Yell.com Reviews

1.05 Rating 19 Reviews
0% of reviewers recommend Yell.com

How would you rate Yell.com?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

19 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
Anonymous
Awful customer service. Whilst I can say that via Yell.com a few potential customers came my way, Yell.com had no interest in working with me when my small business had stopped and I needed my advert and account removed. Their whole online process is extremely outdated and confusing. It feels part of a negative 'wear the customer down' strategy - It has been so impossible for me to have my advert and account removed that for a while, I gave up trying. I've filled their online forms, I've spoken to them on the phone, and I've even attempted to edit my description as 'no longer operational'. Nothing in return and no simple way to close my account. When I do get a call it's an over seas worker trying to sell me their paid services, which is not helpful. Highly frustrating and stressful experience. Based on this I simply could not recommend this service to anyone.

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Yell.com in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
"Awful customer service. Whilst I can say that via Yell.com a few potential customers came my way, Yell.com had no interest in working with me when my small business had stopped and I needed my advert and account removed. Their whole online process is extremely outdated and confusing. It feels part of a negative 'wear the customer down' strategy - It has been so impossible for me to have my advert and account removed that for a while, I gave up trying. I've filled their online forms, I've spoken to them on the phone, and I've even attempted to edit my description as 'no longer operational'. Nothing in return and no simple way to close my account. When I do get a call it's an over seas worker trying to sell me their paid services, which is not helpful. Highly frustrating and stressful experience. Based on this I simply could not recommend this service to anyone."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Visit Website
"YELL EXPOSED: CLIck on the link to see what yell really is about: FACT https://twitter.com/salesalwayswel1/status/985396435532308480?s=19"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"BREACH OF CONTRACT mis sold website mis sold PPI DAMAGE TO BUSINESS REPUTATION Click on link to see evidence https://twitter.com/salesalwayswel1/status/985396435532308480?s=19"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Beatrice Rhodes
Verified Reviewer
"DISHONEST, RUBBISH NOT WORTH THE MONEY AND APPALLING SERVICE! xxxxxx my home address YELL LIMITED 3 Forbury Place Forbury Road Reading BERKSHIRE RG1 3YL Dear Sirs Re:- Agreement Number 000/00xxxxxx ( not for all to see) I write in respect of the above Agreement and to set out my utter disappointment at the shabby and utterly unprofessional service that I have received from a supposedly “blue chip” company such as yourselves. Your #lack of service has been nothing short of #disgraceful. A brief chronology may prove useful:- I first opened a free #YellowPage listing sometime in early March. On 13 March 2018, I got an unsolicited call from #JamesDerekVokes to say that he had notice that I had opened up a free listing on Yell.com for my Car-Park. He then asked what our hourly rate and number of spaces were and I told him £0-90 per hour, 26 spaces. He then asked whether we had any overnighters or weekend use to which I replied “Not at the moment, but this could change when Sheffield University opens up its campus across the road in September 2018.” Mr #Vokes then said “Do you realise that you can earn anything between £70,000 to £200,000 per annum on that car-park and I can help you?” I told him that sounded great and he then asked me for my website address and I gave him my Google My Business website page details. He then went onto the site and then said that he could see that I had no back links and told me that if I subscribed to your service, that the car-park would get into 40 odd directories which would help with my Google ranking and increase my sales. He then again specifically asked whether I was interested in getting up to those figures… and if so, said “ I will support you in any way that I can with the marketing… but then you will need to follow through by doing what I tell you to do and help yourself.” I told him that this sounded good. He then told me that he would now put me through to the social media team to arrange for a telephone call to help set up all the social media links to my new Yell Business page. I then spoke with #BeverleyTaylor and she sent me a confirmatory e-mail at 11-02hrs on 13 March 2018 arranging a telecom for 26 March 2018 at 14-30. I had landed back into Gatwick at 07-30hrs that morning on an overnight flight from the USA so fully expected to be home by that time. There had been, however, a major accident on the motorway near #Gatwick/M25 which I was still stuck in when she called. We arranged for there to be another call as I needed to be at my PC to do what she needed me to do. To date, I am yet to receive an e-mail from her to confirm the new telephone appointment. On 27 March 2018, I checked my Yellow Pages listing and did a survey on my site and was shocked to find it had a 96% error rate and my “#Google #My #Business” now showed “404 #Error – that’s an Error – the requested URL was not found on this server.” I have been e-mailing them ever since with no response. On 29 March 2018, as no-one had bothered to call me or respond to my e-mails, I called and spoke to someone at Yell (who I assumed to be #Joebet #Barozzo as I received a confirmatory e-mail from him at 14-19hrs - shortly after the call ended). I asked him to link me up there and then as something was clearly wrong. He reluctantly agreed to help me set up the social media side of the page and link it all up. Mr #Barozzo told me that it wasn’t possible to link a Facebook Page in Business Manager to a #YellBusinesspage. I told him that all my Facebook pages for this business were in Business Manager and asked him how we