Barclays Reviews

1.50 Rating 183 Reviews
11% of reviewers recommend Barclays

Write Your review

Tell us how Barclays made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Customer Service
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
2 minutes
Avg Email Response Time
"I would never recommend this bank. My fiancée and I set up a joint account after returning from travelling so save for a house , of which we were going to mortgage through Barclays . The service in the branch was good , we transferred £100 to keep the account active whilst we sent over all our savings . 4 days later we received a text to say our account was a subject of fraud . After ringing the bank I was informed our account was closed and they can’t tell us why, and we have to prove the money in the account is ours to get it back! Which is a long process . Simply can’t believe this is how a bank would do business these days ! Terrible service through the call centres which are clearly not UK based , avoid like the plague !!"
Posted 9 hours ago
Are you Barclays? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"We decided to move to Barclays because our local Lloyds branch had closed, but having applied in September 2018, it was months before our account was open - and it's been problems all the way! We have been in business since 2012 and have a first class credit history, with no defaults and all loans now repaid over 12 months ago. We had a working overdraft of £3,000 with Lloyds, used on only two or three occasions for a very small amount and for just a few days, but Barclays refused to provide any overdraft facility at all and issued us with a Barclaycard instead - and the online system for that is even worse than the on line system for our current account! Barclays don't understand the fundamental requirements of bank account administration. For example, their on line statements don't even show the type of transaction - so when I am trying to reconcile our account I have no idea whether the ''money out'' has been paid by card, DD, standing order, BACS or on line payment! Also I can reconcile to a balance at the end of the week, but when I try to reconcile at the end of the following week, I often find that Barclays have retrospectively juggled the previous week's transactions and the balance which I previously reconciled to has disappeared completely! ASK ANY ACCOUNT AND THEY WILL CONFIRM THAT BARCLAYS ARE FLOUTING THE MOST FUNDAMENTAL ACCOUNTING RULES - and they are making a simple job of reconciliation into an impossible nightmare. To cap it all, Barclays have already closed the local branch on Thursdays and rumour has it that, like Lloyds, Barclays will soon be closing their local branch. What a costly and frustrating waste of time this has been for our small business. I totally agree with the other comments on here about useless customer service, ''help line'' representatives whose responses are incomprehensible, let alone useless and feedback which is totally ignored."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Just four days into being a Barclays customer and I've already been severely inconvenienced, laughed at, talked down to, lied to, mis-informed and seen just how poor the communication and continuity is between departments internally and externally. I opened a personal current account on Monday 25/03 in the Chelmsford branch having already completed the application online, this went smoothly and quickly and I was very impressed. I was assisted by a gent in his mid 20's who dealt with my account opening very well, I asked him at the end of the process if I could deposit two cheques that I had with me, went to the counter and did so with minimum fuss. Wednesday I received my card and Thursday my pin and online banking pin. Thursday I logged into my online banking account to see that my account was minus (debit) exactly the amount of money I had deposited via cheque! I called the online banking number and spoke to an advisor who told me the it would have been a vendor awaiting payment to clear?! (Mis-information no1) I explained many times that the amount was exactly the amount I had deposited on the day I opened the account and that I had just received the card and had not yet made any purchases on it. We repeated this conversation a number of times before he gave me the number for telephone banking, why he didn't direct me to them in the first place instead of giving me lies is beyond me. So I called telephone banking and, at the fourth instance of having to give the same security details within 20 mins, expressed frustration at this and was laughed at by the representative on the phone, like I was too stupid to understand what security protocols are. Good start to the conversation. I explained the situation to him and after much more aimless and repetitive explaining, was told that I had to visit my branch in person to "prove where the funds where coming from"?! Unbelievable, I asked him how I was to do that repeatedly and was simply told the same thing each time. So by this point i'm assuming I would have to bring the provider of the personal cheque, who is reliant on oxygen most of the day, and not in their health interest to exert themselves unnecessarily, into branch with me to explain to a stranger that they are who they are. I visited branch and was greeted by a female representative, again in their 20's, who was understanding and quick to see the situation meet a resolution. I waited to be seen by someone in branch for a short while, until a female in her late 40s - early 50s approached me and told me that cheques take 5 days to clear, which I was aware of. She clearly wanted rid of me for some reason and when I said I had been sent here by Barclays phone reps she asked "well do you wanna make a complaint"? I said I did, to which she replied "well then you'll sit and wait". I felt like I was in trouble back in primary school! Not how a bank representative should be talking to customers, let alone how a person should talk to another person. It turns out the gent who opened my account was the one who I was making my apparent compliant to, but it turns out he DID have to make checks on my deposit and send requests to another department based on the outcome of our meeting. If I hadn't taken the option of making a complaint, I would have been back where I started in the morning and would have wasted not one, but two days attempting to rectify it. In short, there is a clear lack of policy continuity and communication between branch personnel, departments and as a company as a whole. I did not enjoy being laughed at and talked down to like a troublesome child, or lied to in branch and over the phone in a bit to get rid of me. When the cheques clear I will be immediately withdrawing the balance, closing my account and opening one with Metro across the road. Your only saving grace where the young man and woman who I talked to in the Chelmsford branch, they don't deserve to be associated with this situation."
