yet it is my fault that there is no watch within!!! I repeat myself, DO NOT SHOP HERE!! Good job PayPal have some power and understand who is acting reasonably. Here’s a hint, it wasn’t Selfridges. Oh, and no Selfridges, you really don’t understand my frustration."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Everything"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Claudia Clarke
Verified Reviewer
"Yes, is the only to get someone's attention that claims to be great in customer service is actually zero.I ordered a simple bag of jelly belly and eye make up palette,.it should not matter if you spend 2.00 to 2000000000 on line .The important part is when you say ,you are delivering a package on the day you are supposed to .You should and also the delivery company when they mess ,they should delivery first thing in the morning and not disrupt my day like i do not have anything else better to do.I shall not be buying anything on line.As i can all those reply are lame excuses for bad service."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Ordered a Valentine gift from Selfridges as a surprise to my girlfriend with timed delivery from 7am-12pm. Called one of the customer service agent at 11:55am to ask about when the delivery arrive and got a promise that they will arrive in a few hours. Called them again at 4pm, different agent, saying that my gift will not arrive until the next day and offer me refund on delivery fee. I understand that on Valentine day the service will not be as fast as expected but not until next day while it is called "Timed delivery" and when I am willing to pay extra for better service. Have been customer of Selfridges for 6 years but I think I should find somewhere else more reliable."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Due to unprofessional and condescending attitude at YSL handbag concession by most staff who just stand around with hands behind back, judging and talking about there customers, then arguing with us too, also choosing who to serve (customers who spend Thousands ££££) time after time. I now go new Bond Street and as I don't think this brand at selfridges deserve custom, i don't want to go back to selfridges because of my experience . I will say rest of Selfridges has been fabulous over the years but I'm sorry, 3 bad experience in same brand is not acceptable,"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Appalled to say the least; After buying my wife a pair of Christian Louboutin shoes for Christmas, I wanted to purchase through a reputable retailer. Being a surprise, of course my wife was unable to try on the shoes, which unfortunately did not fit. Having sent the shoes back to Selfridges, which arrived back with them on the 8th January, I was subsequently contacted to say the item had been received and that I would be contacted within 5 working days. Roll on the 22nd January when I received the next email, stating that the shoes had been returned damaged?? and the item would be returned back to me!! At this point you could imagine my frustration. Especially as the shoe was tried on, on carpeted surface at home and was clear within moments that the shoes would not fit – so could clearly not be worn. After voicing my concerns regarding the query, I asked for this to be escalated to management. After battling through several emails, I eventually received an email stating that a member of management would be in touch within 48 hours…5 days ago and still nothing has prevailed and nobody has bothered to lift the phone. This begs the question, why are Christian Louboutin partnering with a retailer who provide such poor customer service and who do not follow up on their promises. I am now seeking independent legal advice to try and get my monies refunded so I can proceed to purchase my wife a Christmas present (and certainly not one from Selfridges)."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Aaliya Shujat
"I got what I wanted, which was the Huda Beauty eye shadow palette, usually it's out of stock on every other website, until I came across Selfridges."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Bought a nice YSL bag from Selfridges with no issues, so decided to buy the Givenchy Antigona bag from here. After a week of having the bag, the silver handle (that holds the long shoulder strap) snapped. I was shocked, as I didn't expect the quality of the bag to be so poor. I called Selfridges straight away and the lady on the phone told me "there is nothing Selfridges could do to help", and even if I were to go in the store, I "would be advised the same thing". I was devastated by this point, and very stressed that I was going to be left with a broken bag that I have just paid over a grand and a half for. I felt like I was being robbed. I decided to turn up at the store anyway. Luckily the ladies in the Givenchy section were helpful and the manager gave me a replacement. I am very happy, but was very disappointing with the poor level of customer service I have received over the phone, as that has caused me a lot of stress for no reason! It's a good thing I didn't listen to her and actually went into Selfridges anyway!"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Debra Mullen
Verified Reviewer