could sort it out. Mr #Barozzo told me not to worry and that he would sort it out. I then asked him why my private mobile phone number was still on the listing as I had specifically asked #BeverleyTaylor to put in the Business Number and #Website details. He did not resolve this issue. As a result of the incompetence of #Beverley#Taylor and Mr #Barozzo, #Google’s algorithms have pushed my site down the rankings because of the confusion over telephone numbers – which should have been sorted out on 13th March. Furthermore, when I spoke with #BeverleyTaylor on 13 March, she stated that when we had our call, she would go through all the content on the Page to make sure it was relevant and SEO rich – Mr #Barozzo did none of this. Despite moving my xxx Facebook page to my personal profile, as suggested by Mr #Barozzo, it still won’t work. I have e-mailed Yell constantly from 30th March about the issues over my Facebook page and Website on your platform to Mr #Vokes and #BeverleyTaylor and to Yell on Facebook and Twitter – no response from anyone – what a #shamefully #disgraceful lack of service. What a rotten service you have provided – “you promised gold and delivered sand” – in fact you have delivered nothing but headaches and frustration. Your sales team badgered me into buying this service under false pretences. It is a disgrace that a supposedly reputable company such as yourselves can stoop so low and miserably fail to provide the service you promised. It seems that you have also consistently failed to provide a service to many others – judging by the plethora of negative comments on your Facebook page. Thanks to your incompetence, I am now on page 4 in Google search (see below). Prior to subscribing to #Yell.com Business I was on page 1 of Google I have reported this matter to the #Ombudsman - Complaint Reference no. CONS0000000xxxxxxx- (not for all to see) Be under no illusion that unless these issues are fully resolved to my satisfaction by no later than 16-00hrs on Friday 13th April next, I shall consider the Agreement rescinded, cancel my payments and look to you for redress in respect of the damage you have caused to the online presence of my business by your inaction. Yours faithfully Beatrice Rhodes (Business name) LANGUISHING ON PAGE 4 OF GOOGLE INSTEAD OF PAGE 1 THANKS TO YOUR INCOMPETENCE MEDDLING"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Bad company, After 30 years of trade. They sent a rep who was dishonest and when I called him out, I asked him to leave my house he then threatened me. They never sent another rep despite my request, spoilt my ad campaign by missing deadlines and not attending to the required changes. Then ignored my complaints and cancellation too several times. They have no policy dealing with allegations of threats from employees it seems other than ignore it, perhaps that is the company culture?. So they failed to investigate it and yet claimed someone else has but not providing evidence of that.( difficult really when they never came back for the details). A once grand company that has used aggression, mistruths and denial at every level it seems. Complaints department not interested in what was said and offered no meaningful investigation but just insulted me. No offer of refund was given for money taken after cancelation although their contract states the contract will be voided if an irremediable breach occurred. Being threatened and given mistruths then left for 8 months with no proper contact from the correct people created an irremediable breach. So after cancelling 7 months ago I still feel I should be refunded from the point I was threatened and it was never followed up, rectified nor dealt with whatsoever. The complaints handler would have been politer if he stopped pretending to be genuine and just told me to Sod off. They told me they have no regulatory body and he was not prepared to forward my complaint with many unanswered observations to his manager."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Tied into a 12 month Contract that is not wanted by the business owner for which i shall now have to pay and cannot cancel even after calling back less than 24 hours. How can there be no cancellation period?? The advert will not go live until Monday. There was a free listing already there which they will take all the info so how it is taking 48 hours to process I will never know. I never signed a digital copy of the contract which is apparently when you click the banner and select 2 check boxes - THIS WAS NOT DONE BY ME. All that I received was an email outlining the details so as far as I am aware I HAVE NOT EVEN SIGNED THE CONTRACT! Customer service very unhelpful. Will cancel at earliest convenience which will now be 14 days before the 25th March 2019. As a person who usually has their wits about them, I am extremely distressed and unhappy with myself and feel absolutely conned and rushed into something ... for goodness sake - do not sign up online - THINK about what is happening before they try to dazzle you with 'facts and figures' I feel absolutely sick to my stomach and at 22 weeks pregnant this is the last thing I need right now. Very unhappy Would never recommend."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"If I could give them less than 1 star then I would! Probably the worst organisation I have ever dealt with. I really thought asking them to manage my PPC campaign would be a good idea considering they built my website. BIG MISTAKE! Worst decision ever made. Tried to take payments when they shouldn't. customer service is overseas which is challenging. Accounts dept, despite knowing I had issues cancelled my direct debit without telling me, then had a solicitor contact me asking for the payment. Nothing but trouble from the start. I'm counting the days until I leave them. The sales manager who visited me asked me to sign the paperwork for the direct debit. What he didn't tell me was it was a 6 month contract, with no cooling off period and they take 40% of your budget for themselves! Over promised and under delivered. Stay well clear of them! Since I've been in dispute with them they have cancelled my website and I cant activate it, despite having a monthly payment plan for this service and was paying until they cancelled the direct debit! Now want me to pay the balance in full! Company is a joke! Use the words 'We're Googles approved partners' far too often. When I asked whom I should speak with at Google to complain about their service, I was basically told that there is no-one at google to discuss this with."