Posted 2 weeks ago
"After using Barclays Bank for my current account and savings account for over 30yrs !!!!!!!!!!!! I am finally going to change to an alternative Bank. The service of late is absolutely disgusting !!!!! The telephone banking service is beyond a joke, why do we have to give all our personnel details to some one the other side of the world i.e. India. The 2x people i had the pleasure of dealing with could hardly understand or speak the English language. And as for sorting my problem they failed on every level, like the several other times I called. From now on I will not use any service that out sources their customer service team. At one time customer service was of high priority and usually the larger companies lead the way in this country. I am sad to say this is no longer how it is. Barclays out of hours service based in India is atrocious !!!!!!!!!! And tomorrow I will be switching to a building society !!!!!!! Bloody Good Riddance to you."
Posted 1 month ago
"Unacceptable customer service! I walked in and I was welcomed by a young Asian lady. I asked her about apprenticeship in Barclays. I explained that I already went through the online process, I applied for the closest vacancies but was emailed that there aren't any near me. Instead of responding with a resolution or consulting with someone if she didn't know about apprenticeship, she simply said "Go on the Barclays website!" I tried to explain myself again but she said "I don't know what you mean!" It was awkward, clearly she didn't want to communicate. All I wanted it was some help. I was strongly considering becoming an apprentice there but I am very disappointed with the staff; it hasn't been the 1st time as I am a customer there too! For such a well known bank I would have expected high level customer service. Please do train your staff better before letting them talk to customers because they are the ones representing Barclays! I will be awaiting customer service to come back to me and then I will update and post once they have."
Posted 1 month ago
"THE BIGGEST RUBBISH BANK PROBABLY IN THE WHOLE WORLD!!!"
Posted 1 month ago
"Applied for a loan over the phone .after 10 days and 12 phone calls noone was aware what exactly has to be done.Excuses were' no notes', will give you a call' etc.Finally was advised to apply again as the lady who did application for me first time works only Saturday,Sunday and Monday. It is a joke?!is it a bank or ....online Sorry office. Awful service and none productive staff!"
Posted 1 month ago
"Been a Barclays Business account holder for eighteen months and have not either been engaged with them or contacted them even though there was tens of thousands of pounds in the account. Recently I asked for a loan of 50k on a new business and I have unencumbered collateral of 1.5 million. The advisor over two telephone calls could not get the concept of the business....pathetic, the last straw was to come back in two or three years.....laughable as though any business would want a loan after this period. To cap it all today 040319 I received a standard letter as a sixty plus person that in view of your business experience or and proprietors does not provide sufficient evidence to support your application. The decision also relates to your company’s ability to repay the requested borrowing. Barclays do not want new businesses to ask for loans, they are a lousy shower. Will now close all my accounts with them. PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT USE BARCLAYS."
Posted 1 month ago
"Has got to be the worst bank ever ! Appalling customer service in terms of being productive, take advantage of people in vulnerable situations. Can not trust !"
Posted 1 month ago
"If I could with give zero stars I have had to go to the new papers as for a year I had to change my cards eight time they took 75 pound off me which was the money to feed my children on Wednesday they took me for a mug called me a liar then lied themselves hanged the phone up on me by a level 2 manager and level 1 manager decided to give me a choice when I picked one she didn’t like and was told nothing she could do about it all wouldn’t at first let my complaint go to a level two a customer service manager tired to blackmail me with 25 pound and then tonight got told it won’t be sorted till Monday and then phone put down so when I call back they thought threaten with newspapers and not realised I had gone till I told them they are a joke and will let fraud happen from a different country on your account"
Posted 1 month ago
"Barclays take people money without warning and give no reason! They do this alot!!!!! Their thieves! Abusing a stupid law that was clearly put in place by the bank $$$ always about money! Avoid this bank at all costs they take ur money treat u like a criminal and tell u to go away. Worst bank ever"
Posted 1 month ago
"Extremely bad customer service, in all areas. Barclays has a 'Do I have to?' attitude towards assisting customers, and this is on a good day."
Posted 2 months ago
"Extremely bad customer service, in all areas. Barclays have a 'do I have to?' attitude towards assisting customers, at best. When problems are raised, Barclays takes no action to resolve them."
Posted 2 months ago
"Thieving scumbags! They will take all ur money and close ur account without warning or reason! Also Useless telephone staff! Good luck getting anything sorted on the fone! Joke of a bank. Needs to be investigated by the ombudsman badly theyre so currupt. Avoid this bank i hope they go skint"
Posted 2 months ago
"Culture of insanity..management hangs staff out to dry"
Posted 2 months ago
"I was tempted by their Rewards account so signed up last November. The first time that I wanted to make an online payment it was refused because i needed a card reader, which was not pointed out to me when I opened the account. I ordered a card reader that took nearly 2 weeks to arrive. I followed the procedure again to make a payment on line and an error message appeared to say that "I did not have an account from which a payment could be taken"! I sent a secure message to Barclays who kindly pointed out that they were aware of the error!! Why I was not told about the problem, without needing to contact Barclays, they could not answer. "Customer Service" said that the issue "could probably be resolved" but I must phone their team. Pathetic."
Posted 2 months ago
"Too much security questions when i use online banking it's always ask many security questions or blocking my account until i call them it's really annoying... I have Lloyds account as well and I'm so happy with Lloyds Bank"
Posted 2 months ago
"Worst service poor communication"
Posted 2 months ago
"The worst, and getting worse as time goes by."
Posted 2 months ago
Barclays is rated 1.50 based on 183 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support