"Selfridges do not even deserve 1 star but it wasn’t possible to review without at least 1 star! I will never shop with this company again after ordering sandals and paying for the product only to be sent a different product as the product I ordered was actually out of stock. Selfridges and co should never have accepted my order or charged me for the product in the first place. Instead, I was then expected to return the product(that I did not order) to the post office before I could get a refund (for the product I did not receive) Appalling service - let’s see if I ever get the full refund I have requested..........I have no confidence in this company whatsoever - I should have read the reviews first!"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Anonymous
"My delivery came within 2 days...nicely packaged...and kept me up to date on the location of my order too...thanks"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"I purchased a VR Headset for my 10 year old daughter at Xmas. When opened on the day we found that it had ADULT MATERIAL downloaded on to it of Asian girls. I am still waiting for an explanation, apology, replacement of item or now, after so long, a refund. I'm just being fobbed off by customer services who say the right things but nothing happens"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Only ordered the huda beauty foundation yesterday, and arrived today (as I paid extra) lovely packaged up etc, will definitely use in the future🙌🏼"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"For my partners Christmas present I decided to purchase him a Kenzo jumper. On 22nd of December 2017 I came into the Kenzo section, picked the jumper and handed it over the counter to pay. The sales assistant that served me was Melanie, who re-assured me that if the jumper did not fit correctly, as I was worried it may be to big, I could exchange the jumper for a gift card with the same value as the jumper. Melanie re-assured me that this would be no problem and something that the department would be happy to do. A few days later, once my boyfriend had tried on the jumper once and told me it was too large around the neck area, I explained that he would have a gift voucher to spend in- store alternatively. So we headed up to Selfridges for a day out in London together. Unfortunately, what we experienced was an extremely uncomfortable and unprofessional shopping experience at Kenzo. I explained that I wanted to exchange the jumper for a gift card. The team they turned the jumper inside out and began to inspect a tiny deodorant mark on the inside where my boyfriend had tried this on. Another assistant was handed the jumper and proceeded to smell the item in front of us. Which I found extremely strange and unprofessional. He then handed the item back to us remarking ‘no’. I was shocked by the lack of help and assistance that was offered to us. After this I asked to speak to the manager of this department. At this stage, the situation became worse. We spoke to Sapphire, who we assumed was the department manager, we shortly found out that this was not the case and that we had been lied too. Sapphire proceeded to tell us the following: - The item could never be sold again due to this small stain on the inside. - All items sold from Kenzo are not display items and are sold in plastic packaging (my jumper was handed over the counter, at full price) - We could not expect a gift card for this kind of return. - There was nothing she could do about this. After 15 minutes of us explaining that this was a special gift and that we were clearly not given the correct customer service from the off-set. Sapphire then suggested to us that we should go and ‘get a baby wipe’ remove this small mark and bring it back up. She even explained that we should not use anything perfumed as then they would not be able to refund this item. I was completely shocked at the fact that as a paying customer, on our trip to the store, it was suggested that we go and clean an item of clothing. I then asked if there was anyone else I could speak to, we were then told that Sapphire was not the manager for this department and we were wasting our time talking to her for 20 minutes. We then spoke to another manager who was very helpful and apologised that we were told to clean the item. I am very grateful for the reassurance of this member of staff, who then proceeded to sort out my boyfriend’s gift card. Neither of us now feel that shopping at Selfridges is an enjoyable experience, I have told many friends and family about this situation and they have been very surprised."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Still waiting for a refund on gifts ordered but cancelled 3 weeks ago... customer services not responding???"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Mickey Crilly
"The customer service is superb,nothing is to much trouble as well as the brilliant after sales service"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"What an utterly awful experience today in Selfridges, Oxford Street- Menswear department I have experienced the most upsetting and distressing customer experience ever at your store today Your outdated haughty approach at your London store is one that will certainly mean I will most defiantly be shopping with your competitors going forward. You seem to have lost your way with what good customer service is. Shame on you Selfridges, Oxford Street!!!"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Selfridges is rated 2.38 based on 128 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This