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Dreadful business to work with absolutely no enquires and we are in month 8 charging is a joke we are meant to be paying £200 per month they have been taking over double that for the last few months then today is was £314 you cannot get anyone to deal with and rectify the problems and you cannot cancel! What sort of client retention tactic is that! My advise to anyone thinking of using them is DON'T..."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"£54 a month trapped in for a year and absolutely zero enquiries after 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10 months. How do I know this? Because I made a separate website and had a separate telephone number for Yell. What did Yell say? Let us review your profile. My profile was up to date, I had good reviews (that I asked my clients to leave on Yell), good photos, good links, clear descriptions. Does my business work? Yes I use Google Ads and everything else is working fine. Do I work for Google no. But I don't want anyone else to waste their money on Yell. £648 for nothing and I can't get out of the contract. I've got 2 months left and can't wait to shut down my campaign with them. My advice to others? Don't waste your money. My advice for Yell? You had a good sales person on the day that convinced me, however you became complacent and didn't move with the ever changing forms of marketing as a result your marketing is weak and out of date. Bottom line to others? Please save your money."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I think the worst adv. company ever. I really upset about the yell.com. I think just waste of money and time... The result of their adv very poor and they very expensive. Also I have never get what they said or promised to me.. I have to ring them every month, because there is always something wrong. Absolutely not recommend them. My biggest mistake that I have singed a contract for a year!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"everything.terrible service if you need to change anything they get it wrong them blame you for accepting an area that you've never even heard off.cant be bothered to contact when leave messages or complain.awful. do not go with them.ive been totally ripped of"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Billy Coomber
Verified Reviewer
"just terrible terrible service, completely miss sold advertising with promises of lots of work when the phone didn't ring once,the salesman was my best mate and blatantly lied about the amount of work I would get " hello mate, can you handle more work? got loads of waste clearance that needs doing in your area etc" I reluctantly paid the money despite initial reservations but the insistent salesman said I would make the money back in weeks. I complained and they haven't bothered to get back to me, ignoring all emails and phone calls, know i have a threatening letter from the bailiffs chasing me for money!!!" avoid like the plague absolute con merchants and they should be looked into by the watchdog authorities...disgusting!!!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"After 3 months I received letter from their agent Moorcroft Debt Recovery Limited stating that I have outstanding balance on my account. I complained to yell, they didn't approve my complain saying that they have no notice of the account termination. Not professional. I will pay them and I will never use them again as I learn that you can't trust these people. I'm really upset as I thought this is a professional marketing business, but I can see they are not. I WILL NEVER USE THEM AGAIN!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Would give no stars if it would allow.my advise to anyone that is thinking about doing business with yell...DONT. I’m now stuck in a contract where I’m paying for products that don’t even work.Phone dead. It doesn’t pay for itself.Never ever will I use their services again."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Complete shysters using auto renewal as a scam to get you to pay for advertising you did not authorise. Avoid like the plague, useless."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"My Initial contact with yell was the via an hour long phone call during which I was subjected to hard sell and agreed to sample their SEO service. However later that day I cancelled the service. Unfortunately yell.com does not understand the meaning of the word cancel and has continued to go ahead, setting up a direct debit instruction against my wishes. Very unethical practice and a matter for Trading Standards."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Free website that’s a joke,bad grammar and any old photos off the net launched with-out our permission and charged a hosting fee . 4years later unaware the fee was hidden in the overall cost per month discovering this after cancelling Yell! BAD service ,all in the small print apparently.Our loss won’t be going back ."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"We tried this for our business and all the links ended up becoming another businesses. It also messed up the category of our business. We requested this to be corrected and it has been 4 months and still no one bothered to reply. Definitely poor choice and service"
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Anonymous
"The worst company, the worst experience in my life. The come to connect cooker, electrician come with granddaughter, no tools, nothing. He took mony for cables and promise to back next day to do his job and he disappear, turned off his phone... don't recommend!! A specially Ron."
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Yell.com is rated 1.05 based on 19 reviews